Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby The_Honourable » April 7th, 2022, 11:53 am

The_Honourable wrote:Guys i have a 200ft drain to build. The existing drain is a small natural drain/water course within the land that ends at the corporation box drain on a main road. It's eroding the sides and has plant overgrowth so want to fix and make it official.

Should I build a box drain or get those inverted precast concrete drains? What are the pros and cons?

Thanks!

Box. Less cost, headaches

Wow interesting... thanks!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 7th, 2022, 12:03 pm

What is the approximate depth to the bottom of the drain from the existing ground surface?

Postby The_Honourable » April 7th, 2022, 12:20 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:What is the approximate depth to the bottom of the drain from the existing ground surface?

For the first 50 feet in length, it's elevated and the depth is about 4 feet. After that, the remaining 150 feet has virtually no depth and no more sides so it's just a gradient towards the main road into the corporation drain. The remaining 150 feet i would have to get a backhoe and actually cut a trench following the existing water course if I want to put down a box drain.

I can send you a pm if you wish.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 8th, 2022, 3:07 pm

anyone has an idea of the cost of the electrified energized fence for on top of the wall instead of razor wire? need to fence a 50x100 feet.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 12th, 2022, 3:16 pm

Frameless tempered glass bath enclosures....what company/ies you all could recommend

matix

Postby matix » April 12th, 2022, 9:28 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Frameless tempered glass bath enclosures....what company/ies you all could recommend

Kamri Glass

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 13th, 2022, 6:16 am

Where can I get clear/tinted corrugated plastic? Everywhere I've checked only has white

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 13th, 2022, 6:32 am

matix wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Frameless tempered glass bath enclosures....what company/ies you all could recommend

Kamri Glass

I got a quote for 3 bathrooms for 41k :|

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2022, 7:06 am

glass shower enclosures are the current ripoff scheme
no setta hard wuk involved

just like solid countertops were a few years ago

every tom dick and harry bussing price

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 13th, 2022, 9:43 am

pugboy wrote:glass shower enclosures are the current ripoff scheme

Clearly!!! Cheapest quote I got thus far is 32k....still waiting on a few more....looks like these are the prices to expect? Shrugs shoulders

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » April 13th, 2022, 11:44 am

Anyone here has any 50mm 3 core armoured cable? Need to get about 12-15 ft. Willing to buy it from you of course.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 13th, 2022, 1:40 pm

Anyone know of anyone that installs skylights in Trinidad?

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » April 13th, 2022, 5:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
pugboy wrote:glass shower enclosures are the current ripoff scheme

Clearly!!! Cheapest quote I got thus far is 32k....still waiting on a few more....looks like these are the prices to expect? Shrugs shoulders
Have some metal conduit I could give you to use as curtain rod... With them prices that look like all I could afford

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 13th, 2022, 7:08 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Ryan197912 wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
Ryan197912 wrote:
Rayden6 wrote:but it have some ASS does build it dead centre and wanna say its them wall, when it build on the opposite side just because the build it. WHAT would you do

Fight, curse, pull cutlass for 2 inches of land :lol:

2" of land on the 100' length of a standard, 5,000 ft² lot of land is around 17 ft². In places where land is $250 psf, that's $4,250...worth it?

Or hire an attorney like myself....for around 2500 I would send a Pre-Action Protocol letter to the offender.
And if not settled initate legal action at a cost to you of 20k,(to start) you will also be required to pay a surveyor about 6k to determine if any or the amount of encroachment that occurred.

That's a more sensible answer. 8-)

what if they ignore the pre action protocol letter?

matix

Postby matix » April 13th, 2022, 8:19 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
matix wrote:

Kamri Glass

I got a quote for 3 bathrooms for 41k :|

Wtfrog! Try ABC El Socorro, there’s 2 branches ( south and north ) of the highway.

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2022, 9:33 am

check trinidad used construction fb group
have a lot of installers there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 14th, 2022, 11:15 am

Check this quote
IMG_20220414_111359.png

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » April 14th, 2022, 11:57 am

Not too sure you why want this option... but consider other options.
The aluminium frame does not look bad and laminated glass is generally cheaper than tempered glass. Dont think tempered glass is indestructible.

