Sponsor a child a meal.....Rip off?? or Legit??

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 31st, 2010, 11:15 pm

Guys,

Everytime I go to Price Plaza I am usually bombarded by this lady who begs me to sponsor a child a meal.......

Then around the next corner is a guy doing the same thing.....Now a muslim lady and her daughter who would sell some muslim perfume is now in the game begging to sponsor a child a meal......

I think this is a rip off........Saw the first lady counting money and man she had alot!!

Asked her to see one of her tickets.....She showed it to me and there was a LIGHTHOUSE MINISTRIES stamp on it........the number for them was 628 -1217......I immediately called the number to verify her story and guess what the number out of service.........

Are these folks conning people out there?????

Can anyone else shed some light on this....

If they are conmen and conwomen I think they should be arrested.........

One individual told her yes they would buy a ticket and would like to collect the food...they lady say no its not possible to collect the lunch...... :roll:

Has anyone else had and experience with these ppl?????

Re: Sponsor a child a meal.....Rip off?? or Legit??

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 31st, 2010, 11:17 pm

Also a muslim lady in Hijab working for LIGHTHOUSE MINISTRIES??????

Hard to believe...!!!!

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » December 31st, 2010, 11:20 pm

Sadly mate almost all charity these days are run just like a business 2% to a good cause 98% to back pocket... I aint giving a penny, doller, cent, euro to anyone.. I am more than happy though to give free time (And I have) to help other less fortunate but not to line someone else's pocket....

Postby Stephon. » January 1st, 2011, 12:34 am

Same BS @ Republic Bank in Maraval. Funny enough they know exactly who to ask! I got asked a couple of times and I didn't make an excuse such as "I don't have any money" or something like that. They got a flat out "no". Then they stopped asking me.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 1st, 2011, 12:47 am

Stephon ...if they are conmen...they should be arrested.....I called the number and it out of service....that alone is evidence....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 1st, 2011, 1:21 am

experienced similar but gave the money.......what they do with it well whatever.....but thanks for the heads up for next time!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 1st, 2011, 1:25 am

good heads up
i always get bombarded there with that
gave money once

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 1st, 2011, 1:29 am

Well....I am trying to figure out if this is a legit charity or not....If it is well its commendable...bu if not they should be jailed......

So for now I am trying to figure out if its legit or not.......so lets not draw any conclusions yet until we have evidence........

Postby K74T » January 1st, 2011, 2:12 am

It's a legit rip off

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 1st, 2011, 3:38 am

i does always brace dem :|

Postby Kenjo » January 1st, 2011, 6:00 am

they have been outside hilo st augustine for years now.I remember once giving money low time ago because they are stationed right outside RBTT atm.But now i brace them normel normel.The ones There have been the same people consistently though.They may be genuine but your set seem real suspect

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 1st, 2011, 8:24 am

The ticket stubs they give you has a website on it. The fair skin indian lady in Trincity does real flirt with me. Last time she asked me if I wanted to become a member. She once told me that most of them are teachers, and well she is well spoken so I never really suspected them.
There used to be another group giving out key rings as tokens for a $20 donation to a children home.
My theory is what they do with the money is up to them as long as I give with a willing heart.

ACT DA FOOL

Postby ACT DA FOOL » January 1st, 2011, 8:53 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:My theory is what they do with the money is up to them as long as I give with a willing heart.

I agree here 100%. Let faith decide what to do with them if their practise is indeed illegal. I for one has always donated with hope of some child benefiting from it in some way.

Postby Sky » January 1st, 2011, 9:37 am

The teachers with the key rings are legit. I know a teacher who was offered the chance to go out and sell. They show him how the system worked and how much went back to where. He went out and then stop it because it took up his Saturday and he was too busy.

Those pretty pretty ladies I dunno about. Usually the teachers come up to you courteous and kind. They show you the badge and explain when they have and what they need and where it's going. These new women bombard you with "Please help with a donation to feed a child".
One brace me yesterday, come up in my face tellin me that. I said I had none ( i really didn't, was running on linx), she said just once, she will change my blues for me. I said no the thing is.. And she she turn away and snapped 'ok good day sir' at me. Now I was nice to her because they were usually nice to me (the ones with the keyrings), but next time is a flat out NO.

Postby brams112 » January 1st, 2011, 9:51 am

boi once in centre of excellence i met a woman with the same story with donation for children story with a token for 25 bucks,give willingly,next thing i know after me she was bombared with donations,saw the same person in trincity some months after with a diffrent story close to christmas without the token but wanted the same amount,,,blankos there,know what,,, saw the same person in gulf city christmas eve,, as she saw me she brace me,but i made her out and blank her,thing is i make these con men and women out,i will give directly to the home just to feel safe,,,,

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 1st, 2011, 10:01 am

Some of you guys saying you will give...what ever they do with the money you dont care......I understand that you will still get your blessings...but it will be unfair if they are using kids as an excuse for a ripoff..........

On this note have you all experienced the kids selling sticker books in price plaza.......Their dead beat father does be there sending them out to beg and collecting the money after to buy cigarettes.......

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » January 1st, 2011, 10:22 am

Seriously peeps if ya wana do some good offer some free time to a charity and that will go 10+ further than a quick buck..

