Got a 2000 ticket for my smoked rear glasses.. need advice

Messi

Got a 2000 ticket for my smoked rear glasses.. need advice

Postby Messi » August 4th, 2010, 10:35 am

So going up to Maracas on Monday ( ill advised i know bc of weather - i had some tourists staying by me) in my Evo X. Got caught in road block in Maracas. I thought it would have been for tint. I also thought i would have been ok since I stripped all my windscreen tint when the law was passed. All i have is 20% on the driver and passenger windows and well as most of you know the a lot of JDM cars come with the rear windows and rear glass smoked. Officer told me that its still illegal and I got a ticket for those windows as he said they were obscure. I argued etc - nothing worked. What do i do? Do i challenge in court on the basis that licensing office would have licensed this car in 2008? Any advice from you guys would be appreciated. I have two weeks to decide. PM or call me 678-9695 and oh on the ticket they put illegal tint on my windscreen as well ( which i had none)

Re: Got a 2000 ticket for my smoked rear glasses.. need advi

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2010, 10:38 am

know how long I waiting for some dotish officer to make this mistake?

Postby MG Man » August 4th, 2010, 10:38 am

if you car was imported like that, then you have a case

Postby crazybalhead » August 4th, 2010, 10:42 am

I would go to court and challenge it.

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 10:44 am

Messi wrote:So going up to Maracas on Monday ( ill advised i know bc of weather - i had some tourists staying by me) in my Evo X. Got caught in road block in Maracas. I thought it would have been for tint. I also thought i would have been ok since I stripped all my windscreen tint when the law was passed. All i have is 20% on the driver and passenger windows and well as most of you know the a lot of JDM cars come with the rear windows and rear glass smoked. Officer told me that its still illegal and I got a ticket for those windows as he said they were obscure. I argued etc - nothing worked. What do i do? Do i challenge in court on the basis that licensing office would have licensed this car in 2008? Any advice from you guys would be appreciated. I have two weeks to decide. PM or call me 678-9695 and oh on the ticket they put illegal tint on my windscreen as well ( which i had none)

yuh might lose yuh case there

Postby crazybalhead » August 4th, 2010, 10:44 am

BTW Messi, I've seen your car around the savannah, and the tint looks kinda dark. But I would protest anyway.

Messi

Postby Messi » August 4th, 2010, 10:48 am

The officer specifically told me that he had an issue with my rear glasses. The 20% in the front does not obscure the vision. What made it worse that day was the fact that there was no sun and it was in one of those shaded areas where the overheard foilage was blocking all sun. I was late on paying some speeding tickets and had to go to court like 6 years ago and the judge just slapped me with a double fine. I really dont want to pay 4000.00 dollars. I really dont know what to do because i 2000 is a lot of money and secondly the officer told me that i can keep getting tickets for it. BTW the inside of the EVO X is black as well so i know that does not help.

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 10:50 am

did he state the exact lw on which you charged

where mr gear best man to advise

Postby MG Man » August 4th, 2010, 10:51 am

if Licensing office registered your car with that glass, then it means they approved it.......just like that stupid double standard for cars imported with fogs being legal depending on if the car was imported and registered that way

Messi

Postby Messi » August 4th, 2010, 10:56 am

lots of cars come with those glasses smoked now. I have a buddy in my office with a brand new santa fe with a black interior and it came with the rear glasses smoked. A lot of countries allow you have only the rear glasses tinted.

Postby MG Man » August 4th, 2010, 11:06 am

thats my point
if your car was legally registered that way and cars continue to be, they cannot charge you for it now

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » August 4th, 2010, 11:10 am

Replace the 20% with 35% or less and go to court.

Postby pugboy » August 4th, 2010, 11:15 am

most jdm station wagons come with very dark passenger, trunk glass also

Postby Damien » August 4th, 2010, 11:20 am

Is ah evo ten yuh shoulda drag off lol

Postby crazybalhead » August 4th, 2010, 11:30 am

Damien wrote:Is ah evo ten yuh shoulda drag off lol

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby tr1ad » August 4th, 2010, 11:34 am

the kids again

Messi

Postby Messi » August 4th, 2010, 11:38 am

4kin4kar wrote:Replace the 20% with 35% or less and go to court.

good suggestion.. .

