Double Zee Windshield company

turbo_beast369

Double Zee Windshield company

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 2nd, 2010, 8:59 am

has anyone ever took a windscreen/rear glass by them to install and if so, what price they charged for installation...reason I askin is because I don't like the substitute back glass I have on my car currently and I want to replace it with a good condition used OEM one...when I called, d guy say it go cost $1,000 to install which I find is ridiculous, the only material they using is the black silicone sealant and some masking tape....anyone with a similar experience?

I would like to know if thats a standard price because I am thinking of putting back a OEM windscreen as well...

uncle sam

Re: Double Zee Windshield company

Postby uncle sam » November 2nd, 2010, 9:23 am

bobby's $800 for screen + installation

netsket

Postby netsket » November 2nd, 2010, 9:32 am

boy chip ur windscreen and let the insurance handle it...

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » November 2nd, 2010, 10:07 am

netsket wrote:boy chip ur windscreen and let the insurance handle it...

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 2nd, 2010, 10:17 am

nah d back glass I have is from Bobby's....I wanna change dat crap...it have rel gaps

u know, d windscreen have a small chip on it...think I could get away with that?

but if I do that, I go hadda pay excess and all kinda ting...and is right back by Double Zee to install a "OEM" windsreen (Pilkington)
Last edited by turbo_beast369 on November 2nd, 2010, 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » November 2nd, 2010, 10:23 am

I wanna know the same thing....are these aftermarket windscreens any good? I have to change my front windscreen.

Turkish

Postby Turkish » November 2nd, 2010, 10:34 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:has anyone ever took a windscreen/rear glass by them to install and if so, what price they charged for installation...reason I askin is because I don't like the substitute back glass I have on my car currently and I want to replace it with a good condition used OEM one...when I called, d guy say it go cost $1,000 to install which I find is ridiculous, the only material they using is the black silicone sealant and some masking tape....anyone with a similar experience?

I would like to know if thats a standard price because I am thinking of putting back a OEM windscreen as well...

The price depends on how you are paying.

Paying Cash? No VAT, cash bill (no company name, little detail as possible) and it install quick quick..
Want a Bill to claim from Insurance? Add VAT AND 20% (the bearded ones will tell you that you go get back the money).

That was my experience getting a windscreen for an Almera

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 2nd, 2010, 10:50 am

I paying cash and I doh bound for any bill...I gettin a used OEM backglass for $800 - $1000....but if to install by them is $1,000 I rather keep what I have on currently until the day it HAS to change...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 2nd, 2010, 12:30 pm

What proof is there that Pilkington is the windscreen supplier for mitsus?

The windscreen you get from DZ doesent have the mitsu logo on it, Im sure its some scam to make a profit and insurances going along with it.

minipresident

Postby minipresident » November 2nd, 2010, 12:44 pm

there's a guy who has been doing windshield work for us for several years now and is very professional and he comes to you. he has all his equipment and him or one of his workers provide any glass you might need. he used to work with those guys in bamboo but has been doing is own lil business for the past few years. i will PM you his number and you can give him a call. tell him you got the number from the mini brothers.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 2nd, 2010, 12:46 pm

well I think they fool people and tell them that Pikington is OEM...but its not...
so when u go thru insurance and think you gettin back an original windscreen then think again...you might probly get it if you insist on original from the firm and pay part of the cost...not sure how it works
Last edited by turbo_beast369 on November 2nd, 2010, 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 2nd, 2010, 12:52 pm

Turbo beast... you should review that price... i think they meant $1000 INCLUDING Installation...

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 2nd, 2010, 1:11 pm

^^^no no...I clearly stated to the guy in the beginning that I wanna put a used original glass (rear glass) and that I would supply it....he said the cost to install is $1,000 and the price (including installation) using a new glass from their stock would cost $2,500....I mean if the installation price my way is $1,000 and my supplied glass is $800 - $1,000 I still comin out better but I still find the $1,000 installation price is too high...to me thas just plain wickedness if they would really charge me that...

Postby buzz » November 2nd, 2010, 1:38 pm

IMO you are lucky they even offered to install a glass that you are going to supply.

And if i'm not mistaken i believe they advertise "OEM quality" glass

open for corrections...

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 2nd, 2010, 1:49 pm

well its really the consumer's choice as to what they want to put...they can't force someone to use thier stock...after all its also a service they provide....

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 2nd, 2010, 2:01 pm

Its just an easy way for insurance to lose less money. DZ has the glass and service to install it cheaper than the dealership so they go with DZ.

I really hope the glass that DZ installs for me has absolutly no problems, otherwise its the insurance to catch. Even though I told them that i want an OEM glass with OEM logo.

