71%
No
29%

Total votes: 157

ingalook

Legalise it!!!

Postby ingalook » October 17th, 2010, 11:06 pm

Since its cancer awareness month its a good time to start taking about this again (Marijuana has been know to mitigate and in some cases, eliminate the symptoms of cancer and its treatments)

I know the majority of the tuner population is not mature enough to deal with this topic but I'll raise it anyway...

What are the pros/cons of legalising "weed"?

Re: Legalise it!!!

Postby teems1 » October 17th, 2010, 11:41 pm

pros:
less gang warfare over drug turfs
income via taxes
income via tourism

cons:
more high people on roads
frequent habit users may become addicted
high chance of lung cancer if smoked

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 17th, 2010, 11:46 pm

"Eliminate the symptoms of cancer" !!! I don't think so, you phrased that really loosely.
By eliminate you mean treat and by symptom you mean pain because it has absolutely no medicinal value what so ever.
While I know people that looks as though they can control it they are still slaves to a drug. Legalising a narcotic will only open the flood gates on a set of related issues caused by the addiction.
I don't even think having it as a controlled substance is an option in our society..

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 18th, 2010, 6:28 am

teems1 wrote:pros:
less gang warfare over drug turfs
income via taxes
income via tourism

cons:
more high people on roads
frequent habit users may become addicted
high chance of lung cancer if smoked

Oh really?

Postby AllTrac » October 18th, 2010, 6:33 am

"a chemical inside marijuana called THC that may prevent cancer from developing.
THC, or tetrahydrocannabinol, may have the ability to kill damaged cells before they become cancerous"

Postby Damien » October 18th, 2010, 6:48 am

How could inhaling smoke in your lungs be good for you or is it good smoke

Postby cinco » October 18th, 2010, 6:52 am

what is the point of this poll no one will look at it and make a change anyway
alcohol is much deadlier than weed but it is legal

Postby goalpost » October 18th, 2010, 6:56 am

They have something called THC which has the ability to kill damaged cells before they become cancerous. However they still deposit a whole lot more tar and other chemicals in the lungs than cigarettes, can lead easily to bronchitis and pneumonia. Considering the fact that it is rather ridiculously easy to get into vehicular accidents while high (and accidents are a whole lot more common than cancer) i say don't legalize it.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 18th, 2010, 7:04 am

Damien wrote:How could inhaling smoke in your lungs be good for you or is it good smoke

How could eating kfc be good for you?but you still do it.

goalpost wrote:They have something called THC which has the ability to kill damaged cells before they become cancerous. However they still deposit a whole lot more tar and other chemicals in the lungs than cigarettes, can lead easily to bronchitis and pneumonia. Considering the fact that it is rather ridiculously easy to get into vehicular accidents while high (and accidents are a whole lot more common than cancer) i say don't legalize it.

In the same vain people take sleeping pills, sedatives, muscle relaxants, and DRINK(where all you carnival muffler bearings ?) and do stupid things, the canabis smokers can as well.
Legalize for 'medical' use and see what happens.

Ent warner like "Trail" runs?

Postby buzz » October 18th, 2010, 7:05 am

goalpost wrote:They have something called THC which has the ability to kill damaged cells before they become cancerous. However they still deposit a whole lot more tar and other chemicals in the lungs than cigarettes, can lead easily to bronchitis and pneumonia. Considering the fact that it is rather ridiculously easy to get into vehicular accidents while high (and accidents are a whole lot more common than cancer) i say don't legalize it.

lol whut ?

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » October 18th, 2010, 7:06 am

^^^ whut?
i learn something new today bai.. source of mary jane having more tar than cigarettes?

Postby buzz » October 18th, 2010, 7:30 am

well ah guess so :|

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2010, 7:44 am

since when ganja have tar :S

I read in some book ( either Smokescreen or how to make cocaine in 10 easy steps)
that if marijuana was legalized, 80% of crime would stop over night.

I say legalize it outright

Postby cinco » October 18th, 2010, 7:52 am

ganja has more tar than cigs
anything you smoke has tar
ganja smokers also smoke less than cig smokers 2-3 joints vs a pack daily so the tar is negligible

Postby goalpost » October 18th, 2010, 7:53 am

buzz wrote:

lol whut ?

it's pretty self-explanatory

Q: Does marijuana pose health risks to users?

Marijuana is an addictive drug1 with significant health consequences to its users and others. Many harmful short-term and long-term problems have been documented with its use:

The short term effects of marijuana use include: memory loss, distorted perception, trouble with thinking and problem solving, loss of motor skills, decrease in muscle strength, increased heart rate, and anxiety2.

In recent years there has been a dramatic increase in the number of emergency room mentions of marijuana use. From 1993-2000, the number of emergency room marijuana mentions more than tripled.

