3 Things About Islam Everyone Should Know---opinions?

Postby TRAE » February 15th, 2011, 12:05 pm

opinions?

Re: 3 Things About Islam Everyone Should Know---opinions?

Postby honda hoe » February 15th, 2011, 12:12 pm

ched lock in 5...

Postby TRAE » February 15th, 2011, 12:14 pm

y? if you dont mind

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 15th, 2011, 12:18 pm

interesting video.

Postby Team Loco » February 15th, 2011, 12:28 pm

i have a stiff neck now. good video though

Postby TRAE » February 15th, 2011, 12:29 pm

wah allyuh think bout it though-- i think it raises alot of concern with me yes

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 15th, 2011, 12:32 pm

I don't know enough about Islam to form a proper opinion. Based on what I've seen and heard, its easy to jump to conclusions

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » February 15th, 2011, 12:40 pm

in before the lock

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 12:40 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: I lol'd at how the video explained everything followed by the HILARIOUS SARCASM at 7:47. :lol: (no offense to muslims)

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » February 15th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Really, this raises alot of concern with you?

Relax, don't let a simple video bother you that much.
Try judging things on your personal experiences, on the Muslim friends you know.

So all Muslims want to take over and impose their law.
Do you think the average Muslim in Trinidad is part of this conspiracy?

And internationally, do you really think that all the protest happening in the Arab world at present is to have more Muslim law? I agree that the outcome of these protest is yet to be seen and it could result in something negative, but the original intent is not for, but against repressive law along with economic reasons.

Will democratic countries really allow the stoning to death of people as part of their law?
When Islamic countries themselves are bowing to pressure and changing sentences in said cases.
http://www.france24.com/en/20100910-islamic-countries-under-pressure-over-stoning

The author of the Vid is using scare tactics and it seems to be working well.

Postby TRAE » February 15th, 2011, 1:05 pm

Yofoot wrote:Really, this raises alot of concern with you?

Try judging things on your personal experiences, on the Muslim friends you know.

And internationally, do you really think that all the protest happening in the Arab world at present is to have more Muslim law? I agree that the outcome of these protest is yet to be seen and it could result in something negative, but the original intent is not for, but against repressive law along with economic reasons.

Will democratic countries really allow the stoning to death of people as part of their law?
When Islamic countries themselves are bowing to pressure and changing sentences in said cases.
http://www.france24.com/en/20100910-islamic-countries-under-pressure-over-stoning

well said and appreciated

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 1:19 pm

TRAE wrote:

Just appreciated.

It simply means that those friends you have, who class themselves as Muslims, are not.
They're something else. Daz probably some new age Islam.
Many of the things I heard here are true and preached by true Muslims even here locally.
Take a look at some of the videos on popular local Muslim sites. It kinda shocking to know that there are religions that still support the slaying of those in disagreement, in this day and age.

Is like Christians who call themselves Christians, but they have one foot in and one foot out. Same thing. You all know what the bible says about them. To say the least, they are not considered Christians.

The most interesting part is where it talks about the redeclaration of the previous texts. However most Muslims choose not to consider that part of the faith as a defense. Not bashing anyone. I'm just saying .....

jackkle

Postby jackkle » February 15th, 2011, 1:30 pm

Waaaaaay dred had to stop @ 2:32mins...Couldn't waste ah whole 9mins on this sheit nah

Postby TRAE » February 15th, 2011, 1:33 pm

Bizzare wrote:
TRAE wrote:

Just appreciated.

It simply means that those friends you have, who class themselves as Muslims, are not.
Many of the things I heard here are true and preached by true Muslims even here locally.
Take a look at some of the videos on popular local Muslim sites. It kinda shocking to know that there are religions that still support the slaying of those in disagreement, in this day and age.

Is like Christians who call themselves Christians, but they have one foot in and one foot out. Same thing. You all know what the bible says about them. To say the least, they are not considered Christians.

The most interesting part is where it talks about the redeclaration of the previous texts. However most Muslims choose not to consider that part of the faith as a defense. Not bashing anyone. I'm just saying .....

was thinking the same

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » February 15th, 2011, 1:37 pm

TRAE wrote:

Bizzare wrote:
Just appreciated.

That is my point exactly, what religion does not have aspects that some agree and disagree with.

I am not Muslim, so I will not try to tell anyone that they are not Muslim because I viewed a vid online and learned something about their religion.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 15th, 2011, 1:41 pm

Yofoot wrote:I am not Muslim, so I will not try to tell anyone that they are not Muslim because I viewed a vid online and learned something about their religion.

^^This sums it all up

Know facts before you form opinions

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 1:42 pm

Their holy book is the Qu'ran right? Shouldn't EVERY word in that book be followed whole heartedly by one who claims to be Muslim.
Same way I can't call myself a Christian, cuz I know that I do not abide to each and every word whole heartedly. That makes me and everyone else gettin on wassy at carnival time and playing repentance after a firetruck sinner. Not that I'm proud but you get my point.......

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 15th, 2011, 1:43 pm

Bizzare, Did you read it?

Postby Damien » February 15th, 2011, 1:45 pm

I iza hindu but does eat a likkle bef now and again is I ah hipposhyt

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 1:50 pm

rodfarva, everything in the video is a fact. Even Muslims would agree. I know this. They believe in the execution of non-Muslims.
I worked in a Muslim environment on Munroe road for quite some time. So Its clear to me by now that the laws of Trinidad is the reason for suppression of some parts of their faith. Just as the video explains. I have Muslim padnas who believes that it is right to execute non believers. But is Trinidad and them muffler bearings aint gonna execute anyone and we know this. Hence the reason why we wouldn't take it seriously.

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 1:55 pm

Damien wrote:I iza hindu but does eat a likkle bef now and again is I ah hipposhyt

lol.... But you believe it ain't right and know iz a sin or whatever y'all call it and do so in guilt. However, if you said there's nothing wrong with eating beef and you're not a wrong doer and you don't adhere to that section of the gita or whatever you call the book, then you just created yuh own religion and might as well write yuh own holy book and start looking for members one time cuz you ain't Hindu anymore.......

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 15th, 2011, 2:10 pm

what u guys r saying is true. most people who call themselves Christian, or Muslim or Hindu in Trinidad, or any democratic western world is not a "true" follower of the belief. this is so bcuz alot of what is thought in these religions no longer sits well with what u good hearted people feel to be right or just.

like for instance the cow being somehow holy for giving ure god milk one day is somehow not justification to not eat it, pray to it and treat it better than u would a fellow man.

similarly the intolerance in islam is overlooked. and the Christian stance on homosexuality is generally not acceptable, (tho as a society, Trinidad is particularly homophobic still).

The bottom line is the more aware people become. the more their eyes r open to what goes on in the world... the more of a free thinker they bcome. this is a good thing.

Postby TRAE » February 15th, 2011, 2:12 pm

well as allyuh see i took a back seat till now, i believe that humans know right from wrong, Trinis dont follow religion like outside of the island;

You cant blame them either, no one wants to like like the Middle east, to be in fear of making a mistake or false accusations. I have muslim partnas dat always drinking and christian partnas that always drinking. the information in the video is for all to have a look at the point of view from the people that live outside of our bubble. the author of the vid was correct in saying that we must not treat all religion as similar entities.

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 2:23 pm

Yep..... but apart from dat I like Trinidad oui..... level slackness.... Pastor Stewart bizness..... :drinking:
Places like the Middle East etc scary :skurry:

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 15th, 2011, 4:03 pm

just curious...how many types of 'christians' are there?

and how many types of 'muslims' are there?

Postby K74T » February 15th, 2011, 4:15 pm

I do as I please so i eh business about following anything

Postby Damien » February 15th, 2011, 4:28 pm

Marsh_TT wrote:I do as I please so i eh business about following anything

You fall under christians then

Postby Bizzare » February 15th, 2011, 4:35 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:just curious...how many types of 'christians' are there?

and how many types of 'muslims' are there?

Has a lot more types of Muslims than there are Christians.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 15th, 2011, 4:36 pm

Silvermike wrote:what u guys r saying is true. most people who call themselves Christian, or Muslim or Hindu in Trinidad, or any democratic western world is not a "true" follower of the belief. this is so bcuz alot of what is thought in these religions no longer sits well with what u good hearted people feel to be right or just.

like for instance the cow being somehow holy for giving ure god milk one day is somehow not justification to not eat it, pray to it and treat it better than u would a fellow man.

similarly the intolerance in islam is overlooked. and the Christian stance on homosexuality is generally not acceptable, (tho as a society, Trinidad is particularly homophobic still).

The bottom line is the more aware people become. the more their eyes r open to what goes on in the world... the more of a free thinker they bcome. this is a good thing.

that is not a universal view. is crazy catholics who does be doing whatever they feel like despite what the bible says

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » February 15th, 2011, 4:40 pm

Basic list of types of Islam

List of Christian Denominations:
To much to list here, click link