Jamaicans call us SPINELESS COWARDS! Thanks Kamla!

Postby Cjruckus » November 7th, 2010, 1:48 pm

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/ ... lead4.html

Spineless Cowards!
Published: Sunday | November 7, 2010

Tyrone Reid, Sunday Gleaner Reporter

National honouree Doreen Frankson has ripped into the Jamaican Government, as well as the Opposition, for its "spineless and cowardly" response to controversial emergency-aid comments made by the flamboyant and outspoken Kamla Persad-Bissessar, prime minister of oil-rich Trinidad and Tobago (T&T).

At a press conference last week Monday, Persad-Bissessar said that the twin-island nation would have to get something in return for helping Caribbean neighbours affected by Tropical Storm Tomas.

"We will have to look at ways in which we would be able to assist. But you would recall my comments earlier this year when I said there must be some way in which Trinidad and Tobago would also benefit.

"So if it is that we are giving assistance, for example, for housing, then we may be able to use Trinidad and Tobago builders and companies so that whatever money/assistance is given will redound in some measure to the people of Trinidad and Tobago," Persad-Bissessar said during the press conference.

Frankson's fury

Not long after her comment was aired, a campaign to boycott Trinidad and Tobago products across the region was sent into overdrive.

Local politicians are ostensibly reluctant to be critical of the T&T prime minister's comments. This drew Frankson's wrath. In a stinging letter to the editor, the immediate past president of the Jamaica Manufacturers' Association (JMA) stopped just short of accusing successive Jamaican governments of sacrificing the welfare of its citizens on the altar of CARICOM, which, she said, did not serve its intended purpose, given that only one member seemed to be benefiting: Trinidad and Tobago.

"I am disgusted [and] appalled by the recent comments made by Trinidad Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar regarding regional aid, as well as the spineless [and] cowardly response by the Jamaican Government and the Opposition," said Frankson, who was conferred in 2006 with the Order of Distinction, Commander Class.

She added: "We have allowed Trinidad's rude, arrogant, and condescending attitude and actions to go unchecked, and I have come to the conclusion that the Government of Jamaica is more committed to the region than to the citizens of Jamaica."

Frankson, who lamented Jamaica's US$526.2 million trade imbalance with T&T in 2009, believes it is high time the Jamaican Government utilise the clout it possesses to teach the twin-island republic a lesson.

Insult

"Trinidad has continued to insult successive governments which have failed to retaliate and protect Jamaican citizens from the trade and verbal abuse. This last statement should have left a sour taste in the mouths of many Jamaicans, and as the representative of the people, the Government needs to utilise its power and stop tiptoeing around the issue by leveraging our strength of consumerism to put a stop to Trinidad's distasteful behaviour," she said.

Despite the indignation her conditional-aid comment caused across the Caribbean, the embattled T&T PM defended her remarks by drawing a parallel with the aid delivered to Iraq by the United States after it invaded that country. She pointed out that United States-based companies benefited, via contracts, from the funds donated to Iraq.

Persad-Bissessar also said that her remarks outlining the grounds on which T&T was prepared to offer humanitarian aid to neighbouring island nations affected by Tropical Storm Tomas had been taken out of context. Downplaying the rage across the region, the T&T prime minister said what she outlined was in keeping with international practice.

After her comments hit the airwaves and newspapers, many Caribbean nationals used social-networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter, as well as BlackBerry broadcast messages to encourage the regional rejection of Trinidad and Tobago products as a consequence of the prime minister's utterances.

The day after the region was set ablaze by Persad-Bissessar's controversial comments, Dr Ken Baugh, minister of foreign affairs and foreign trade, advised against a rush to boycott goods produced in Trinidad and Tobago in reaction to her touchy statements.

PM refused to comment

Baugh refused to comment on Persad-Bissessar's remarks, saying that Prime Minister Bruce Golding would make a statement. However, on Thursday, at a press conference at Jamaica House, Golding also refused to comment. Confronted by journalists, the prime minister said he was withholding his views because he "was not sure of the context, or what was intended".

