ODPM your thoughts

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 8:19 am

do you think they are just all bark no bite

what have they done on thier own to date for support to any of the communities in distress

discuss

Shooter_boy_J

Re: ODPM your thoughts

Postby Shooter_boy_J » August 4th, 2010, 8:41 am

Them is sum reall fackers them have time to sit down and have meeting with shirt and pants go out and flipping put on a tall boots and help out some of the flood affected citizens! Is either them help citizens when it have a disaster or we will have to create a disaster! You trying to tell me all you cud say is we sorry!!!!!!!!!!! you have to be blasted joking! ODPM get yuh act in order! or you might have a disaster!

Postby noshownogo » August 4th, 2010, 8:49 am

ODPM does not exist, like the mythical unicorn, its only depicted in books...

Seriously tho is it just me, or do they put out weather advisories several hours after the weather.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » August 4th, 2010, 8:54 am

noshownogo wrote:ODPM does not exist, like the mythical unicorn, its only depicted in books...

Seriously tho is it just me, or do they put out weather advisories several hours after the weather.

They don't have computers or internet access. Hopefully Kamla will give them laptops.

Postby noshownogo » August 4th, 2010, 8:57 am

then whats the point? seriously, ODPM doh have computers, so after Joey and the talking parrot give a weather update, then they can publish an alert.

Postby Dave » August 4th, 2010, 8:59 am

the real all bark and no bite authority is EMA

Postby 16 cycles » August 4th, 2010, 9:01 am

About ODPM
ODPM - Overview

The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management was established by Cabinet in January 2005, and is responsible for leading the National effort in protecting public health and safety; restoring essential government services; and providing emergency relief to those affected severely by hazards.

By its very mandate the ODPM is committed to formulating an all-hazard approach to emergency/risk management. This all-hazard approach encompasses a comprehensive framework that includes mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

This in and of itself identifies the agency as the principal player in leading the community‘s efforts in preparing for, responding to, and recovering from disasters. However, it must be reiterated that the ODPM is a coordinating entity calling attention to another key role, which is that of mobilising all the key players and resources to bring about the best possible approach to lessening loss of life, and damage to property. These key players include the protective services, all government‘s ministries and agencies, non-governmental organizations, community based organizations, faith based organizations, and the Red Cross.

The ODPM also plays a critical role in the community today as its roles and functions influences Trinidad and Tobago‘s rate of progress toward achieving a developed nation status by the year 2020. Development brings with it new risks and the ODPM has to ensure that all these threats are managed and to ensure that this role is carried out successfully the agency oversees what can be considered "consequence management."
ODPM Home About ODPM Media Centre Resources Events Careers Contact Us
Internet Solutions Provided by Teleios Systems Limited
ODPM
Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Services | About Trinidad and Tobago | Help
Copyright © 2010 Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

http://www.odpm.gov.tt/about/overview.aspx

urabus

Postby urabus » August 4th, 2010, 9:01 am

heard a caller in a radio programme yest morning saying.... she called for assistance during the heavy showers and floodings on Monday and the person's response was "they don't work on weekends and public holidays, call back tomorrow"....my word!

Postby RBphoto » August 4th, 2010, 9:21 am

They are supposed to be a hub of activity, where people can call in, and they will direct other organizations to respond.. not personally be out in the field. I don't think it is working out so well right now, or just that the resources are not reaching where they have to go after they have been despatched.

Postby crazybalhead » August 4th, 2010, 9:22 am

urabus wrote:heard a caller in a radio programme yest morning saying.... she called for assistance during the heavy showers and floodings on Monday and the person's response was "they don't work on weekends and public holidays, call back tomorrow"....my word!

W...T....F...

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2010, 9:43 am

is the odpm to blame for all the litter that leads to clogged drains?

is the odpm to blame for the increased runoff coefficient due to paved yards, tiled yards, concrete yards, removal of vegetative land cover by cepep & all the recent forest fires?

then by all means, they doing a pretty shitty job.

