http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/100002749.html
By Carolyn Kissoon South Bureau
Story Created: Aug 5, 2010 at 12:54 AM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 5, 2010 at 2:32 AM ECT
Orlando Nagessar, the man who last year challenged the appointment of bank worker Natasha Navas as Mayor of Chaguanas, has been tipped to become mayor of the newly- elected council of the Chaguanas Borough Corporation.
A former Basdeo Panday loyalist, Nagessar won 2,800 votes in last week's Local Government election—the highest number of votes for any candidate in the Chaguanas Borough Corporation—and was sworn in as councillor for Felicity/Endeavour yesterday.
Nagessar served as mayor from 1999 to 2003 when he was replaced by Dr Surujrattan Rambachan.
Rambachan, however, was ousted by the majority who voted against him in last year's election of mayors and aldermen at the corporation.
Navas, who was supported by Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner, served for a year, while Nagessar was deputy mayor.
Nagessar was among eight councillors to be sworn in at the Chaguanas Borough Corporation yesterday. Among the United National Congress councillors were Nagessar, Gopaul Boodan, Felisha Isahak, Narsingh Rambaran, Joey Samuel and newcomers Renuka Kangal and Dwarika Singh. The lone People's National Movement (PNM) councillor was Ronald Heera, who contested the general election against Warner for the Chaguanas West seat.
Nagessar said: "I don't know who would be appointed mayor. But if I am called upon to serve, I am willing to do so." The mayor and deputy mayor would be elected and sworn in on Monday.
Former Member of Parliament for Chaguanas, Manohar Ramsaran, who was also tipped to be in the running for mayor, was not elected as an alderman by the new councillors.
Businessman and former Fifa referee Ramesh Ramdhan, and patient care assistance Erica Harry were picked as the two aldermen in the council. The mayor would be selected from the elected members of council, the Express was told.
Asked about the election of mayor, Warner said, "I cannot say who the mayor would be, you would have to see on Monday."
Warner reminded the newly-appointed councillors that their duty was simply to serve the people. He thanked Navas for her contribution over the past year.
Navas slipped away immediately after the function ended. The Express was told she was in her office and asked not to be disturbed.
rainman wrote:WTN!!
Captainzaak wrote:Waste ah time, he was my school principal in primary school n he leave we ass principal-less for years to go be mayor, steups.
I never liked Navas either, i say give somebody else a chance!.
Sumana.00 wrote:Boodhan for Mayor!
2.2vtec wrote:instead of going forward i feel the partnership have us goin back in time with these set of jackarses we have running chaguanas!
RASC wrote:2.2vtec wrote:instead of going forward i feel the partnership have us goin back in time with these set of jackarses we have running chaguanas!
Well what you expect? They have Chag. in their back pocket...they could put whomever, whatever, however they want and like because they will always vote for UNC...you really think it matters?
pioneer wrote:This is the "change" allyuh voted for
ole farts...feeding frenzy
ah love it
Nigson wrote:Well on the serious side....they need a proactive person to run Chaguanas as this area is growing rapidly......they may say that nagessar is experienced but heck---who else allyuh have 4 the job?
Suruj?
RASC wrote:pioneer wrote:This is the "change" allyuh voted for
ole farts...feeding frenzy
ah love it
Good Luck finding an outward cry coming from within...
You wanna see Lemmings? Watch and see it in action! Not a peep..hell this thread barely even reach 2 pages, and it's almost 80% UNC supporters on this here forum.