Mohammed pulled from Channel Six talk show
RHONDA KRYSTAL RAMBALLY
Published: 9 Nov 2010
Sacked co–host of the morning talkshow — First Up — Fazeer Mohammed says the show is now open to political interference.
Comments posted on social networking site Facebook, where C News and First Up each has a page, indicated that Mohammed had been fired following an interview on last Thursday’s show with Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan over Prime Minister Kamla Persad–Bissessar’s statements about providing aid to Caribbean countries affected by Hurricane Tomas.
First Up is aired simultaneously on Channel Six and Talk City 91.1 FM by state-owned Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG) and has been hosted by Mohammed and Jessie May Ventour since June 2007. Contacted yesterday, Mohammed said he hadn’t been fired but was “taken off the programme.” Mohammed, who is a long–standing journalist, said he was disappointed by the decision. He is awaiting official word from interim chief executive officer Ken Ali about his status. He said: “I was called in on Saturday to a meeting with the human resources manager Christine Johnson and was advised that the company had to undergo cost cutting measures and Andy Johnson would replace me.
“It was explained that Andy will not be of an additional cost and Government would be seconding his services from GISL.” During Thursday’s interview Mohammed had asked Rambachan whether Persad–Bissessar’s statements were diplomatic. Rambachan, however, directed a question to Mohammed and there was an exchange of comments about Mohammed’s religious views. Mohammed said his replacement had nothing to do with what occurred on the show. He said: “I have not been dismissed. I was also offered other options which were not acceptable to me. It is disappointing to be off the show.”
He said he would now explore his options since the media had opened up. Mohammed added the programme’s popularity had grown over the years because he and Ventour were seen as “direct, unbiased, straightforward and respected.” While he said he had utmost respect for Johnson who has been heading Government’s Information Unit, Mohammed said: “The show’s journalistic integrity could be compromised.” Asked if the move was political, Mohammed said if the reason for pulling him off the show was to cut cost, then the evidence would show. He said it would be wrong for him to speculate otherwise.
What was said
Mohammed: “You as the Minister of Foreign Affairs, would you consider it diplomatic to say for example that Trinidad and Tobago is not an ATM card for the region or that there must be some way that our local people can benefit? Is that diplomatic language?”
Rambachan: “You can argue that from now until eternity and you might want to delve into that point... but... I want to ask you a question. Last time I was here you seemed to have some specific problem with Mrs Bissessar’s leadership. Is that so?”
Mohammed: “No I don’t have a problem with Mrs Persad–Bissessar’s leadership.” (Rambachan interrupts)
Rambachan: Philosophically, do you subscribe to women in leadership positions?”
Mohammed: “Well in... religiously no.”
Rambachan: “Religiously no?”
Mohammed: “Yeah.”
Rambachan: “So that if you’d have a Prime Minister Kamla Persad–Bissessar as the prime minister of the country, would you subscribe to a woman being the prime minister of this country?”
Mohammed: “I have no problem with that.”
Rambachan: “But you said religiously you have a problem...
Mohammed: “Religiously no but there is a difference between religion and country... I don’t know if you’re trying to paint me into...(inaudible) as far as my religious philosophy...
Rambachan: (inaudible)
Mohammed: “But Dr Rambachan you are trying to evade the point... you are trying to draw in my religious philosophy on women in leadership with the leadership of a country which is very different and I am trying to deal with the fundamental issue of the comments in relation to the situation in those islands...”
To view full interview visit http://video.ctntworld.com/view/460/fir ... ne-041110/
Mohammed said his replacement had nothing to do with what occurred on the show. He said: “I have not been dismissed. I was also offered other options which were not acceptable to me. It is disappointing to be off the show.”
“It was explained that Andy will not be of an additional cost and Government would be seconding his services from GISL.”
"When I asked if there was any other way I could be incorporated, I was told to wait until interim chief executive officer, Ken Ali returns (to the country) on Thursday and to call back on Friday," he said.
When the Express contacted Ali, who was en route to the United States with the Prime Minister yesterday, he maintained that Mohammed was dismissed because the company is cutting cost.
