PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2022, 9:54 pm

So I was gonna go through some of the steps some of you suggest to figure out the issue. It end up powering on...

I realize I have 3 x 4gb ddr 3 ram but its only recognizing 8gb ram

Running windows memory diagnostic now to see the scene

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2022, 6:18 am

The memtesr and ram diagnostic is saying all the ram is good but I realize the pc isn't physically recognizing one of the ram sticks at all.

Even though it's 3 sticks its only recognizing two.

I figured out which one it isn't recognizing and removed it. Will see if the pc continues working as is.

This probably mean my 10 year old power supply plus the one I changed last month again still good lol...

Postby maj. tom » November 25th, 2022, 7:36 am

RAM sticks usually only works in single or pairs because of the motherboard in single or dual channels. And they have to be the same frequency. If your board has triple channel memory lanes then ok. The manual would say what it is.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » November 25th, 2022, 8:26 pm

yea had it man it was a ram issue glad u got it sorted

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2022, 9:07 pm

Thanks fellas...allyuh save me real grief yes

A computer tech advise me it wud be the board...and the board too old...to upgrade

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » November 26th, 2022, 8:18 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Thanks fellas...allyuh save me real grief yes

A computer tech advise me it wud be the board...and the board too old...to upgrade

yea not a bad suggestion at least get a board that gives u the error code so usually it would tell u which part was faulty

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2022, 8:51 am

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0040 ... UTF8&psc=1

this is the current board. bought in 2011

ASUS Socket 1366/Intel X58/Quad SLI & Quad CrossFireX/SATA3.0&USB3.0/A&GbE/ATX Motherboard s SABERTOOTH X58

Audio: Integrated Realtek ALC892 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
SATA: 6x SATA2 Ports, Support RAID 0, 1, 5, 10(By Intel ICH10R); 2x SATA3 ports(By Marvell 9128 PCIe)
Chipset: Intel X58 & ICH10R Memory: 6x 240pin DDR3-1866/1800/1600/1333/1066 DIMMs, Triple Channel, Non-ECC/Un-buffered, Max Capacity upto 24GB
CPU: Socket LGA1366 Support Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition/Core i7 Processor; QPI Upto 6400 MT/s; Supports Intel Turbo Boost Technology
Slots: 2x PCI-Express 2.0 x16 Slots (Support nVidia Quad SLI/Quad ATI CrossFireX Technology)
LAN: Realtek 8110SC Gigabit LAN Controller
Ports: 12x USB 2.0 Ports (6 rear, 6 at midboard); 2x USB 3.0 Ports; 1x PS/2 Port; 2x IEEE 1394a Ports (1 rear, 1 at midboard

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » November 27th, 2022, 5:46 pm

ok

Seems the ram issue is a thing with Asus board then cause i tend to get similiar issue but once i open and i see error code 55 i just swap them around

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » November 30th, 2022, 12:47 pm

https://www.ebay.com/itm/354128809221?h ... R8je5ZaZYQ

Guys, I'm into mobile gaming and looking to get this laptop, what do you guys think? is it a good buy?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 1st, 2022, 7:16 pm

bassotronics wrote:https://www.ebay.com/itm/354128809221?hash=item5273b8cd05:g:KPMAAOSwYQFittak&amdata=enc%3AAQAHAAAAoK%2B5kThsAOjg6LQSc01%2BUftVSeJKp124kqorIu%2BUH1xJ4rNMXwMhRgElvnGPUf68e5hDGjrCmxfdfNyMkaoWuIwRtKAIAp1h9usCNWFUqHb6XY%2BmZxqXOj6NpBMi4XRxdDviojthCRijbhlFcDVEwm5h5P2MNlLg3%2FhBD8xkfw%2BT5phsubln2VD78b97Bn9tzAvIrEbEE1XVhRy1xTORRq8%3D%7Ctkp%3ABk9SR8je5ZaZYQ

Guys, I'm into mobile gaming and looking to get this laptop, what do you guys think? is it a good buy?

for that price it better be lol

yea loooks good IMO

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 2nd, 2022, 1:59 pm

hi guys quick question

so was plugging in my teacher PC and it basically started sparking,

1. usually which comments goes if a spark occurs

2. should i try to salvage any parts or just do a new build

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 2nd, 2022, 5:24 pm

fred1266 wrote:hi guys quick question

The Power Supply is gone in that PC. You can get PSU's pretty easy and cheap in the usual IT vendors here like Supertech, PRW, Wizz etc...

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 2nd, 2022, 5:40 pm

ok thanks

TechMD

Postby TechMD » December 5th, 2022, 12:29 am

Selling some parts

Z490 gigabyte master $1200
10900k 2500
h150i water cooler $800
32gb 4000 16-16-16-36 ddr4 $2000
1tb Samsung 970 pro $700

All parts tested and works flawlessly. Zero issues

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 7th, 2022, 10:06 am

Anyone can recommend me a place that sells computer, trying to give me teacher another option incase he doesn't want to build over

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2022, 11:06 am

^ this user listed some places
DMan7 wrote:

The Power Supply is gone in that PC. You can get PSU's pretty easy and cheap in the usual IT vendors here like Supertech, PRW, Wizz etc...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 7th, 2022, 1:05 pm

DMan7 wrote:

While cheap is a relative term, please don't buy any 100 -200 PSU or anything with a brand name you don't recognize

Salvaging parts depends on how old the system is.

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2022, 9:01 pm

wizz charges $60 to install the PSU if you carry the pc

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 8th, 2022, 12:08 pm

Ok thanks again guys

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 8th, 2022, 12:09 pm

kamakazi wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

While cheap is a relative term, please don't buy any 100 -200 PSU or anything with a brand name you don't recognize

Salvaging parts depends on how old the system is.

Yea I wont

TechMD

Postby TechMD » December 8th, 2022, 12:43 pm

Big bada boom
B9804A73-F22E-46C2-8B32-57A7574C0AE6.jpeg

Postby teems1 » December 8th, 2022, 12:56 pm

Make sure you don't bend the cables too much. If they don't seat properly it could melt.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 8th, 2022, 5:06 pm

TechMD wrote:Big bada boom

I need this to run some of my people's excel formulas...

Postby paid_influencer » December 8th, 2022, 6:47 pm

how many inches is that big boi

TechMD

Postby TechMD » December 9th, 2022, 1:42 pm

FrankChag wrote:

I need this to run some of my people's excel formulas...

excel runnin boss lol
65dab260-2e51-4b4f-8d92-ec4cf51ca0fc.jpg

Postby st7 » December 9th, 2022, 6:32 pm

nice... linus approves lol

greasyspoon

Postby greasyspoon » December 16th, 2022, 9:08 am

Anyone have a CH341a programmer I could borrow, buy, rent? I had one but when I was moving it got thrown away borked a Lenovo laptop updating the bios now I need to reprogram the chip.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » February 23rd, 2023, 4:10 pm

Good day tuners. Looking to buy a reasonably small and light (13" or 14" and <3.5 lbs) laptop. I'm seeing that the USB ports on several of these, especially the thinner ones, are either all type C or more type C than type A. So I'm wondering how common place are USB-C devices locally. Have you found yourself using the USB-C ports on your computer much?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 23rd, 2023, 5:04 pm

Are you particular to windows? What’s your price range and intended usage?

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » February 23rd, 2023, 5:41 pm

Full-size laptops these days have more or less equal type a ports to type c. But the thinner ones naturally have no space for type a. You can get a dongle that will convert type c to type a. There are small ones but just another thing to carry around.

I make sure to buy devices with both type a and c where possible but type a is still far more popular.