Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Re: Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2020, 10:54 am

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2020, 11:22 am

pinocchio alive and well

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2020, 11:23 am

Rofl!!!

Postby Les Bain » July 27th, 2020, 11:37 am

There was a guy at the office was a serious dead ringer for Abu Bakr. Being a super christian he never spoke of hatred but it was clear he really didn't like being mistaken for Abu.

Postby bluefete » July 27th, 2020, 11:38 am

That bus with 114 of them actually reached Chaguaramas.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 3:59 pm

I was 10 years old and my family was coming over the Lady Young Rd when we saw the fire in POS. We had curfew, although one night we went across by d neighbour and sit down outside. My brother's birthday is tomorrow July 28th- but that year he didn't have a birthday party, thanks to Bakr.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 27th, 2020, 9:04 pm

I was 13, coming from school lessons my self and Marvin had a chat and went our separate ways at about 2pm. Went home took a rest for very competitive basketball at that time in La Joya. While putting on my Patrick Ewings, what came across the tv looked comedic. Men with bullet belts in the shape of an x like those Mexicans in the Westerns. Paid it no mind went to play bball boys vs men.

screwbash

Re: REMEMBER JULY 27th 1990.

Postby screwbash » July 28th, 2020, 6:33 am

ADONI wrote:I don't understand how a man who shot the Prime Minister, is still allowed to breathe.... Trinidad is not a real place!

robbie musbe set it up to get reelected as PM. but he didnt count on the great patrick manning to take the pnm an win. only chuppid panday make he president and get screwed a second time, panday make robbie PM and President, robbie shuda kiss panday foot for making him sombody.

Postby De Dragon » July 28th, 2020, 8:01 am

I was a young lad between school levels

Postby zoom rader » July 28th, 2020, 8:15 am

In Vene making a lil money

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » July 28th, 2020, 4:03 pm

Just Started to learn how to "FLY KITE"
So that was not important!
#kitelifematters

Postby Gladiator » July 31st, 2020, 10:37 pm

My uncle died that day and the day of the Coup was the first wake night. The yard and house was full with the usual wake activities... coffee, crix, cards etc...I didn't know what the hell was happening but went to the washroom to take a wizz, come back out and the entire yard was empty, about 100 people was there before and 1 minute after nobody. I was 10 years old and if I didn't just piss woulda piss my pants... i run upstairs and the family was watching the TV and all the neighbors/friends/visitor scatter.

Postby matr1x » August 1st, 2020, 4:54 am

Which president gave the amnesty?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 1st, 2020, 5:07 am

remember waiting for mcgyver to start and only seeing pan on the tv. i dont think anyone knew what what going on until abu and dominic came on with men standing behind with guns an the saturday was looting all over only the corona grocery in aranguez was open an dem had men with guns upstairs as snipers and it was line up to go inside.

reddo100

Postby reddo100 » August 1st, 2020, 5:45 am

Carrot hill in Barackpore on a workover land rig the neighbors came and told us on the rig.

Postby Dave » August 1st, 2020, 6:53 am

Noor Hassanali was the president but Emmanuel Carter was acting at the time and gave the order.
matr1x wrote:Which president gave the amnesty?

Postby matr1x » August 1st, 2020, 10:41 pm

Dave wrote:Noor Hassanali was the president but Emmanuel Carter was acting at the time and gave the order.
matr1x wrote:Which president gave the amnesty?

Typical Muslim

Postby The_Honourable » March 21st, 2021, 1:08 pm

FILMCO member, Mariel Brown, is crowdfunding production funds to make the upcoming documentary series, "1990: before, during and after" and would appreciate your support!

If you haven't had a chance to back her campaign please take a moment to visit this link:

https://igg.me/at/1990docseries/x/417401#/ and pledge your support.

The four-part documentary is an in-depth exploration of the 1990 coup attempt in Trinidad and Tobago. Let’s bring this important story to our television screens.

FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/1990docseries/

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 21st, 2021, 2:49 pm

I was in pampers :lol:

Postby timelapse » March 21st, 2021, 2:55 pm

Empire cinema watching Police Academy City under seige.I kid you not

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » March 21st, 2021, 3:00 pm

The_Honourable wrote:FILMCO member, Mariel Brown, is crowdfunding production funds to make the upcoming documentary series, "1990: before, during and after" and would appreciate your support!

If you haven't had a chance to back her campaign please take a moment to visit this link:

https://igg.me/at/1990docseries/x/417401#/ and pledge your support.

The four-part documentary is an in-depth exploration of the 1990 coup attempt in Trinidad and Tobago. Let’s bring this important story to our television screens.

FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/1990docseries/

Just donated, great project. Although she catch me off guard when she said she was 16 during the coup. She looks way older than 46.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » March 21st, 2021, 3:07 pm

^ stress?

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2021, 3:14 pm

It seems she interviewing the usual suspects,
Anthony smart et al , woft should interview others

She need to interview the army guys who tried to bring about a different outcome and were resisted by the idiots
Also the legal expert clown who said the amnesty would fail

And of course she can interview all the infamous “exmuslimeen” members who went on to “great” success as religious gang leaders in various parts of the country, enterprise, carapo, rioclaro running their own criminal enterprises, illegal quarrying and ting

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 21st, 2021, 3:35 pm

Great initiative

pugboy wrote:It seems she interviewing the usual suspects,
Anthony smart et al , woft should interview others

She need to interview the army guys who tried to bring about a different outcome and were resisted by the idiots
Also the legal expert clown who said the amnesty would fail

And of course she can interview all the infamous “exmuslimeen” members who went on to “great” success as religious gang leaders in various parts of the country, enterprise, carapo, rioclaro running their own criminal enterprises, illegal quarrying and ting

She probably will

BTW I was 14 and in the national stadium watching football when it happened

VII

Postby VII » March 21st, 2021, 3:46 pm

How did I miss this thread!!

Or was my comment removed? Seem to remember commenting on a thread about 1990 here years ago..

Anyway I was 19 at the time freshly back from school in the UK ( you're welcome patch Vega Yeo and other old geezers like myself) .

Yeah so I was 19 and my dad had just gotten into a fender bender after leaving bhagwansingh in Sealots,his radiator broke so he had to get towed so he got a call to my mom and I arranged to go pick him up by traffic branch in Sealots same compound where all those stolen foreign cars etc parked up now.

So I made my way down the Eastern Main road Laventille in his other car and as I approached the flyover by the market I saw the famous smoke plume rising up in the air,I thought it was just a big fire in town as was a common occurence in those days especially on a Friday lol !!

So I reached inside the station , as he was making his report policemen began to get frantic and started saying "load weapon load weapon" and they were loading those huge SLR rifles,there was also.a GEB branch there, so they told us to leave and come back another time to complete the report. So we left thinkng it was some robbery etc and went back to our business place and home back in Laventille just off the Eastern Main Road,5 minutes away from town literally..

When we pulled up by the main gate my mom ran out and at the same time a friend of the family came and said "from tomorrow yuh have to say salaam alaikum Abubakar take over" and that's when we started to put two and two together with the smoke and the police etc,things were slower in those days and news took a little time to circulate but everything was unfolding right before our eyes and we had no clue..my mom grabbed me and made me go inside..and my dad parked up his car by another gate and came inside also..

So many things unfolded after that,some employees got damaged looting in town later that evening with gashes from breaking de people glass,another driver salesman was arrested for weed and was released when the shìit hit the fan,that coup was a great thing for him..

In the aftermath I went to so many curfew parties from Roundabout plaza to Maraval to the West,they were some of the best parties because you were locked in till the next morning lol.

