Spider bite!

Bezman

Spider bite!

Postby Bezman » February 1st, 2011, 8:15 pm

Fellas, so i been out of it for a while, due to very bad spider bite i got a couple weeks ago.. I really wanted to share my story so others dont wait as long as i did to get treatment if bitten and hear what others have been through as i am hearing more and more stories recently of ppl getting bitten...

If you have kids or little ones, please be careful, i dont want no one to panic, but i believe parent should take measures to prevent this from happening to your kids, cause i cant imagine a kid dealing with this pain etc..

I was bitten on Sat 22nd at home, I was getting dressed to go out and noticed a small brown spider about the size of a 5c just sitting there on the ground bennin'. I don usually kill insects so i didnt kill it, but i remember noticing it as it had a big body compared to regular house spiders and had sharp looking legs...

late Sunday night (mon morning) i remember waking up scratching a small bump on my right shin, thought nothing much of it, and went back to sleep. Monday i felt a little fluish, but thought that was just the cold i was getting over. By Tuesday i was sick with fever, vomiting and body ache.. and by Tuesday night the bite was swollen and feeling hot to the touch..

By Thursday night the bite was the size of a golf ball on my shin.. literally. My fever had not broke in a few days and my leg was hurting when i walked.. SO friday i went to St Clair medical.. The doctor and nurse who saw me immediately realized it was very bad.

I had to get it cut open, and drained and what came out was insane!!! it was cleaned and scraped and packed with gauze and have had to return to St Clair to get it cleaned and repacked with gauze every couple days...

The wound itself is now ~4 inches long, 3/4 inch wide and almost an inch deep.. it is a HOLE in my figging leg. and I can easily see it taking a few weeks to close up and months to heal completely.. If I had been bitten on my balls or Rooster, well i dont think i would have them again.. seriously.. :shock:

I am urging ppl to clean the cobweb out the corners and please spray and clean properly, these spiders usually breed and live outside, and with the rain still falling in dry season allot of insects usually outside are coming inside looking for a warm place to lay eggs etc...

The spider i think that bit me was a Hobo Spider and looks like this:

the bigger females are the dread ones, but most usually one give you a "dry" bite, not injecting venom into the bite, i was not so lucky..

THe more ppl, talk to about this recently, the more ppl i am hearing getting bitten recently. when i went back sunday past, there was as chinese worker getting treated for 4 bites!!!

I am not going to post photos of my bite, but you can easily find lots of gross pictures online, ppl that know me will eventually see it and have seen it.

Long story short, all jokes aside - if you see a weird looking spider, kill it. If you are bitten you would be glad you did so you can take it to the doctor and identify the source and get better treatment. If you are bitten and feeling a sick, go to the doc ASAP, don't wait a day extra.. the extra couple days i waited has cost me ALLOT of money and pain and a HUGE hole in my leg..

if i didnt treat this, i would have most probably got sever muscle and nerve damage and maybe even lost the leg with the level of infection... i was the typical macho trini man who thought i could deal/live through this like everything else.. well i was wrong, and dont wanna see any of ya'll go through this.

my 2c

Re: Spider bite!

Postby K74T » February 1st, 2011, 8:17 pm

Glad u okay :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 1st, 2011, 8:23 pm

and the man still got up with his spider bite to help out when trinituner went down late Saturday night - kudos!

you have me lookin at spiders very differently now yes, and I already had arachnophobia!!!

apple

Postby apple » February 1st, 2011, 8:23 pm

*gets cobweb broom*

glad you ight

Postby Bizzare » February 1st, 2011, 8:23 pm

Thats pretty messed up man. :shock: Glad you didn't lose a leg though. But me, I would've have killed it instantly, especially something looking like that :|.
Nothing gets by in my house like that. Not even harmless ants. Have Lil kids here now to :oops:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 1st, 2011, 8:29 pm

.... wtmc ! - :shock: :shock: :shock:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 1st, 2011, 8:36 pm

thanks ppl, i really dont wish this on no one... not even RASC :lol:

Bizzare... believe me, even moth getting kill now.. firetruck that budda sheit..

the worse part of it, is getting the wound opened and cleaned/squeezed and packed with gauze every 2 days, as ya feeling better and can move around a little, they rip the scabs and gauze off and check it for more puss etc.. seeing it is unreal, today i swear i could have almost see my bone. it looking more like chop than a bite now!!

Postby Trini Hookah » February 1st, 2011, 8:38 pm

Glad you here you're recovering man.

I saw a pretty unusual spider in a public restroom recently, but I just shrugged it off. Thank goodness I didn't bother it, and it didn't bother me.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » February 1st, 2011, 8:45 pm

:shock: in my house there are probably dozens of those. Once when i was out camping
i had a visitor drop by to snuggle in my covers.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » February 1st, 2011, 8:46 pm

Glad to hear you're alright.. that's scary though...ick!

Start sewing your costume, there is crime to fight!

Postby M_2NR » February 1st, 2011, 8:48 pm

hosssssss.... :shock:

Thank God you alive yes... I wish you a speedy recovery yo! :(

Now i even more afraid of spiders.

Postby nervewrecker » February 1st, 2011, 8:55 pm

I got bitten twice last year by one living in my bedroom. once on the face & once on my finger.
I used to have the same 'I don usually kill insects so i didnt kill it' mentality like you & a 'live & let live' mentality so I let the mofo stay in my room.
To make a long story short he aint living in my room again, I aint want to see any in the house again (probably wont kill it though, I might just catch it & set it free outside) but if it play harden is death for it.

