The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

Re: The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2020, 9:26 am

i have bought a few on ebay as well as high end stuff like dyson vacuums

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 14th, 2020, 9:30 am

Skanky wrote:How are you accessing these deals?
Trying to buy a fire tablet but for some reason can't access deal price even as a Prime member.
Ideas?

If you go to Amazon.com/primeday you can see all the current deals
Remember there are lightning deals that go away after a while

The Fire 10 tablet is $79 right now, that's 50% off
https://www.amazon.com/Fire-HD-10/dp/B07K1RZWMC

Screenshot 2020-10-14 at 9.04.42 AM.jpg

Ok I realise I wasn't clear in my post.
I bought two of these a month ago for the full retail price and shipped them via skybox no issues.
Now I am seeing it for the $79 on the site but when I add to cart and try to checkout even with my Prime membership I am not allowed to purchase because they suddenly won't ship to my skybox address.
Anybody else experiencing this or similar or is this just an issue on my end? This only happens when I try to checkout though.

Postby maj. tom » October 14th, 2020, 9:30 am

carluva wrote:Not really a prime day deal post, but has anyone ever purchased a renewed laptop or desktop from Amazon. I see quite a few available in HP and Dell, especially business PCs, but not sure on whether its a risk to purchase. Any thoughts?

Factory refurbished is usually no problem. Factory refurbished items are usually open box from customers who returned it to the manufacturer and a component was replaced. So it's like new. eg. if the hard drive wasn't working, or the wifi wasn't working, with mass production techniques today, they just replace it with a new component, QA test and send it back out labelled as "refurbished" by USA law. The item is usually a bit cheaper. The only thing is about those refurbished business computers... they're old spec. Which means they were made long ago. And Dell/HP took it back from a business which was running the components hard. Which means shorter life cycles for the electronics. Not worth my money for old stuff like that. Only current market specs refurbished.

i have taken the risk in the past and it had worked out ok. Amazon has a warranty, and the manufacturer would have an international warranty to fix at a local authorized center.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 14th, 2020, 9:53 am

maj. tom wrote:
carluva wrote:Not really a prime day deal post, but has anyone ever purchased a renewed laptop or desktop from Amazon. I see quite a few available in HP and Dell, especially business PCs, but not sure on whether its a risk to purchase. Any thoughts?

Factory refurbished is usually no problem. Factory refurbished items are usually open box from customers who returned it to the manufacturer and a component was replaced. So it's like new. eg. if the hard drive wasn't working, or the wifi wasn't working, with mass production techniques today, they just replace it with a new component, QA test and send it back out labelled as "refurbished" by USA law. The item is usually a bit cheaper. The only thing is about those refurbished business computers... they're old spec. Which means they were made long ago. And Dell/HP took it back from a business which was running the components hard. Which means shorter life cycles for the electronics. Not worth my money for old stuff like that. Only current market specs refurbished.

i have taken the risk in the past and it had worked out ok. Amazon has a warranty, and the manufacturer would have an international warranty to fix at a local authorized center.

Thanks. What are your thoughts on these?

https://www.amazon.com/Lenovo-Center-De ... 223&sr=1-5

https://www.amazon.com/HP-EliteDesk-Qua ... merReviews

https://www.amazon.com/Dell-OptiPlex-90 ... 23&sr=1-15

https://www.amazon.com/OPTIPLEX-Busines ... 23&sr=1-23

Not refurbished but new:

https://www.amazon.com/HP-EliteDesk-800 ... 23&sr=1-18

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 14th, 2020, 10:02 am

Got a black and decker cordless drill driver for 39.99

Anton

Postby Anton » October 28th, 2020, 11:09 am

Skanky wrote:
Skanky wrote:How are you accessing these deals?
Trying to buy a fire tablet but for some reason can't access deal price even as a Prime member.
Ideas?

If you go to Amazon.com/primeday you can see all the current deals
Remember there are lightning deals that go away after a while

The Fire 10 tablet is $79 right now, that's 50% off
https://www.amazon.com/Fire-HD-10/dp/B07K1RZWMC

Screenshot 2020-10-14 at 9.04.42 AM.jpg

Ok I realise I wasn't clear in my post.
I bought two of these a month ago for the full retail price and shipped them via skybox no issues.
Now I am seeing it for the $79 on the site but when I add to cart and try to checkout even with my Prime membership I am not allowed to purchase because they suddenly won't ship to my skybox address.
Anybody else experiencing this or similar or is this just an issue on my end? This only happens when I try to checkout though.

Had the same issue

Postby redmanjp » November 24th, 2020, 2:50 pm

Black Friday time again. I hope Pricemart and all other local stores stretch out their sales the whole week this year instead of causing a crowd during a pandemic- or have online sales

matix

Postby matix » November 24th, 2020, 4:44 pm

Right now it’s madness with shoppers in Pricesmart. Almost every trolley has a TV in it. Seeing a JVC Smart 50” for $2500

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2020, 4:58 pm

Pricesmart still.giving 1 month or 3 month warranty on electronics?

