Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Rayden6 » May 18th, 2022, 11:34 am

anything to increase the residential part to build fast so they could TAX

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » May 19th, 2022, 8:25 am

matix wrote:What’s the price of the 2*4 beams?
Around 500(give or take) for a 20ft length.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » May 19th, 2022, 8:27 am

A friend of mine who is currently doing some construction in the east bought a tonne of steel for $13,000.

At the start of this week I heard that new shipments would be sold at a 10% increase, so ban allyuh belly from now.

Postby De Dragon » May 21st, 2022, 3:12 pm

Rayden6 wrote:

anything to increase the residential part to build fast so they could TAX

Now if we could only do something about those ridiculous prices

demented

Postby demented » May 24th, 2022, 7:29 am

Guys, with respect to a new WASA connection, does the stand pipe at the connection have to be a specific dimension? Do I construct this before the application or after? Thanks.

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2022, 7:49 am

standpipe as in a tap ?

demented wrote:Guys, with respect to a new WASA connection, does the stand pipe at the connection have to be a specific dimension? Do I construct this before the application or after? Thanks.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 24th, 2022, 8:12 am

demented wrote:Guys, with respect to a new WASA connection, does the stand pipe at the connection have to be a specific dimension? Do I construct this before the application or after? Thanks.
Boi, TBH

I have done 6 in the last 2 years and only 1 they fuss about
The last 3, they connect the pipe with no yard tap.
Just a stern warning: "doh harass we if it buss eh, secure yuh ting"

Postby *KRONIK* » May 24th, 2022, 8:13 am

But you build the yard tap after they do the site visit and feasibilty review.
So process is:
apply
Wasa review
Build trough
Wait for connection crew

demented

Postby demented » May 24th, 2022, 8:22 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
So process is:
apply
Wasa review
Build trough
Wait for connection crew

Ok Thanks.

Yard tap I meant to say. :oops:

Postby *KRONIK* » May 24th, 2022, 8:51 am

demented wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
So process is:
apply
Wasa review
Build trough
Wait for connection crew

Ok Thanks.

Yard tap I meant to say. :oops:
Yard tap is a classification of connection and is classed as A2 iirc and carries a lower billing than A3 (internally serviced)

But they typically require a trough to be built and water must flow into an existing drain to have the connection approved.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 26th, 2022, 12:05 am

Where is the best place to get modern ideas for recess and pillar lighting for outdoors? Looking to change it up for my perimeter wall and interior planters.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » May 26th, 2022, 1:32 pm

Anyone know where sells skirting rolls like these?
61OShGBEsHL._AC_SL1100_.jpg

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2022, 1:37 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Where is the best place to get modern ideas for recess and pillar lighting for outdoors? Looking to change it up for my perimeter wall and interior planters.

in the usa where you are
buy it and send it down

almost everything you see locally that even looks kind of nice is very expensive and shitty quality

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 26th, 2022, 3:22 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:Where is the best place to get modern ideas for recess and pillar lighting for outdoors? Looking to change it up for my perimeter wall and interior planters.

in the usa where you are
buy it and send it down

almost everything you see locally that even looks kind of nice is very expensive and shitty quality

I found TANG YUK Lighting on Mucurapo Road, POS.

Postby timelapse » May 26th, 2022, 3:41 pm

Also Bright Ideas

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 26th, 2022, 4:14 pm

timelapse wrote:Also Bright Ideas

Thank you kindly sir!

Postby MaxPower » May 26th, 2022, 4:26 pm

The LightHouse, Pasea

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 27th, 2022, 6:56 pm

TCPD taking loooooooooong. Application inside since feb and they still sticking

Postby Chimera » May 27th, 2022, 7:04 pm

timelapse wrote:Also Bright Ideas
Once you ready to buy back all your fixtures again within 2 years then yea

matix

Postby matix » May 27th, 2022, 8:08 pm

Bright Ideas is pure sheit, ABC home store has some decent and affordable fixtures.

Postby timelapse » May 27th, 2022, 9:02 pm

matix wrote:Bright Ideas is pure sheit, ABC home store has some decent and affordable fixtures.
I have stuff from Bright Ideas in PTown installed for about 7 years now.No problem thus far.

matix

Postby matix » May 27th, 2022, 9:06 pm

timelapse wrote:
matix wrote:Bright Ideas is pure sheit, ABC home store has some decent and affordable fixtures.
I have stuff from Bright Ideas in PTown installed for about 7 years now.No problem thus far.

Yes, 7 years. Go now and see the quality and prices.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 5th, 2022, 10:37 am

looking to block up an some builders ive been talking to say go with the 4" concrete block instead of the normal clay block as it works out same or cheaper. any recommendations, pros and cons?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 5th, 2022, 3:53 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:TCPD taking loooooooooong. Application inside since feb and they still sticking

Got TCP approval, now it hadda go Regional Corporation.

Hope they eh stick

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2022, 4:32 pm

is now yuh hatta get the grease ready

VexXx Dogg wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:TCPD taking loooooooooong. Application inside since feb and they still sticking

Got TCP approval, now it hadda go Regional Corporation.

Hope they eh stick

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 5th, 2022, 4:42 pm

:cry:

everything in this country hadda be a fight down eh... especially when you try to do it all above board.
No wonder bobol and the shadow economy thriving.

I'll see how it goes.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 5th, 2022, 4:44 pm

daxt0r wrote:looking to block up an some builders ive been talking to say go with the 4" concrete block instead of the normal clay block as it works out same or cheaper. any recommendations, pros and cons?

Probably because you don't strictly need to plaster concrete blocks if done extremely neatly. No matter how neat, you will see block face/lines when not plastered so if that is a consideration, be aware. I personally think that look is for outside rather than interior walls.

Also if you need to do electrical in those walls, concrete blocks are a beyotch to work with. The electrician will almost certainly charge more.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 5th, 2022, 4:51 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
daxt0r wrote:looking to block up an some builders ive been talking to say go with the 4" concrete block instead of the normal clay block as it works out same or cheaper. any recommendations, pros and cons?

Probably because you don't strictly need to plaster concrete blocks if done extremely neatly. No matter how neat, you will see block face/lines when not plastered so if that is a consideration, be aware. I personally think that look is for outside rather than interior walls.

Also if you need to do electrical in those walls, concrete blocks are a beyotch to work with. The electrician will almost certainly charge more.

thx didn't think of the electrical side. In terms of strength is there anything difference or is it just a cosmetic/preference thing?

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » June 7th, 2022, 8:24 am

Good day Tuners,

Just a warning for anyone doing new construction, ppl are stealing the electrical armored cable off your private poles before you get T&TEC connection. Mine was stolen yesterday morning around 3am (picked up on the neighbors cctv) from Gopaul Lands, Marabella, the T&TEC inspection was also yesterday :( They took the 20ft piece from the meter to the top of the pole and tried taking out the piece from the meter to the house that runs underground - couldn't get it out so cut off 4ft. so I still have to replace that piece as well.

This also happed to a friend of mine three months ago building a house in Oropouche, so be aware get a watchman/security if possible.

I made a police report and they said there is nothing they can do and I should get a watchman/security :? they didn't even ask to see/review the neighbors cctv footage.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 7th, 2022, 10:11 am

AlliDr wrote:Good day Tuners,

Just a warning for anyone doing new construction, ppl are stealing the electrical armored cable off your private poles before you get T&TEC connection. Mine was stolen yesterday morning around 3am (picked up on the neighbors cctv) from Gopaul Lands, Marabella, the T&TEC inspection was also yesterday :( They took the 20ft piece from the meter to the top of the pole and tried taking out the piece from the meter to the house that runs underground - couldn't get it out so cut off 4ft. so I still have to replace that piece as well.

This also happed to a friend of mine three months ago building a house in Oropouche, so be aware get a watchman/security if possible.

I made a police report and they said there is nothing they can do and I should get a watchman/security :? they didn't even ask to see/review the neighbors cctv footage.

So so very sorry to hear this. Lots of that going on right now. I know it will cost you more, but definitely get the security in place before you invest more money on your property. I had to do same to protect renovations to my home.