Starcraft 2: Patch 1.1 release today! *read patch notes here

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 22nd, 2010, 7:36 am

Greetings, citizens of the Koprulu sector! StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty is celebrating its one-month anniversary and we’re extremely excited to witness the amazing community that’s come together around the game. To that end, we want you to know we are hard at work on the first feature and balance patch, and expect to have it completed and available by the middle of September. Patch 1.1 will contain a number of improvements including additional mod features, Editor improvements and bug fixes, some custom game improvements, support for NVIDIA’s 3D Vision, and more. We'd also like to share some specific plans for this patch with you.

To begin, we've heard a lot of feedback from our global community about standardized hotkey options. We're happy to announce that in patch 1.1 we are going to make the Standard (US) and Standard for Lefties (US) hotkey options available in all regions.

Balance Changes

We have several balance changes in store. One general change we're making is that friendly units will no longer provide vision after being killed. Enemy units previously revealed will no longer be targetable. Now let's break down the additional balance changes we're implementing.

Maps

We're going to be adding destructible rocks to the Desert Oasis map to make natural expansions easier to protect. In addition, the center map watchtower area is being narrowed.

Protoss

We have two key changes in mind for the zealot: the build time is being increased from 33 to 38 seconds, and the warpgate cooldown is being increased from 23 to 28 seconds. Zealot rushes are currently too powerful at various skill levels, particularly those that rely on rapidly assaulting an enemy base from nearby "proxy" gateways. We feel the window players have to scout for and fend off this rush is too small. We also want to address the problem of protoss being able to dump minerals a bit too quickly with the combination of warpgates and Chrono Boost.

Terran

There are several changes in the works for terrans. Reapers against zerg are stronger than expected. Due to the zealot build time increase, reapers would be a bit problematic in combination with proxy barracks, bunkers, and/or marauders against protoss. Therefore, we have decided to increase the build time of reapers as well from 40 to 45 seconds. Fast reaper + bunker, or fast marine + bunker rushes are problematic against zerg. Although this rush would never outright destroy the zerg player, we feel zerg suffers too much of a disadvantage from either having to cancel the fast expansion, or getting trapped inside the main base for too long, so we are also increasing the bunker build time from 30 to 35 seconds.

Siege tanks in large numbers are performing too well in all matchups. In the mid- to late-game, siege tanks are too dominant against all ground units. We want a small set of light and unarmored ground units to perform better against siege tanks. With this in mind, we're changing the Siege Mode damage of the siege tank from 50 to 35, +15 vs. armored; to correspond with this, damage upgrades will be changed from +5 to +3, +2 vs. armored. This change reduces the base damage of the siege tank against light and unarmored units, as well as the splash damage.

Battlecruisers currently lack good counters from the ground and still perform very well against a wide array of unit types. We're aware that it is not easy to get battlecruisers out for the cost, but at the same time, it is possible in both 1v1s and team games to create stalemate situations to bring them out. Overall, we feel that battlecruisers are too strong for their cost, and the terran-forced stalemate situations are causing less interesting gameplay. We will be lowering their damage against ground units from 10 to 8.

Zerg

Ultralisk damage is being decreased from 15, +25 vs. armored to 15, +20 vs. armored. This reduction is comparable to the changes being made to the battlecruiser and siege tank. Like the battlecruiser, ultralisks are simply too powerful for the cost, even though they are difficult to muster. Also, in combination with other units, ultralisks are difficult to counter from the ground. The ultralisk building attack (Ram) is being removed because the damage rate is too similar to its normal attack, which will be used against buildings instead. When ultralisks target tightly packed smaller buildings such as supply depots, the Ram attack is actually outputting considerably less overall damage than its normal attack, as Ram only hits a single target.

And Beyond...