I even had a fling with a nice lady living by herself with her 2 small kids,dem lil buggers was only calling mamee and knocking on the door,after I decided I couldn't stay the night by her and broke curfew and left..that was a lil drama by iitself..I drove without lights and parked up by every corner before coming out to main road to make a final dash to a place we owned not too far away..listened for the humming of those dunlop agricultural tyres all police and army jeeps had in those days,you could hear them in the distance and I did !! Two actually passed as
I was parked up, that was my cue to make a dash,I figured I would have some time before others pass,well I made it successfully and slept till 6 am in the vehicle and left and went home as if I stayed by my gf,and well she thought I was at home, I mean is coup and curfew after all,the beauty of no cell phones and instant messaging in those days, and land lines were out also so it was the perfect crime..lol..

Also got many looted items from my street friends around, everyone did...got cricket bat and ball sets I suppose from stollmeyer on the main road,all kinda as seen on tv kinda car stuff and nifty lil tool gadgets from the US from Rustop also on the main road..

They cleaned out dunlop on the main road also and offered my dad dozens of 14 and 16 tyres but he declined respectfully..

Because of the nature of our business the coup was a very good time for it..we were getting army escorts for our raw materials and for our sales trucks..everything sold at retail prices too and in no time...we simply parked up at the entrance of a neighborhood and people lined up and bought out 3 ton truck loads in minutes..I used to go Westmoorings with one and had fun it was like carnival..

And then Hilo etc opened back and it was the same,each branch sold out everyday...the product was sliced loaves wheat and white..

Bread is a winner as I have realized even in this pandemic although my mom scaled down from those days her business has been doing better since the pandemic hit,so I have decided to assist her to try and bring back those glory days..doesn't matter whos in power doesnt matter earthquake hurricane or coup bread sells and sells more during uncertain and difficult times,its the go to sustenance and you dont need political favoritism to succeed,hundreds of thousands of people are your customers everyday !!

Yeah but that event messed us up and changed crime dynamics, but I still have to say as a country we are different...for all the challenges we have still not reached the depths of others ...and maintain an optimistic outlook,the Trini spirit is real..
Last edited by VII on March 21st, 2021, 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » March 21st, 2021, 4:54 pm

VII wrote:How did I miss this thread!!

Or was my comment removed? Seem to remember commenting on a thread about 1990 here years ago..

Anyway I was 19 at the time freshly back from school in the UK ( you're welcome patch Vega Yeo and other old geezers like myself) .

Yeah so I was 19 and my dad had just gotten into a fender bender after leaving bhagwansingh in Sealots,his radiator broke so he had to get towed so he got a call to my mom and I arranged to go pick him up by traffic branch in Sealots same compound where all those stolen foreign cars etc parked up now.

So I made my way down the Eastern Main road Laventille in his other car and as I approached the flyover by the market I saw the famous smoke plume rising up in the air,I thought it was just a big fire in town as was a common occurence in those days especially on a Friday lol !!

So I reached inside the station , as he was making his report policemen began to get frantic and started saying "load weapon load weapon" and they were loading those huge SLR rifles,there was also.a GEB branch there, so they told us to leave and come back another time to complete the report. So we left thinkng it was some robbery etc and went back to our business place and home back in Laventille just off the Eastern Main Road,5 minutes away from town literally..

When we pulled up by the main gate my mom ran out and at the same time a friend of the family came and said "from tomorrow yuh have to say salaam alaikum Abubakar take over" and that's when we started to put two and two together with the smoke and the police etc,things were slower in those days and news took a little time to circulate but everything was unfolding right before our eyes and we had no clue..my mom grabbed me and made me go inside..and my dad parked up his car by another gate and came inside also..

So many things unfolded after that,some employees got damaged looting in town later that evening with gashes from breaking de people glass,another driver salesman was arrested for weed and was released when the shìit hit the fan,that coup was a great thing for him..

In the aftermath I went to so many curfew parties from Roundabout plaza to Maraval to the West,they were some of the best parties because you were locked in till the next morning lol.

