what Rank is a Police Officer allowed to carry home his gun?

Postby Greypatch » July 14th, 2010, 1:46 pm

Barring special permissions.

let me see if I have this correct

2nd Division

Constable

Corporal

Sergeant

1st Division

Assistant Superintendent

Superintendent

Senior Superintendent

Assistant Commissioner

Deputy Commissioner

Commissioner

Information link http://www.ttps.gov.tt/AboutTTPS/Badges ... fault.aspx

Tuners in the know please advise

Re: what Rank is a Police Officer allowed to carry home his

Postby Greypatch » July 14th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Some interesting side information.

Claud Anthony

our last "white" CoP 1973 - 1978

and the 1st one

Colonel Herbert E.J.Brake C.B D.S.G
Commanding Officer 1902-1907

vramdhan

Postby vramdhan » July 14th, 2010, 2:05 pm

I wanna belive is inspector!

Postby RBphoto » July 14th, 2010, 2:06 pm

I wish they all had the right to bring home their weapons. Would lead to less corruption and make the community safer. Many police officers turn to the criminal elements for protection, as they have no way of protecting their families at home. If they are more empowered, they could afford to lock up their neighbour for domestic abuse/ boys pushing weed on the block. Without protection, some turn informer, so if a raid taking place, locally, they will not bear any retribution.

Postby foss » July 14th, 2010, 2:14 pm

crossdrilled wrote:I wish they all had the right to bring home their weapons.

dey go use d same gun and shoot dey wife and family when dey fedup hear ppl complain.
any man bad drive them they buss a cap
is alright, let dem leave it in d station

Postby Greypatch » July 14th, 2010, 2:15 pm

another interesting piece of information

One Door Policy

ANY MEMBER OF THE PUBLIC may make a report/statement at ANY Station or to ANY OFFICER, ANYWHERE.

ALL OFFICERS ARE MANDATED to:

1) Record, at least, the arrival of the person at the station or interaction.
2) Take the person’s report or statement and
3) Ensure that the matter is addressed or forwarded for attention to the relevant station.

MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE NOT TO BE TURNED AWAY OR SENT TO ANOTHER STATION.

Departmental Order No. 139 Refers dated 22/07/08.

Commissioner of Police

Postby rollingstock » July 14th, 2010, 2:15 pm

Greypatch wrote:Barring special permissions.

let me see if I have this correct

2nd Division

Constable

Corporal

Sergeant

Inspector

1st Division

Assistant Superintendent

Superintendent

Senior Superintendent

Assistant Commissioner

Deputy Commissioner

Commissioner

Information link http://www.ttps.gov.tt/AboutTTPS/Badges ... fault.aspx

Tuners in the know please advise

From Acting Inspector and above is issued a firearm but must be returned upon retiring.

Postby Greypatch » July 14th, 2010, 3:02 pm

Thanks man.. can this be confirmed ?

Postby rollingstock » July 14th, 2010, 3:14 pm

patch pm sent

Postby Trini Hookah » July 14th, 2010, 3:34 pm

seconded what rollingstock said, was wondering how you left out Acting Inspector & Inspector

Postby rollingstock » July 14th, 2010, 4:52 pm

Acting Inspector is not a confirmed rank, you can act in all ranks.

Postby Greypatch » July 14th, 2010, 5:32 pm

thanks fellas.

is it easier for officers to apply for a personal firearm compared to citizen Patch ?

Postby Trini Hookah » July 14th, 2010, 6:48 pm

^ they would have more "links" per say.

rollingstock wrote:Acting Inspector is not a confirmed rank, you can act in all ranks.

Acting Constable = Fake Ocifer :|

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » July 15th, 2010, 7:35 am

Define 'special permissions' Patch...

From my experience, members of the "elite" units (Task Force etc) are allowed to carry issued firearms at all times (from Constable go up). As stated above, from Acting Inspector you are automatically issued a firearm for personal use.

