Stolen SEA laptop recovered

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Stolen SEA laptop recovered

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » November 21st, 2010, 2:59 am

Sunday, November 21 2010

The SEA laptop which was recently stolen from a Form One student in the Barataria area, has been recovered by the police, a release from Ample advertising agency on behalf of Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh stated yesterday.

The agency indicated that it was due to the security software application installed in the computer to help in exactly this kind of situation.

The media release said that the minister was high in praise for the speedy work done by officials of his ministry, as well as by the police officers involved.

“This proves that the system works, and that the combination of technology and conscientious officials of the State is an unbeatable force to protect both our students and the laptops they recently received from us,” Gopeesingh was quoted as stating.

According to the release, the minister said that the laptop was stolen from the bag of a Barataria South Secondary School student two weeks ago on Don Miguel Road, San Juan. The report, however, was made to the ministry only on Friday, and this was immediately followed by a visit to the school by a ministry IT Manager, Calvin Ramnath. He contacted the technicians who make and operate the Computrace software which is installed in all the laptops distributed by the ministry.

Computrace activated their ‘watch’, and within a couple hours the stolen computer was spotted when it was used to log-on to the internet. Computrace personnel were able to pinpoint the exact location of the computer. They notified the police, and officers of the Police Cyber Unit as well as from the Barataria Police Station swooped down on the address identified to find the computer. It was being used by a local computer technician who said that it had been brought to him for repairs and he was logging on to the net to effect the repairs.

The laptop is now in Police custody with investigations continuing, and the student and his parents are reportedly greatly relieved to know that the computer will soon be back with them.

well done PP

zer0xp

Re: Stolen SEA laptop recovered

Postby zer0xp » November 21st, 2010, 3:26 am

pioneer wrote:allyuh must stop letting politicians sh1t in allyuh mouth.

but it tastes so good when it hits your lips

zcarz

Postby zcarz » November 21st, 2010, 3:33 am

wow. i am truly impressed.. well done police service, and to the doubters of the security device.. HAHAHAHAHHA u lose, we win.. now go scour the news articles for something else to copy and paste.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 21st, 2010, 7:44 am

only works if u paying for internet an once again TSTT or Flow would be ordered to give up the account owner address.

If i stole one I would log on to my neighbor WIFI an watch the police show up an smash up them house to bits. Or better yet go to a public library.

Simple way to beat this system is replace / wipe hard drive ............. tracker program gone

audioholicz.co

Postby audioholicz.co » November 21st, 2010, 8:25 am

xtech wrote:only works if u paying for internet an once again TSTT or Flow would be ordered to give up the account owner address.

If i stole one I would log on to my neighbor WIFI an watch the police show up an smash up them house to bits. Or better yet go to a public library.

Simple way to beat this system is replace / wipe hard drive ............. tracker program gone

won't work, Computrace is installed on your BIOS not your HARD DRIVE..

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » November 21st, 2010, 8:37 am

Hats off !!! Well done :arrow: :arrow: :arrow:

Now this is fuel added to the flame under PNMites a$$ :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » November 21st, 2010, 9:02 am

HP has worked directly with Absolute Software Corporation to embed the Computrace Agent to the BIOS of many HP commercial notebook and tablet PCs and select desktop and workstation models. The embedded Agent is rapidly deployable and highly resistant to tampering.

Lance

Postby Lance » November 21st, 2010, 9:21 am

I foresee replacement-part support for HP Laptops increasing in the near future.

Postby AllTrac » November 21st, 2010, 9:50 am

well done!

xtech

Postby xtech » November 21st, 2010, 10:21 am

not easy but is possible to read bios modify the Computrace rootkit to expose itself to any antivirus an re-flash

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » November 21st, 2010, 10:38 am

KOTF wrote:
Ramirez wrote:HP has worked directly with Absolute Software Corporation to embed the Computrace Agent to the BIOS of many HP commercial notebook and tablet PCs and select desktop and workstation models. The embedded Agent is rapidly deployable and highly resistant to tampering.

HA!

Honestly I believe that it's a lie, they just replaced the laptop to save face......