Postby teems1 » November 2nd, 2010, 2:23 pm

DZ in Gasparillo installed my front windshield (Mitsubushi Lancer Cedia) recently.

The entire left side appears to now come out of the groove and is behind the groove. Oh well. It's still watertight...

Postby SMc » November 2nd, 2010, 2:42 pm

Pilkington may not be OEM, but there is absolutly nothing wrong with it..actually on my car is better than the OEM in my opinion.

BTW all the glass used to build Mercedez Benz World in Brooklands was Pilkington...that wasn't a mistake nor scam

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » November 2nd, 2010, 8:51 pm

Just had Rama from the bamboo....come to my house and supply and install a front windscreen for $500. The guys where very professional and had all the equipment and glass Triplex...it looking best and clear visibility.

btw ...before the guys came i drove down to Double z to check out what they had to offer. They had the same glass for $900 with install. Always bess to shop around !

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 2nd, 2010, 9:32 pm

InsanityReigns What kinda car you hav? and was it a brand new/OEM/Foreign used orrr?

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » November 3rd, 2010, 6:12 am

Dragsta wrote:InsanityReigns What kinda car you hav? and was it a brand new/OEM/Foreign used orrr?

Brand new aftermarket for a ck4

zaneali88

Postby zaneali88 » March 24th, 2013, 10:10 pm

Hey all I recently purchased a cs3 lancer foreign used ... the front glass cracked within 3 days of purchase just wondering if this is a problem with these cars since I saw no evidence of a point of impact on the front windshield. thanks

Postby pioneer » March 24th, 2013, 10:16 pm

Sorry to aware you but alot of those foreign used "roro" cars come in severely battered conditions. I've seen some first hand with twisted chassis and busted windshields etc etc. When I in inquired the importer said dem ting fixin back "new bran". They use generic pics of cars to "show you" but it's not the actual car you're getting.

So yeah, you got a "new bran" car and the windshield is just the beginning of your problems.

stylez1234

Postby stylez1234 » March 24th, 2013, 11:00 pm

didnt read through al these post but i went in there bcuz i needed to reseal my back glass becuz it waz leakin a bit n they told me 800 jus to take out n reinstall :S and d cost of a new glass there to install wz 1100 :S

Postby *KRONIK* » March 25th, 2013, 6:16 am

from MY experience...

the windscreen on my car got busted by a stone from a truck on the highway...

i called the dealership...they told me 6500 for a replacement...
i spoke to the guy in the parts dept he said go to DZ cuz thats where they get their windscreens IF they dont have in stock...

i visited double zee, they quoted me 3500 for an "OEM" winscreen
and 1700 for a Generic one...
priced included installation.

being strapped for funds at the time...
i opted for the generic one...

i am pleased with the quality....
its not blotchly and wavy like the really cheap ones...

but i saw some they installed on some Almeras, b14s, lancers,
they were wavy... all under 1k installed

but i guess u get what u pay for...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » March 25th, 2013, 6:31 am

their installation is good but all their parts are low quality, even the expensive non oem 3500 windscreens

Postby r3iXmann » March 25th, 2013, 6:39 am

my experience there wasnt bad as well

my only complaint was that they left a lot of silicone and scuff marks around the windscreen which I had to take out myself

bought a generic (had no choice) and no issues with it except that it used to keep fogging on the inside in cold weather, but that was fixed when i cleaned with a glass cleaner and polish

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » March 25th, 2013, 7:23 am

there is a guy on the forums hhere doing that call him

Postby RBphoto » March 25th, 2013, 7:32 am

I have had the misfortune of having my windsheild replaced twice. The firt time was by massey and the second time was by Doubble zee. The first time cost me 8 gran, and I was insured for 7500.00, so I went with the firm. The glass was original nissan, fit was good.

The second time, Massey raised their price to 13 gran installed, and I was still only covered for 7 gran, so I went wit ZZ for 6 gran and OEM windsheild (not nissan branded)

I don't think the fit was as good as nissan. At the bottom of my windsheild, it loooks like a magnifying glass, distorting the last 6 inches of the ottom of my view. I hardly look there, so no real problem. They did not install my windsheild washer lines in the original place. Thy routed it betewwn a gap so it pinched and stopped working till I removed the clips on a good deal of plastic and re-roued it myself. The windsheild itself is clear and I have no problem with it. The moulding they use on the windsheild is generic, not nissan. They were rather messy, with glass shards and gouged black moulding even in the back seat.

Long story short... I think I got my money's worth with ZZ, but inferior in workmanship and materials than Massey. If you want original fit, quality AND willing to pay for it, go back to the firm, for more than twice the price.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 25th, 2013, 8:39 am

^ then that's not OEM

OEM means its the same part, just one is branded Nissan and the other is branded by the actual company who makes the item for Nissan.