Mine wasnt as bad as yours though Bezman but it sure was a lot of pain cuz I wanted to play stubborn & treat pain with panadol at first. :roll:
I got olfen & some other stuff from the doc after they cut it open & drained it though, that worked far better.

I wanted to play iron man & puncture it. Had a lot of pain over the next few days & after I drained a lot of this crap out before this pic was taken it was swollen a lot more. Burned like hell!

Last edited by nervewrecker on February 1st, 2011, 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 1st, 2011, 8:58 pm

remember with great power comes great responsibility!!!!!!!!!

but under seriousness I am gonna be cleaning up more regularly and right rong de house gonna get some malathion yes!!!! just so just you would see a spider just appear walking on the floor.....instantly killed though....

but damn glad that you on the mend and was able to share your experiences with us!!!!!

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » February 1st, 2011, 8:58 pm

Thanks for posting, didn't realize how dangerous these things can be, hope you have a fast full recovery.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » February 1st, 2011, 9:00 pm

My religion speaks against it but..i kill majority of them when i see them :|

Cept the daddy long-legs, they harmless.

I suffer from SERIOUS arachnophobia so i doh play joke with them.

Postby Damien » February 1st, 2011, 9:04 pm

Wtf man, glad your ok and good info

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 1st, 2011, 9:06 pm

what should also be noted is that i dint feel a thing when i get bite eh.. big venomous spiders like that tarantula, you would feel that bite immediately and ya can go to the doc.. thats why ppl wait and try to treat themselves... another frig up part is where there is one, there are thousands...

spray the yard, spray the house, under couch and bed, corners etc.. they are not the house spiders with the tiny body and little ball on their back and thin loooong legs that live up near the celling making webs and catching mosquitoes.. you will know it when ya see it.

slacker_jack, breds, on ya face!! if I had get this on my face. breds i feeling weak thinking of it. was talking bout it with my dad and couple partners.. imagine if this happen on ya cok!? breds ya loosing that sheit!

Postby sharkman121 » February 1st, 2011, 9:12 pm

on another note, if u have shoes or hats etc that have been laid down for a while under the bed or in a room, get in the habit of knocking them out before u put them on.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 1st, 2011, 9:15 pm

sharkman121 wrote:on another note, if u have shoes or hats etc that have been laid down for a while under the bed or in a room, get in the habit of knocking them out before u put them on.

been doing this since i saw it on a cartoon when I was younger :skurry:

Postby nervewrecker » February 1st, 2011, 9:15 pm

had a bump bout 3/4 the size of a golf ball on my face (some tuners met me when it was now starting to swell up). I practically grew from looking like an over sized zit to 3/4 the size of a golf ball over night.
Sure right all kinda crap came outa there, blood & pus & all kinda crap. I was home for a few days. Found a fish on the road, put it in a bucket of water & went down in the bush to set the poor thing free down by a river but that area is known for people transporting drugs. The police caught me, pulled me aside to question me but I forgot the hole was oozing stuff. It started dripping on my t-shirt already, when I came out the car if you see the reaction on the faces of all 3 officers. They aint worry to ask anything else, they just say GTFO & go see a doctor or something, by the time I reach for the papers I had from the doc office all 3 of them dive in the van & drag out. :lol:

I now have a 1/4" scar on my face from where the hole was & a different finger print on my finger. the nail aint even grow back the same yet :lol:

rossi

Postby rossi » February 1st, 2011, 9:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:and the man still got up with his spider bite to help out when trinituner went down late Saturday night - kudos!

you have me lookin at spiders very differently now yes, and I already had arachnophobia!!!

I have this as well, how you cure urself hoss?

Bezman, from now on yuh know to kill ALL spiders eh man.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 1st, 2011, 9:19 pm

@slacker - :skurry: breds.. I real glad to hear you recover from that breds, wow!! thats a crazy story.
Last edited by Bezman on February 1st, 2011, 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » February 1st, 2011, 9:20 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:on another note, if u have shoes or hats etc that have been laid down for a while under the bed or in a room, get in the habit of knocking them out before u put them on.

yep, i have a consistent habit of doing this till its bordering on OCD.

that little action can save you alot of pain

Postby K74T » February 1st, 2011, 9:33 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:

lol moms does still tell me tuh do dat

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 1st, 2011, 9:43 pm

damn that sounds horrible...i normally knock on my boots before i use it......but from now on is harder knocks oui......bop an ting :| never know what could be hidden inside

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » February 1st, 2011, 9:51 pm

eeeeekkkkk. that is d 1 spider i fricken fraid jed. it flat and dus look creepy like iz sum kinda crossbreed. eeeeeekkkkkk

Postby nervewrecker » February 1st, 2011, 10:06 pm

CS3A_GLX wrote:eeeeekkkkk. that is d 1 spider i fricken fraid jed. it flat and dus look creepy like iz sum kinda crossbreed. eeeeeekkkkkk

what about this fellow:

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » February 1st, 2011, 10:07 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:
datsum phorqed up shyt....
death to all spiders....

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » February 1st, 2011, 10:08 pm

^^^ yeah thaz d shicken 1! is 2 ah dem it have now...anyways, i jus sell out my phobia!!!! *wets pants and leaves thread*

Postby Chimera » February 1st, 2011, 10:12 pm

wtf..first few paragraphs sound like one of those dotish chain letters to forward...then i realize he talking the truth.....what..the..firetruck