Tribe cussbud=national scholarship winner?

crazychinee

Tribe cussbud=national scholarship winner?

Postby crazychinee » January 11th, 2011, 5:27 pm

From the newsday

A Port-of-Spain magistrate yesterday rushed to the defence of police officers after a Chaguanas man was brought before her charged for using obscene language when he abused officers seeking to disperse partygoers after the Tribe fete at Jenny’s car park at Cipriani boulevard on Sunday morning.

Presiding in the Port-of-Spain Third Magistrate’s Court, Marcia Murray issued a warning to Chan Chow who pleaded guilty as she said, “It is quite fashionable to speak to, and about police officers in a disparaging way.”

Reminding the privileged national scholarship winner that “to whom much is given, much is expected, “ Murray said it was actions similar to that which bring the police into disrepute that had led to her “not going out much anymore.”

The court heard that at about 4.45 am on Sunday, officers on duty at the event which concluded at 4 am — had cause to speak to Chow and his friends about their behaviour as they sought to disperse patrons along Tranquillity Street.

However, instead of heeding the officers’ instructions, Chow reportedly began cursing the officers as he jeered at them that, “Ten percent of the police force is good...90 percent is ————.”

Entering a plea in mitigation, Chow’s lawyer said he was “a little inebriated” and that he was prepared to apologise to the court for his behaviour which had come at the end of the carnival fete, held between 9 pm and 4 am.

Appealing for Chow to be reprimanded and discharged, the attorney claimed that “tempers had flared” as Chow was from a respectable family and that the 18-year-old was due to take up studies at a Canadian university later this year.

Telling the lawyer that Chow’s response was not warranted, Murray addressed Chow as she informed him that the offence carried a maximum term of 30 days imprisonment and that such a black mark would forever stain his record and affect his ability to obtain both US and Canadian visas.

Before announcing that he was reprimanded and discharged, Murray left Chow with something to think about as she said, “When people of a certain standing deride the police, what is to become of everyone else?”

So being from a respectable family and going to canada to study means you cud cuss the babylon?

rossi

Re: Tribe cussbud=national scholarship winner?

Postby rossi » January 11th, 2011, 5:34 pm

well....there you have it.

Postby rollingstock » January 11th, 2011, 5:41 pm

So being from a respectable family and going to canada to study means you cud cuss the babylon?
[/thread]

Postby AllTrac » January 11th, 2011, 6:15 pm

what this have to do with Tribe?

Postby RASC » January 11th, 2011, 6:16 pm

Thas any kinda question to ask? :lol:

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 11th, 2011, 6:36 pm

what?

Postby K74T » January 11th, 2011, 6:39 pm

AllTrac wrote:what this have to do with Tribe?

Postby bushwakka » January 11th, 2011, 8:08 pm

“When people of a certain standing deride the police, what is to become of everyone else?”

epic words there...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 11th, 2011, 9:26 pm

dais wah I use to call my channa and chow-mein sandwich....a chan chow....

geodude

Postby geodude » January 11th, 2011, 9:27 pm

bushwakka wrote:“When people of a certain standing deride the police, what is to become of everyone else?”

epic words there...

x a zilloin,
like seriously that magistrate need some good cussing too

Postby Damien » January 11th, 2011, 10:11 pm

stueps that magistrate want ah planass

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 11th, 2011, 11:16 pm

wait.. which chan chow is this?

Postby Trini Hookah » January 11th, 2011, 11:17 pm

z...you supposed to know

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 11th, 2011, 11:32 pm

yea, ah realise, man get pwn dey

Postby Trini Hookah » January 11th, 2011, 11:43 pm

i LOL'd

geodude

Postby geodude » January 12th, 2011, 7:06 am

Reminding the privileged national scholarship winner that “to whom much is given, much is expected, “

unless this person get one ah the free schols that PNM was sharing, this statement is pure BS,
if the individual obtained a schol fair and square, then its because they worked for it and demonstrated the an academic ability that was superior to their peers.
Something that has been earned is not a freebie

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » January 12th, 2011, 7:17 am

[/thread]

dont know about that , but theres obvious Proof that being from a RICH family that got government contracts means that you can drive Audis and Kill innocent people and get away with a pat on the back!

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 12th, 2011, 12:17 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:dais wah I use to call my channa and chow-mein sandwich....a chan chow....

Wait nah yuh buy that by Nick's on Caroni Savannah Road?

So the magistrate saying 'people of a certain standing' really telling me that they hold certain individuals or citizens above everyone else.

STEUPS!!!!!!!

:evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat:

Postby Hook » January 12th, 2011, 12:28 pm

crazychinee wrote:From the newsday

Appealing for Chow to be reprimanded and discharged, the attorney claimed that “tempers had flared” as Chow was from a respectable family and that the 18-year-old was due to take up studies at a Canadian university later this year.

Thas what you gather from that?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 12th, 2011, 12:32 pm

Well the way the lawyer arguing it's as if because you from a respectable family that you should do whatever you want and get away with it.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 12th, 2011, 1:07 pm

Fyah Bun D Babylon!

Occifer hymc!

douglaking

Postby douglaking » January 12th, 2011, 1:32 pm

geodude wrote:Reminding the privileged national scholarship winner that “to whom much is given, much is expected, “

unless this person get one ah the free schols that PNM was sharing, this statement is pure BS,
if the individual obtained a schol fair and square, then its because they worked for it and demonstrated the an academic ability that was superior to their peers.

Probably the magistrate was referring to his mental capacity. You know like

"He have plenty brainz"

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 12th, 2011, 1:38 pm

geodude wrote:Reminding the privileged national scholarship winner that “to whom much is given, much is expected, “

LOL not if he do dat CAPE sheit

Postby Mark! » January 12th, 2011, 2:34 pm

BOOM!

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » January 12th, 2011, 6:08 pm

Hook wrote:
crazychinee wrote:From the newsday

Thas what you gather from that?

And what do you gather from it?

You have an 18 year old, drunk cussing up police officers. The same people who they call and beg for help when they being robbed; but you reprimand them and let them off?
He should of been charged, it placed on his record.
Lets see how his student visa gets off the ground after that.

Postby 16 cycles » January 12th, 2011, 6:16 pm

agree with the magistrate...

fella have a supposedly promising life ahead of him.....is his to ruin....this incident made that clear...hopefully he ain't just have book sense

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2011, 7:52 pm

all things equal with prejudice
if you are a magistrate and you have two people in front of you
one a bandit with no education and very likely to become a bigger bandit
versus an educated person who has a better chance of being a worthwhile person
the choice of action is obvious

sweaty

Postby sweaty » January 12th, 2011, 9:02 pm

zcarz wrote:wait.. which chan chow is this?

the younger one

altec

Postby altec » January 12th, 2011, 10:19 pm

pugboy do some sociology you would realise money and colour run things. It is a fact in every ex colonial country. You could jail most of Australia.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » January 12th, 2011, 11:37 pm

Whew, for a second there I thought this was the dude who owns Mr. Chow's smoke house. Anyway, carry on...