COP Deputy Leader: "PP MUST GO!!!"

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 6:29 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2011/01/30/n ... t-exchange

PP must go says Mayers
No change, just exchange
Published: Sun, 2011-01-30
Asha Javeed
Deputy political leader of the COP Robert Mayers

No change. Just exchange. That’s Robert Mayers’ take on the People’s Partnership Government. The outspoken deputy political leader of the Congress of the People (COP) says what exists in T&T was a United National Congress (UNC) Government masquerading as a People’s Partnership (PP) Government. He said on the heels of the Government’s mishandling of the SIA’s directorship, there is brewing dissatisfaction and outright condemnation from key players of the COP—one of the parties of the coalition PP Government.

In this scenario, he said, the COP must extricate itself from the “madness that is the Government” before it loses its credibility. Mayers, in a candid interview with the Sunday Guardian, said the series of missteps that have plagued the PP administration was not the result of a partnership that consults with each other on major decisions which affect the governance of the country and by consequence, the population.

“On May 24, people voted for a People’s Partnership Government and now they’ve gotten a UNC Government. They didn’t vote for that,” said Mayers. Putting his view into context, Mayers explained that his dissatisfaction came from the fact that very little was going on in the economy and the increasing profile of the UNC in the PP. This, he said, had ill-fated the coalition since both the UNC and the People’s National Movement (PNM) carry the stigma of corruption associated with them.

In his view, it’s obvious the Government is ill-prepared for dealing with the challenges ahead. As far as he’s concerned, there’s a limit to how much public relations can sustain the Government given the fallout of the Ramnarine/SIA scandal. “The act of appointing Ramnarine says more than they realise. They treated the post in such a flippant manner. It also shows their treatment of crime is just a joke. They are not serious,” he stated.

From his vantage point, he said, the economy was suffering from the indecisiveness of the PP. ‘Get rid of the PP Govt’ Mayers, a former chairman of the National Alliance for Reconstruction, a coalition Government which defeated the PNM in 1986, said the People’s Partnership had done what it was supposed to do—that was to get rid of the PNM Government. Now, he believes, the time has come to get rid of the People’s Partnership Government. “They can’t stay. We have to move them now,” he said.

He said the goal was to keep trying again until we get it better. He observed that key players in the Government were earning the public’s ire. He illustrated by using Finance Minister Winston Dookeran’s bailout plan for Clico depositors as an example. “How on earth can a Prime Minister go and appoint an inter-ministerial team to re-examine a decision which was made by the Minister of Finance and was approved by both houses (the House of Representatives and the Senate)? They don’t understand the rules of governance,” he said.

What’s clearly lacking in this coalition, he said, are recourse for mis-judgments. As it stands, he observed, there is no institutional framework to support the Partnership except a manifesto presented during the 2010 election and a Memorandum of Understanding signed by the head of all the parties at Charlie King Junction on April 22, 2010.

‘Same old politics’

The Fyzabad declaration was signed by the leaders of the coalition Kamla Persad-Bissessar for the United National Congress (UNC), Winston Dookeran for the Congress of the People (COP), Ashworth Jack for the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP), Makandal Daaga for the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC) and Errol K Mc Leod for the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ).

That declaration not only stated that only one candidate from the political parties would contest each of the country’s 41 constituencies but it also committed each partner to a specific code of conduct that took into account the constitutional guarantees of Trinidad and Tobago of freedom, justice and equality, with a specific commitment not to enact any laws that interfered with the rights enshrined in the constitution. This, said Mayers, was not what had been happening in the past couple of months.

Lest it seem like continued sour grapes from the COP given that they’ve voiced their discontent about state board appointments and marginalisation of the party in the coalition, Mayers said the PP was badly constructed in the first instance. Shortly after former prime minister Patrick Manning signalled general election, the opposition forces united with the aim to remove the PNM from office. At that time, Mayers was criticised for stating his discontent over the situation.

