Pregnant with sixth child and facing eviction

Postby Stephon. » January 9th, 2011, 7:32 am

Trinidad Express wrote:By Camille Bethel camille.bethel@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 8, 2011 at 10:47 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 8, 2011 at 10:47 PM ECT

Lyn Bridgewater is 33 years old, seven months pregnant with her sixth child, and about to be evicted from her current lodgings.

Her life's journey is one of pysical abuse and hardship, beginning from age 17.

But Bridgewater is promising that if help comes her way, she will do right by her children, and give them a chance to do something better with their lives.

Bridgewater, who said she applied to the Housing Development Corporation (HDC) for a house three years ago, has lived variously at a battered woman's shelter, a church member's house, a friend's home, and finally at the home of a disabled pensioner who now has to find somewhere to live himself.

Bridgewater has worked in construction, customer service and as a security guard to support herself and children.

"I need a home of my own before the baby comes. I was supposed to leave where I am staying at New Village, Point Fortin, since December because the elderly man who allowed me to stay with him at his two-bedroom home is moving out and the house is going to be torn down," she said.

Bridgewater's first intimate relationship started at the age of 17, and ended after she almost died at the hands of her abuser who beat her while she was pregnant with her fourth child.

"I tried going back to school to better myself but he didn't want me going to classes. It was really bad, I made several reports to the police but it never stopped," she said.

In 2008, when she was two months pregnant, she left the baby's father on the advice of her doctor because once again she was a victim of domestic violence.

"He told me if I continued in that relationship I could lose the baby or something bad could happen to me so I decided to leave," she said.

She said she ended up staying with a woman from church but then the woman soon left the country and she was forced to stay with a relative. After she had the baby, that arrangement got abusive, she said.

"Three days after I had the baby, my (relative) started getting on with me and I couldn't take it so I left and went back to my pastor who let me stay at a battered woman's shelter. But even there the situation was bad.

"I stayed there four, almost five months, but could not continue to stay there with my son so again I left from there. The lady from church came and I again stayed with her. She was very nice to me, but then her son moved in and wanted to bring his girlfriend and two children to live with him so I was told I had to move out," she said.

Bridgewater said up to the middle of last year she lived at a squatting community with the father of her sixth baby at Warden Road, Point Fortin, but that relationship, which started off well, turned verbally abusive.

And when the police and the army came last year to oversee the demolition of the home in which she lived, Bridgewater was back on the road again.

Bridgewater now sleeps on a mattress on the floor of an apartment with her two-year-old son.

Her four other children, who range in ages 15 to six, live with her sister.

"I talk with them on the phone everyday but they can't be with me because I have nowhere for them to stay. My concern is for my children and being able to be with them in our own home.

"It has been hard but I have tried and continue to try to make a better life for my children and myself. I went to the HDC ten times last year. I have been to Housing Minister Roodal Moonilal's office four times in an attempt to talk with him but without success. I have talked with representatives from HDC and I have been told to come back in January and they would see how best I can be helped before I have the baby," she said.

Bridgewater said currently she is living on groceries she buys with the TT Card and she has applied for welfare for her two-year-old son.

Question time, if you were in a position in government to grant this lady a house, would you?

Skanky

Re: Pregnant with sixth child and facing eviction

Postby Skanky » January 9th, 2011, 7:40 am

It's sad that children have to suffer because their mother is a whore.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2011, 7:40 am

no but i would tie her tubes

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 9th, 2011, 8:29 am

I sympathise with the kids, not the mother.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 9th, 2011, 8:52 am

If it was up to me, you'll need a license to have a child, as mentioned above it's the children that will suffer if they don't get help. People always begging gov't for money/housing, saying how they have so many children etc... If your depending on gov't, then gov't should tell you how many children you can have.

Pic of mother

She went from one abusive relationship to another, why not manage your four children, don't have sex with anyone unless he has a stable job and you'll are married. She's still young, she might pick up someone else and we'll see her on the papers again with her 8th child.
Last edited by shaneelal on January 9th, 2011, 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 9th, 2011, 8:57 am

Skanky wrote:It's sad that children have to suffer because their mother is a whore.

+1

Just built to breed yes...

Postby S_2NR » January 9th, 2011, 9:27 am

rich ppl who hav rel $$ does hav few children..
while poor ppl with alot less $ breeding like pothound..
wtf

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » January 9th, 2011, 9:34 am

trinidad have to do like china if i goverment see it fit dat you cant afford to to mine a child well no child an if they do it charge dem.

munzkinz

Postby munzkinz » January 9th, 2011, 9:54 am

she like a green peas when u pull the string the peg doz open.. lmao

Postby sharkman121 » January 9th, 2011, 10:23 am

shaneelal wrote: If your depending on gov't, then gov't should tell you how many children you can have.

this.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 9th, 2011, 10:42 am

I am of the belief that once you are an adult, you control your circumstances.