There are also many long-term health consequences of marijuana use. According to the National Institutes of Health, studies show that someone who smokes five joints per week may be taking in as many cancer-causing chemicals as someone who smokes a full pack of cigarettes every day.

Marijuana contains more than 400 chemicals, including most of the harmful substances found in tobacco smoke. Smoking one marijuana cigarette deposits about four times more tar into the lungs than a filtered tobacco cigarette.

Harvard University researchers report that the risk of a heart attack is five times higher than usual in the hour after smoking marijuana.3

Smoking marijuana also weakens the immune system4 and raises the risk of lung infections.5 A Colombia University study found that a control group smoking a single marijuana cigarette every other day for a year had a white-blood-cell count that was 39 percent lower than normal, thus damaging the immune system and making the user far more susceptible to infection and sickness.6

Users can become dependent on marijuana to the point they must seek treatment to stop abusing it. In 1999, more than 200,000 Americans entered substance abuse treatment primarily for marijuana abuse and dependence.

More teens are in treatment for marijuana use than for any other drug or for alcohol. Adolescent admissions to substance abuse facilities for marijuana grew from 43 percent of all adolescent admissions in 1994 to 60 percent in 1999.

Marijuana is much stronger now than it was decades ago. According to data from the Potency Monitoring Project at the University of Mississippi, the tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) content of commercial-grade marijuana rose from an average of 3.71 percent in 1985 to an average of 5.57 percent in 1998. The average THC content of U.S. produced sinsemilla increased from 3.2 percent in 1977 to 12.8 percent in 1997.7

http://www.justice.gov/dea/ongoing/marijuana.html

Postby cinco » October 18th, 2010, 7:55 am

fail right there
the DRUG ENFORCEMENT AGENCY
will never give you the truth about something they are trying to STOP
you need to read the non biased not for profit studies to get the truth
Marijuana has never been proven to be addictive.
Cigarettes have ARSENIC and NICOTINE added during the manufacturing process.
Last edited by cinco on October 18th, 2010, 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rooki3 » October 18th, 2010, 7:58 am

legalize it & we would have high ppl teaching our kids in school & operating machinery on the road!!!

Postby cinco » October 18th, 2010, 7:59 am

Rooki3 wrote:legalize it & we would have high ppl teaching our kids in school & operating machinery on the road!!!

and that is different from now how?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 18th, 2010, 8:01 am

Well it look like the next poll need to be about making alcohol illegal :roll:

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » October 18th, 2010, 8:03 am

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 18th, 2010, 8:09 am

Effects on the Heart
Within a few minutes after smoking marijuana, the heart begins beating more rapidly and the blood pressure drops. Marijuana can cause the heart beat to increase by 20 to 50 beats per minute, and can increase even more if other drugs are used at the same time.

Because of the lower blood pressure and higher heart rate, researchers found that users' risk for a heart attack is four times higher within the first hour after smoking marijuana, compared to their general risk of heart attack when not smoking.

Effects on the Lungs
Smoking marijuana, even infrequently, can cause burning and stinging of the mouth and throat, and cause heavy coughing. Scientists have found that regular marijuana smokers can experience the same respiratory problems as tobacco smokers do, including:

* Daily cough and phlegm production
* More frequent acute chest illnesses
* Increased risk of lung infections
* Obstructed airways

Most marijuana smokers consume a lot less cannabis than cigarette smokers consume tobacco, however the harmful effects of smoking marijuana should not be ignored. Marijuana contains more carcinogenic hydrocarbons than tobacco smoke and because marijuana smokers typically inhale deeper and hold the smoke in their lungs longer than tobacco smokers, their lungs are exposed to those carcinogenic properties longer, when smoking. Because marijuana smoke contains three times the amount of tar found in tobacco smoke and 50 percent more carcinogens, it would seem logical to deduce that there is an increased risk of lung cancer for marijuana smokers.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 18th, 2010, 8:10 am

Other Health Effects
Research indicates that THC impairs the body's immune system from fighting disease, which can cause a wide variety of health problems. One study found that marijuana actually inhibited the disease-preventing actions of key immune cells. Another study found that THC increased the risk of developing bacterial infections and tumors.

steups people who try to fight this legalize weed thing just as stupid sober as they are high

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » October 18th, 2010, 8:17 am

my youtube video has defeated your silly scientific research...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 18th, 2010, 8:19 am

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 18th, 2010, 8:20 am

yuh know how long i eh hear tha song lol..

haffi upload da pon mi ipod

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 18th, 2010, 8:27 am

cinco wrote:

fail right there

i know lots of people that can't stop

Postby cinco » October 18th, 2010, 8:29 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
cinco wrote:

fail right there

i know lots of people that can't stop

i know lots of people who cant stop drinking coca cola either

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2010, 8:37 am

or stop drinking.

Postby cinco » October 18th, 2010, 8:40 am

addiction is a mental state people can be addicted to anything