Postby Chimera » April 14th, 2022, 12:14 pm

A cousin of mine paid for 2 shower enclosures 3 weeks ago, they promised within 10 day they would come install. he wanted it done before a prayers they were having . up to the day before the prayers they promise they coming. no luck
up to today they say they coming. today when they call them they say tuesday, how it have too much work in front of his order they need to do first.
they didnt say that when they came and take his payment though

will find out the name so i could warn allyuh

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 14th, 2022, 12:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Check this quote

Normal contractor sheit.

Call them back and tell them you want a written breakdown of the costs then decide from there.

Postby maj. tom » April 18th, 2022, 8:41 am

I just want to drop this checklist here because most people are not aware that GFCI outlets are supposed to be installed at certain places, yet somehow it was passed by the Electrical Inspector (we know how that body works in sweet corrupt T&T).

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 18th, 2022, 12:53 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Anyone know of anyone that installs skylights in Trinidad?

Delta and i think there's another but can't remember the name. If it comes back to me I'll tell you.

Anyone know anywhere selling clear coroplast?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 23rd, 2022, 7:24 am

Anyone knows where i can get boxing board to rent or buy cheap?

Postby Chimera » April 23rd, 2022, 7:51 am

Check any of the sawmills close to you

Omeara sawmill
Chaguanas sawmill
Ramkals sawmill
Red hill sawmill

They does normally be half the price as hardware

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 23rd, 2022, 7:29 pm

Thanks a mill...
Gt...

Sent from my SM-A107M using TriniTuner mobile app

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » April 23rd, 2022, 9:28 pm

To all those guys you upgraded their house electrical connection to 200amps, what size main cable(service connection to meter/house) did you all use?

My electrician telling me I have to use 95mm or something so when I thought 50mm was sufficient. Let me know your views/experience.

Reason is the drastic price difference for these armoured cables.

Postby adnj » April 23rd, 2022, 9:50 pm

Jerry84 wrote:To all those guys you upgraded their house electrical connection to 200amps, what size main cable(service connection to meter/house) did you all use?

My electrician telling me I have to use 95mm or something so when I thought 50mm was sufficient. Let me know your views/experience.

Depends heavily on the length of the cable and whether the sheathing is PVC or XLPE.

You cannot use 3×50 mm sq armored cable at 200 amps.

matix

Postby matix » April 24th, 2022, 12:00 am

Jerry84 wrote:To all those guys you upgraded their house electrical connection to 200amps, what size main cable(service connection to meter/house) did you all use?

That’s a good recommendation from your electrician.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » April 24th, 2022, 8:57 pm

adnj wrote:

Depends heavily on the length of the cable and whether the sheathing is PVC or XLPE.

I think I remember him saying pvc for the mains cable. Is this correct? Should I go with the xlp?

carluva

Postby carluva » April 24th, 2022, 9:10 pm

XLPE and PVC refer to the insulation on the cable. Both are good, although the XLPE may be a bit more weather, water, oil and UV resistant than the PVC. That is not to say the PVC is bad as it will offer good resistance to those elements, but the XLPE offers superior resistance to the same.

You are good either way for your house. If the cable is direct buried (which is not recommended as the cables should be installed in underground PVC ducts) go with the XLPE. Else, either is fine for installation in a PVC conduit.

Just ensure that the cross sectional area of the cable occupies no more than 40% of the conduit cross sectional area.

Your electrician is also guiding you correctly. The size of the cable is also heavily dependent on the length of the run. The longer the run, the larger the cable the smaller the voltage drop and therefore the better the current carrying capacity.

Think of it this way: which will give better flow of water between a100ft 1/2" hose and a 100ft 5/8" hose? Obviously the latter since there is less resistance for the water to overcome in the larger hose. Reduce that length of hose now to 10ft and the difference in flow may not be discerned. Similar concept with cable, except the flow is current flow.

Jerry84 wrote:
adnj wrote:

I think I remember him saying pvc for the mains cable. Is this correct? Should I go with the xlp?