Postby sMASH » August 4th, 2010, 9:43 am

ah fleckin supermarket have more emergency management skillz in their management than these clongs. is years now i know they cant do any ting useful. it actually have something more useless than ema.

i think they should relegate that responsibility to the local government ministry and then disband.
also, have the regiment's civil corp become the main working arm for response.

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2010, 9:46 am

so under all seriousness....all these people sit on their sofa in front the 32" plasma screen tv & watch the water rising around their feet & do nothing? common sense dont tell you get your stuff & move to higher ground?

Postby ronsin1 » August 4th, 2010, 9:48 am

slacker_jack wrote:is the odpm to blame for all the litter that leads to clogged drains?

is the odpm to blame for the increased runoff coefficient due to paved yards, tiled yards, concrete yards, removal of vegetative land cover by cepep & all the recent forest fires?

then by all means, they doing a pretty shitty job.

That is a whole different story. This thread is about the ODPM what measures have they put in place in the event of a disaster

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2010, 9:55 am

how bout simple proactive thinking by people rather than reactive?

they sit back & expect someone to bail them out when the worst happens, what have they done to lessen the impact? I see people on tv saying they lost everything, did the water really come up so sudden?
there is only so much the odpm can do to help, when all over need help how can they help everyone at once? what kinda budget, equipment, workforce they have?

Postby sMASH » August 4th, 2010, 9:56 am

every year it have a rainy season, every year, it rains, every year it floods, every year people need emergency food, rescue etc.

how come every time it have a flood they have to scramble to get things moving.
dems supposed to have the route down pat by now, how to contact the fire service, how to contact the regiment, how to contact the regional corporation.
these people should...

...get a clue

Postby wagonrunner » August 4th, 2010, 10:02 am

16 cycles wrote:
About ODPM
ODPM - Overview

The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management was established by Cabinet in January 2005, and is responsible for leading the National effort in protecting public health and safety; restoring essential government services; and providing emergency relief to those affected severely by hazards.

By its very mandate the ODPM is committed to formulating an all-hazard approach to emergency/risk management. This all-hazard approach encompasses a comprehensive framework that includes mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

This in and of itself identifies the agency as the principal player in leading the community‘s efforts in preparing for, responding to, and recovering from disasters. However, it must be reiterated that the ODPM is a coordinating entity calling attention to another key role, which is that of mobilising all the key players and resources to bring about the best possible approach to lessening loss of life, and damage to property. These key players include the protective services, all government‘s ministries and agencies, non-governmental organizations, community based organizations, faith based organizations, and the Red Cross.

The ODPM also plays a critical role in the community today as its roles and functions influences Trinidad and Tobago‘s rate of progress toward achieving a developed nation status by the year 2020. Development brings with it new risks and the ODPM has to ensure that all these threats are managed and to ensure that this role is carried out successfully the agency oversees what can be considered "consequence management."
ODPM Home About ODPM Media Centre Resources Events Careers Contact Us
Internet Solutions Provided by Teleios Systems Limited
ODPM
Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Services | About Trinidad and Tobago | Help
Copyright © 2010 Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

http://www.odpm.gov.tt/about/overview.aspx

what's so hard to understand?

Postby eliteauto » August 4th, 2010, 10:05 am

slacker_jack wrote:how bout simple proactive thinking by people rather than reactive?

they sit back & expect someone to bail them out when the worst happens, what have they done to lessen the impact? I see people on tv saying they lost everything, did the water really come up so sudden?
there is only so much the odpm can do to help, when all over need help how can they help everyone at once? what kinda budget, equipment, workforce they have?

apparently that's the Gov't job :|

Postby crazybalhead » August 4th, 2010, 10:10 am

How many people actively check the drains and watercourses in your area?? I do. In fact, the Min of works, or whoever in their haste to pave before general elections did a mighty halfway job and clogged a drain in front my house, which I went out and cleaned. I'm not waiting to get flooded out to go and cry and bawl for help on TV.

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 10:18 am

some people do not understand my post

as highlighted above

MANAGEMENT

why does the prime minister and minister of national SECURITY have to be coordinating releif efforts directly

wasnt that the reason for the odpm to manage and coordinate relief efforts in the case of an emergency......

or are they there to just collect a salary ..............

