blingdown15

online degrees

Postby blingdown15 » November 8th, 2010, 2:22 pm

anyone ever did their degree online?
what site & university?
what is the procedure?
Last edited by blingdown15 on November 8th, 2010, 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: online degrees

Postby buzz » November 8th, 2010, 2:23 pm

its a bit better than a UWI degree

Postby bushwakka » November 8th, 2010, 5:55 pm

ppl often think that UWI degrees are sheit....

some are.....some aren't

but truth is, MOST are up to standards and accredited.....yes accreditation is the stamp of approval that UWI degrees are WORLD CLASS

what makes another university more prestigious than another?
quality of research, amt of bright students, facilities etc......not the actual course material itself

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 8th, 2010, 7:21 pm

am doing my masters online .

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 8th, 2010, 8:28 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:am doing my masters online .

oh gorm! it is I AM not AM
rant_over.gif
rant_over.gif (2.26 KiB) Viewed 5865 times

Postby tr1ad » November 8th, 2010, 8:32 pm

check university of liverpool

expensive tho

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 8th, 2010, 9:24 pm

some are diploma mills; some are damn good.
Google search all prospects, check academic reviews.

Postby sharkman121 » November 9th, 2010, 1:47 am

Interesting bcuz i was gonna enquire about it myself. Finishing my bachelors in june and i iswanna do my masters online if possible. Or maybe just pursue a 2nd degree online.

ricardo6

Postby ricardo6 » November 18th, 2013, 1:03 pm

bump! thinking about doing a degree online as well. just looking for some feedback. i came across penn foster. anyone currently pursuing an online degree? reviews? recommendations?

Postby bluefete » November 18th, 2013, 1:06 pm

ricardo6 wrote:bump! thinking about doing a degree online as well. just looking for some feedback. i came across penn foster. anyone currently pursuing an online degree? reviews? recommendations?

Stay away from Penn Foster. Had a friend who did it and it was real problems especially when money was paid. There is a TT office that was not very helpful at all but you still had to go through the TT office.

`psycho

Postby `psycho » November 18th, 2013, 1:25 pm

I started doing an online bachelor's with Devry, but it became too expensive especially as DeVry was not a GATE approved university.

Applying was easy, I filled out their online application and the recruitment office called me about a 2 days later. There were a few onine exams I had to take before being accepted. The exams were equivilent to CXC math and english exams.

I would suggest that before you apply, check theministry to find out which universities are GATE approved, unless you don't plan to use GATE then do some research into the field you want to study and which universities offer the best degrees pertaining to that field.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 18th, 2013, 1:29 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Interesting bcuz i was gonna enquire about it myself. Finishing my bachelors in june and i iswanna do my masters online if possible. Or maybe just pursue a 2nd degree online.

You pyonging COD so much and still doing BSC?

Postby tr1ad » November 18th, 2013, 1:36 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Interesting bcuz i was gonna enquire about it myself. Finishing my bachelors in june and i iswanna do my masters online if possible. Or maybe just pursue a 2nd degree online.

if you have nothing to contribute to these types of threads, it's best you refrain from posting in them

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 18th, 2013, 2:07 pm

Am (lol) finished

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 18th, 2013, 2:17 pm

determine if you need a full online (no classes to attend) or hybrid programme where you attend classes for a week or two during the programme. For working folks 100% online is the best as no need to step foot in a class. University of Liverpool offers this but very expensive and not GATE approved... just finishing my Masters with them .... but everything is done online. My gf is doing her Masters with Utica and that requires a couple days attendance on campus....again expensive and not GATE. Other distance education degrees like offered at SAM, SBCS etc require class attendance.

So you really need to determine what is the best fit for you. Just make sure of the accreditation of the University you choose to do your programme with. For example, Liverpool is well accredited and is a member of the Russell Group which is like the Ivy League in the US. You can also check the Financial Times University World Rankings and other similar services for more info.

Postby desifemlove » November 18th, 2013, 2:26 pm

No, but I've considered it.

Doh see the point though, since there's no lecturer interaction.

But then many of the top unis worldwide do it, so it ent that bad.

Postby sharkman121 » November 18th, 2013, 2:37 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

finishing up my degree, starting masters, gettin in my gym time, trolling on tuner, getting certified in scuba diving and still have time to pyong cod. :cool:

Postby Rainman » November 18th, 2013, 3:13 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
New_SPECIES wrote:

finishing up my degree, starting masters, gettin in my gym time, trolling on tuner, getting certified in scuba diving and still have time to pyong cod. :cool:

When yuh does get time to fry chicken?

Postby sharkman121 » November 18th, 2013, 3:14 pm

deep fryer from amazon, 5-10 mins max

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » November 18th, 2013, 6:10 pm

Honestly, I wouldn't recommend it. In foreign countries many online degrees carry no weight. Not sure about down here where every and anything is accepted though.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 19th, 2013, 9:29 am

triniwhiteboi wrote:Honestly, I wouldn't recommend it. In foreign countries many online degrees carry no weight. Not sure about down here where every and anything is accepted though.

What foreign countries???? US and Canadian universities are moving more towards online programmes to expand their enrollments and take advantage of the fact that for many programmes classroom attendance is not required given the use of web technologies. Most Masters programmes require work experience or the student to be working in the field and even the UWI is developing courses to be offered online as they too have realised how far behind they have been left.

Suffice it to say all my degrees have been done online (except B.Sc which was mixed mode) but are from well accredited Universities that are in the FT World Ranking Top 50.

Like I said just make sure the University is well accredited. Also just because its online does not mean there is no interaction with the lecturer ..... use of discussion threads means you have to continuously contribute to classroom work and discussions all through the work week and lecturers ask questions to everything you post ... all in all a very enjoyable learning experience.

Postby desifemlove » November 19th, 2013, 12:02 pm

triniwhiteboi wrote:Honestly, I wouldn't recommend it. In foreign countries many online degrees carry no weight. Not sure about down here where every and anything is accepted though.

eh?

So yeah, distance learning is a conspiracy, right?

Postby Mark! » November 19th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Anyone know where offers Jockey Shorts Management BSc?

Postby maj. tom » November 19th, 2013, 12:43 pm

http://net.educause.edu/edudomain/eligibility.asp

Only U.S. postsecondary institutions that are institutionally accredited by an agency on the U.S. Department of Education's list of Nationally Recognized Accrediting Agencies (see recognized accrediting bodies) may obtain an Internet name in the .edu domain. These include both "Regional Institutional Accrediting Agencies" and "National Institutional and Specialized Accrediting Bodies" recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » November 19th, 2013, 1:51 pm

Mark! wrote:Anyone know where offers Jockey Shorts Management BSc?

SCM U

DIESEL ROCKS

Postby DIESEL ROCKS » July 5th, 2014, 11:22 am

Anyone doing a degree in engineering online?
Which university?
Share details or advise pls.
Thanks.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2014, 11:42 am

Devry is a scam for profit university. Its designed for Americans to be scammed into high debts and no jobs its the reason Obama took away the loan program from Devry

I hope our government not so dumb to start giving gate to these online universities from neverland

Postby UML » July 5th, 2014, 8:33 pm

UTT nah?!! :roll:

Rainman wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
New_SPECIES wrote:

When yuh does get time to fry chicken?

DEDZ!!! :mrgreen:

DIESEL ROCKS

Postby DIESEL ROCKS » July 13th, 2014, 9:41 pm

Any one did the electrical degree offered at SBCS.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 14th, 2014, 10:45 am

do online degrees state they are online degrees on the transcripts and certificate ?