Re: Wood or other material to build top of pergola

Postby jsr » November 10th, 2010, 8:44 am

thanks for all the replies

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 6:56 pm

back to the topic of toilets.............
special ordered this toilet today:

We bought this one as well, as they had it in stock

The squared off seats are very comfy

I wanna order this sink / faucet combo but wifey not too hot on the idea

The sink has a nice commercial feel....hard edges, structural creases

The faucet has the look of a pot filler, but is more for style than function, as the gooseneck is not as flexible as the design implies

I might end up buying a proper fold-away pot filler

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2010, 7:14 pm

^ I have a faucet like that in the kitchen - very useful
It is very flexible and easy to use

buy the stainless version and not the chrome/nickel version - the finish will last longer

the toilets are nice!
from the pictures, I like you taste!

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 18th, 2010, 8:10 pm

Wifey got one of these (minus the faucet)

And one of these...18" high :shock:

MG,

Been looking for a throne like the second one. Where'd you find it?

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 10:19 pm

^^^plumbing place in Fernandes Compound
Duane, u shud know I don't do chrome
Stainless steel ftw

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2010, 11:35 pm

^ well you posted a photo of the chrome model :|

I got this one - they are called "pre-rinse" kitchen faucets

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 11:46 pm

well sorry nah fadda
I was watchin the stainless steel one they had from Mirabelle
the toilet I special-ordered is also from Mirabelle

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 11:48 pm

I real likin this pot filler too

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 19th, 2010, 12:34 pm

i like the direction of this thread..

modern...

wish i coulda post some pics...but.. the other half wouldnt permit...

Postby MG Man » November 19th, 2010, 3:46 pm

why?
jus tell she stop posin every time yuh point de camera

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 11th, 2011, 7:41 pm

bump up

Postby Ignorant Ignis » May 12th, 2011, 2:14 pm

just wanted to point out....

those doors sold by roopnarine and abc interiors ... is pure crap Chinese made doors. (mexin)
totally inferior parts
and the laminate peels off if facing direct weather.

DO NOT BUY THEM

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 12th, 2011, 4:46 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:just wanted to point out....

those doors sold by roopnarine and abc interiors ... is pure crap Chinese made doors. (mexin)
totally inferior parts
and the laminate peels off if facing direct weather.

DO NOT BUY THEM

Hence the price,,,remember in this thread where I said teh price and men were astounded?

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » May 13th, 2011, 10:06 pm

I think cedar is good.

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » March 23rd, 2015, 5:51 pm

How is this holding out 5 yrs after?

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I built one using greenheart
Paul 684-5350

This is what I did in Google SketchUp

this is the final product (waiting for the grass and plants to grow)

will check unique doors cause I really want to change the front door and get rid of the burglar proofing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 23rd, 2015, 7:28 pm

Too dark right now. I'll take some pics tomorrow!

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » March 23rd, 2015, 10:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Too dark right now. I'll take some pics tomorrow!

thz, you seem like you have some nice stuff...who did you use for your kitchen cabinets? same guy?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 23rd, 2015, 11:36 pm

KIA Motors wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Too dark right now. I'll take some pics tomorrow!

thz, you seem like you have some nice stuff...who did you use for your kitchen cabinets? same guy?
haven't tackled the kitchen as yet, still has the same cabinets it came with when i bought the house.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 25th, 2015, 8:31 pm

KIA Motors wrote:How is this holding out 5 yrs after?
It can do with a refinish now. I will need to sand it and re-apply the Minwax Helmsman Spar Urethane. It held up nicely considering it is on the windward side of the house facing east so it gets blasted constantly with rain, wind and sun. I did an extension since then and even with all the dust and construction it's still doing well.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2015, 8:43 pm

that holding up real good,
must be a combination of the quality of wood and the finish.

Regular pine would not look so after 5 years of UV, sun and rain

those curves ends of the greenheart must have been a beyotch to cut with a jigsaw(if they did)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 25th, 2015, 9:59 pm

pugboy wrote:that holding up real good,
must be a combination of the quality of wood and the finish.

Regular pine would not look so after 5 years of UV, sun and rain

those curves ends of the greenheart must have been a beyotch to cut with a jigsaw(if they did)
i saw the joiner destroy drill bits, circular and chop saw blades with that wood. He brought the ends cut already before he built it up so I assume he used a scroll saw at his shop. Each plank is 2" thick.

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2015, 5:31 am

did the minwax coating just fade or is a thick varnish layer and peeling ?

I have found the thompsons works well and is more of an oil that is absorbed and
just fades a bit and simply needs to be painted on again

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » March 26th, 2015, 10:55 am

hey guys...do you guys know about using apple matt for kitchen cabinets? A wood work guy came to give me a quote and suggested I use this because I want to stain it dark/black.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 26th, 2015, 11:47 am

pugboy wrote:did the minwax coating just fade or is a thick varnish layer and peeling ?

I have found the thompsons works well and is more of an oil that is absorbed and
just fades a bit and simply needs to be painted on again
just faded right now and you can see the spots where it went on heavier and spots it went on lighter have weathered to a lighter colour. ANy urethane will need to be sanded and reapplied I think

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » March 26th, 2015, 6:42 pm

That actually held up pretty well duane and looks good must say. Curious about the bases though where water damage would show its ugly face.Did you seal the bottom of pillars with silicone? and warping or rotting with spread upwards?

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2015, 7:53 pm

I now see the addition/extension.
Is it a concrete roof ? The molding around top edge looks good.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2015, 12:55 am

pugboy wrote:I now see the addition/extension.
Is it a concrete roof ? The molding around top edge looks good.
thanks!
There is a Damus roof there, not concrete. The molding is concrete.

The garage door is a rolling shutter made from reinforced aluminum from Alutech USA, the local agents are OFS Canvas.

dok_tec wrote:That actually held up pretty well duane and looks good must say. Curious about the bases though where water damage would show its ugly face.Did you seal the bottom of pillars with silicone? and warping or rotting with spread upwards?
actually the floor is natural limestone and coral, with actual pieces of coral in it - it is very porous so water does not stay around the column. It actually helps to wick water away from the base. There is no sign of water damage yet. They use greenheart planks to made a jetty, so I think this will remain resilient for a while.

ckavsinba

Postby ckavsinba » March 27th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Duane - what color green did you paint the outside with?

BTW, the new addition looks great!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2015, 8:19 pm

ckavsinba wrote:Duane - what color green did you paint the outside with?

BTW, the new addition looks great!
It's two shades, the extension is a darker green. I'll get the colour codes and let you know

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » March 27th, 2015, 9:34 pm

Duane, make a "house" version of trinituner!!!