And I think its all the mother fault, though...as the article says, in 2008 she was moving out of a house while pregnant. Yet, with nowhere to live and no stability, she had 2 more children.

Its good that her sister took some of the kids so that they can get out of that environment. Hopefully, the sister nuh drinking the same juice she drinking.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 9th, 2011, 11:50 am

munzkinz wrote:she like a green peas when u pull the string the peg doz open.. lmao

you joined just to post this? :roll:

Postby Mark! » January 9th, 2011, 11:58 am

vrampersad14 wrote:
munzkinz wrote:she like a green peas when u pull the string the peg doz open.. lmao

you joined just to post this? :roll:

this is the start of worst things to come

Postby Stephon. » January 9th, 2011, 12:05 pm

pioneer wrote:She should bundle all her children together...tie them to herself and jump in the sea

problem solved

7 less weak links in society

HAHAHHAHA WOAH GAD OUIIIII!!!!! ah weak!

Postby Stephon. » January 9th, 2011, 12:07 pm

My predictions:
She will get a house within the next week or two.
People will RIGHTFULLY complain about the fact that a leecher for assistance.
Rachel Price will put up a status defending the woman.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 9th, 2011, 12:13 pm

tie she tubes & set up a adoption system for ppl who cant make any & can afford to mind them ...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 9th, 2011, 12:15 pm

Someone please start a fund to neuter this beyotch...

Postby Bizzare » January 9th, 2011, 12:15 pm

Was waiting on them pics to see if she cud take ah seventh......buh eh eh....

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 9th, 2011, 12:16 pm

lola.308 wrote:so sad for the children, but if d government giving her a house then my mother should get one too. sorry but what good for peter good for paul.

ent ,

If she like chook so much, she should go get chook in de clinic once a month it eh go kill she

jusme

Postby jusme » January 9th, 2011, 12:41 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:no but i would tie her tubes

Postby K74T » January 9th, 2011, 12:50 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
Skanky wrote:It's sad that children have to suffer because their mother is a whore.

+1

Just built to breed yes...

ent

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 9th, 2011, 1:11 pm

Well by next week she will be getting ah house......thats all you have to do to get ah house.....dont go to school dont get a job ...just get laid and have as many children as possible and you will get a house.......

thats a horrible precedent the govt has set.......

PPl do this on purpose to get free $ and free house.......

Sex is the best yes......porn starz get paid to have sex.......In Trini is free $ and house for yuh

Way to go girl.....!!!!

No mention was made of the last babys father....guess she maybe dont even know who it is........

Hope its not pioneer.......

Postby brams112 » January 9th, 2011, 5:07 pm

people like that should be ashamed to be on papers complaining where is the chile fadders,,,it hard to mine a next man chile this rounds,,,being called uncle daddy,,,,,,

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 9th, 2011, 5:19 pm

and then all her children will most likely turn out to be whores/ robbers/ murderers.. people need to think

Postby Bizzare » January 9th, 2011, 5:47 pm

Well is a cycle...... daz the cycle of poverty. Cuz it takes money to make money in this world we live in though its can be done without it.

apple

Postby apple » January 9th, 2011, 5:48 pm

steups....

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 9th, 2011, 6:00 pm

wow @ the negative comments made concerning this matter
you guys needs to come out of your bubbles and see the things that are happening out here.
I am not making excuses for this woman but some of these matters are the result of broken homes
where some of these women first sexual encounter is with their fathers or other male relatives(incest) and are abused.
some never recover from the damage done to them and continue living in this form of bondage
I am not saying this may be the case with this woman but we do not know her background
so why judge ?
right now the woman needs help, it is either you help her or you turn and look the other way
why go further and drag her down the gutter in view of the world with what you have to say?

right now
if she do like what pioneer says and jump into the sea,
she will be doing us a favor only by saving us from another possibility
of having a gun stuck down our throat in the future,
a possibility that is somehow governed by our attitude
towards our fellow citizens in need.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 9th, 2011, 6:03 pm

that's what pisses me off when i look at how much tax i have paid. and yet i have to drive on crappy roads pay private health care and when my money runs out im screwed thanks society for freaking the hard workers

Postby Bizzare » January 9th, 2011, 6:04 pm

awwwww megadoc1........ ain't that jus sweet and corny...... Hope her oldest son robs YOUR ass first and we'll see you in the "Have you ever been robbed" ched!!

Postby Bizzare » January 9th, 2011, 6:12 pm

Although what you said is true megadoc1. Doing something will prevent the above from happening rather than society's first reaction to this dilemma but Tuner is no place for the warm hearted so hull yuh corny, caring, cheesy, kant and go someplace else......