We are reading your posts on the forums and creating lists of features and bugs to address in future patches. We have mid- to long-term plans to further evolve the Custom Game experience, and soon, enhance our social features with the addition of chat channels. We will be sharing more specific information in the coming weeks. As with all of our previous games, we will support StarCraft II for many years to come. Your feedback and participation is critical in making this not only the best game it can be, but also the most engaged gaming community in the world. We look forward to the implementation of patch 1.1, as well as sharing our plans for our future gameplay and Battle.net features.

We'll see you online!

$60USD
Last edited by Sinister_Audio on September 21st, 2010, 12:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Odessy

Re: 5 MORE DAYS PEOPLE!

Postby Odessy » July 22nd, 2010, 7:47 am

my bros playing that already online

i thought was diablo 3 coming out :lol: :lol:

Postby noshownogo » July 22nd, 2010, 8:18 am

between this and diablo3, pc gaming suddenly looking good again

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 22nd, 2010, 9:26 am

SWEEEET!!!!!

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » July 22nd, 2010, 9:37 am

noshownogo wrote:between this and diablo3, pc gaming suddenly looking good again

yup yup
must have

Postby janfar » July 22nd, 2010, 1:19 pm

The pause on meh parm of meh hand raise!!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2010, 1:47 am

that video to this

reminds me of back in the day when the package showed this

and you ended up playing this

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 23rd, 2010, 2:00 am

^^ LOL....epicness...

scII & DIII is a must have...

blizz have done it again folks.... reviving PC Gaming!

if i was on my comp i'd prolly link up some of yall to do some last min BW clashes to properly welcome this era in our lives. thank god this didnt happen closer to exams *whew*

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 23rd, 2010, 2:34 pm

notice how your IT department will be unavailable for work next week....

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 24th, 2010, 2:50 am

3 more days!!

Re: 3 MORE DAYS PEOPLE!

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 27th, 2010, 3:42 am

ITS HERE beyotch!!!

OMFG

*pyung*

Re: Official Release Date: Starcraft 2 Wings of Liberty: TOD

Postby sharkman121 » July 27th, 2010, 4:30 am

2pyungggg!!! :mrgreen:

Chipz

Postby Chipz » July 27th, 2010, 9:29 am

WoooHoooo too bad I didn't pre-order my copy :|

But i really can't wait to play this

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 27th, 2010, 9:34 am

imma gettin mine toooooodaaaaaaaaaaaayyyy :/ [/nerdshowoff]

Postby shogun » July 27th, 2010, 9:39 am

Noice!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 27th, 2010, 9:41 am

Interesting

neoise

Postby neoise » July 27th, 2010, 10:37 am

My life for AUIR :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby janfar » July 27th, 2010, 11:26 am

En Taro Adun.... now i need a new gaming system to play this on!!!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 27th, 2010, 12:14 pm

HELL its about time!

Postby bushwakka » July 27th, 2010, 12:19 pm

prepped an ready! sexy medics!

40 mins to go for digital sale release!

zahc

Postby zahc » July 27th, 2010, 12:28 pm

Goosebumps!!!

haterforever

Postby haterforever » July 27th, 2010, 12:31 pm

downloading now. Just have to wait to go home to pay and play.

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 27th, 2010, 9:10 pm

first in line @ 9:00 am this morning to get eet

woot

the box is SEXY :oops:

Postby Rooki3 » July 27th, 2010, 9:12 pm

seed/leech FTW

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 27th, 2010, 9:15 pm

Rooki3 wrote:seed/leech FTW

and how u playin on BN? :?

Postby Rooki3 » July 27th, 2010, 10:12 pm

^^^ Garena FTW

haterforever

Postby haterforever » July 27th, 2010, 10:28 pm

buy legit ftw, rooki3 ftw :(

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 27th, 2010, 11:13 pm

LOL k...g, luck

Postby bushwakka » July 27th, 2010, 11:59 pm

lets see who finish de campaign first.....i playin since i get it, i a bit feddup now, goin an sleep

Postby bluesteel29 » July 28th, 2010, 12:16 am

how long data dl took??..wat isp/package?