Tertiary Education Funding to be SEVERELY cut???

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2010, 7:16 pm

Instead of a plan to substantially increase the revenue of the island, they (gov't) are going to be cutting programs and/or reducing the amount of funding made available.

Last years allocation by the gov't: $420Mil
This years proposed allocation by the gov't: $165Mil

...and is relying on an EU grant of another $165Mil totaling $330Mil
That's a 22% DECREASE from last years budget on higher learning in T&T.

So that means institutions such as UWI/COSTATT/TTHTI and programs as GATE are going to take a major blow this cycle.

When I read the manifesto of the UNC first thing that popped in my head was "HOW?"
How are they planning to pay for all these things? I made the suggestion that it's most likely GATE and other such programs are gonna be cut and contracted. I get cuss, as usual-and was again vilified after Kamla and Gopeesingh came on their respective pulpits and made announcements that there will be no such thing. Well guess what folks-it will become a reality budget day. Make this thread.

Enjoy it while you can...seriously. :?
Doh aksed meh whe de sauce come from. Juss mark de ched!
Last edited by RASC on July 14th, 2010, 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bigchief3679

Re: Tertiary Education Funding to be SEVERLY cut???

Postby bigchief3679 » July 14th, 2010, 7:20 pm

severely

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 14th, 2010, 7:26 pm

oh well....no loss for me yes..my parents worked hard and paid for me to go to university....
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on July 14th, 2010, 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2010, 7:26 pm

bigchief3679 wrote:severely

Thanks. My mistake.

Postby r3iXmann » July 14th, 2010, 7:31 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:oh well....no loss for me yes..my parents worked hard and payed for me to go to university....

:| :|

neilsingh100

Re: Tertiary Education Funding to be SEVERELY cut???

Postby neilsingh100 » July 14th, 2010, 7:34 pm

Programs like GATE could never last because it was too generous to start with. They really need to focus on getting private sector to play a bigger role to create good jobs for all these university graduates.

GATE is currently producing plenty of graduates in Social & Natural Sciences and most of these people have to end up teaching while there is still a shortage of doctors, nurses, engineers, etc

Postby Cjruckus » July 14th, 2010, 7:34 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:oh well....no loss for me yes..my parents worked hard and payed for me to go to university....

Lady Hochoy School of Higher Education?

Postby sharkman121 » July 14th, 2010, 7:41 pm

Cjruckus wrote:

apparently dey didnt payed enough :|

Postby Damien » July 14th, 2010, 7:49 pm

didnt hear this in the news :|

Postby M_2NR » July 14th, 2010, 7:56 pm

he left out the <ah hear> </ah hear> tags.

UML et al used to always forget it as well so leave him

Postby Trini Hookah » July 14th, 2010, 7:56 pm

Damien wrote:didnt heared this in the news :|

fix3ded :|

altec

Postby altec » July 14th, 2010, 7:57 pm

pioneer are u saying that people who use gate are degenerates?

Postby Damien » July 14th, 2010, 7:58 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
Damien wrote:didnt heared this in the news :|

fix3ded :|

like your daddy payed for you to :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 14th, 2010, 8:04 pm

firetruck US spell check on this machine....

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 14th, 2010, 8:08 pm

how many students are taking GATE and not really paying attention in class and just wasting government funding...

not everyone has the mental capability to finish a degree but no vocational institutions were put in place for ppl who fall into this category........

Marct

Postby Marct » July 14th, 2010, 8:12 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

apparently dey didnt payed enough :|

all yuh don't get kicks I once supervised a UWI grad in Econ who spelt 'coast guard'-cost gard -and when he was told about it he still didn't see it being wrong

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2010, 8:12 pm

M_2nr wrote:he left out the <ah hear> </ah hear> tags.

How many... "ah hear" threads you ever seen me make on chuna since 2004?

My advice is make a brief scan through my post history and try again. If I am saying this, it's because it will come to be. I don't do this often is my whole point...I wouldn't do this unless I had some kinda backing.