Postby Greypatch » August 4th, 2010, 11:51 am

did the ticket specify the rear smoked glass ?

Messi

Postby Messi » August 4th, 2010, 12:03 pm

Greypatch wrote:did the ticket specify the rear smoked glass ?

thats another thing the ticket says " illegal tint on windows and windscreen" there is absolutely not tint on my windscreen. I even told the officer when i was driving off, this ticket is wrong as i don't have any tint on windscreen!!

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 4th, 2010, 12:09 pm

Well then all the better for your case. IF he made a mistake on the ticket then they can't slap you with a fine when you appear in court. Simplt prove that the vehicle comes like that from the factory.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 4th, 2010, 12:12 pm

Messi wrote:The officer specifically told me that he had an issue with my rear glasses. The 20% in the front does not obscure the vision. What made it worse that day was the fact that there was no sun and it was in one of those shaded areas where the overheard foilage was blocking all sun. I was late on paying some speeding tickets and had to go to court like 6 years ago and the judge just slapped me with a double fine. I really dont want to pay 4000.00 dollars. I really dont know what to do because i 2000 is a lot of money and secondly the officer told me that i can keep getting tickets for it. BTW the inside of the EVO X is black as well so i know that does not help.

As I see it right now if you don't challange and go and pay the fine without replacing your smoked glass you are breaking the law. If you challange and win make sure to get a letter from the court stating that you are not breaking the law to avoid the said issue happening again. BTW I can get glass too :D

Postby X_Factor » August 4th, 2010, 12:25 pm

yeah, re-tint with 35% and go contest it
walk with pics to show as evidence etc

Ram

Postby Ram » August 4th, 2010, 12:28 pm

I have a question..
What device is used to determine if someone tint is dark? The reason I ask is that I see persons with what seems to be 35% being strip.

Postby crazybalhead » August 4th, 2010, 12:44 pm

Ram wrote:I have a question..
What device is used to determine if someone tint is dark? The reason I ask is that I see persons with what seems to be 35% being strip.

The occifer EYE.

Postby crazybalhead » August 4th, 2010, 12:46 pm

And to others, next time you are being pulled over, make sure and keep a firm middle finger at your shoulder level. When the officer begins to cuss you about your middle finger AND the tint, then you can say that he saw the middle finger so the tint is obviously not too dark.

By some Absorbine Veterinarian after to treat your various bruises after.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » August 4th, 2010, 12:58 pm

I think you should go to court and challenge this. You should explain to the Judge that international football stars, such as yourself, are always hounded by adoring fans and as such you need some privacy in your EVO X. Dat police officer was fass and outa place to give you a ticket, he should know better.

The more high profile people you have on your side, the better your chances of winning. Make sure FIFA knows how unfairly you are being treated here in Trinidad, and contact Jack Warner to give evidence concerning your good character.

Good luck!

W2J

Postby W2J » August 4th, 2010, 12:59 pm

X_Factor wrote:yeah, re-tint with 35% and go contest it
walk with pics to show as evidence etc

how can he retint if the glass itself is smoked :?

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 1:17 pm

not the front doors whcih he says has 20%

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » August 4th, 2010, 1:17 pm

The strip and re-tint with 35% is a good idea, but if you go to court to contest then they will do you for having it tinted in the first place. The best bet in my opinion really is removing all the tint and leaving the rear windows how they came. Like MG said, if it was imported and registered like that then it had to be considered road worthy in the first place. You can't be blamed for the government's lackadaisical administration or the people that represent it and their slip ups. If it was illegal you should have been barred from registering it. That is, unless you bribe the licensing officer :p

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 1:21 pm

mornin pioneer

yuh now dun doh doh

dark tint does commit crime yuh forget