The NLCB Lotto Jackpot

Re: The NLCB Lotto Jackpot

Postby hover11 » March 24th, 2023, 1:23 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Trinidad and Tobago is too small for lotto to be selling and winning for the last 30 years or more and only a couple of people could say they heard a man or this man win the lotto...how is it no one could say that their brother, sister or relative win a lotto forget the crime situation for a moment? the way we does carry news and macco the whole world would have done know. I not saying it don't have winners buy just weird how we macco for everything else except this

fax

In the states at least they are more public with it

idk if we're a step ahead of them or we are hiding something.
In the states they publish your name and take pictures of you when you come to collect the cheque to show the transparency, here everything is a big secret.

Postby st7 » March 24th, 2023, 1:26 pm

if you win the lotto, you want it to be known publicly and put a target on yourself?

Postby hover11 » March 24th, 2023, 1:28 pm

We conveniently copy Amerika except when it comes to exercises in transparency
.pending-1680283616-Screenshot_20230324-132612_Samsung%20Internet~2.jpg

Postby hover11 » March 24th, 2023, 1:34 pm

st7 wrote:if you win the lotto, you want it to be known publicly and put a target on yourself?
Any powerball winner was hunted down for their money clown?

Postby st7 » March 24th, 2023, 1:40 pm

in america where the culture isnt like trinidad? who knows.

you should get back to work now, or is it a free day in govt office on fridays?

Postby hover11 » March 24th, 2023, 1:41 pm

st7 wrote:in america where the culture isnt like trinidad? who knows.

So it don't have gangs in Amerika, it doesn't have crime in amerika? I trying to understand your donkey logic. Help me out here.

Postby st7 » March 24th, 2023, 2:26 pm

sounds like you've never travelled.

sufferer culture.

Postby redmanjp » March 24th, 2023, 3:06 pm

hover11 wrote:

So it don't have gangs in Amerika, it doesn't have crime in amerika? I trying to understand your donkey logic. Help me out here.

only in a small % of cities - like chicago. crime low in most other places.

Postby hover11 » March 24th, 2023, 3:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:

only in a small % of cities - like chicago. crime low in most other places.
This is understood but the fact is transparency is needed. So we gonna use the excuse we can't have transparency because we have a high crime rate?

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2023, 4:00 pm

when yuh leading the revolt hovie?

Postby 88sins » March 24th, 2023, 4:06 pm

mero wrote:
88sins wrote:Odds of winning lotto, 1 in 3,246,320.00.
Now, consider the following.
This country has a population of 1,400, 000
Of that amount, less than 300,000 eligible people play lotto..
With those odds and players, we can safely estimate that everyone must play exactly 10.8 times before any one person can win, and that's the bare minimum.
Now multiply 10.8 by the number of possible combination of numbers that haven't played yet and can still be played.

Jeezus.

So umm hear nah. If we have over 1 million eligible voters in TnT, how u come up with less than 300,000 people eligible to play lotto?

Asking for a friend

Consider the following
The several thousand nationals that don't live here
The under 18 population (this group alone is about 350k-400k ppl)
The incarcerated (smallest category, about roughly 7500 ppl)
Those who don't gamble for religious reasons (second largest group)
Those who don't gamble because they know they have no chance of winning, mostly the elderly that live on fixed or limited incomes and in rural areas where options to engage are limited at best.
Those who play intermittently.(those who wait for the biggest possible jackpot before playing)

Is not that the entire population that plays. But what happens is, those who do play for multiple chances at a time, hoping to increase their chances, not understanding that even doing that just isn't enough to lean the odds closer to being in their favor. Seen ppl play what they call a syndicate, whereas a few people put up several thousand dollars to buy tickets. Even that ain't go work to win the jackpot. Might get a few tickets that win consolation prizes, but that's about it.

Makes no sense to look at it from the eligible voters perspective, because that doesn't take a whole lot of things into account. Like people who don't live here, those that abstain, the incarcerated and incapacitated, the newly eligible that for the most part are not interested and simply don't voter their first eligible election etc.
Eligible voting pool and who actually votes come election day is two entirely different things. Remember, iirc it was for the last 2 elections, the voters abstention rate was the highest it's ever been.

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2023, 5:13 pm

Do lotto machines actually blank underage ppl trying to buy tickets tho?

Postby st7 » March 24th, 2023, 6:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:when yuh leading the revolt hovie?
you mean he hadda go above and beyond? paying taxes and complaining like a sufferer isn't enough?

better than that PS

Postby nemisis » March 24th, 2023, 8:49 pm

Is it possible for a non national to win if they bought a ticket?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 24th, 2023, 8:52 pm

You think a vene win the lotto?

Postby 88sins » March 24th, 2023, 9:37 pm

nemisis wrote:Is it possible for a non national to win if they bought a ticket?

Short answer, yes.
To win, you must have a winning ticket. Ain't nothing in law ever said that you MUST be a citizen to claim the prize.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » March 25th, 2023, 2:16 pm

Not quite.

Any non national can buy a ticket and potentially win.

They will not be able to collect the prize by nlcb however.

When you go in, you have to fill out a declaration form which is 2 pages long.

Questions such as:
- I am not related to any one working at nlcb.
- I am not related to any government minister.

Most significant is : I am a national of T&T.

You have to show them 2 forms of ID and give them your bank account number to issue the cheque (they do call your bank to verify).

So in theory they could win. But someone else will have to bank the winnings.

Postby 88sins » March 25th, 2023, 7:09 pm

Animal Pak wrote:Not quite.