Most real charitys are run non profit so always struggle for man/women power and if you end up doing some work say at a kids home you may have some skills that you could pass on (I.T, Sports coach etc) that the organization would never be able to afford..

You atleast know that what you are doing does some good and someone less fortunate will benefit..

Next time you are approched just say I will offer some of my time or the cheeky one is I will drop off $100 worth of food to your organization where is it, that will prove if it's legit or not....

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » January 1st, 2011, 10:29 am

Nigson wrote:On this note have you all experienced the kids selling sticker books in price plaza.......Their dead beat father does be there sending them out to beg and collecting the money after to buy cigarettes.......

I don't give to them either, what the frock will i do with a Dora the Explorer sticker book, next time i go and see them there i'm calling child services....who vex loss, they are seriously a nuisance.

Postby Sky » January 1st, 2011, 10:44 am

Nigson wrote:Some of you guys saying you will give...what ever they do with the money you dont care......I understand that you will still get your blessings...but it will be unfair if they are using kids as an excuse for a ripoff..........

On this note have you all experienced the kids selling sticker books in price plaza.......Their dead beat father does be there sending them out to beg and collecting the money after to buy cigarettes.......

You won't get blessings if you know the money won't go to children nah.
The best thing to give is time in truth, but some of us don't have that to spare.

Postby bushwakka » January 1st, 2011, 10:45 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:The ticket stubs they give you has a website on it. The fair skin indian lady in Trincity does real flirt with me. Last time she asked me if I wanted to become a member. She once told me that most of them are teachers, and well she is well spoken so I never really suspected them.
There used to be another group giving out key rings as tokens for a $20 donation to a children home.
My theory is what they do with the money is up to them as long as I give with a willing heart.

u really tink she was flirtin w/u? :roll:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 1st, 2011, 11:00 am

Rocketraz1982 wrote:
Next time you are approched just say I will offer some of my time or the cheeky one is I will drop off $100 worth of food to your organization where is it, that will prove if it's legit or not....

Ill seriously try this one next time i meet them

toolpusher

Postby toolpusher » January 1st, 2011, 11:27 am

Dont we have laws against these types of deception/Fraud .If this was in another country they would have been arrested long time ago.

I remember a long time ago, anyone soliciting donation more than 24 cent suppose to get permission from the commisioner of police.It this still so?

Hope the police take some action.
It also have parents who sit in their vehicle and have their children peddling goods to motorist at intersections.

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » January 1st, 2011, 11:50 am

The reason people get away with it in most countrys inc USA & UK is because most people don't want to seem cruel if they dobb someone in who is asking for donations and the charity ends up being legit..
You have to find out what the law in TT is when it comes to donations and the percentage that has got to go to said cause.. In the UK I could open a charity just by filling out a few forms and any donations that I got I would only need to give something like 8% direct to the cause the rest can be classed as Admin support, or as many do it pays for a new car, help with the mortgage or a vacation :roll:

I also take a dim view on people asking for donations at or near a ATM machine this is a psychological tactic used by people as they know the number one response you will normally give is "sorry I have no cash on me" by taking that option away from you there is a good chance people will hand over a donation as they feel awkward...

Postby nervewrecker » January 1st, 2011, 11:58 am

why not find a poor or unfortunate child & give the stuff directly to him / her or the family? they so hard to find?
I dont give $$$ cuz I donno where my $$$ going but I know I get my blessings cuz I give directly to the less fortunate.

Postby nervewrecker » January 1st, 2011, 11:59 am

& when I say poor I dont mean the set who liming in club space on a weekend but poor whole week eh.

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » January 1st, 2011, 12:07 pm

slacker_jack wrote:& when I say poor I dont mean the set who liming in club space on a weekend but poor whole week eh.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 1st, 2011, 12:10 pm

i dont trust these ppl & i usually tell them not right now ..... :| :| :|

if they not legit i find management shouldn't allow these ppl to be on their property ...

Postby Chimera » January 1st, 2011, 12:11 pm

sigh.....this remind meh of d time a baptist woman put a curse on me because I didn't give she money to travel home...

but that aside, them children in Price plaza + the muslim woman real annoying,
I eh see them children a long time tho, most of them charity ppl these days, i doz give them a $100 to go share out call cards in and around the malls.

there used to be this one guy who was apparently blind and use to stand up outside subway with a envelope in his hand, i eh sure how legit he was but he use to get my money lol

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2011, 12:12 pm

its a fraud, the well dress/spoken red woman used to be by republic bank ellerslie, pricesmart and many other places
I asked her when/where the bbq would be, she said woodbrook youth centre on a sunday few weeks later
i live near there, i went that sunday and there was nothing going on......

Postby AllTrac » January 1st, 2011, 12:49 pm

pugboy wrote:its a fraud, the well dress/spoken red woman used to be by republic bank ellerslie, pricesmart and many other places
I asked her when/where the bbq would be, she said woodbrook youth centre on a sunday few weeks later
i live near there, i went that sunday and there was nothing going on......

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

pugboy pull up with he bbq ticket, belly in he hand and all :lol: :lol: