Assistance needed to eridicate Caimans

De Bench

Assistance needed to eridicate Caimans

Postby De Bench » July 28th, 2010, 11:27 am

Hello Tuners, our neighborhood is currently experiencing an infestation of caimans.
other than killing them on sight, is there any know method of chasing these creatures?

Can any chemicals be used in the water that will discourage them?

If anyone know of a local remedy please post it.

xauss

Re: Assistance needed to eridicate Caimans

Postby xauss » July 28th, 2010, 11:29 am

shux...i was already gearin up meh pot, seasoning, pepper, geera and curry powdah!

Postby MG Man » July 28th, 2010, 11:30 am

put up a fence
dem buggers don't scare easily when they get pissed, but they also keep to themselves unless u provoke them

Postby hydroep » July 28th, 2010, 11:31 am

Shoot and cook.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » July 28th, 2010, 11:33 am

It have a dog named Mundai in Clarke Road Penal . He does chase them caimans . He lives opposite lovers lane.

Postby foss » July 28th, 2010, 11:33 am

stop killing them! colder hart tief allyuh heart orr?

call the zoo or something to locate a game warden to relocate them!

Postby MG Man » July 28th, 2010, 11:36 am

they make great pets for young children.

Postby foss » July 28th, 2010, 11:39 am

MG Man wrote:they make great pets for young children.

i had one, but he climb out d half barrel :(

Postby SMc » July 28th, 2010, 11:48 am

why you dont put up a 'Gator meat for sale' at each end of the neighbourhood, worked when I had a problem with Jehovas Witness

Postby DFC » July 28th, 2010, 12:00 pm

Chemical wrote:It have a dog named Mundai in Clarke Road Penal . He does chase them caimans . He lives opposite lovers lane.

where is lovers lane?

meh grannie from clarke road and i does be there plenty.

yuh know ah fella name Mukum?

Postby cinco » July 28th, 2010, 12:07 pm

foss wrote:

those dam kids always escaping
next time use a whole barrel and electrify the outside

Postby Country_Bookie » July 28th, 2010, 12:14 pm

I really doh unnastand allyuh kinda ppl yuh know.
Wtf dem ppl from d Cayman Islands ever do allyuh so that allyuh want to eradicate dem?
Dem does welcome trinis to work in dey country tax free and dis is how you go treat dem when dey come by we. Trinis really fcuking ungrateful yes.

Postby cinco » July 28th, 2010, 12:15 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:I really doh unnastand allyuh kinda ppl yuh know.
Wtf dem ppl from d Cayman Islands ever do allyuh so that allyuh want to eradicate dem?
Dem does welcome trinis to work in dey country tax free and dis is how you go treat dem when dey come by we. Trinis really fcuking ungrateful yes.

emmm no
they doh welcome yuh u does have to get a work permit unless yuh gone to teach

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 28th, 2010, 12:18 pm

pics ?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 28th, 2010, 12:22 pm

organise some asians to catch & cook them ....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 28th, 2010, 12:38 pm

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 28th, 2010, 12:47 pm

wait nah....where joker?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 28th, 2010, 12:52 pm

cinco wrote:
foss wrote:

If he was any kind of decent, he'd simply put them in a forty foot container.

Postby foss » July 28th, 2010, 12:55 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
cinco wrote:
foss wrote:

i did one better.. I placed them in a whole barrel, electrified the outside and placed in a forty foot container surrounded by a mote

Postby cinco » July 28th, 2010, 12:57 pm

foss wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
cinco wrote:
foss wrote:

i did one better.. I placed them in a whole barrel, electrified the outside and placed in a forty foot container surrounded by a mote

i hope u remembered to shave their heads so they dont get any lice and feed them rats since they are so high in protein

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 28th, 2010, 1:03 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:I really doh unnastand allyuh kinda ppl yuh know.

take ah steups nah...

Postby foss » July 28th, 2010, 1:04 pm

I forget :x and I can't even reach the container cuz it have caiman in mote

Postby SR » July 28th, 2010, 1:17 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:wait nah....where joker?

in troot whe he dey

last i heard he runnin a bar in penal somwhere and was lookin for some waitresses

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 28th, 2010, 1:40 pm

xauss wrote:shux...i was already gearin up meh pot, seasoning, pepper, geera and curry powdah!

i was thibking cook as well..

d spike

Postby d spike » July 28th, 2010, 2:42 pm

You could try running naked down the road every half-hour, screaming loudly.
It may not get rid of the caimans, but after a while, most of the people would move out, and the caiman complaints would stop - at any rate, the residents wouldn't complain about caimans.