On the issue of the boycott, Jamaica's Opposition Spokesman on Foreign Affairs, Anthony Hylton, said while persons were within their rights to boycott whatever they wanted, the People's National Party would not be in support of such a move. He pointed out, however, that the attachment of conditions to humanitarian aid was not within the norm, and did not bode well for CARICOM unity and cooperation.

T&T's Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley was not so kind, however. He accused Persad-Bissessar of "bringing shame" to the nation and "costing it its valuable leadership role in CARICOM, which is so vital to our own economic existence".

The closest Frankson came to supporting the call to boycott products from the oil-rich Caribbean nation was when she stated: "Jamaican consumers have helped to build the manufacturing sector of Trinidad, and we are borrowing money to sustain the importation of goods from Trinidad when similar products are made in Jamaica. Jamaicans need to buy Jamaican to build Jamaica."

In the sternly worded missive, Frankson also noted that "for years", she had "listened to accounts of challenges faced by businesses in accessing Trinidad's market because of non-tariff-related issues such as labelling and testing".

She recalled that in 2007, as president of the JMA, she came out strongly against the reneging of the twin-island republic's government on the LNG deal with Jamaica. She said after voicing her concerns, there was little or no support from the Jamaican Government.

tyrone.reid@glanerjm.com

Kamla hasn't realized that blanket statements like the one she made can be interpreted as foreign policy. This is the first time in the history of this nation where I have been ashamed of our leadership. This is an international mistake.

Re: Jamaicans call us SPINELESS COWARDS! Thanks Kamla!

Postby UML » November 7th, 2010, 1:58 pm

u does read wat u post idiot...i read 2 lines and it says that a person (jamican) called the JAMAICAN GOVT AND OPPOSITION SPINELESS....look let me go back and read d rest and laugh at this idiot they call cjruckus...like he have tabanka for eurogirl and kamla :|

Postby UML » November 7th, 2010, 2:01 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Jamaicans call us SPINELESS COWARDS! Thanks Kamla!

quoted for being dottish :lol: :lol: :lol: PNM again!!!

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » November 7th, 2010, 2:02 pm

UML wrote:u does read wat u post idiot...i read 2 lines and it says that a person (jamican) called the JAMAICAN GOVT AND OPPOSITION SPINELESS....look let me go back and read d rest and laugh at this idiot they call cjruckus...like he have tabanka for eurogirl and kamla :|

:D :D :D

brickman

Postby brickman » November 7th, 2010, 2:08 pm

Man just following in the footsteps of keith 'cloud' rowley.All that pnm education & they still can't read properly.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » November 7th, 2010, 2:08 pm

PWNT again!!! She did not call us spineless cowards.

Postby De Dragon » November 7th, 2010, 2:08 pm

Ms Frankson could for my part take a flying facking leap! I really can't understand how people from a country that has benefitted for decades form our aid, could suddenly turn vicious and hateful the minute that said aid is being altered. Mind you, we didn't wake up one morning and stop aid by "vaps", but merely said that we should benefit from our aid. As we are staring down the barrel of 0 % projected growth, I think every dollar should be saved, or used to bring back revenue for us.

Postby Bizzare » November 7th, 2010, 2:11 pm

Jus goes to show this dude is just posting stuff once seems to be against the PP for ATTENTION. Even RASC probaly laughing at how you pwn yourself right now !! :D

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 7th, 2010, 2:25 pm

:popcorn:

Postby teems1 » November 7th, 2010, 2:28 pm

this has to be intentional by the op.

no way anyone can self pwn this hard without genuinely trying...

seriously...