Postby gastly369 » November 24th, 2020, 5:23 pm

Once tv out that store door have nothing to get.. Pricemart is chit for tvs...
Phone Surgeon wrote:Pricesmart still.giving 1 month or 3 month warranty on electronics?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 24th, 2020, 5:25 pm

Bought a Samsung 4k TV in PM in June. 1 year warranty.
Phone Surgeon wrote:Pricesmart still.giving 1 month or 3 month warranty on electronics?

Postby redmanjp » November 24th, 2020, 5:51 pm

last year i bought a samsung 4k tv and i think the warranty was 1 year, so maybe for TVs it's 1 year but other/cheaper electronics it's less

Postby st7 » November 24th, 2020, 7:31 pm

matix wrote:Right now it’s madness with shoppers in Pricesmart. Almost every trolley has a TV in it. Seeing a JVC Smart 50” for $2500

i went today and see level trolleys with tvs self lol.

i went to get a tv mount for a samsung bought in the black friday sale back in 2016. i pick up the last mount - and 5 people asking me if i buying it... lol

but i see the 65 getting bought too lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2020, 10:14 pm

st7 wrote:
matix wrote:Right now it’s madness with shoppers in Pricesmart. Almost every trolley has a TV in it. Seeing a JVC Smart 50” for $2500

i went today and see level trolleys with tvs self lol.

i went to get a tv mount for a samsung bought in the black friday sale back in 2016. i pick up the last mount - and 5 people asking me if i buying it... lol

but i see the 65 getting bought too lol

the JVC flying off the shelves but lots of ppl also buying the Samsung Series 7 and Series 8 55" and 65"

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 24th, 2020, 10:24 pm

I thought ppl saving for covid

Postby gastly369 » November 24th, 2020, 11:29 pm

Need a 85" or some now yes find 55" get pc monitor size for me...

Devourment

Postby Devourment » November 25th, 2020, 12:07 am

Cantmis wrote:I thought ppl saving for covid

Apparently men was saving for this.....

Postby eliteauto » November 25th, 2020, 8:13 am

The response to these sales does crack me up, I does wonder if these people don't have a TV home already

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » November 25th, 2020, 8:53 am

eliteauto wrote:The response to these sales does crack me up, I does wonder if these people don't have a TV home already

i ask myself that as well.
perhaps "BIG SCREEN" and "4K" is the the feature they want.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 25th, 2020, 10:05 am

eliteauto wrote:The response to these sales does crack me up, I does wonder if these people don't have a TV home already

Black Friday fever eh.
Never understood it. I mean online if you see a deal on something you really needed or wanted, that's cool. But camping out and scrambling and fighting for things in a physical store like they giving it away for free....I good, thanks

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » November 25th, 2020, 1:45 pm

gastly369 wrote:Need a 85" or some now yes find 55" get pc monitor size for me...

Agreed.

They are around $15-$20K down here.

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2020, 2:46 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Black Friday fever eh.
Never understood it. I mean online if you see a deal on something you really needed or wanted, that's cool. But camping out and scrambling and fighting for things in a physical store like they giving it away for free....I good, thanks

yeah and this year covid is thrown in free of charge for every 100 customers who crowd the store :D

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » November 25th, 2020, 3:31 pm

Yesterday in pricesmart a guy took about 10 minutes trying to cash out what was i think a 50 inch and 65 inch tv on 3 different bank cards. Men good out here yes

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2020, 3:59 pm

is only JVC TVs PS have for their Smartweek sale? no Samsungs, etc.?

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 25th, 2020, 4:26 pm

I literally just exited Pricesmart, Chaguanas and counted 20 JVC TV's being cashed out in the space of around 10mins. You would have never guessed that we have a job stability issue in T&T right now. I must say, I am impressed with our financial capabilities.

Postby Dave » November 25th, 2020, 4:28 pm

Trinis always find the money.
agent007 wrote:I literally just exited Pricesmart, Chaguanas and counted 20 JVC TV's being cashed out in the space of around 10mins. You would have never guessed that we have a job stability issue in T&T right now. I must say, I am impressed with our financial capabilities.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 25th, 2020, 4:40 pm

just curious was the price of an LG oled tv in trinidad? it even have that there?

carluva

Postby carluva » November 25th, 2020, 4:42 pm

Kewell35 wrote:just curious was the price of an LG oled tv in trinidad? it even have that there?
Gorm man... Yuh come to tease in this ched now dawg?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 25th, 2020, 4:48 pm

carluva wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:just curious was the price of an LG oled tv in trinidad? it even have that there?
Gorm man... Yuh come to tease in this ched now dawg?

lol tbh I really wanted to know and I figure I would throw that last one in there.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » November 25th, 2020, 5:11 pm

Hope he made it home before that rain buss down

Kinda sketchy to transport it with that one strap an all

Was a 70" so cheap that they didn't care to cover it down and secure it properly
IMG_20201125_163232~2.jpeg