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2010, 10:27 am

SR wrote:some people do not understand my post

as highlighted above

MANAGEMENT

why does the prime minister and minister of national SECURITY have to be coordinating releif efforts directly

wasnt that the reason for the odpm to manage and coordinate relief efforts in the case of an emergency......

or are they there to just collect a salary ..............

I understand what you saying but:

you have 50 various locations in need of assistance & limited staff, how you gonna help everyone at once?

how many of these places have actually called in & said they need assistance? I mean common, typical trinidadian mentality is that someone else will do it (when there is a power outage in our area sometimes after 2 hours when we call they say nobody called before, trucks always arrive soon after. everyone looks to think that someone else has called).

next: what kind of equipment these people working with? you have bumper to bumper traffic on the highway & an area completely cutoff by flood? do they have the equipment to help? in the first place why did the idiots not vacate their property when they saw the water rising?

If the odpm cant function properly change the management. hire people who know squat & have an idea of what to do. most of the people put in charge by the previous administration was because of a friend-friend thing & dont know squat, send them mc home & hire people who able to do the work.

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 10:49 am

has the odpm helped anyone at all

and thats my point

be it one location or 50 the odpm is suppose to be prepared to handle

what does odpm stand for

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2010, 11:04 am

SR wrote:has the odpm helped anyone at all

and thats my point

be it one location or 50 the odpm is suppose to be prepared to handle

what does odpm stand for

what does wasa stand for? if they dont have water to give, can you can get?

do they have enough personnel, equipment (suitable equipment) to do the job & handle the situation in times of crisis? in which budget you hear x or y million goes to odpm?

IMO people need to learn how to handle themselves in some of these situations. I am willing to bet half of you dont know the ratio of household chlorine (bleach) to water that was suggested to be used to treat water (although it will vary according to the organic content in the water).
how much of them really did stock up on can foods & put important stuff in ziploc bags?
the message / information that comes across the radio is from who?
how much of them have blackberry to browse facebook & watch video on youtube but I willing to bet none of them ever visit this link: http://www.odpm.gov.tt/resources/article.aspx?id=5560

Postby UML » August 4th, 2010, 11:08 am

ODPM just like EMA.....people getting big pay for doing nuttin. In the past ODPM has done nothing to asssist people in the event of a "catastrophe" which we have yet to experience.

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 11:13 am

MISSION STATEMENT
The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management will implement pro-active measures to mitigate the impact of all hazards that threaten the people of Trinidad and Tobago and provide effective response and recovery in the aftermath of a disaster. This will be achieved in collaboration with our local, regional and international partners.

seeing that we quoting from the website

Postby sMASH » August 4th, 2010, 11:14 am

for all who defending the odpm, what are their responsibilities? what are their roles?

Postby pugboy » August 4th, 2010, 11:23 am

odpm appears to operate as a middleman,
so unless they have their own fleet of backhoes etc they are wasting time since anybody else could pick up the phone and call somebody with a backhoe for assistance.
the people they likely call would be the local city councils who are a bunch of slackers

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 11:26 am

so the office is a white elephant then
as your regional corperations are the ones who have to actually do the coordination and the work

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2010, 11:30 am

SR wrote:MISSION STATEMENT
The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management will implement pro-active measures to mitigate the impact of all hazards that threaten the people of Trinidad and Tobago and provide effective response and recovery in the aftermath of a disaster. This will be achieved in collaboration with our local, regional and international partners.

seeing that we quoting from the website

one word there in bold, recognize it?

now, the part underlined: :lol: I know of another agency that says it can only uphold its mission statement if it is provided with suitable equipment, budget & latest technology. so now like I said before....the odpm have what?

& no I am not defending the odpm, like I said about the previous administration ' yuh fail to deliver / cant do the job then step down' & I stand by my words but trinis always want to place blame on someone else & always want someone to bail them out, they dont do nothing for themselves.

Postby pugboy » August 4th, 2010, 11:31 am

yes, they are basically a glorified weatherman
the main equipment odpm have is communication equipment trailers.

but at the end of the day there is a need for somebody to coordinate, raise alarms and tell people what to do.