Seriously, any type of poison would have an adverse effect on the environment, as caimans are opportunistic feeders and eat anything they find - far too many smaller predators would be affected. Chemicals strong enough to annoy/irritate them would also have adverse effects. I do not agree with killing them out of hand, but short of trapping and releasing them elsewhere, culling would be the simplest recourse.

Why is this problem happening now, all of a sudden? I doubt it is a case of population expansion (the caimans, that is), and assuming there has been no rapid recent development in your area, then it may very well be a case of disturbance migration. This would be due to problems in their original habitat: excessive noise, environmental disturbance/pollution, or food depletion - which in turn, could be caused by the same things. If the affected area is small enough, then large teams of 'beaters' (fellahs with loud noise-makers - drums, whistles, horns, male chutney singers) arranged in lines could pass through the area regularly over a period of time, and perhaps it will disturb the scaled folk enough to encourage them to move on - but so too will all or many of the larger wildlife.

Are there large banks (or fairly so) of sand or gravel in your area, close to water? I hope not, for the females might be laying eggs there.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » July 28th, 2010, 3:04 pm

So, I called the Forestry Division and explained the situation to them.
They said they will get a game warden to come and asses the situation.
BUT

They also said we cannot kill them as hunting season is closed and if we are caught killing them we will be charged/fined.

They did suggest this, "if they are a pest and creating trouble, you could drag it in your yard and kill it, the they cannot do you anything as it was not supposed to be in your yard"

Postby rollingstock » July 28th, 2010, 3:08 pm

If the affected area is small enough, then large teams of 'beaters' (fellahs with loud noise-makers - drums, whistles, horns, male chutney singers) arranged in lines could pass through the area regularly over a period of time

This is just abjectly cruel and uncalled for, no animal should be subjected to this type of action!

d spike, shame on you!

Postby rollingstock » July 28th, 2010, 3:10 pm

De Bench wrote:So, I called the Forestry Division and explained the situation to them.
They said they will get a game warden to come and asses the situation.
BUT

They also said we cannot kill them as hunting season is closed and if we are caught killing them we will be charged/fined.

They did suggest this, "if they are a pest and creating trouble, you could drag it in your yard and kill it, the they cannot do you anything as it was not supposed to be in your yard"

All they're good for :?

De Bench

Postby De Bench » July 28th, 2010, 3:14 pm

In the past we have seen one or two at most, but within recent months their numbers have multiplied. They are now going for late evening strolls int he streets!!
There are some banks, with one particular bank being their "Tanning" area.
I had some locals come and do a hunt this morning and those guys believe they are nesting as they found some slides and trails.
They are coming back tonight after 9pm to deal with them.
So, if they come by tonight is curry tomorrow.

The bigger concer is the children and pets in the area. The bigger drain they live in is often time visited by the kids who try and get back a ball or so.
The kids normally do their rock throwing contest. Most of the people have pompek type dogs, which will look like a food source for these reptiles.

It would be really unfortunate for somebody's child to be attacked or a pet eaten.

d spike wrote:Seriously, any type of poison would have an adverse effect on the environment, as caimans are opportunistic feeders and eat anything they find - far too many smaller predators would be affected. Chemicals strong enough to annoy/irritate them would also have adverse effects. I do not agree with killing them out of hand, but short of trapping and releasing them elsewhere, culling would be the simplest recourse.

Why is this problem happening now, all of a sudden? I doubt it is a case of population expansion (the caimans, that is), and assuming there has been no rapid recent development in your area, then it may very well be a case of disturbance migration. This would be due to problems in their original habitat: excessive noise, environmental disturbance/pollution, or food depletion - which in turn, could be caused by the same things. If the affected area is small enough, then large teams of 'beaters' (fellahs with loud noise-makers - drums, whistles, horns, male chutney singers) arranged in lines could pass through the area regularly over a period of time, and perhaps it will disturb the scaled folk enough to encourage them to move on - but so too will all or many of the larger wildlife.

Are there large banks (or fairly so) of sand or gravel in your area, close to water? I hope not, for the females might be laying eggs there.