@ Crossdrilled, why would you want all officers to carry weapons? We seem to forget SRP Eric George, Constable Danzel of Arima and all the others who took their family's life then their own with the same issued firearm, or the Acting Inspector who shot and killed his neighbour I think christmas last for some few feet of land he tried to encroach on...
we need to careful what we wishing for in this country we.....

Postby X_Factor » July 15th, 2010, 8:19 am

^ thats true
i have a couple partners who are Constables but due to the "section" they work in, they are allowed to carry the firearm at home

Postby rollingstock » July 15th, 2010, 8:32 am

Keyser Soze wrote:Define 'special permissions' Patch...

From my experience, members of the "elite" units (Task Force etc) are allowed to carry issued firearms at all times (from Constable go up). As stated above, from Acting Inspector you are automatically issued a firearm for personal use.

@ Crossdrilled, why would you want all officers to carry weapons? We seem to forget SRP Eric George, Constable Danzel of Arima and all the others who took their family's life then their own with the same issued firearm, or the Acting Inspector who shot and killed his neighbour I think christmas last for some few feet of land he tried to encroach on...
we need to careful what we wishing for in this country we.....

Basing the actions of a few should not cause a stigma to be attached to all Police Officers, the fact remains that out of those 3 scenarios you pointed out only 1 was actually issued a firearm for personal use, both officers who killed their "loved one" signed for a firearm and used it the way they did, they had their personal problems and this was greatly caused by the stress of their work and balancing their family life. ANY Police Officer can take a firearm if they so choose to commit any act they want, they just can't keep it for a long period but if you premeditate something as they did nothing will hamper them, like telling a carpenter "No hammer for you today"

Firearms are so easily sourced the argument that they don't want them in the hands of corrupt police are unfounded as officers with this mindset can be easily accommodated by the persons that they associate with.

Postby Greypatch » July 15th, 2010, 8:41 am

A few incidents cannot negate the peace of mind and safety a personal firearm can bring to the family of an officer.

we want these men & women to risk their lives every day for 6 - 8k a month.

Chase bandits in drains, alleys and bush,

bandits have no off time and DO NOT play by the rules that officers are subjected to.

Same way most victims of crime refuse to identify criminals when caught by police of chose NOT to give evidence in court for fear of an attack.

The police also live with that daily.

Think about it.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » July 15th, 2010, 8:53 am

The actions of a few?
I take it you are a Police officer, probably one of the good ones who knows but you really need to be objective about this pal....
There are way more than just a few corrupt officers in the service, and there are even more who use their position to victimise the public...
I still maintain that all police officers should NOT be issued with firearms for personal use, at least until there is a major and regular physic evaluation, as well as an active and effective Police Complaints Department and an Internal Affairs Division within the Police Service.
The public keeps putting pressure on the Police Service to detect and solve crime, and keep casting blame on them when thing occur but they fail to realize that they are opening up avenues for the Police to operate outside of the law just to make the headlines look good...
"Bandits killed by police...Police say while intercepting the vehicle they were fired upon and on returning fire the driver was killed...blah blah blah" The story is always the same, wether it's the truth or not.
Anyway, back to the original topic.

Postby rollingstock » July 15th, 2010, 10:05 am

Keyser Sozem, I never said there were only a few corrupted police officers, the few i spoke of were the officers that you indicated. In any organisation where there are avenues to promote corruption, disgruntled employees who are underpaid, not afforded basic amenities and oppressive administration and lack of personal input and promotion you will get corruption.
Without a comprehensive revision of the mode of operation and a distinct care for the personnel, men will rebel, and not give a sheit, if you are under the impression that no one cares about you, you won't care about someone else.
As with any other job being a Police is a job, a job with a lot of stress and responsible given, but still a job, and proper remuneration should be of the highest importance.
And with keeping with the original topic i don't believe ti would be prudent to issue all police officers with a firearm, a proper evaluation should be made, officers with drinking problems, adverse reports made against them and violent officers should be denied. A review of officers training with respect of proper safety procedures should be adopted and maintained with over a regular basis.

Postby Greypatch » July 15th, 2010, 11:22 am

some excellent points.