I even had a fling with a nice lady living by herself with her 2 small kids,dem lil buggers was only calling mamee and knocking on the door,after I decided I couldn't stay the night by her and broke curfew and left..that was a lil drama by iitself..I drove without lights and parked up by every corner before coming out to main road to make a final dash to a place we owned not too far away..listened for the humming of those dunlop agricultural tyres all police and army jeeps had in those days,you could hear them in the distance and I did !! Two actually passed as
I was parked up, that was my cue to make a dash,I figured I would have some time before others pass,well I made it successfully and slept till 6 am in the vehicle and left and went home as if I stayed by my gf,and well she thought I was at home, I mean is coup and curfew after all,the beauty of no cell phones and instant messaging in those days, and land lines were out also so it was the perfect crime..lol..

Also got many looted items from my street friends around, everyone did...got cricket bat and ball sets I suppose from stollmeyer on the main road,all kinda as seen on tv kinda car stuff and nifty lil tool gadgets from the US from Rustop also on the main road..

They cleaned out dunlop on the main road also and offered my dad dozens of 14 and 16 tyres but he declined respectfully..

Because of the nature of our business the coup was a very good time for it..we were getting army escorts for our raw materials and for our sales trucks..everything sold at retail prices too and in no time...we simply parked up at the entrance of a neighborhood and people lined up and bought out 3 ton truck loads in minutes..I used to go Westmoorings with one and had fun it was like carnival..

And then Hilo etc opened back and it was the same,each branch sold out everyday...the product was sliced loaves wheat and white..

Bread is a winner as I have realized even in this pandemic although my mom scaled down from those days her business has been doing better since the pandemic hit,so I have decided to assist her to try and bring back those glory days..doesn't matter whos in power doesnt matter earthquake hurricane or coup bread sells and sells more during uncertain and difficult times,its the go to sustenance and you dont need political favoritism to succeed,hundreds of thousands of people are your customers everyday !!

Yeah but that event messed us up and changed crime dynamics, but I still have to say as a country we are different...for all the challenges we have still not reached the depth of others ...and maintain an optimistic outlook,the Trini spirit is real..

This woman should interview you, cool story.

I myself was a mere child back then, all I remember though in San Juan was seeing a man walking with a refrigerator on his back (serious) and my father complaining no where selling doubles.

VII

Postby VII » March 21st, 2021, 5:27 pm

Yeah bro as bad as it was and as uncertain as it was there were some real fun times in between....Trinis again..

Plenty people lost their money weeks and months after things died down trying to procure loot like vcrs microwaves fridge and stove etc..lol Trini love a deal..

"A man tote a fridge quite on top a ridge "

"And de Tv was a microwave"

Lyrics from a Shadow song about the time..forgot the name of the damn song now though..

'Tempo' ? Anyone ?

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 22nd, 2021, 2:16 am

I was watching tv and saw the broadcast interruption. Was confused so I went in kitchen to summon mom and well after that she was like oh gosh oh gosh yuh father still in pos. She was only praying for his safe return.

antlind

Postby antlind » March 22nd, 2021, 4:29 pm

In Trincity Mall with my wife. She was pregnant with our first child. After we saw the TV broadcast on one of the Mall TVs we buss it home. Baby boy was born in November 1990.

VII

Postby VII » March 22nd, 2021, 9:37 pm

antlind wrote:In Trincity Mall with my wife. She was pregnant with our first child. After we saw the TV broadcast on one of the Mall TVs we buss it home. Baby boy was born in November 1990.

My first son was aslo born in November 1990/ the 4th ..GF was pregnant also..had to break curfew to take her to Amicus nursing home,but things were cool by that time and her condition wouldve made things self explanatory but didn't bounce up any police or army etc and stayed in the nursing home till next morning...

Like those ladies call we name around de same time boy...lol.

He turned 30 last Noveember !! I remember turning 30 just the other day and thinking I was getting old !! :shock: