Cables across the roadway???

nightrider

Cables across the roadway???

Postby nightrider » November 19th, 2010, 3:43 am

Does anybody know the reasons and purpose for running these cables on the main roads?

shaneelal

Re: Cables across the roadway???

Postby shaneelal » November 19th, 2010, 3:48 am

I assume your talking about the cables that the Ministry of Works places to determine the traffic patterns in an area.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 19th, 2010, 3:56 am

Postby r3iXmann » November 19th, 2010, 5:40 am

pioneer wrote:they spying

contact anil roberts

WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT?!

Postby cinco » November 19th, 2010, 6:41 am

is d SIA
dem cables could tell dem dong to wah yuh eat las week Wednesday

Postby bushwakka » November 19th, 2010, 7:32 am

shaneelal wrote:I assume your talking about the cables that the Ministry of Works places to determine the traffic patterns in an area.

an what they do with that data? print fancy booklets?

they obviously don't think that traffic lights should have different programming at different times of the day

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 19th, 2010, 7:34 am

Maybe its the extensions cords those seismic guys have been running allover south.

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 19th, 2010, 7:51 am

d cables on d highway is attached to a counter dat checks d amount of vehicles passed durin a time period.....daz how dey does come up wit d statistics dat 100,000 vehicles pass on d eastern main rd every day(jus an example)

Postby buzz » November 19th, 2010, 7:52 am

bushwakka wrote:
shaneelal wrote:I assume your talking about the cables that the Ministry of Works places to determine the traffic patterns in an area.

an what they do with that data? print fancy booklets?

they obviously don't think that traffic lights should have different programming at different times of the day

TCM traffic light seems too :|

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » November 19th, 2010, 8:17 am

Oh snap that is my trap i set up to catch this fella.

BEEP BEEP !!! :D :D :D

rossi

Postby rossi » November 19th, 2010, 9:22 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Maybe its the extensions cords those seismic guys have been running allover south.

Most likely it's this. ^^

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 19th, 2010, 9:36 am

dreadman wrote:d cables on d highway is attached to a counter dat checks d amount of vehicles passed durin a time period.....daz how dey does come up wit d statistics dat 100,000 vehicles pass on d eastern main rd every day(jus an example)

It's this..... but I always wondered how it worked cuz some vehicles have more than 2 sets of wheels :?

Postby nervewrecker » November 19th, 2010, 9:45 am

rossi wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Maybe its the extensions cords those seismic guys have been running allover south.

im not too certain but its lined up in some sort of grid & is designed to transmit data.
I have them all in my yard too.

the workers are very schemish, they run the cables & tell us loose the dogs so they will ransack it & they will get more work to do (more $$$).

the explosions cracking people concrete walls too, I want to know if they gonna compensate for that.

Humes

Postby Humes » November 19th, 2010, 9:50 am

Interesting...I was wondering that myself.

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 19th, 2010, 9:58 am

slacker_jack wrote:
rossi wrote:

im not too certain but its lined up in some sort of grid & is designed to transmit data.
I have them all in my yard too.

the workers are very schemish, they run the cables & tell us loose the dogs so they will ransack it & they will get more work to do (more $$$).

the explosions cracking people concrete walls too, I want to know if they gonna compensate for that.

petrotrin is doin a seismic survey lookin for oil.....where the lines are run they look for the owners and inform them about the process and gives them a copy of when is to b done an if they agree the owner has to sign.....in d letter it states that if there is any damage to land or property a claim is to b made and reported to petrotrin....i not too sure about ppl houses that are nex to the property dat d lines are run.
i know this bcuz it was run in the land rite next to where i live which belongs to us

Postby nervewrecker » November 19th, 2010, 10:01 am

we aint get no paper to sign, no one I know of in the area got any to sign.

the lines in our yard. I will take pics & post later.

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 19th, 2010, 10:03 am

what u should do is contact petrotrin an complain to dem

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 19th, 2010, 10:07 am

here what u all can do...call this number(its on d form what we got) 762-2238. name is stephen boodoo...dont say where u got d numba eh
jus tell him is concerning the survey that dey doin

Postby nervewrecker » November 19th, 2010, 10:11 am

thanks dreadman, will do.

seems the people in my area knows nuttin about what goin on, a few of them working petrotrin & for the seismic unit & just running cables like mad.....

Postby UML » November 19th, 2010, 1:36 pm

dreadman wrote:d cables on d highway is attached to a counter dat checks d amount of vehicles passed durin a time period.....daz how dey does come up wit d statistics dat 100,000 vehicles pass on d eastern main rd every day(jus an example)

likely to determine if the traffic load is high for road work purposes.

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 19th, 2010, 1:40 pm

slacker_jack wrote:thanks dreadman, will do.

seems the people in my area knows nuttin about what goin on, a few of them working petrotrin & for the seismic unit & just running cables like mad.....

let us kno what is d outcome when u call

Postby nervewrecker » November 19th, 2010, 1:57 pm

well apparently they bought papers to sign a few days ago when they come to fix the lines that the dogs ransack (I called home to verify weather or not they signed any paper). I wasnt home so I didnt know they did that but they didnt give us a copy....

zcarz

Postby zcarz » November 19th, 2010, 2:15 pm

uncle sam wrote:

It's this..... but I always wondered how it worked cuz some vehicles have more than 2 sets of wheels :?

Yes, but there is nothing they can do about that. The test will not be completely accurate. The counter counts the number of single axles across the counters (it is an air pressure sensor that detects when a large pressure difference is obtained and counts that as an axle passing over it). Based on previous observations and repeated trials, they will say that hypothetically, the expectation is that 70% of the vehicles that pass will have 2 axles, 15% have 3 axles 5% have 4 axles and 10% have 5 axles within a reasonable standard deviation. If after 8 hours (the period under inspection) 10000 axles pass, there will be 3500 cars, 500 3-axle trucks, 125 4-axle trucks and 200 5-axle trucks, in all approximately 4325 vehicles.

rossi

Postby rossi » November 19th, 2010, 6:46 pm

zcarz wrote:
uncle sam wrote:

Yes, but there is nothing they can do about that. The test will not be completely accurate. The counter counts the number of single axles across the counters (it is an air pressure sensor that detects when a large pressure difference is obtained and counts that as an axle passing over it). Based on previous observations and repeated trials, they will say that hypothetically, the expectation is that 70% of the vehicles that pass will have 2 axles, 15% have 3 axles 5% have 4 axles and 10% have 5 axles within a reasonable standard deviation. If after 8 hours (the period under inspection) 10000 axles pass, there will be 3500 cars, 500 3-axle trucks, 125 4-axle trucks and 200 5-axle trucks, in all approximately 4325 vehicles.

Yes,yes....but how long until they repave the road?

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » November 19th, 2010, 10:16 pm

API puh down orange cables to do testing and dynamite d piping areas!

Postby Bizzare » November 19th, 2010, 10:50 pm

I doubt is this. There's to much factors that will hinder this method from producing accurate results.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » November 20th, 2010, 2:59 am

The cables has nothing to do with tracking vehicles and whatever, it's seismic sensors that are placed in differant areas to get readings for where they can do exploration wells in the future.

Simple layout, they drill shallow wells in certain areas and use explo! to set off and the sensors will get the readings via sound and this will give the infomation needed for the survey.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 20th, 2010, 8:22 am

homeboy wrote:The cables has nothing to do with tracking vehicles and whatever, it's seismic sensors that are placed in differant areas to get readings for where they can do exploration wells in the future.

Simple layout, they drill shallow wells in certain areas and use explo! to set off and the sensors will get the readings via sound and this will give the infomation needed for the survey.

..not sound waves...seismic waves.

Postby nervewrecker » November 20th, 2010, 10:29 am

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 20th, 2010, 1:07 pm

^^^^ yea daz d seismic one