Supermarket head: Brace for rising prices

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2011, 12:59 pm

steups they want to kill poor people oui- and when global prices go down local prices stay d same

i doh have no garden behind my apartment to plant nuttin

d next set a protest d world should hear about should be right here in trinidad

Tuesday, February 1 2011

President of the Supermarket Association Vernon Persad has warned citizens to brace for rising food prices.

Persad said the country is experiencing an increase in food prices because of the global commodity market.

“Commodities are going up because of what is happening globally in the various regions due to the severe climate conditions and it is not going to better soon...we won’t be able to combat high food prices, if the majority we consume comes from abroad, farming community,” he said.

He was responding to the Central Bank’s recent Repo rate announcement which indicated rising food prices drove the year-end headline inflation rate to 13.4 percent compared with 12.5 percent in October.

It also indicated food price inflation, the main driver of the headline inflation rate rose to 29.5 percent as at December 2010 from a high of 39.1 percent in August before easing to 26.7 percent in October.

The “unprecedented level” of food price inflation was mainly due to domestic supply shocks resulting from unusually heavy floods.

In December 2010, the prices of vegetables, fruits, and milk, cheese and eggs were 42.5 percent, 32.4 percent and 11.3 percent higher than a year earlier.

He said citizens need to become creative in dealing with high food prices and start considering planting in their backyards.

“People need to take that little piece of land behind their house, when you plant something behind your house, it does not cost as much if you have to buy it, the way the economy is, people would have to go back to the old time ways, even rear a few chickens,” he said.

President of the Agricultural Society of Trinidad and Tobago Dhanoo Sookhoo said although the Government was introducing several initiatives they need to look at implementing more sustainable systems.

“They need to consider having storehouses where farmers can store their produce and it times like this, we would release it on the market. We also need to train our farmers in greenhouse production as well, it is that time to start thinking outside of the box,” she said.

In its Repo rate announcement, the Central Bank also indicated that core inflation remained unchanged from October 2010 at 4.7 percent and with a recovery of activity in the non-energy sector continuing to be an urgent priority, the Bank decided to reduce the Repo rate by 25 basis points to 3.50 percent.

Managing director of Republic Bank David Dulal-Whiteway said although the group has not met to discuss reducing its prime lending rate, the trend has always been to reduce it in line with the repo rate.

hondaman

Re: Supermarket head: Brace for rising prices

Postby hondaman » February 2nd, 2011, 1:34 pm

BWDMC wrong with dis man boi. "People need to take that little piece of land behind their house and plant". the only thing behind wey i living is the bus route!!!

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » February 2nd, 2011, 1:48 pm

BWDMC

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2011, 1:51 pm

ahh boy....farming looking more and more like something to get into

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2011, 1:58 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:ahh boy....farming looking more and more like something to get into
yup and just think, when customers call you at 3am you'll already be awake and at work!!! :D

Postby Bizzare » February 2nd, 2011, 2:13 pm

Yep, farming is in order......
So....... who else has in on the Governments current "giveaway"....... 8-)

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 2nd, 2011, 2:17 pm

we really left with no choice but to plant our own food because it will get worse in the coming years..

learn from cuba:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid ... 067928384#

kind of lengthy but very inspiring.

rossi

Postby rossi » February 2nd, 2011, 2:40 pm

Good thing I already start with the planting....Do I need powerseller status to retail tomatoes in here? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Real ppl feting and spending money like crazy....this wouldn't affect them.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » February 2nd, 2011, 2:45 pm

good idea rossi,,,

do we need powerseller status to sell agricultural items here Master Duane?

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 2nd, 2011, 2:47 pm

but trinidad way cheap when it comes to food stock yo.

jusme

Postby jusme » February 2nd, 2011, 2:49 pm

FS: 1 crocus bag of lettuce $40 firm

(please dont pm me a "cash" offer)

rossi

Postby rossi » February 2nd, 2011, 2:58 pm

jusme wrote:FS: 1 crocus bag of lettuce $40 firm

$40 not bad at all.....

Mih tomatoes reach bout 3 feet but it eh flowers as yet.
Will have Pollock Zaboca in about 2/3 months as well.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » February 2nd, 2011, 3:00 pm

rossi wrote:

$40 not bad at all.....

u lucky,,,i eh plant nutten,,only thing i might have in a couple months is a next child,,,anybody have cow milk to sell awa?