Postby Bizzare » November 7th, 2010, 2:31 pm

OP ?? Got anything to say that may clear the air up a bit?

oxidation

Postby oxidation » November 7th, 2010, 2:32 pm

ahahahahahahahahahha

another useless thread

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2010, 2:33 pm

They will find any excuse to deflect from the real issue.
Plain talk, Kamla fckt'd up royally.

She's just as bad if not worse than Panday with not knowing when to keep her trap shut.

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » November 7th, 2010, 2:35 pm

Jamaica has descended to the ranks of a failed state by its rampant mismanagement, corruption and lawlessness. For years Trinidad has been bolstering the economies of these islands and when were're faced with a dire economic situation of our own we being branded as uncaring and insensitive bcuz our PM asks for a mutualistic benefit between the 2 countries.

These islanders should be ashamed to even call for a boycott!! Anyways we don't need 'em

Where RASC?

Postby Bizzare » November 7th, 2010, 2:45 pm

OP hiding oui.....

Postby 16 cycles » November 7th, 2010, 2:51 pm

Does Edgechem compete with imported Trinidad products in the Jamacian market?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 7th, 2010, 3:18 pm

OP get

Postby gastly369 » November 7th, 2010, 3:34 pm

Postby RASC » November 7th, 2010, 3:36 pm

You guys really are sad tho. You're watching the denigration of your country right before your eyes, and you seriously, do not have a problem with it. All in the name of supporting a political party.

Sad.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 7th, 2010, 3:54 pm

RASC wrote:They will find any excuse to deflect from the real issue.
Plain talk, Kamla fckt'd up royally.

She's just as bad if not worse than Panday with not knowing when to keep her trap shut.

Plain talk - Ive read the article you posted which seems to very contradictory.

Postby DFC » November 7th, 2010, 4:28 pm

RASC AND CJRUCKUS

Postby brams112 » November 7th, 2010, 4:28 pm

man still did not read his post,read it again cunny hole,,,

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 7th, 2010, 5:08 pm

Buh meh eh see nothing wrong with giving aid as long as I getting something from it... I does make dem pipers do push ups for money.. Nothing for free again papi, yuh hadda wok for ah handout :lol: :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 7th, 2010, 5:16 pm

Its the equivalent of hitting yourself in the crotch.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » November 7th, 2010, 6:03 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Buh meh eh see nothing wrong with giving aid as long as I getting something from it... I does make dem pipers do push ups for money.. Nothing for free again papi, yuh hadda wok for ah handout :lol: :lol:

PNM doesn't understand this concept, aids are given to PNM supporters in the form of jerseys with money and free HDC housing.

Postby Cjruckus » November 7th, 2010, 7:14 pm

Wait so you feel every thread i make is a bashing kamla thread?

She has created a sheit storm and has turned country against each other in Caricom. Setting back any regional progress we have made back to 1976.

Is this what you people endorse?
Then sure.
Fine by me.

I just hope we can weather the sheit storm she has created. We have become a region divided.

That is why i am ashamed.

Check yourselves idiots. Chain up completed.

shady23

Postby shady23 » November 7th, 2010, 7:20 pm

It's Jamaica. Nobody has ever and will never give a fcuk about them, or their opinions.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 7th, 2010, 7:40 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Wait so you feel every thread i make is a bashing kamla thread?

She has created a sheit storm and has turned country against each other in Caricom. Setting back any regional progress we have made back to 1976.

Is this what you people endorse?
Then sure.
Fine by me.

I just hope we can weather the sheit storm she has created. We have become a region divided.

That is why i am ashamed.

Check yourselves idiots. Chain up completed.

Postby DFC » November 7th, 2010, 7:43 pm

Cjruckus, why dont you take you lover RASC and go live Jamaica or St. Lucia, since you are so ashamed of Trinidad.

Go and feign your concern there, because nobody cares here.

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » November 7th, 2010, 7:48 pm

see bout yur own country b4 u see bout others.........would u take yur last $1 for food and give a vagrant be honest......i tink kamla is doin the correct ting....