Anybody ever buy direct from China ???

Motofreek

Anybody ever buy direct from China ???

Postby Motofreek » February 15th, 2011, 9:54 pm

Just wanted to know if anyone ever bought anything directly from China using a credit card. When I say direct, I mean NO SKYBOX. I'm talking about signing up with the site online and just putting your shipping address as your local Trinidad address.

It appears that several wholesalers in China ships to T+T but I was curious to know where the items are recieved ? Is it delivered to your home or do you pick up at Customs at the port ? Or maybe the TTPOST ???

Some answers will be greatly appreciated...

copper_shot

Re: Anybody ever buy direct from China ???

Postby copper_shot » February 15th, 2011, 10:22 pm

i brought in smallish stuff and it came through TTPOST via EMS

also from thailand

Postby Team Loco » February 15th, 2011, 10:58 pm

i buy directly. i pay via paypal but ship via fedex.

jackkle

Postby jackkle » February 16th, 2011, 6:15 am

Yeah dred, I did that once and boy oh boy did I bounce meh frickin head. Had to wait over a damn month to get my stuff. IMO its a waste of time and shipping cost is a beyotch

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 16th, 2011, 6:36 am

i bought via ebay from both china and hong kong. shipping is usually cheap. it just takes forever (up to 2 months) to get here

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 16th, 2011, 11:53 am

Motofreek wrote:Some answers will be greatly appreciated...

All my purchases (US or otherwise) pass through my Skybox. I always use secure payment methods and pay extra for shipping insurance. This has proved invaluable over the years as I have had items stolen or not shipped and I was able to recover my money. It may cost a bit more but at least I have peace of mind.

mindxlabz

Postby mindxlabz » February 16th, 2011, 11:59 am

Beware of some counterfeit sites though. But your best bet is to go through a 3rd party site where you have buyer protection like EBay. Also it would be advisable to get a reliable skybox service where you have insurance etc. Another important point is ALWAYS ATTACH AN INVOICE WHEN BUYING FROM EBAY. Customs literally charged me 200+ TT for a 5 USD item, even though it was pre-alerted an all that. This is just something worth knowing

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » February 16th, 2011, 1:14 pm

allyuh lucky.i had to wait 6 months for ting to reach from china. oh well it was free shipping.i get wa i pay for

Postby Team Loco » February 16th, 2011, 1:33 pm

the items i bring from china are small............prices cheap, so i pay for fedex shipping and get it from china in 3 working days

Motofreek

Postby Motofreek » February 17th, 2011, 6:47 am

Aye Thanks for the replies... 'preciate it.

@mindxlabz
That is a real hard luck boy. Just for info, I already have a skybox and a similar situation happened to me where I brought in an item costing $35 US WITH AN INVOICE and customs charged me $215 TT to clear it. I CUDDA CUSSS !!! But still had to pay it though. What I realize is my Skybox company doesn't really open the package to see the invoice. Apparently they estimate a duty cost based on the package description when I do a pre-alert !?

I really find ebay is the cheapest and they also have buyer protection. Problem is when I want to bring down 5 or more of the same item, I get "mash up" because few ppl offer combined shipping.

That's the reason I wanted to know about bringing the stuff directly from China !

Postby bushwakka » February 17th, 2011, 1:10 pm

Postby UML » February 17th, 2011, 9:23 pm

heard from my partner today that he used alibaba.com and got ripped off of $1000US from a supplier in China.

Postby cinco » February 17th, 2011, 10:17 pm

how much a pound fuh direct?
i hear it does lash wid ketchup