Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby adnj » January 30th, 2021, 7:26 pm

Steel Rebar (CNY/T) 4191.00

Prices are expected to fall

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 1st, 2021, 11:29 am

I asked this already and someone suggested penetrating liquid but I'll ask again for good measure as I need to do this now.

Is there anything with which to treat Greenheart such that the coating being applied (any and all of them) does not fail within 6 months? Outdoor use.

Nothing penetrates that blasted wood and I fed up redo it as it's a PITA to sand. Seriously considering sanding and going for the "aged" look (ie. leave it in the sun uncoated) so I don't have to do this sheit again.

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2021, 11:35 am

all the fancy coatings won’t last esp with our sun

your best option is to just use an oiled finish and paint on another coat of oil every 6 months
a plain oil finish won’t require resanding

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 1st, 2021, 1:24 pm

pugboy wrote:all the fancy coatings won’t last esp with our sun

your best option is to just use an oiled finish and paint on another coat of oil every 6 months
a plain oil finish won’t require resanding

Had oil based once upon a time Minwax Spar Urethane, but flaked similarly to water based. Kept using water based as it is easier to sand off.

I have a outdoor wall made of PT Pine in Flood CWF UV5 going on 4 years now and no flaking, fading, peeling and still waterproof as day 1.

Bess I had used pine here as well. Greenheart is the worst.

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2021, 1:47 pm

sorry, i am not talking about oil based finish

i meant literally just straight oil
like linseed or teak oil

i have not had good luck with the flood product

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » February 1st, 2021, 6:33 pm

Good evening, whats the best method for removing oil based paint from walls?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 4th, 2021, 10:41 am

Self Leveling Cement,anyone know where i can get? Already contacted harricrete,no raw materials to make stock, anywhere else?

carluva

Postby carluva » February 4th, 2021, 10:50 am

Call Specialty Chemicals Limited, SCL. Very likely to get that there.

Postby adnj » February 4th, 2021, 3:30 pm

Wolfgang123 wrote:Good evening, whats the best method for removing oil based paint from walls?

The fastest is likely a sodium hydroxide gel paint stripper. You need protective gear and ventilation but it will work on most surfaces and paints.

I believe that the Pentax brand is available locally.

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » February 4th, 2021, 4:37 pm

Thanks bro will look into it

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 4th, 2021, 5:09 pm

On green heart , I used a Minwax poly coating . This was function application not for aesthetics. Did not last more than a few months.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 4th, 2021, 6:49 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Self Leveling Cement,anyone know where i can get? Already contacted harricrete,no raw materials to make stock, anywhere else?

I think CreteArt also sells something that can work or SCL as mentioned.

Postby Chimera » February 4th, 2021, 7:03 pm

Got a quote to build a small storeroom with a decking on top to support 3 water tanks. 20 x 10

18k to 28k labour with different tradesmen.

20k material.

40 lengths 5/8 smooth steel @ $100 each is done 4k of that material kist.

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2021, 7:43 pm

a length of 5/8 rebar is $100 ? wtf

Postby Ben_spanna » February 4th, 2021, 9:15 pm

There’s a big hardware, steel sheets just went from 400 last week to 591 this week, and that’d after the 40% increase since last November. Don’t know what the hell is happening!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2021, 5:24 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Got a quote to build a small storeroom with a decking on top to support 3 water tanks. 20 x 10

18k to 28k labour with different tradesmen.

20k material.

40 lengths 5/8 smooth steel @ $100 each is done 4k of that material kist.

Bredda man....water problem so bad in Grande its not advisable to put tanks on a high stand again. Water doesnt come with enough pressure to refill at that height. If you are using a pump to refill, you will gt. A padna paid 2.7milli for a house late last year (same water tank concept).......water gone for a few days, when it did coms back....nothing to refill his tanks but a water truck :|

Postby Chimera » February 5th, 2021, 6:13 am

Using a pump to refill mean you sucking water straight from the wasa line ent. Which kinda risky for the pump and I think illegal as well

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2021, 6:32 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Using a pump to refill mean you sucking water straight from the wasa line ent. Which kinda risky for the pump and I think illegal as well

Correct is right. Men doing it up my side. It that bad

Postby adnj » February 5th, 2021, 2:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Using a pump to refill mean you sucking water straight from the wasa line ent. Which kinda risky for the pump and I think illegal as well

Correct is right. Men doing it up my side. It that bad
Any size of break tank and a boost pump on your property is legal. If the water can get to the pump, it will certainly fill a break tank.

Depending on your geography, an automated break tank and boost pump should cost about $3000 plus housing and plinth.

Postby Chimera » February 5th, 2021, 7:03 pm

when you attach the pump to the wasa line without any pressure tank and pressure switch, it sucks all the water in the line to fill your tanks though.

ive seen a few people have it.

water goes from a trickle fulling the tank to a full on violent pipe shaking torrent of water

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2021, 1:38 pm

looking for some 2x6 C purlins
anybody know current prices or who have used ones ?

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2021, 6:57 am

how much to rent a hiab these days?

i have some big items to move around as well as some i might want to take to the scrapyard to sell.

Postby Kenjo » February 8th, 2021, 7:02 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:how much to rent a hiab these days?

i have some big items to move around as well as some i might want to take to the scrapyard to sell.

Do these scrap iron men going around actually pay people for batteries and such or they consider themselves as doing a ‘ favor ‘ to remove items ?any average of prices or once you don’t mention money they don’t mention it either ?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 8th, 2021, 7:21 am

Kenjo wrote:

Do these scrap iron men going around actually pay people for batteries and such or they consider themselves as doing a ‘ favor ‘ to remove items ?any average of prices or once you don’t mention money they don’t mention it either ?

the batteries, yes, they pay you, i sell 3 for 100 the other day.

the iron, i usually give away cuz i want it gone asap.

my street has a autobody shop, so at least 1 van does pass weekly for old doors/bonnet/cut-up apron etc.

but if you have enough, they will pay you for it.

my cousin sold 2 van loads late last year. rel old car parts, doors, diffs, old gates, random pieces of steel.

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2021, 8:30 am

Yea they do. I sold a pile of scrap like two weeks ago for 3k.

After that I find out the scrap iron men sold for it.9k lol.

So I have some massive metal items sitting in the yard a long time now....looking to drop it at scrap iron yard myself
Kenjo wrote:

Postby Kenjo » February 8th, 2021, 9:46 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yea they do. I sold a pile of scrap like two weeks ago for 3k.

After that I find out the scrap iron men sold for it.9k lol.

So I have some massive metal items sitting in the yard a long time now....looking to drop it at scrap iron yard myself
Kenjo wrote:

Wow so at minimum $30 a battery

Postby supercharged turbo » February 8th, 2021, 11:10 am

They paying $50 for a battery on my side

Postby adnj » February 8th, 2021, 11:41 am

There is more than 20 lbs. of lead in an average car battery. The current price of lead is about TT$6 per pound plus duty and VAT.

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2021, 11:48 am

Minus the cost to retrieve the lead from said $120 source....$90-100