IPocalypse? Is TSTT/FLOW ready?

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2011, 12:17 pm

http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2011/02/oh-noes-the-internetz-is-almost-out-of-ip-addresses/

Oh Noes!: The Internetz Is Almost Out Of IP Addresses

If your grandmother’s Facebook account wasn’t a telltale sign that the internet has come of age, here’s another: after this week, the internet will run out of new IPv4 addresses. But don’t fret, because we’re moving on up to IPv6!

For those unfamiliar with what IP addresses do, they serve as the internet’s navigation system in many ways. When you type in a URL/domain name to visit a site, it’s attached to an IP address which handles all the dirty work of connecting you to the server the website is stored on. Just like the Wall Street Journal says, this is a lot like the moment when phone companies in the US switched to 10-digit numbers.

The IPv4 addresses theoretically range between 4 and 12 digits, have a size of 32-bits and have 4.3 billion possible address combinations. I’m fairly certain all of you have dealt with IPv4 addresses, which look something like this:

68.127.78.247 (or http://68.127.78.247, when entering them into a browser)

With the change to IPv6, addresses will be 128-bits in size and up to 32 digits long, allowing for 340 trillion trillion trillion unique addresses. When it is finally implemented, it will look something like this:

2001:0db8:85a3:0000:0000:8a2e:0370:7334 (or http://[2001:0db8:85a3:0000:0000:8a2e:0370:7334] in a browser)

And with a whole gang of other notation rules, configuring your router is going to be a beyotch in the future. And of course, we’ll all have to get new routers!

Thankfully, IPv6 is still in its infancy and is still a few years from being put into use on any sort of widespread level. But for a single day in June, Google, Facebook, Yahoo and a couple of other internet giants will switch over to IPv6-compatible servers to test out the new protocol and find out if there are any major kinks in the system. [WSJ]
Last edited by redmanjp on June 9th, 2011, 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: IPocalypse? Internet runs out of IPv4 addresses this wee

Postby TRAE » February 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

welcome IPv6 Beyatches

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2011, 12:37 pm

TRAE wrote:welcome IPv6 Beyatches

not many IT admins gonna enjoy the transition though- unless the routers by themselves can translate from IPv4 to IPv6 without configuring computers to be IPv6 compliant

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2011, 12:38 pm

apparently there is a better place!

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2011, 12:39 pm

duane tuner IPv6 compliant?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » February 2nd, 2011, 1:01 pm

Postby bluesteel29 » February 2nd, 2011, 1:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:

not many IT admins gonna enjoy the transition though- unless the routers by themselves can translate from IPv4 to IPv6 without configuring computers to be IPv6 compliant

:x :x :(

Skillys

Postby Skillys » February 2nd, 2011, 4:33 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

:x :x :(

so true!!!!! :shock: :x

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2011, 4:42 pm

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 2nd, 2011, 8:19 pm

I don't understand but I'll go along with "I'm feeling scared".....that could work???

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 2nd, 2011, 8:23 pm

ipv6 implemented and running a while now
tunneling FTW! no looming disaster.

Postby Bizzare » February 2nd, 2011, 8:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:

I totally agree.........
:? :?

Postby K74T » February 2nd, 2011, 8:29 pm

Sooo we'z nots going to deads anymoar?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 2nd, 2011, 8:45 pm

well routers really cant translate from ipv4 to ipv6, you can get a base v6 address translation of a v4 address but ir eally not useful, the routers need to repackage the packets and forward them...the configuring of a pc to handle ipv6 is no more hurried now than before, is just bout issueing addresses for new machines now if u type ipconfig in the cmd window u'll see ur ipv6 address...

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2011, 8:51 pm

most techs don't even understand the basic math of subnets, hope ipv6 not harder

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » June 6th, 2011, 9:36 pm

Go direct to your Flow Modem, and surf IPV6
ipv6.google.com, and ipv6.cnn.com

Postby Mark! » June 6th, 2011, 9:43 pm

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » June 6th, 2011, 10:14 pm

IPV6 has been programmed into systems since 1996, however as for routewrs the reconfiguration will be necessary, i not worried, we will prevail...

Postby black start » June 6th, 2011, 10:59 pm

once tuner running....me aint give ah f*ck....

Postby Bizzare » June 6th, 2011, 11:06 pm

pugboy wrote:most techs don't even understand the basic math of subnets, hope ipv6 not harder

You forgot to end rant, i.e. "[/rant]"

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 6th, 2011, 11:29 pm

supremacy_007 wrote:IPV6 has been programmed into systems since 1996, however as for routewrs the reconfiguration will be necessary, i not worried, we will prevail...

first time setup should be the same, dont we have both IP addresses available ? why would the router need to be reconfigured? most of the net backbone is compliant and if its not, re routing through v6 compliant hardware is easily handled. just askin...

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 6th, 2011, 11:40 pm

it man made so no worrys

Postby Bizzare » June 6th, 2011, 11:56 pm

matthewmazda wrote:it man made so no worrys

I like the way you think. :angel:

Postby buzz » June 7th, 2011, 2:00 am

redmanjp wrote:

whut ? :|

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » June 7th, 2011, 8:23 am

ghostbusters wrote:
supremacy_007 wrote:IPV6 has been programmed into systems since 1996, however as for routewrs the reconfiguration will be necessary, i not worried, we will prevail...

first time setup should be the same, dont we have both IP addresses available ? why would the router need to be reconfigured? most of the net backbone is compliant and if its not, re routing through v6 compliant hardware is easily handled. just askin...

i stand corrected...... from what i see alot of people running scared cuz iz zomething new...

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » June 7th, 2011, 6:33 pm

Whatcha talking about Willis?

IPV6 content requires IPV6 peering by ISPs.
Not sure which other Providers did this, but apparently Flow did. And IPV6 content accessible.
Note, tomorrow is IPV6 day !

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » June 8th, 2011, 8:42 am

nismodriver wrote:Whatcha talking about Willis?

IPV6 content requires IPV6 peering by ISPs.
Not sure which other Providers did this, but apparently Flow did. And IPV6 content accessible.
Note, tomorrow is IPV6 day !

yuh mean today?

benko

Postby benko » June 8th, 2011, 10:15 am

buh wuh de AAAA :lol:

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » June 8th, 2011, 5:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:

forreal... IPv6 is done hell to understand already

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2011, 12:00 am

Black Start wrote:once tuner running....me aint give ah f*ck....

ent!!!