is this a WRX?

Postby Team Loco » October 1st, 2010, 4:55 pm

i am seeing an intercooler but then i'm seeing drum brakes at the rear. just wanna be sure. thought the wrx came with rear disc brakes

SiR8081

Re: is this a WRX?

Postby SiR8081 » October 1st, 2010, 4:58 pm

clearly a swap, WRX has subaru brakes front and disc brakes rear, with brembo option btw

this thing has 2 cable ties holding the rad in place what a joke

Freelander

Postby Freelander » October 1st, 2010, 4:58 pm

that is a swapped TS with an early 2001/2002 wrx motor, and quite frankly the swap looked like it was done by a 1 handed mechanic who's assistant was a monkey

Postby wagonrunner » October 1st, 2010, 5:23 pm

Freelander wrote:that is a swapped TS with an early 2001/2002 wrx motor, and quite frankly the swap looked like it was done by a 1 handed mechanic who's assistant was a monkey

doh be hating on d tie straps

Freelander

Postby Freelander » October 1st, 2010, 5:47 pm

hoss i not hating tie straps but some things yah just dont tie strap down...

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » October 1st, 2010, 6:30 pm

^^all true but it has some expensive rims on it. the g.games wolf wheels are not cheap.

shame the owner didn't take the money and use it to upgrade the brakes and everything else you're supposed to upgrade when doing a mod like this

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 1st, 2010, 6:39 pm

Well maybe that's why they have tie straps... Couldn't buy nutten else afterwards...

Heck maybe that's why they sellin the car.

Postby shogun » October 1st, 2010, 6:49 pm

Gc8 intercooler?

Postby shogun » October 1st, 2010, 6:58 pm

SiR8081 wrote:clearly a swap, WRX has subaru brakes front and disc brakes rear, with brembo option btw

There are WRX'S that come with brembos?, are you sure? because the spindle/rotors are different.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 1st, 2010, 7:58 pm

Swap, 1996 or earlier WRX engine

Postby wagonrunner » October 1st, 2010, 8:08 pm

but wait, did they change the chassis VIN plate?

wrxdevil

Postby wrxdevil » October 1st, 2010, 8:36 pm

limited edition?
you all remember the silver bullet? chiney guy with the real fast civic from wallers for those who were there.
well, that car had drum brakes............just a btw point, lmao!.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » October 1st, 2010, 10:05 pm

Actually I know someone who bought a WRX semi-auto with drum brakes in the rear.

LOCO

Postby LOCO » October 2nd, 2010, 7:18 am

wana-B-racer wrote:Actually I know someone who bought a WRX semi-auto with drum brakes in the rear.

^^^^
Yup, as far as I know some of the auto WRX's came with drums in the rear.

Rx

Postby Rx » October 2nd, 2010, 7:48 am

looking "swappish" to me .....

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 2nd, 2010, 8:38 am

No WRX ever came with drum brakes, thats a TS swap

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » October 2nd, 2010, 11:07 am

How da intercooler looking like he take it out of d back of a fridge so? :?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 2nd, 2010, 11:11 am

Ditto on Pre 96 gc8 engine, and NO wrx has drums.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 2nd, 2010, 12:29 pm

Drum brakes??! Seriously? Come on now. Would like to see a rear view to be positive though any more pics?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 2nd, 2010, 12:32 pm

All 4x4 crash bars and accessories suspended until HONDA HOE DE 1ST pays his bill
:shock: :shock: :shock:

well look thing :!:

Postby K74T » October 2nd, 2010, 12:38 pm

swappieeeeee

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 2nd, 2010, 1:06 pm

LOCO wrote:
wana-B-racer wrote:Actually I know someone who bought a WRX semi-auto with drum brakes in the rear.

^^^^
Yup, as far as I know some of the auto WRX's came with drums in the rear.

There are auto WRX's (4EAT trans), but there are NO GENUINE WRX's with drums in the rear. LOCO........putting a WRX or STI badge on a TS does not make it a WRX or an STI :lol:

The car in question is a TS (look at the seats....WRX's don't come with leather seats either ....in any market i.e. USDM, SDM or JDM. Only cloth )....like so:

......and the engine is a pretty old GC8 WRX engine (most likely a 96-98 model due to the offset intercooler).

LOL @ price for the car.
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on October 2nd, 2010, 5:28 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Postby buzz » October 2nd, 2010, 1:09 pm

:wiggle:

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » October 2nd, 2010, 1:29 pm

NO...

Postby Trini Hookah » October 2nd, 2010, 1:59 pm

so um...he cud afford ah swap, but not ah engine wash? :|

Postby shogun » October 2nd, 2010, 3:23 pm

yuh want the strap ties to rot and buss or what? ...word on the streets is, yuh need the radiator. :|

Postby Rooki3 » October 2nd, 2010, 4:30 pm

this is in-correct

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 2nd, 2010, 4:33 pm

This thread lacks vtec!

ps as said b4 its a gc8 wrx motor swapped into a ts, bla bla bla drum breaks bla bla bla still needs red top vtec!

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 2nd, 2010, 6:38 pm

shogun wrote:
SiR8081 wrote:clearly a swap, WRX has subaru brakes front and disc brakes rear, with brembo option btw

There are WRX'S that come with brembos?, are you sure? because the spindle/rotors are different.

not 100% sure as i am no subaru junkie but i believe the WRXs come with the option from the factory to upgrade the brakes to brembos. most manufacturers have this as an option cant say for certain tho

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 2nd, 2010, 6:44 pm

That is as much a WRX as I am.