...Ali also pointed out that in the process of cutting cost, they were seeking to bring in professionals who could change the image of CNMG thereby increasing advertising and revenue.
i am no muslim..but the firing of the man was unjust and inhumane....the man gave his personal take on the issue...we are all human...jus shows the true colours of the PP government....i had some training sessions with the said Minister already and he is a bright man...but too full of himself and could never take a mans view seriously...he is very ignorant and dotish.....so firin the man i sure was handed down by the said minister...cost cutting my phewfin.....and u replace him with andy johnson....stueps...they like chavez now!!!
hydroep wrote:A somewhat plausible reason has been forwarded for his dismissal, but the timing is suspect.
Not only that, if it was a cost cutting measure, where did they get the money to pay Andy Johnson or is he working for free?...
Halfbreed07 wrote:i think the minster displayed a certain level of insolence to ask the man that question.
after all Faz was the interviewer, why did the minster have to switch it around to try to make the man look bad.
i applaud Faz for his honesty, it shows character, others should take note.
Halfbreed07 wrote:Halfbreed07 wrote:i think the minster displayed a certain level of insolence to ask the man that question.
after all Faz was the interviewer, why did the minster have to switch it around to try to make the man look bad.
i applaud Faz for his honesty, it shows character, others should take note.
bushwakka wrote:Fazeer and all other muslims who make similar statements abt a woman leading the country are in contradiction of themselves. However, that is not reason alone to fire him.....he's an ignoramus at times yes....but the fact of the matter is that its a State run journalism company and therefore, it is not the place for fearless journalism.....he wud do better at express house
RASC wrote:bushwakka wrote:Fazeer and all other muslims who make similar statements abt a woman leading the country are in contradiction of themselves. However, that is not reason alone to fire him.....he's an ignoramus at times yes....but the fact of the matter is that its a State run journalism company and therefore, it is not the place for fearless journalism.....he wud do better at express house
He never said ANYTHING negative about Kamla running the country.
Re-READ and try again!
Mohammed added the programme’s popularity had grown over the years because he and Ventour were seen as “direct, unbiased, straightforward and respected.”
bushwakka wrote: therefore if Fazeer has a 'religious' problem with Kamla being a woman running the country.....then, being a devout Muslim (adhering to all) he also has an ABSOLUTE problem with her running the country, regardless of what her credentials are
UML wrote:is this a muslim state?...well then he shud work for a muslim station!!!...who have the save beliefs and it is acceptable.
you dont disrespect the PM especially on national tv...she still is the PM!!Mohammed added the programme’s popularity had grown over the years because he and Ventour were seen as “direct, unbiased, straightforward and respected.”
how can he say it unbiased when he say he cannot support her religiously...that is religious bias?!!
UDFR Fazeer!!
VexXx Dogg wrote:UML wrote:is this a muslim state?...well then he shud work for a muslim station!!!...who have the save beliefs and it is acceptable.
you dont disrespect the PM especially on national tv...she still is the PM!!Mohammed added the programme’s popularity had grown over the years because he and Ventour were seen as “direct, unbiased, straightforward and respected.”
how can he say it unbiased when he say he cannot support her religiously...that is religious bias?!!
UDFR Fazeer!!
The man's personal belief is not the issue; so why Rambachan brought it up?
It was not interfering with his duties as a journalist.
UDFR Rambachan
bushwakka wrote:RASC wrote:bushwakka wrote:Fazeer and all other muslims who make similar statements abt a woman leading the country are in contradiction of themselves. However, that is not reason alone to fire him.....he's an ignoramus at times yes....but the fact of the matter is that its a State run journalism company and therefore, it is not the place for fearless journalism.....he wud do better at express house
He never said ANYTHING negative about Kamla running the country.
Re-READ and try again!
you try again....u cannot religiously have a problem with a woman running the country and then say you don't have a problem HE NEVER SAID THAT...so what are you talking about?
also, to expound on this, it is common knowledge that there is no separation between State and Religion in Islam.....religion supersedes all! This is NOT a muslim state, thus he has to make compromises as he said " I don't have a problem with her running the country, but religiously I have a problem with a woman being a leader" MEANING in a religious aspect he cannot see a woman as being the leader. How hard is that to understand?
and therefore if Fazeer has a 'religious' problem with Kamla being a woman running the country....Jed read what the man said and try again. IN RELIGION he has a problem...in running the country he DOES NOT have a problem.
UML wrote:really unfortunate....because he tried to be "unbiased" on the show.
but then again if muslims (not all..the few fanatics) were controlled by reality and could perform.......and not their beliefs...then we wudnt have terrorism and 9/11....