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2010, 8:14 pm

they need to really do a survey and see if the graduates are really worth the paper they getting
few countries can afford to give free tertiary, furthermore where you can basically walk in without and real entrance requirements

taking away something which was a waste from before is not always a bad thing

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 14th, 2010, 8:16 pm

i understand where RASC coming from, the UNC said that they not going to cut/take away GATE etc, and yet according to his "sauce" they are, so in a sense they are reneging on a pivotal campaign promise.

however, i would have thought that they would have increased the entry requirements for tertiary education to skim the "slackers" therefore decreasing expenditure that way.

everyone is entitled to a tertiary education yes, but ONLY if they work hard to meet the entry requirements.

*edit*
it would be nice to get the source as well

and i mean most of you all educated enough to call a spade a spade, so don't come now and say.........."well it is impractical/waste a time/etc so that's why they cutting it"

it was a campaign promise and now they changing their tune, don't defend it ask why and if they offer VALID reasons then it can be accepted
Last edited by Firewall on July 14th, 2010, 8:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 14th, 2010, 8:20 pm

altec wrote:pioneer are u saying that people who use gate are degenerates?

walk around rituals/gateboys and see for yourself

Postby Redman » July 14th, 2010, 8:22 pm

I believe that what should happen is that the govt subsidize tertiary education FOR THOSE who cant afford it.
The onus should be on the student and family to prove that they cant afford it.
Tax returns, etc are a start.

AND there be a pay back of some sort after the fact.

Im benefiting from GATE now- and I should be paying for it myself.
But Im reading posts that suggest that the entry requirements can screen out slackers- Can somebody elaborate on why they think so?

Is there a structure in how much the schools are allowed to charge?-Are Gate courses regulated so that the state is not subsidizing excess profits for the institutions????

The govt is not here to subsidize our life.

Later

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2010, 8:26 pm

in the history of education in the world
the only proper way to subsidize education is by scholarships
which encourages people to work hard on an even playing field

choosing people based on their economic situation is a can of worms and sure recipe for bacchanal

Postby Damien » July 14th, 2010, 8:27 pm

Firewall wrote:i understand where RASC coming from, the UNC said that they not going to cut/take away GATE etc, and yet according to his "sauce" they are, so in a sense they are reigning on a pivotal campaign promise.

however, i would have thought that they would have increased the entry requirements for tertiary education to skim the "slackers" therefore decreasing expenditure that way.

everyone is entitled to a tertiary education yes, but ONLY if they work hard to meet the entry requirements.

*edit*

and i mean most of you all educated enough to call a spade a spade, so don't come now and say.........."well it is impractical/waste a time/etc so that's why they cutting it"

it was a campaign promise and now they changing their tune, don't defend it ask why and if they offer VALID reasons then it can be accepted

where you hear that?

Postby M_2NR » July 14th, 2010, 8:29 pm

RASC wrote:

My advice is make a brief scan through my post history and try again. If I am saying this, it's because it will come to be. I don't do this often is my whole point...I wouldn't do this unless I had some kinda backing.

funny enough that you chose to reply to me :)

Postby Damien » July 14th, 2010, 8:31 pm

what a time to spread this propaganda

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2010, 8:31 pm

M_2nr wrote:
RASC wrote:

ok :|

Postby M_2NR » July 14th, 2010, 8:32 pm

RASC wrote:
M_2nr wrote:
RASC wrote:

ok :|

yay i is specialzzz!!!!! woohoo

(sorry i bored)

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 14th, 2010, 8:35 pm

Damien wrote:
Firewall wrote:i understand where RASC coming from, the UNC said that they not going to cut/take away GATE etc, and yet according to his "sauce" they are, so in a sense they are reigning on a pivotal campaign promise.

*edit*

where you hear that?

"sauce" as used was a reflection on how it was used in the original post.

wasn't it a BIG deal made during the election about the "s*u*p*d pnm ppl" who only saying that GATE going to get cut?
was in quite a few threads in the election forums.

now i'm not saying that it is or isn't.
What i'm saying is THEY said it wouldn't but cut, but expanded, and now the rumors of this.

catch my drift?

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2010, 8:38 pm

Damien wrote:what a time to spread this propaganda

OK...look even one of your PP supporters just started a thread on the same issue and got it locked as a REPOST. He's on your side of the fence and hearing reports of the same thing.

A million French men can't be wrong.

Watch and see :?