And that system is very easy to get around

http://www.absolute.com/Shared/Datashee ... .sflb.ashx

you people dont read much, do you?

it's ok.. understandable in a 3rd world country such as ours

Postby RBphoto » November 21st, 2010, 10:41 am

[RASC] Dey lie!! They set up the theft AND the recovery just for political mileage [/RASC]

Humes

Postby Humes » November 21st, 2010, 10:45 am

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » November 21st, 2010, 10:45 am

[quote="pioneer"]yeah we know

let us know when they start recovering stolen cars & items, solving murders, stopping guns and drugs from entering our borders, when they recover all the (still) missing kidnapp victims etc etc etc

^^^^^ x2

Postby SR » November 21st, 2010, 11:13 am

wasnt that waht the Spyin agency was setup for

wait NOT A SINGLE KIDNAPPING SOLVED FROM THIS UNIT

so who was manning really spying on........... pioneer any comments or yuh gonna jump ship as soon as another thread backfires

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 21st, 2010, 11:20 am

anything d govt does good some fool have to come & talk sh1t eh ....

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » November 21st, 2010, 1:35 pm

dey fine it bak, and...??? no arrest huh.

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » November 21st, 2010, 2:05 pm

pioneer wrote:lol for all we know they "stole" it themselves...but that's not the truth they want allyuh to know right?...right in the middle of so many things going wrong in the country...

How come when allyuh laptops geh stolen nobody does find it? :lol:

Wha bout all de stolen car audio equipment that those street pirates using so freely? :lol:

get serious people, please

Mih laptop didn have computrace......... :(

but on another note...... ent all dem laptop paint yellow? de technician eh think that something up bringing a kamla laptop to get repairs? he might've been clueless anyhow.

it have any clause or something so to prevent 3rd parties from conducting their own repairs/maintenance on these laptops

Postby Sky » November 21st, 2010, 2:39 pm

I also believe that the recovery may be a hoax. But what does it matter?
I'm old enough to remember when notebooks were 3k usd for a mediocre system, not even comparable to their desktop counterparts with price. Most of them didn't even have desktop counterparts that slow. Now they're fast and cheap. phones are now doing most of the things a notebook can do. Internet is cheap. Most blink users leave their default password of 12345. or whatever and the username and password can be used for dial up (correct me if they stop this) So if you know someone has dsl and you know their phone number, you're in. Wireless routers are rampant all over and cheap.
Shameless plug : http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/posting.php?mode=reply&f=11&t=340452
So what happens when the gov't floods the market with even more notebooks?
prices will drop even more. notebook sales will be left to online sales and brand resellers for those without the means. We'll have it almost as cheap as us residents. Actually at this point I know a Dell reseller who sells notebooks cheaper than if we were to buy it from dell online.

So when they release this hoax, stupid criminals (and 99% of them in t'dad are) will believe them, and notebooks won't be in high demand on the black market anymore. Nobody would want these mediocre Kamla books. So hoax or no hoax, problem solved.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » November 21st, 2010, 3:20 pm

audioholicz.co wrote:
xtech wrote:only works if u paying for internet an once again TSTT or Flow would be ordered to give up the account owner address.

won't work, Computrace is installed on your BIOS not your HARD DRIVE..

What is CompuTrace and what does it do?
A. CompuTrace is a small software client that resides in the BIOS and on the hard drive of the computer. It is designed to assist in the recovery of a laptop that is either lost or stolen.

Google yo!

Postby 3stagevtec » November 21st, 2010, 4:51 pm

I really didn't expect it to ever be found.. Good to know the software works!

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 21st, 2010, 5:02 pm

allyuh must stop letting politicians sh1t in allyuh mouth.

like de $150M house :roll:

Postby Monk BANzai » November 21st, 2010, 5:03 pm

According to the release, the minister said that the laptop was stolen from the bag of a Barataria South Secondary School student two weeks ago on Don Miguel Road, San Juan. The report, however, was made to the ministry only on Friday, and this was immediately followed by a visit to the school by a ministry IT Manager, Calvin Ramnath. He contacted the technicians who make and operate the Computrace software which is installed in all the laptops distributed by the ministry.

BS... this machine has been "lost" over 9 days now...HDD removed and only when the machine needed to use a resource that used teh GPRS for operation did it "activate" itself. The "official" reposrt was only made on Fridday after there was alot of hasty "back door" searching for the unit.

Why didnt the report say (like the wiretapping lsit) that the HDD that they found in the laptop was not what was installed? or that the laptop was online for 4 FULL days b4 they discovered it?

I'm not asking you...i am TELLING YOU!
(similarly to when i said why Memorybank is almost bankrupt becuz they, being the default HP dealer, didnt get the sale but was defffered to the 'other" vendor...or that the guys installing the "software" are the only ones realyl making money off of this whole deal?)

so for Goopeesingh to come and say "blah blah blah">....he is such a knubskull...

