glasses owners/wearers

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 27th, 2011, 7:28 am

i need to change my lens, it scratched up really bad so i went back to value optical and they said it will take two weeks until i get it back.

problem is i cant stay two hrs without it and its my first glasses, and i dont have a spare....what do i have to do?

buy a new one? :?

is there somewhere else that offer some alternative option or can do it before two weeks?

I am really dependent on it.

Halfbreed07

Re: glasses owners/wearers

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 27th, 2011, 7:38 am

no, these things need prep time and its imported, unless ya using some low generic prescription its gonna take time.

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2011, 7:40 am

there are a few labs which make the lens locally for most of the optical places
their turnaround time is usually a week which is why the places say 1-2 weeks

Postby SUPAstarr » January 27th, 2011, 7:41 am

If you have the cash get a test done for contact lenses, an use disposable contact lenses

Sully

Postby Sully » January 27th, 2011, 7:42 am

Goto Pricesmart and get a pair of the glasses that they sell. It's cheap and a good temporary alternative.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 27th, 2011, 7:45 am

didnt think of contacts, :| thanks SUPA

Halfbreed07, AR coating and transitions that i think needs to be a lil darker now

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 27th, 2011, 7:49 am

You should always have a second pair of glasses in case one breaks or needs to be repaired for some reason. I have been doing this for years; replace the lenses in the old one with your basic set of lenses so you can watch TV, exercise, etc in these and then bling out on the other pair that you wear to work, when yuh limin, etc..............

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 27th, 2011, 7:51 am

its my first pair dude, didnt really think of gettin a spare :oops: :oops:

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 27th, 2011, 7:55 am

It was more advice than criticism. As in take this opportunity to get a new pair and keep the old one as back up.

Postby SUPAstarr » January 27th, 2011, 7:59 am

Thats why i have have contacts they are a cheap alternative/back up 200 of a box with 3 pairs, each pair last over 3 week well maintained, an you can even sleep with some

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 27th, 2011, 8:34 am

Try another optometrist.I lost my glasses once and had brand new ones back in a week from Ferreira's Trincity.

BTW you self doh know belt buckle will scratch glasses. :mrgreen:

triniangie

Postby triniangie » January 27th, 2011, 8:54 am

jus fyi:

Postby K74T » January 27th, 2011, 9:12 am

SUPAstarr wrote:If you have the cash get a test done for contact lenses, an use disposable contact lenses

x2...Used contacts while waiting for my new pair

Postby SUPAstarr » January 27th, 2011, 9:14 am

oye is that your Maz6 in that avatar? looks good

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 27th, 2011, 9:16 am

For glasses i use this guy. Cant remember his name (so i just call him glasses man) :lol:
but his prices are realllly good.. Better yet he comes to u.
Glasses i see for 1800-2400 u get for 6-700 with a very wide selection in fold out briefcases.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 27th, 2011, 9:18 am

triniangie wrote:jus fyi:

pocket aint day fat

i already have one, why get 2 more?

might get 1 more pr or get contacts

thanks peeps

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 27th, 2011, 9:23 am

Ben Bodington for your lens.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 27th, 2011, 9:26 am

crash dummy wrote:For glasses i use this guy. Cant remember his name (so i just call him glasses man) :lol:
Glasses i see for 1800-2400 u get for 6-700 with a very wide selection in fold out briefcases.

with a name like 'crash dummy'....your 'glasses man' aint workin right for you...

j/k :lol: :lol:

i need professional help, my eyes are very sensitive with regards to light
:?

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 27th, 2011, 9:28 am

hottgyul wrote:
crash dummy wrote:For glasses i use this guy. Cant remember his name (so i just call him glasses man) :lol:

with a name like 'crash dummy'....your 'glasses man' aint workin right for you...

j/k :lol: :lol:

i need professional help, my eyes are very sensitive with regards to light
:?

That name was before i met him :P :lol:
In that case even if you go with contacts you will need shades.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 27th, 2011, 9:37 am

cant work in shades...........imagine ppl walk into the office and see me with a big shades on, lookin like i goin to the beach :|

Postby ronsin1 » January 27th, 2011, 9:57 am

people seem to be wearing glasses at younger ages now that before.

does this mean they are masturbating more?

I doh know eh I just asking

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 27th, 2011, 10:03 am

ronsin1 wrote:people seem to be wearing glasses at younger ages now that before.

since i started working behind the computer a few years ago, it started affecting my eyes.....plus at a younger age i did lots of reading mostly at night, put alot of strain on my eyes.

does this mean they are masturbating more?

no,someone does it for me.......i just sit back and relax

I doh know eh I just asking

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Go to Ferriera's and get a contacts test done and they'll give u a supply for a week ..

supastarr , tell me more about this maintaining contacts coz I does run through these things like crazy

sleep withthem :| is tht ok for your eyes ?

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 27th, 2011, 10:27 am

Pffftt

http://www.aquagoggles.com/

I got a pair of those I wear daily when I not feeling to wear glasses..

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2011, 11:28 am

steups, just buy a pair of these nah:

I buying a pair & gonna scare the living daylights out of people in the cemetary for all saints day this year. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby tr1ad » January 27th, 2011, 11:30 am

transitions is a waste of money

invest in a tested sunglasses

Postby rollingstock » January 27th, 2011, 11:37 am

tr1ad wrote:transitions is a waste of money

invest in a tested sunglasses

You think so?
I personally never had a problem with the transitions, and with it i never had to change glasses when leaving the car and going into the office, mines were polarised and provided good protection in midday sun.

Postby SUPAstarr » January 27th, 2011, 11:39 am

eurogirl wrote:Go to Ferriera's and get a contacts test done and they'll give u a supply for a week ..

supastarr , tell me more about this maintaining contacts coz I does run through these things like crazy

sleep withthem :| is tht ok for your eyes ?

once you take them out an clean them everyday or every other day an leave them soakin for a day or so, they last longer. I use Hydraclear plus, an im allowed to sleep with them one or two nights. But im a wotless slacker, so i sleep whole week with them. If you sleep with contacts too long tho you eye will develop an irritation, an become supersensitive to light an become uncomfortable to wear. I've been there a couple times. I actually use one pair of lenses for a month with no difference or diminishin strength in the lenses

Postby tr1ad » January 27th, 2011, 11:40 am

had the same as you

tint on transitions too light...
plus the sunlgasses are better for driving

Postby rollingstock » January 27th, 2011, 11:48 am

tr1ad wrote:had the same as you

tint on transitions too light...
plus the sunlgasses are better for driving

I had a problem with keeping the 2 accessible, so i stuck with the transitions, and with the polarization visibility was clear but not harsh.
Don't have need for tested glasses anymore, too bad cause the Galant has a nice padded holder in the center console.