Postby redmanjp » December 31st, 2010, 12:51 am

fack!! i hadda go & buy a bluetooth phone & headset now

http://www.guardian.co.tt/beta/content/thn7jac1mp4

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_5_000_charge-112696529.html

$5,000 charge
...for using cellphones while driving
By by Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Dec 30, 2010 at 11:44 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Dec 30, 2010 at 11:44 PM ECT )

From tomorrow, persons who use their cellphones while driving will be charged a heavy $5,000 fine, Government Minister Jack Warner said at yesterday's post-Cabinet press conference at the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann's.

Said Warner, "January 1, Saturday, when you are driving you cannot speak on your cellphones. I want to remind them because they will charge $5,000."

He added that from January 1, all 2011 Priority Bus Route passes will be in effect for bona fide users only.

Warner further stated that the public's use of the PBR during fixed hours will continue from January 1 for six months into the new year.

Questioned about the high incidence of road traffic accidents, Warner disclosed that he has requested a meeting with the National Security Minister and head of the Traffic Branch.

He said the road laws must be enforced and added that more police patrols are needed on the roads, noting that 350 traffic wardens will be hired by March next year.

Warner added that cable barriers to prevent vehicles from crossing the medians and colliding with vehicles heading in the other direction on the nation's roadways will be installed by the end of June 2011. He said the plan was to install them by the end of January, but his technical staff told him it will be completed by the end of June.

Warner said at the end of the day, despite all of Government's efforts, drivers need to educate themselves and observe the road rules and be more responsible.

However, a parliamentary source yesterday told the Express that the legislation in fact comes into effect three months after it was tabled (publication). This would mean the law will not in fact take effect until February.

i never heard of this last part- so they can't charge u until Feb 1st?
Last edited by redmanjp on January 1st, 2011, 3:17 am, edited 3 times in total.

Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect New Year's Day

Postby Bizzare » December 31st, 2010, 12:59 am

Or ok.

Postby Bizzare » December 31st, 2010, 1:05 am

Pioneer when you die I wonder if there will be a "R.I.P Pioneer" thread created by those who know you.... ya think??...... seeing that you show no remorse and sheit

Postby Bizzare » December 31st, 2010, 1:14 am

Bizzare wrote:Pioneer when you die I wonder if there will be a "R.I.P Pioneer" thread created by those who know you.... ya think??...... seeing that you show no remorse and sheit

that relates to this thread how?

When a Hilux driver talking on a cellphone while driving, loses control of her vehicle (when she's suppose to be in the kitchen), crosses the median, crashes into your Almera, and your worthless life is taken away.......

Postby Bizzare » December 31st, 2010, 1:20 am

Yea tru..... I take back that. Would be remorseful if such a thing happens.... not that I care about you or anything :oops: .... you know what I mean

Postby sharkman121 » December 31st, 2010, 1:22 am

thats true.... in a sick, twisted, bizarre way, we will miss u.

Postby sharkman121 » December 31st, 2010, 1:24 am

pioneer wrote:awww guys :|

i just choked my chicken inside

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Bizzare » December 31st, 2010, 1:27 am

................. :?

Postby Bizzare » December 31st, 2010, 1:30 am

pioneer wrote:awww guys :|

i just choked my chicken inside

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 31st, 2010, 1:39 am

I just hope it's enforced properly right from the start and there is no tolerance. Talking is bad enough but the amount of people I see texting/bbming is ridiculous. You can't text or bbm via Bluetooth so those idiots I want to see getting lash hard.

Postby S_2NR » December 31st, 2010, 1:46 am

oh plz..like if they goin to enforce anythin..

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 31st, 2010, 2:22 am

A man can't dream in Trinidad? They need a lot of police on bikes going around and jacking up people and issuing fine on the spot for this thing to work. I hate to say it but most police sitting in their air conditioned Hilux ain't going to get out into the hot sun to issue a ticket and most motorist bank on that.

If only we could clone that older fella that does be on the bike around Port of Spain. He'll pull you over because it look like you ain't brush your teeth for the morning!

Jack should announce a commission for tickets paid. It works for sales assistants. How long you have to stand up in Detour before someone comes to help you. If it wasn't for commission on sales, you'd grow roots!

Postby S_2NR » December 31st, 2010, 2:25 am

DTAC wrote:A man can't dream in Trinidad? They need a lot of police on bikes going around and jacking up people and issuing fine on the spot for this thing to work. I hate to say it but most police sitting in their air conditioned Hilux ain't going to get out into the hot sun to issue a ticket and most motorist bank on that.

If only we could clone that older fella that does be on the bike around Port of Spain. He'll pull you over because it look like you ain't brush your teeth for the morning!