He was quoted in the Guardian, stating: “Somehow, we’ve been led to believe this unity can be purchased cheaply. That all we need is for Africans and East Indians to work together. That there are a few ignorant people on both sides who are trapped in the prejudices of the past and if the demagogues and politicians who exploit these divisions just go away, all our problems would be solved. Thus we will end up with a PNM vs UNC election fight with a few candidates from COP and other parties being thrown in as backdrop to add a thin veneer to their already distorted concept of ‘unity.’”

His public concern, which now seems prophetic in retrospect, is the same concern now. In this coalition, he said, the COP should have been a protector of national interest. “What we’re experiencing now is the same old politics that drives us apart and the logic hasn’t changed in 50 years. “That is why those of us who believe in a new and different day must begin to mobilise along the lines of a genuine national party with a message of hope and of good governance...That is what the COP is supposed to represent,” he had said.

DrunkenMaster16

Re: COP Deputy Leader: "PP MUST GO!!!"

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 30th, 2011, 6:38 am

I honestly still believe we voted for the lesser of two evils.

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 6:49 am

These idiots never had a fricking plan.
Hell Mayers knew this, he had to have known this...but you see how easily the PROSPECT of being in power corrupts those who know better.
Their eyes light up and their head begins to spin with the mere idea of POWER. The 2010 manifesto was a fuckingjoke. Comical. I had to read it again the other day and just laugh...so pie in the sky that you HAD to be drunk to fall for it.
Now we have a embarrassment after embarrassment with KamLIAR in charge, she had to be saved from the press the other day in the Hilton, her responses getting more and more testy. She can't handle the pressure and is not aware of how to run a country.

Bas for all the chupidness he used to put dong, was RIGHT. He may not be the straightest arrow in the set, but he was a good judge of character. He knew all along that this drunken slopfest excuse of a PM was there just to put on a good show. Masquarade a bit and talk in she faux accent (up to now we cyar even figure out what kinna accent that is :roll: ) flying out to accept glamour award while Rome burning. She serious? These supporters serious?

Meanwhile at #1Tranquility

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2011/01/30/1 ... pnm-s-door

BTW...wham to "supertrini" Yeah that clong that used to be on YouTube blasting off about the PNM. Where him? After he make that video with the PSA protesting like he disappear...he suddenly too busy to post videos:

http://www.youtube.com/user/supertrini09

2 months ago was the last we heard of this idiot. Where him? He get he raise yet? NO-so he taking it in he pipe and smoking it, cause he's a firetruck sheep...holding party card of the 2Baa crew. He's a public servant that cyar even show his face-I wonder if he went to KamLIAR fete? HAHAHA

Ah laughing, but this really isn't funny. Cause things getting WORSE AND WORSE...Inflation is what now? 13.4%?

Nice---->

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 7:07 am

I think this can be called the OFFICIAL beginning of the end for the PP.
Anil will most likely jump ship if Dooks does not step down as leader, and elections by August.

The huge spiral downwards is set to begin the week AFTER carnival.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2011, 7:08 am

*like*

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 7:20 am

Taken from the COP FB page:

the party has returned to it's roots, the belly of the UNC, from whence it was spawned. And what has it stood for? Character is only tested in adversity. In 2007, We were a force. Unsuccessful at the polls, but the warning was sounded. Three years later, like a dog licking back up it's vomit, we end up right back in the UNC. When a woman leaves a man and goes back to him, she is usually treated worse than before.

thanks to our worthless leader, we are now the abused spouse of the UNC. COP as an idea is still valid though, but its leader Dookeran needs to go as well as this whole kissing the ground that the corrupt UNC walks on

Words from their own supporters...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 30th, 2011, 7:58 am

RASC wrote:Taken from the COP FB page:

the party has returned to it's roots, the belly of the UNC, from whence it was spawned. And what has it stood for? Character is only tested in adversity. In 2007, We were a force. Unsuccessful at the polls, but the warning was sounded. Three years later, like a dog licking back up it's vomit, we end up right back in the UNC. When a woman leaves a man and goes back to him, she is usually treated worse than before.

thanks to our worthless leader, we are now the abused spouse of the UNC. COP as an idea is still valid though, but its leader Dookeran needs to go as well as this whole kissing the ground that the corrupt UNC walks on

Words from their own supporters...

resounding force???, lol, dreamers...

Postby pete » January 30th, 2011, 8:16 am

Why would there be elections?

What I more think needs to happen is the COP cabinet members need to hash out these problems in cabinet meetings and not have the deputy leader of the COP making statements like this.

Is this HIS view or the view of the COP? I think it's the former.

Postby Greypatch » January 30th, 2011, 8:20 am

Too many bad knobs in the PP

kevcam

Postby kevcam » January 30th, 2011, 8:54 am

RASC wrote:http://guardian.co.tt/news/2011/01/30/no-change-just-exchange

“The act of appointing Ramnarine says more than they realise. They treated the post in such a flippant manner. It also shows their treatment of crime is just a joke. They are not serious,” he stated.

Out of everything any the government does (both past and present) this is the one topic I wish they could stop playing the ass with.

I could still handle the inflation, the bad roads, backward health care (to a point) etc, but oh gosh get serious with the crime thing nah. If they have to do their sheit it have plenty other ministries to do sheit with but get serious about the crime man.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » January 30th, 2011, 9:59 am

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » January 30th, 2011, 10:10 am

Just PNM propaganda.
PP in good shape for the next 5 years.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 30th, 2011, 10:23 am

ray_S.T.R.A_man wrote:Just PNM propaganda.
PP in good shape for the next 5 years.

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 30th, 2011, 10:24 am

lol @ RASC's av

Postby tr1ad » January 30th, 2011, 10:45 am

yunno just before elections he spoke what his thoughts were on the joining of the two parties
saying that they would sideline the cop etc etc and he infact was sidelined by cop for saying such things

dooks et al ain't wanna listen to mayers at all

Postby AllTrac » January 30th, 2011, 11:42 am

lmao@We were a force. Unsuccessful at the polls

i dunno why de media does even give them a voice :lol:

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 1:16 pm

Yuh know when the Guardian starts posting negative stories about the UNC-things ruff :?

kamLIAR time short, better start gearing up for election #3

I eh think third time would be any charm for you r yuh crew.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 30th, 2011, 1:18 pm

whats the option? rowley? i shudder to think...

silversurfer TnT

Postby silversurfer TnT » January 30th, 2011, 1:23 pm

well i not voting for the pp next election or anyother party so let them enjoy their 5 years if they last.

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2011, 1:36 pm

I see the clown king of cut n paste propaganda has returned

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » January 30th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Soundwave wrote:Image

LOL

DEEP! :lol:

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 1:39 pm

zoom rader wrote:I see the clown king of cut n paste propaganda has returned

Ok Zoom Rader

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2011, 1:42 pm

RASC wrote:

Ok Zoom Rader

At least u know who u are

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 1:46 pm

RASC wrote:

Ok Zoom Rader

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2011, 1:50 pm

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

Ok Zoom Rader

Good,lets hope this is end of this Bullsh*t thread.

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 1:51 pm

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

Ok Zoom Rader

Good,lets hope this is end of this Bullsh*t thread.

Ok Zoom Rader

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2011, 1:55 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:I honestly still believe we voted for the lesser of two evils.

I myself /trying/ to come to terms of this. The PM still hasnt brought in the max of 2 terms for a PM and lots of other promises still in the air.

Postby brams112 » January 30th, 2011, 2:17 pm

mayers just vex he ain't get a big wuk as yet that is all,just to sell newspapers these media houses will stoop very low

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2011, 2:24 pm

brams112 wrote:mayers just vex he ain't get a big wuk as yet that is all,just to sell newspapers these media houses will stoop very low

I think we should conduct a poll to see whether or not Mayers' statements do in fact reflect the feelings of the general populous.

Postby shogun » January 30th, 2011, 2:55 pm

Soundwave wrote:Image

LOL!