Postby RBphoto » July 15th, 2010, 1:47 pm

rollingstock, Well said. Keyser Soze, thanks for not going down the road of "Will neva wuk in Trinidad, we never see come see, jus now they will let everybody get RPG..." and arguing your point intelligently. Rolling stock, I believe that there has to be checks and balances in place for them like the continuous training and evaluation as you stated, not just because you are in the service you get to check out a gun, keep it and never be accountable for it.

Postby rollingstock » July 15th, 2010, 2:20 pm

crossdrilled, Keeping check of a Police Officer is very difficult, the job is very dynamic, an Officer can simply sign for a firearm and leave a station on enquiries, he is under no obligation to state exactly what he is doing, one lead can direct you to another in a different division and may even warrant a long period of observation of a point of interest. This is also due to a high workload, everyday you are guaranteed at least 3 enquiry or new report, over a matter of a few weeks your workload reaches a point where it exceeds you ability to properly deal with. Hence the reason for a lot of unsolved crime, at present from my own observations it is apparent that the police do not solve crime but record crime. The service is greatly understrength and even the shortage indicated is insufficient as at present the responsibilities of the police and level of crime far exceeds that of 10 years ago.
It all comes down to proper salaries to attract suitably qualified personnel, with present remuneration the only persons attracted to the service are those who have no choice and see it as a salary, those that see it as an opportunity for their own gain and illegal purposes, and the minority that are genuinely interested to protect and serve.

I have seen some reports made against police officers and honestly a man taking a $100 bribe, only 2 things can cause this, either he's a piper or this is someone that is experiencing extreme financial distress.

Pay a proper salary, attract responsible capable personnel, furnish them with the necessary equipment to perform the job and there will be a great change.

But i digress in short and pertinent to your post:-
No matter what check and balances are put in place persons intent on doing the contrary will always find a way to circumvent them.
Solution - get rid of them.

shocker.a@live.com

Postby shocker.a@live.com » July 15th, 2010, 5:32 pm

anybody know what rank the police officers in plain clothes with the gun strap on their leg is?

Postby rollingstock » July 15th, 2010, 5:50 pm

shocker.a@live.com wrote:anybody know what rank the police officers in plain clothes with the gun strap on their leg is?

:lol: :roll: :roll:

altec

Postby altec » July 15th, 2010, 6:12 pm

what is a respectable salary?

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » July 16th, 2010, 7:09 am

Proper checks and balances are definitely needed.
You see for one officer, a personal firearm is a tool to protect himself, his family and the public while to another, a personal firearm is a tool to intimidate, to terrorise or kill de hornerman and spouse or anybody that is perceived to have interfered with your wife (in the case of ex- SRP Phillip) and probably to lease if de profitable kidnapper so that de new JK could come fully equipped....(no name calling here).

But while i'm advocating against all police officers carrying personal firearms there's a flip side to that coin; what about the officers who have worked undercover for months/years, netted countless illegal firearms, drugs and criminals from ground work inteligence, and for petty disagreements with superiors they are put back in uniform and not issued personal firearms as a form of 'punishment'? (can mention real life cases as well here)...
That boils down to what rollingstock mentioned earlier, an oppressive administration. When these old farts retire and new educated blood start making decisions based on protecting and serving the public and the wellbeing of all officers then and only then will we see the police force that we keep dreaming of.

A good question asked by altec is what is a respectable salary?
If the canteen and the court take the majority of your monthly salary then no salary will be considered respectable.....(/imo)

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » July 16th, 2010, 7:53 am

Don't give them any guns.....When I use to work IATF, the police use to beat ppl unnecessarily and one guy even got a case for telling a police-man to stop harassing his gyul and go and do his wuk....

If they don't beat and frame ppl, then they won't have anything to worry about...

Postby RBphoto » July 16th, 2010, 8:19 am

Do they beat them with firearms?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » July 16th, 2010, 11:34 am

crossdrilled wrote:Do they beat them with firearms?

what de firetruck you think?...... when yuh want to huss up ah man...is level gun butt to head, mouth, ribs, belly etc.