Jack should announce a commission for tickets paid. It works for sales assistants. How long you have to stand up in Detour before someone comes to help you. If it wasn't for commission on sales, you'd grow roots!

if they start this..then self police goin n be corrupt and abuse their power

Postby redmanjp » December 31st, 2010, 3:58 am

guardian saying Feb. 18th- so it look like Jack eh know what he saying

http://www.guardian.co.tt/beta/news/2010/12/31/cellphone-ban-feb-18
Cellphone ban from Feb 18
Published: Fri, 2010-12-31 18:46
Raphael John-Lall

The ban on driving and talking on a cellphone is to take effect from tomorrow said Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner. However, Government sources told the T&T Guardian the ban would be effective from February 18, 2011. The spokesman said an order from the Government was put out on November 18 and required three months to become effective.

The source said Warner would clarify his error today at a press conference at the Ministry of Works, Port-of-Spain. Warner spoke of the ban at yesterday’s post-Cabinet press conference at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s. “From Saturday you can’t talk on your cellphones and drive or else you would be charged $5,000 for first charge,” Warner said.

Commenting on the significant number of traffic accidents over the Christmas season he said he had written to the Minister of National Security John Sandy to meet with the head of the Transport Division. He said at that meeting they hoped to find a solution to solve those problems. He said 350 traffic wardens would be hired and would be on the roads by the end of March. Warner said he hoped that also would alleviate the problem. He said the Government was doing its part but the public also must be responsible.

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » December 31st, 2010, 8:28 am

so how d police gonna provide evidence u was on ur fone....tek pix and give d magistrate ???? otherwise it go jus be word against word....and if i get catch i denying it of course

Postby AllTrac » December 31st, 2010, 8:36 am

who cares which month they going to enforce it, you should NOT be on the phone when driving, im sick and tired of having to dodge these muffler bearings who decides to talk on the phone on the right lane, or try fishing for their phone. Its against the law its only in Trinidad we do this sheit!!!

Postby S_2NR » December 31st, 2010, 8:36 am

Postby Bizzare » December 31st, 2010, 8:40 am

^^ Umm, so how does he police prove you were speeding, or had a toddler in the front seat, or driving recklessly, etc..... Yet tickets are still issued for these things right..... How would this be different?

Postby redmanjp » December 31st, 2010, 12:52 pm

pioneer wrote:This law gonna be jus as ignored as the seatbelt law, and the law about having children in the front seat.

Hell i saw a man driving with what appeared to be a 6 month old on his lap...

Then again there's natural selection

im seeing a lot more people wearing seatbelts in the past few mths bro- this new cellphone law have a fine that is 5 times d seatbelt law (assuming its $1000) once people know they would have to fork over $5000 they go throw that phone down

Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect New Year's Day?

Postby bushwakka » December 31st, 2010, 1:53 pm

the law/bill has not been passed yet.....there is a process for these things....it will be passed....just a matter of time......but not yet

Postby bushwakka » December 31st, 2010, 2:46 pm

wa barriers bai?

Postby AllTrac » December 31st, 2010, 3:06 pm

Bizzare wrote:^^ Umm, so how does he police prove you were speeding, or had a toddler in the front seat, or driving recklessly, etc..... Yet tickets are still issued for these things right..... How would this be different?

how does police prove you ran a red light? how do they prove you weren't wearing seatbelts? how do they prove that they found the drugs in your car?
Its their word against yours, magistrate always take the side of the police

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 31st, 2010, 3:42 pm

I've been complying with that phone thing a while now....and that drinking and driving thing even longer....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 31st, 2010, 4:42 pm

let dem go ahead and get ticket.....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 31st, 2010, 4:50 pm

^^^is true is true....

was good to hear the AG talking about how citizens need to recognize that a change in their lifestyle and habits would assist in the attempt to curb the lawlessness.....as the saying goes, "change begins with me"

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 31st, 2010, 4:55 pm

their shot will call.....hopefully before they take out innocent others....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 31st, 2010, 4:56 pm

goinjg and boil/fry some yam dey.....

Postby Trini Hookah » December 31st, 2010, 5:18 pm

Just heard Mr. Warner address it on the radio, not taking effect till 2nd Feb 2010, and the fine is $1500.

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2011, 3:16 am

so apparently people thought the fine was too high so it decrease? and yes Feb. 2nd

http://www.guardian.co.tt/beta/news/2011/01/01/warner-cellphone-ban-february-2
Warner: Cellphone ban from February 2
Published: Sat, 2011-01-01 17:13

Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner said yesterday that the cellphone ban for drivers will be effective on February 2 this year. He said he made an error when he said last Thursday that the ban would become effective today.

He said the order was given on November 2 last year and under the law three months must elapse before the new regulations would take effect. He said, however, that motorists should use the one-month grace period to practise doing the right thing and use their hands-free devices instead.

Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect February 2nd 2011

Postby brams112 » January 1st, 2011, 9:59 am

thing is,, i cant understand WHAT people does be talking about on their cell fone from start to finish of their journey,,just say yeah ok ah driving call meh back nah in twenty minutes