This is the second time this week he's been put to shame...earlier in the week at the IT Symposium, he asked one of the guest speakers if teh laptop initiative was a good idea, to which the speaker response was "yes, if you had your own software running on it. Where's the client software to make the student learn?"

there was snickers across the room.....t.he man knows....in fact correckt that...HALF of the cabinet knows nothing of what the impact of the laptop situation is going to be. IF a thief cud get away with it and that word spreads, then its easier for anyone to steal a laptop, disable it and do what they need to do.

but yeah....HORRAY for PP!!

The education system has not had a GOOD minister in decades....PNM/UNC/PP....waste of fackin time!!!

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 21st, 2010, 5:16 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

BS... this machine has been "lost" over 9 days now...HDD removed and only when the machine needed to use a resource that used teh GPRS for operation did it "activate" itself. The "official" reposrt was only made on Fridday after there was alot of hasty "back door" searching for the unit.

Why didnt the report say (like the wiretapping lsit) that the HDD that they found in the laptop was not what was installed? or that the laptop was online for 4 FULL days b4 they discovered it?

I'm not asking you...i am TELLING YOU!
(similarly to when i said why Memorybank is almost bankrupt becuz they, being the default HP dealer, didnt get the sale but was defffered to the 'other" vendor...or that the guys installing the "software" are the only ones realyl making money off of this whole deal?)

so for Goopeesingh to come and say "blah blah blah">....he is such a knubskull...

This is the second time this week he's been put to shame...earlier in the week at the IT Symposium, he asked one of the guest speakers if teh laptop initiative was a good idea, to which the speaker response was "yes, if you had your own software running on it. Where's the client software to make the student learn?"

there was snickers across the room.....t.he man knows....in fact correckt that...HALF of the cabinet knows nothing of what the impact of the laptop situation is going to be. IF a thief cud get away with it and that word spreads, then its easier for anyone to steal a laptop, disable it and do what they need to do.

but yeah....HORRAY for PP!!

The education system has not had a GOOD minister in decades....PNM/UNC/PP....waste of fackin time!!!

I agree.
This was just one massive stinking election gimmick that they had to fulfill in order to keep the firetrucking sheep happy.
Whilst I agree that the use of technology is important for education, this entire exercise was nothing more than just a sham.

-10 points to the PP.

Postby RASC » November 21st, 2010, 5:37 pm

Laptop Contract: $83 Million
Cost per laptop: $Lord alone knows, because they did not ACTUALLY bring in enough for every single Form 1 Student.

The emotional state of a 12 your old child who's had a gun put to their head, yet told weeks after "Don't worry we got it back for you *smiley face-pats self on back*" : SCARRED FOR LIFE!

For everything else, there's a chopper, full of Cocaine being delivered safely!

Alexy

Postby Alexy » November 21st, 2010, 5:43 pm

RACS....do u like little boys? :shock:

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 21st, 2010, 6:29 pm

KOTF wrote:
Logic42 wrote:
KOTF wrote:
Ramirez wrote:HP has worked directly with Absolute Software Corporation to embed the Computrace Agent to the BIOS of many HP commercial notebook and tablet PCs and select desktop and workstation models. The embedded Agent is rapidly deployable and highly resistant to tampering.

HA!

Honestly I believe that it's a lie, they just replaced the laptop to save face......

And that system is very easy to get around

http://www.absolute.com/Shared/Datashee ... .sflb.ashx

you people dont read much, do you?

it's ok.. understandable in a 3rd world country such as ours

Steupppppsssssssss I hate to get into this kinda thing!

So what if we living 3rd world country by international standards.

Don't we have access to information via the internet, don't we deem ourselves smart enough to do things or learn...... STOP bringing down yourself and your people, anyway..

http://www.freakyacres.com/remove_computrace_lojack

http://assortedinfo.blogspot.com/2007/0 ... -from.html

You will be surprised what MAN can do RIGHT here in sweet TnT

The SIA has been monitoring searches for the strings entered.
SAUTT will visit your premises shortly

Postby Cjruckus » November 21st, 2010, 6:59 pm

So i guess when issues are brought up in parliament results happen.

Kamala lets debate Kam-land Ranch.

Alexy

Postby Alexy » November 21st, 2010, 7:30 pm

Racs + CjRacsus = Pioneer?

Postby bushwakka » November 21st, 2010, 7:34 pm

it nuh painted yellow? if so, why did said computer technician not think differently?