Should Vending be allowed - Yay or Nay -

Should Vending be allowed on the streets?

YES
21%
NO
79%

Total votes: 61

Should Vending be allowed - Yay or Nay -

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 15th, 2010, 9:30 am

This issue has appeared once more.
POS Vendors, Chaguanas Vendors and South Vendors.....

What do you guys think...Should they be allowed on the streets or should they pay rent like everyone else?

Re: Should Vending be allowed - Yay or Nay -

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 15th, 2010, 9:34 am

I dont have a problem with it.
Everybody has to make a living - why fight them down?
Regulate it and put control mechanisms.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » December 15th, 2010, 9:44 am

Never used to have an issue with it but now they i your face, blocking the street and sidewalk, so I agree that controls need to be put in place. Most times they are not selling what the stores have but they do make it difficult ot enter a store that you want to go into. Also, make them pay rent and taxes.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 15th, 2010, 9:46 am

Well the respective Mayors are trying to regulate it but the vendors are refusing to comply..

Imagine south vendors saying $800 is too much rent.....

The tents at the flea market in chaguanas I am sure is at least $8000 rent

Postby redmanjp » December 15th, 2010, 9:50 am

Nigson wrote:

:shock: they does even make dat in a month?

Postby crazybalhead » December 15th, 2010, 10:04 am

I say NAY. They don't want to save, pay taxes, or obey the law, but they expect the BEST property to be able to sell their goods. What hppen to the people that paid for that property?

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » December 15th, 2010, 10:08 am

crazybalhead wrote:I say NAY. They don't want to save, pay taxes, or obey the law, but they expect the BEST property to be able to sell their goods. What hppen to the people that paid for that property?

and there is nothing like "regulating" these street vendors.
They never comply with regulations anyway and just do heir own hing then protest after.

Streetvending encourages pickpockets , thieving and crime in most areas.

Postby TRAE » December 15th, 2010, 10:11 am

if i was a vendor i woulda say yea but as i am not i have to say nope...pay taxes like everyone else-- comply with rules and regulations, stop the lawlessness, stop the harrassment of people passing by, and stop the problem of causing traffic by being all over de road

Postby RBphoto » December 15th, 2010, 10:12 am

Vending takes away business from legitimate tax paying businesses. They not only hurt legitimate business, but hurt our economy by hawking imported stuff, and just reselling, not adding any value to the item, and living tax free as parasites on our health and education system (if they send their children to school that is), not paying any utilites, and you have no legal recourse to consumer affairs if they sell you a defective product. I believe that the only people who should be allowed to vend is craftmen/ Artist (who actually add value to their products), and farmers who toil the soil (not the kind of "Farmers" who sell produce imported from the small islands), and then again they should be mobile with their carts and not loitering in front of any store without permission. All the other buy and sell people could suck salt, or pay rent in one of them tent markets. My 2 cents.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » December 15th, 2010, 10:14 am

Change the legislation so that rentors are actually renting the space in front of their store also. That way the vendors will either be tresspassing or they have to pay rent.

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » December 15th, 2010, 10:15 am

crossdrilled wrote:Vending takes away business from legitimate tax paying businesses. They not only hurt legitimate business, but hurt our economy by hawking imported stuff, and just reselling, not adding any value to the item, and living tax free as parasites on our health and education system (if they send their children to school that is), not paying any utilites, and you have no legal recourse to consumer affairs if they sell you a defective product. I believe that the only people who should be allowed to vend is craftmen/ Artist (who actually add value to their products), and farmers who toil the soil (not the kind of "Farmers" who sell produce imported from the small islands), and then again they should be mobile with their carts and not loitering in front of any store without permission. All the other buy and sell people could suck salt, or pay rent in one of them tent markets. My 2 cents.

harsh but true.......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 15th, 2010, 10:41 am

crossdrilled wrote:Vending takes away business from legitimate tax paying businesses. They not only hurt legitimate business, but hurt our economy by hawking imported stuff, and just reselling, not adding any value to the item, and living tax free as parasites on our health and education system (if they send their children to school that is), not paying any utilites, and you have no legal recourse to consumer affairs if they sell you a defective product. I believe that the only people who should be allowed to vend is craftmen/ Artist (who actually add value to their products), and farmers who toil the soil (not the kind of "Farmers" who sell produce imported from the small islands), and then again they should be mobile with their carts and not loitering in front of any store without permission. All the other buy and sell people could suck salt, or pay rent in one of them tent markets. My 2 cents.

x10.......

Is there any way legit business men can get them away from in front their store?

Postby Greypatch » December 15th, 2010, 10:53 am

NO to Street vending.

from vendors in POS, Sando Chag to nuts and papers men.

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2010, 10:56 am

redmanjp wrote:
Nigson wrote:

:shock: they does even make dat in a month?

flea market tent is $8k for just over 2 weeks for a 10X10 tent

nagar was $15k for a 20x20 for probably 10 days. (however long nagar was open)

$$$$$$$$$$$

Postby Rainman » December 15th, 2010, 11:02 am

Nigson wrote:Is there any way legit business men can get them away from in front their store?

Predator Missle, SCAR-H with ACOG sights.

Postby wagonrunner » December 15th, 2010, 11:03 am

Greypatch wrote:NO to Street vending.

and the flecking boboshanti

Postby SR » December 15th, 2010, 11:03 am

NO to street vending

time to clean up our public roads if we want to create a better image of the country

NO to street vendors they do not contribute to our economy

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 15th, 2010, 11:05 am

not on d effin street so u cant walk & drive u car

do like what they did here in chaguanas & make a area OFF d streets where they can sell without being a nuisance to others ...

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2010, 11:05 am

rainman wrote:
Nigson wrote:Is there any way legit business men can get them away from in front their store?

Predator Missle, SCAR-H with ACOG sights.

hides a pair of shoes under their carts
call police n say they thief yuh shoes

Postby Greypatch » December 15th, 2010, 11:24 am

same way ppl go to a mall or store to shop the same way they will go to a vendor zone.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » December 15th, 2010, 12:55 pm

Nice leh we all go and find any old piece ah crap we could an throw in de street and start chanting an praying. If we pray hard ehuff den an only den would deem 3 clong give een to we an move dem rude, stinky mofo's from in fron t de store dem!

Of course we could simply stop buying from them on the street too.................nah to easy, leh we braek sumting:)

Bareback

Postby Bareback » December 15th, 2010, 12:57 pm

Greypatch wrote:same way ppl go to a mall or store to shop the same way they will go to a vendor zone.

Okay, you are officially on a time out as there is no room for logic or common sense thinking when talking about vendors and them not wanting to be organized.

No soup for you, come back 1 year!

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » December 15th, 2010, 1:05 pm

what about the idiots by the traffic lights on the highways? i does feel to run them over with one of these

Postby Greypatch » December 15th, 2010, 1:18 pm

No soup for you, come back 1 year!

LMAO

:( :( :( :( :( :(

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 15th, 2010, 1:19 pm

Vending is ILLEGAL
"Pulling Bull" or working "PH" is ILLEGAL
The government is LEGALISING vending temporarily and want to legalise PH cars!
Whatever the outcome, the natives are still gonna do it anyway.
Third world mentality FTL
See why Trinidad will NEVER become a developed country?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » December 15th, 2010, 2:27 pm

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

creepy

Postby ronsin1 » December 15th, 2010, 2:40 pm

crazybalhead wrote:I say NAY. They don't want to save, pay taxes, or obey the law, but they expect the BEST property to be able to sell their goods. What hppen to the people that paid for that property?

buh aye aye you is not the baldhead man that does be in from of RBTT is chaguanas vending the drag slippers

Postby RBphoto » December 15th, 2010, 3:02 pm

Greypatch wrote:NO to Street vending.

But the papers men don't be taking no business away from nobody.... most time they just in the middle of the road. With the sanctioned aprons, t-shirts and bandanas from the various papers, I though that they were not doing anything illegal..though they sometimes cause a set of traffic when somebody sticking for change. Like I said, they are mobile... they are not squatting, and they are not infringing on legitimate businesses... as far as I can tell. Sno cone men... Flavorite ice cream bicycle guys, the doubbles vendors on bikes (When last you see one of those?)... I don't see these guys as a menace as their business is mobile, and it is kinda unique, so they not cutting in on anyone else living. Coconut vendors... depends on where they park their vans I guess, but still I don't consider them a menace as I doubt they will park up in front of a coconout water bottler. The vendors I am concerned with are those selling clothes and toys in front of clothes and toy stores!!! (Just illustrating a point here...don't take that too literal) Another thing to think about... how many of these illegal vendors are citizens of Trinidad... most are vincy and grenadian as far as I can see.

Postby wagonrunner » December 15th, 2010, 3:12 pm

crosdrilled, they at times, impede the flow of traffic.vehicle operator WANTS a paper so badly, they'll be very inconsiderate to the others behind / around them.

Postby SR » December 15th, 2010, 3:31 pm

especially when they looking for change

the only person who should walkin between lanes of traffic is a police officer

anyone else looking to get bounce for causing traffic