Postby nemisis » February 2nd, 2011, 3:07 pm

Rahtid wrote:
rossi wrote:

$40 not bad at all.....

u lucky,,,i eh plant nutten,,only thing i might have in a couple months is a next child,,,anybody have cow milk to sell awa?

Fs fresh Cambodian breast milk pm me your offer

rossi

Postby rossi » February 2nd, 2011, 3:10 pm

Rahtid wrote:
rossi wrote:

$40 not bad at all.....

Oh my.

So is cow milk yuh plan on giving the child? What happen to good ole breast milk? :lol:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » February 2nd, 2011, 3:14 pm

but cow have breast,,,

ever notice how big a calf gets within 6 months of drinking its mother's milk?

nemisis,,,,how d hell u getting that? u in cambodia? ent them have small bresses?

jusme

Postby jusme » February 2nd, 2011, 3:30 pm

Postby RBphoto » February 2nd, 2011, 3:33 pm

Rahtid wrote:but cow have breast,,,

nemisis,,,,how d hell u getting that? u in cambodia? ent them have small bresses?

That's just wrong. The mother's breast milk is the best thing for baby.. Once you start formula or feeding from the bottle, they refuse the mother's breast. Cow milk is unsuitable for infants. Better to buy formula than feed them cow milk.... formula is formulated for humans. [/rant]

[on topic]
Squingy dryup tomatoes is 15 dollars a pound.... :x

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 2nd, 2011, 3:42 pm

ways like when govt change ppl get mouth yes... damn fools...if it too expensive doh f** by it... how else can you send a message to the supermarkets....

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » February 2nd, 2011, 4:04 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Rahtid wrote:but cow have breast,,,

That's just wrong. The mother's breast milk is the best thing for baby.. Once you start formula or feeding from the bottle, they refuse the mother's breast. Cow milk is unsuitable for infants. Better to buy formula than feed them cow milk.... formula is formulated for humans. [/rant]

[on topic]
Squingy dryup tomatoes is 15 dollars a pound.... :x

lol,i was just joking there eh,,,,

rossi

Postby rossi » February 2nd, 2011, 4:10 pm

Nah Rahtid, yuh shoulda bait him some more hahahah!

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 2nd, 2011, 4:15 pm

searchingone wrote:we really left with no choice but to plant our own food because it will get worse in the coming years..

learn from cuba:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid ... 067928384#

kind of lengthy but very inspiring.

Cuba ftw.

They have less than us yet make plenty more with it. :oops:

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2011, 4:34 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:ahh boy....farming looking more and more like something to get into
yup and just think, when customers call you at 3am you'll already be awake and at work!!! :D

nah, the only thing I will ever be doing at 3 am is drinking and liming,

guh hire some ppl to plant
have nuff land, wanted to go into rabbit farming a while back but it hard to find good workers.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » February 2nd, 2011, 4:41 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

have nuff land, wanted to go into rabbit farming a while back but it hard to find good workers.

if again!!!!

i wanna do sumn also,but them fellas who not working,typically dont wanna work,so labour is a lil problem now

rossi

Postby rossi » February 2nd, 2011, 5:10 pm

Rahtid wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

if again!!!!

i wanna do sumn also,but them fellas who not working,typically dont wanna work,so labour is a lil problem now

Hmmm.........if ah organise ah crew, ah could be the foreman orr?

**thinks to self............ah could CEPEP dis ting :mrgreen:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » February 2nd, 2011, 5:15 pm

thats not a problem rossi,,once yall serious

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2011, 6:16 pm

daz all yuh really need u know..a good foreman who guh rally the workers and breath down their neck, daz be real stress....

people these days get accustom to cepep and urp handout, so when they come for a day work, they not really accustom to doing a day work, they accustom to lazing around after 20 mins work and getting paid for it.

Bess i jus throw some pumpkin seed and cucumber seed in the land and what grow, grow, the land real fertile, use to have growbox on it long time with patchoi and pepper, used to supply plenty of the groceries and restaurants, but alas...no workers...so just ended up stpping

Postby eliteauto » February 2nd, 2011, 6:22 pm

anyone has links to citrus? I want to buy oranges and grapefruit by the crocus bags

Postby Bizzare » February 2nd, 2011, 6:46 pm

If I provide you with a link, would you include my name and my contribution into your life in your "survivor's manuscript of success" :oops:

Postby eliteauto » February 2nd, 2011, 6:51 pm

no, but I'd tell you thanks