Shannon

Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby Shannon » July 18th, 2021, 8:03 pm

Shannon wrote:Yesterday Menu

Looks yumm

Thanks. Tried making a french baguette today for the first time.
IMG_6075.png

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2021, 8:26 pm

nice colour
score almost length ways
will get better expansion rise

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2021, 10:05 pm

random question

but anyone have know where i can nice get buss up shot/dhalpouri to buy on a sunday morning up Blanchisseuse/maracas area
like anyone who does cater etc?

much thanks

Postby SMc » July 20th, 2021, 4:29 am

I cant think of anyone up that side- but if you heading up Blanchi for a couple days you could always stop by the Roti Cafe in Santa Cruz as they have some good food (I find). They at the top end of Santa Cruz so even if you coming from Maraval side its only a short detour.

Their number was 676-7759 last time I called- I not sure how busy they are or if they open at the moment but worth giving them a call. In normal times I would always call ahead my order as the lines could be quite long.

Postby Chimera » July 20th, 2021, 9:44 am

I usually get roti in chase village but I want the roti for a Sunday lunchtime and going blanchi from the Friday. Don't wanna carry roti from 2 days before

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 20th, 2021, 10:16 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I usually get roti in chase village but I want the roti for a Sunday lunchtime and going blanchi from the Friday. Don't wanna carry roti from 2 days before

The people with the cooler close to the Triangle?
they any good? I doh mind a nice bussupshot hookup close to home. Doh need it often, but it's good for options

Postby Chimera » July 21st, 2021, 2:40 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I usually get roti in chase village but I want the roti for a Sunday lunchtime and going blanchi from the Friday. Don't wanna carry roti from 2 days before

The people with the cooler close to the Triangle?
they any good? I doh mind a nice bussupshot hookup close to home. Doh need it often, but it's good for options

yes they use to be in the parking lot next to the hardware but they moved to the road by maye hardware now

some of the BEST roti you will eat in your life

i does always order from them for events,limes, even 2 weddings

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2021, 8:18 am

some boiled duck egg

B9EE2710-5656-4BE9-900B-64CAC3EE5BB1.jpeg

Postby MaxPower » July 25th, 2021, 10:30 am

By my Chinese friends having the food they eat to live guaranteed over 100 years…

Secrets of the land.

Enjoy those delicious oils Trinis.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 25th, 2021, 10:35 am

Manchurian chicken with chow mein noodles (pandemic has widened my cooking skills)

Shannon

Postby Shannon » July 25th, 2021, 10:54 am

Yesterday's Menu
IMG_6238.jpg
IMG_6237.jpg
IMG_6236.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2021, 11:17 am

what exactly is manchurian chicken msg i ask?

elec2020 wrote:Manchurian chicken with chow mein noodles (pandemic has widened my cooking skills)

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » July 25th, 2021, 11:32 am

pugboy wrote:what exactly is manchurian chicken msg i ask?

elec2020 wrote:Manchurian chicken with chow mein noodles (pandemic has widened my cooking skills)

this is looking really good https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_6aMZwf9CU
i wonder if i can ask the chinese restaurant to make this exact thing to order?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 25th, 2021, 11:47 am

pugboy wrote:what exactly is manchurian chicken msg i ask?

nothing fancy inno. You cut up some boneless chicken thighs into bite size pieces. Season it with salt and pepper (i added some garlic salt and onion powder to it). Incorporate an egg and corn flour to it. After you let that set for 30 mins you then deep fry (for about 4/5 mins a piece). You then set the chicken aside and work on your sauce. In a wok (if you don't have any other pot could work) you put in some garlic and ginger with some oil. Fry till it gets fragrant. Add to that some roughly chopped onions and green and red bell peppers. Cook again for about a 2 mins. Then you add some oyster sauce, soy sauce, sugar, vinegar and some corn flour slurry (corn flour mixed with water... its used to thicken sauces) to the veggies. Cook again for maybe 4/5 mins. Then add the chicken to it. Bam. Manchurian chicken. Its not hard to do. Just sounds fancy. Hakka sells this for maybe 40-55 dollars a quarter i think.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_6aMZwf9CU&t=134s

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2021, 11:51 am

ok
thought it was a variation of “hong kong” style
which i am sure u would get funny looks if you went hong kong and asked what that was

Postby gastly369 » July 25th, 2021, 12:22 pm

Lil quick bbq for lunch
IMG_20210725_120102-01.jpg

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2021, 12:38 pm

MaxPower wrote:By my Chinese friends having the food they eat to live guaranteed over 100 years…

Secrets of the land.

But you have not told us what is on the menu!

Postby gastly369 » July 25th, 2021, 1:58 pm

bluefete wrote:
MaxPower wrote:By my Chinese friends having the food they eat to live guaranteed over 100 years…

Secrets of the land.

Char siu bow wow and buk choi

Postby *KRONIK* » July 25th, 2021, 4:45 pm

A lil dhalloorie, curry lamb, curry peas and aloo
Passion fruit/lime juice

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 25th, 2021, 6:54 pm

bluefete wrote:

Secrets of the land.

Stop lying. You eat empanada and drink Trinidad haterade.

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2021, 2:12 am

Secrets of the land.

Max,

We need to meet up my brother :D Not in T&T now though .

Some of my favorites include - not in any order :D

1. Steam chicken eaten with the soy sauce mixture - jasmine rice in a bowl - Bitter Lemon / Shark Fin soup.
2. Steam shrimp, or beef wantons and the white rice noodles that look like fettuccine
3. Peking Roast Duck - of course - maybe some "hot pot" also on the side with like everything ,
4. The dasheen squares that taste really good - lots lots choy sum - eggplant with the salted fish .

Etc., etc, etc. Many Trini peeps do not know these items - but you will be surprised many do know.

And ALL the Dim Sum items :lol: :lol: ALL - like the 3,269 plus items

Your 500 years of history rock !
Your 500 years of herbal medicine rock !
YOU rock !! :D

Postby *KRONIK* » August 1st, 2021, 12:22 pm

Wah allyuh eating todayyyyyy?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 1st, 2021, 12:24 pm

3 doubles....full works ting this morning

I have some left over curry-stew oxtail with peas and rice for lunch

Chinese chicken and noodles for dinner

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 1st, 2021, 12:32 pm

Apparently we have real paratha in the deep freeze, so curry something... TBD

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 1st, 2021, 12:50 pm

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 1st, 2021, 12:52 pm

F

DMan7 wrote:Image

Postby Rovin » August 1st, 2021, 1:38 pm

chicken pelau ...

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 1st, 2021, 2:12 pm

dhal, rice, curry shark.
Pickled onions with peppers on the side.
some cran light to wash it down

Postby Gladiator » August 1st, 2021, 2:14 pm

Fire up the chula and curry some chicken, Shrimp, Peas Dhal (curry peigon peas for those that dont know), white, rice and roast tomatoes (Opargar)...LOL

Postby Dizzy28 » August 1st, 2021, 4:14 pm

Rice , lentils, curry stew chicken and curried paneer with sweet peas.
Side of cucumber and zaboca!!

Theres also some leftover homemade pepper shrimp from Friday as a side.

A cold Blue Moon to wash it all down.