Any non national can buy a ticket and potentially win.

They will not be able to collect the prize by nlcb however.

When you go in, you have to fill out a declaration form which is 2 pages long.

Questions such as:
- I am not related to any one working at nlcb.
- I am not related to any government minister.

Most significant is : I am a national of T&T.

You have to show them 2 forms of ID and give them your bank account number to issue the cheque (they do call your bank to verify).

So in theory they could win. But someone else will have to bank the winnings.

Hadda look into this.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » March 28th, 2023, 6:14 am

I am ok with the lotto winner remaining as private as possible, it’s not fully a secret as the NLCB and the government plus banks where the funds are deposited who employ people will also know.

Let’s be honest, if the name of the lotto winner was published in the press all of us going to check their Facebook, Instagram to see who they are, what they do, we looking to see if we have mutual friends and if we are desperate enough we gonna try to approach them for help.

I know 1 lotto winner personally. He won about 10 years ago. Up till today he says “winning was a blessing and a curse at the same time” it was not a big jackpot but it allowed him to clear debt and send his kids to school but the amount of sad stories he had to hear seeking his help, takes a toll psychologically. It’s not 1 person asking for a 10,000 it’s 20 people asking for a 500

Every year a handful of people by luck get the chance to change their lives hopefully for the better, nobody forcing anyone to play or participate so take yuh chance or stay on the sidelines.

Postby pugboy » March 28th, 2023, 6:43 am

if public you will certainly become a target for a home invasion

Postby 88sins » March 28th, 2023, 9:17 am

pugboy wrote:if public you will certainly become a target for a home invasion

If yuh lucky that's all that would happen.

Postby hover11 » March 28th, 2023, 9:23 am

You know if you really want to know you could just go to head office nlcb , apply under FIOA they have to disclose the winner name for whatever draw, as a citizen you legally entitled to know who won....don't let anyone tell you it's a secret
Last edited by hover11 on March 28th, 2023, 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 28th, 2023, 9:26 am

pugboy wrote:if public you will certainly become a target for a home invasion

Of all home invasions annually are there a large amount on well known businessmen?
I mean we know they have money and so would bandits.

Also why would you invade the home of someone who won 23m? Its not like they going to be keeping that money at home under a mattress

Postby pugboy » March 28th, 2023, 9:39 am

you assuming everybody won’t keep cash home or flaunt
likewise you assuming bandits make a distinction between business ppl and a lotto winner vs “ppl with money”

Postby The_Honourable » March 28th, 2023, 9:44 am

greggle71 wrote:I am ok with the lotto winner remaining as private as possible, it’s not fully a secret as the NLCB and the government plus banks where the funds are deposited who employ people will also know.

Let’s be honest, if the name of the lotto winner was published in the press all of us going to check their Facebook, Instagram to see who they are, what they do, we looking to see if we have mutual friends and if we are desperate enough we gonna try to approach them for help.

I know 1 lotto winner personally. He won about 10 years ago. Up till today he says “winning was a blessing and a curse at the same time” it was not a big jackpot but it allowed him to clear debt and send his kids to school but the amount of sad stories he had to hear seeking his help, takes a toll psychologically. It’s not 1 person asking for a 10,000 it’s 20 people asking for a 500

Every year a handful of people by luck get the chance to change their lives hopefully for the better, nobody forcing anyone to play or participate so take yuh chance or stay on the sidelines.

Agreed, sad stories from strangers are one thing but family members jumping out is another thing. Family who you prefer to keep a distance or you never talk to popping up. Plus some pumkin vine you never knew suddenly on your radar trying not to be too obvious, then sometime later hit you a sad story.

Yes, i'm all for privacy but we have to be realistic that it would not be absolute as is Trinidad.

wing

Postby wing » March 28th, 2023, 10:56 am

hover11 wrote:You know if you really want to know you could just go to head office nlcb , apply under FIOA they have to disclose the winner name for whatever draw, as a citizen you legally entitled to know who won....don't let anyone tell you it's a secret
Your sourness is really next level. Just because you lost, doesn't mean you have to make the winner's life miserable. If the person wants privacy, it's their right. Additionally, playing lotto is voluntary, so if you have a problem, don't play and instead focus your attention on improving customer service in the public service.

Postby hover11 » March 28th, 2023, 11:04 am

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:You know if you really want to know you could just go to head office nlcb , apply under FIOA they have to disclose the winner name for whatever draw, as a citizen you legally entitled to know who won....don't let anyone tell you it's a secret
Your sourness is really next level. Just because you lost, doesn't mean you have to make the winner's life miserable. If the person wants privacy, it's their right. Additionally, playing lotto is voluntary, so if you have a problem, don't play and instead focus your attention on improving customer service in the public service.
Anyway, this doesn't take away your RIGHT or ENTITLEMENT to know who won if you want privacy go to a private members club funny how ppl want privacy from public institutions

Postby st7 » March 28th, 2023, 11:49 am

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:
Anyway, this doesn't take away your RIGHT or ENTITLEMENT to know who won if you want privacy go to a private members club funny how ppl want privacy from public institutions

but you self fraid to post your identity and workplace on a public forum... why you want privacy for

funny how hypocrisy is a big trait in sufferers

Postby teems1 » March 28th, 2023, 1:40 pm

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:

The government implemented a self imposed monopoly on the lottery though. The government are the only persons allowed to be IGT's customer.

Postby MaxPower » March 28th, 2023, 2:17 pm

Smelling some jealousy here.

Is toting allyuh toting that allyuh didn’t win?

Gosh, leave the winner in peace na