The NLCB Lotto Jackpot

not_a_monkey

Re: NLCB lotto booth

Postby not_a_monkey » March 12th, 2018, 4:58 pm

While that is a nice jesture to prove a ticket was actually purchased, revealing that kind of info is bold... Knowing that the person bought the ticket at 7:12pm from the establishment gives rise to the potential winner. As well, the numbers at the bottom are used to scan a ticket, not the bar code so much.

Postby maj. tom » March 12th, 2018, 5:24 pm

hmm, I always thought that NLCB sales cut off at 630pm.

Postby K74T » March 12th, 2018, 8:01 pm

maj. tom wrote:hmm, I always thought that NLCB sales cut off at 630pm.

Not Lotto only the other games

Postby teems1 » March 12th, 2018, 8:57 pm

Are people beyond retarded.

Between the time the ticket was bought, and the NLCB announcing which agent sold the winning ticket, this fool could now be on a CCTV feed.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » March 12th, 2018, 9:02 pm

...and what? Family, neighbours etc will eventually know anyway, a lil 2million could be disguised that much money will show eventually.

Postby bluefete » March 22nd, 2023, 9:00 pm

I hear a tuner won the $23 million lotto this evening.

Wey Zoom?

Postby maj. tom » March 22nd, 2023, 9:11 pm

Zoom depositing that in the Cayman Islands National Bank first thing tmrw.

Postby The_Honourable » March 22nd, 2023, 10:11 pm

Zoom using that money to finance the pnm and make more money post 2025... because Trinidad is a stupid country full of stupid people.

Postby K74T » March 22nd, 2023, 10:17 pm

Reports that the winning ticket was sold in Tobago

Postby bluefete » March 23rd, 2023, 6:59 am

K74T wrote:Reports that the winning ticket was sold in Tobago

Ah hear Zoom buy a quick pick passing through Bacolet. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

bluefete wrote:I hear a tuner won the $23 million lotto this evening.

Wey Zoom?

Re: The NLCB Lotto Jackpot

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 23rd, 2023, 8:13 am

The government controls all this eh, just sayin :)

Unrelated video.

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 23rd, 2023, 10:02 am

Well we know it rkgged, soo who dumb enough to buy tickets?

Postby teems1 » March 23rd, 2023, 10:14 am

Saltbae wrote:Well we know it rkgged, soo who dumb enough to buy tickets?

Considering the jackpot was 21m, which means 42m tickets were sold at $5 per, aprox 8.4m tickets were sold over the past few months for this 1 jackpot.

I'd say a huge part of the population would be involved.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 23rd, 2023, 10:52 am

teems1 wrote:

Considering the jackpot was 21m, which means 42m tickets were sold at $5 per, aprox 8.4m tickets were sold over the past few months for this 1 jackpot.

I'd say a huge part of the population would be involved.

Could be less than you think. Aren't syndicates a big thing here in Trinidad? So a large portion of tickets would actually be bought by a limited number of people. Also lots of people play religiously and others very sparsely to not at all.

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2023, 10:55 am

The person who win in tobago with a $5 qp obviously didn't think it dumb

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 23rd, 2023, 11:02 am

Most likely it was rigged and there was no actual winner

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2023, 11:17 am

if yuh have friends in the bank they could tell you that there are real winners everytime

if yuh REAL good with them they might tell you who they is.

when it have big jackpot like this, bank managers does be calling them to try to get them to use their bank/branch to deposit with all kinda perks .

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 23rd, 2023, 11:22 am

Dave Ramsey wrote:The lottery is a tax on poor people and on people who can’t do math. Rich people and smart people would be in the line if the lottery were a real wealth-building tool, but the truth is that the lottery is a rip-off instituted by our government. This is not a moral position; it is a mathematical, statistical fact. Studies show that the zip codes that spend four times what anyone else does on lottery tickets are those in lower-income parts of town. The lottery, or gambling of any kind, offers false hope, not a ticket out.

Interesting POV, I wonder what the local demographics are.
I don't gamble, purely because it was a disease in my family for a couple generations and I decided to break the cycle.

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 23rd, 2023, 11:28 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Dave Ramsey wrote:The lottery is a tax on poor people and on people who can’t do math. Rich people and smart people would be in the line if the lottery were a real wealth-building tool, but the truth is that the lottery is a rip-off instituted by our government. This is not a moral position; it is a mathematical, statistical fact. Studies show that the zip codes that spend four times what anyone else does on lottery tickets are those in lower-income parts of town. The lottery, or gambling of any kind, offers false hope, not a ticket out.

Interesting POV, I wonder what the local demographics are.
I don't gamble, purely because it was a disease in my family for a couple generations and I decided to break the cycle.

Probability of winning are super super low. Coupled with the fact that it's all pre recoded

Postby j.o.e » March 23rd, 2023, 12:48 pm

Saltbae wrote:Most likely it was rigged and there was no actual winner

Because of my last job I’ve seen many cheques of winners. It’s not rigged. There’s no need to rig it because the house always wins.
Lotto, play whe etc is a poor ppl tax. The normal man who is not taxed is willingly paying taxes this way.

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 23rd, 2023, 3:02 pm

What about the glitches broadcast in not 1 but 2 sessions?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 23rd, 2023, 7:18 pm

Found the winner!

Untitled.jpg

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2023, 8:43 pm

Odds of winning lotto, 1 in 3,246,320.00.
Now, consider the following.
This country has a population of 1,400, 000
Of that amount, less than 300,000 eligible people play lotto..
With those odds and players, we can safely estimate that everyone must play exactly 10.8 times before any one person can win, and that's the bare minimum.
Now multiply 10.8 by the number of possible combination of numbers that haven't played yet and can still be played.

Yuh really feel anybody could ever win that lotto jackpot in its current design?

It made to serve two functions. First, foy players to lose and generate money for the state.
Second, to distract the simpletons with a hope that they could possibly one day they can become financially well off with almost zero real effort.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 24th, 2023, 8:06 am

88sins wrote:Odds of winning lotto, 1 in 3,246,320.00.
With those odds and players, we can safely estimate that everyone must play exactly 10.8 times before any one person can win, and that's the bare minimum.
Now multiply 10.8 by the number of possible combination of numbers that haven't played yet and can still be played.

Yuh really feel anybody could ever win that lotto jackpot in its current design?

It made to serve two functions. First, foy players to lose and generate money for the state.
Second, to distract the simpletons with a hope that they could possibly one day they can become financially well off with almost zero real effort.

Also what was the length of time that this jackpot kept accumulating?

You need to factor in the daily amount of plays in total

Postby Rovin » March 24th, 2023, 10:59 am

mathematicians have loooong ago calculated odds & probability so like already said "d house always wins"

funny thing with numbers is d winning combo could by coincidence be from a ticket bought 5 days ago but all this time ppl buying up until d last minute

gambling capitalizes on everybody feeling of they are lucky or some who feel well it cant hurt if i spend a lil $10-20 : who knows right ?

but like they say : without a ticker u dont have a chance ... iirc last time i must be buy a ticket cud be about 4-5yrs ago when it had a 10mil jackpot - i eh win 1ass :lol:

Postby hover11 » March 24th, 2023, 11:11 am

Trinidad and Tobago is too small for lotto to be selling and winning for the last 30 years or more and only a couple of people could say they heard a man or this man win the lotto...how is it no one could say that their brother, sister or relative win a lotto forget the crime situation for a moment? the way we does carry news and macco the whole world would have done know. I not saying it don't have winners buy just weird how we macco for everything else except this

Postby mero » March 24th, 2023, 11:30 am

88sins wrote:Odds of winning lotto, 1 in 3,246,320.00.

Jeezus.

So umm hear nah. If we have over 1 million eligible voters in TnT, how u come up with less than 300,000 people eligible to play lotto?

Asking for a friend

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2023, 11:38 am

everything is a conspiracy for allyuh yes

all of allyuh MUST have friends in the bank, ask them about lotto winners. they would know about the cheques

Postby aaron17 » March 24th, 2023, 12:07 pm

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 24th, 2023, 1:03 pm

hover11 wrote:Trinidad and Tobago is too small for lotto to be selling and winning for the last 30 years or more and only a couple of people could say they heard a man or this man win the lotto...how is it no one could say that their brother, sister or relative win a lotto forget the crime situation for a moment? the way we does carry news and macco the whole world would have done know. I not saying it don't have winners buy just weird how we macco for everything else except this

fax

In the states at least they are more public with it

idk if we're a step ahead of them or we are hiding something.