Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2023, 10:09 pm

so what yuh decide on ?

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 10:10 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:The Weller butane irons (if you were in the market for one) are US$50 to $100, so that's a very fair price, IMO.
I think my supervisor would watch me and ask if I'm crazy.

As I said before, I have one. I paid for it. Sometimes crazy feels good.

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2023, 7:53 am

the bad news is the lil electric chainsaw drill attachment I buy the other day fall apart
used it on some dry dead lime tree branches and it twisted itself apart

it was only good on green softer branches

Postby Rovin » January 13th, 2023, 11:32 am

^^^ like u barely get ur less than us20 worth :lol: , but seriously though that coulda damage u bad, i will prolly never have use for a mini chain saw but dise why i does fraid dem mickey mouse cheap stuff

this look good though ....

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2023, 4:23 pm

yes, sometimes you get what you pay for

milwaukee has a nice small recip saw which looks like that with short strokes
a gate guy came by me to do some work and had to cut a piece of metal which was deep in a hole,
he used that and it worked real good, a regular size recip saw would have been very difficult

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 14th, 2023, 9:01 am

adnj wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:The Weller butane irons (if you were in the market for one) are US$50 to $100, so that's a very fair price, IMO.
I think my supervisor would watch me and ask if I'm crazy.

As I said before, I have one. I paid for it. Sometimes crazy feels good.

i will check peakes and ssl , i bought a weller soldering iron with 3 led lights on it , nice thick cord when radio shack was closing down in movietowne , it still going to this day

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2023, 9:17 am

can JB waterweld be used to seal a hole in a 1000 gallon tank?

hole is right near the bulk head.....

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2023, 10:17 am

doubt, nothing really sticks to polyethylene plastic
they repair by plastic welding

i have a 600 with a leak on bottom edge

Phone Surgeon wrote:can JB waterweld be used to seal a hole in a 1000 gallon tank?

Postby maj. tom » January 14th, 2023, 10:34 am

Rotoplastics supposed to have a good standing warranty. Call them and see what they say. Repairs may not hold up to the weight of water inside and eventually fail again. Plus they have another layer of virgin LDPE polyethylene called "Health Gard" inside to stop leaching of plastic into your drinking water like what they have inside juice boxes and coke cans. A repair would mean that this layer is breached anyway.

Postby Rovin » January 14th, 2023, 11:07 am

search YT for project farm , he did some tests with jb weld & other products like it ...

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2023, 5:06 am

maj. tom wrote:Rotoplastics supposed to have a good standing warranty. Call them and see what they say. Repairs may not hold up to the weight of water inside and eventually fail again. Plus they have another layer of virgin LDPE polyethylene called "Health Gard" inside to stop leaching of plastic into your drinking water like what they have inside juice boxes and coke cans. A repair would mean that this layer is breached anyway.
A padna give me the tank a few days ago. He paid 500 to repair it already and it failed. So he just buy a new tank

I was gonna use it as a filter over a pond so the leak isn't a issue but if it's a easy fix I wanted to try it.

Btw where can I get led lights like this locally and would it cost less than Amazonning it in

SZGMJIA 100W LED Barn Light, 15,000lm Dusk to Dawn Outdoor Yard Lighting with Photocell, 5000K Daylight, 600W MH/HPS Replacement, 5-Year Warranty, IP65 Waterproof for Security/Area Light https://a.co/d/7Zyvl9V

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 15th, 2023, 5:28 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:can JB waterweld be used to seal a hole in a 1000 gallon tank?

Plastic weld...I took a chance with a fella and he sort out a hairline crack on a 1000gal for me.

https://fb.watch/gOv07T5bxI/

matix

Postby matix » January 15th, 2023, 5:38 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Rotoplastics supposed to have a good standing warranty. Call them and see what they say. Repairs may not hold up to the weight of water inside and eventually fail again. Plus they have another layer of virgin LDPE polyethylene called "Health Gard" inside to stop leaching of plastic into your drinking water like what they have inside juice boxes and coke cans. A repair would mean that this layer is breached anyway.
A padna give me the tank a few days ago. He paid 500 to repair it already and it failed. So he just buy a new tank

I was gonna use it as a filter over a pond so the leak isn't a issue but if it's a easy fix I wanted to try it.

Btw where can I get led lights like this locally and would it cost less than Amazonning it in

SZGMJIA 100W LED Barn Light, 15,000lm Dusk to Dawn Outdoor Yard Lighting with Photocell, 5000K Daylight, 600W MH/HPS Replacement, 5-Year Warranty, IP65 Waterproof for Security/Area Light https://a.co/d/7Zyvl9V

Modern Electrical have those lights, last price was around $450.

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2023, 7:11 am

satco have one

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2023, 7:30 am

I want a good warranty though. I must be get about 15 of those led flood lights changed under warranty by boodoos. Green brand. Quality shitty but they honor the warranty

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 15th, 2023, 7:37 am

Forget all them fancy lights....go solar for around the same price or less...working out good thus far...keep ttec in mind

matix

Postby matix » January 15th, 2023, 7:46 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I want a good warranty though. I must be get about 15 of those led flood lights changed under warranty by boodoos. Green brand. Quality shitty but they honor the warranty

The IP rating that’s required for tropical conditions ideally is 67. Modern gives warranty on the lights, as for the solar lights, you have to consider the quality of the panels, battery storage and life.

Postby maj. tom » January 15th, 2023, 7:47 am

I saw PriceSmart had some LED floodlights. Commercial thing.
https://pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/411024

If the LED keeps giving out from Boodoo's you're right it's shitty quality, a bad, cheap driver circuit and poor quality manufactured diode. Good that they honouring the warranty, but you're wasting your time with that.

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2023, 8:17 am

I installed 2 of the pricesmart ones the other day,
3yrs ago I used the satco ones and they still working good, I got them for $300
now all them lights are $450+

the satco ones come with the arm pole whilst the pricesmart one flat mount.

high and out you get better dispersio coverage

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2023, 9:28 am

60 watt kinda dull @ pricesmart one

I looking for a few to put along the road in front my house. Street lights too dull

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 15th, 2023, 3:57 pm

There's a place called Bass LED in Cunupia, they sell many LED variations.

matix

Postby matix » January 15th, 2023, 4:58 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:60 watt kinda dull @ pricesmart one

I looking for a few to put along the road in front my house. Street lights too dull

Cheaper option, outdoor bell socket (can have 3 bulbs), individual outdoor LED 100W flood lamp bulbs, bulbs can be adjusted to whichever direction you require, if a bulb blows, just replace one bulb instead of entire light fixture.

Postby Rovin » January 15th, 2023, 10:46 pm

fellars where in central selling TOTAL TOOLS besides tool king\best for less hardwares ? their ad always coming across fb but i see fb ppl saying their prices higher than others, i dunno

have some work coming up & dont want to buy\give workmen expensive brands to use, cud be jes me but i find d INGCO pricing lil higher than total & d EMTOP [seems like d cheapest price of d 3] bright toy colors kinda making u wonder if it good, yea i know d looks nuh ..... :?

Turbo Turtle

Postby Turbo Turtle » January 15th, 2023, 11:05 pm

Same sentiments I have with the branding, look for home expo on fb, they deal with total, think they supposed to have a branch close d triangle.

Postby Rovin » January 15th, 2023, 11:21 pm

^^^ hey thanks for d info https://www.facebook.com/thehomeexpo

their website has alot more details ... https://www.thehomeexpo.net/collections/power-tools

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2023, 11:34 pm

Home expo gives 1 month warranty on the same item that tool king gives 3 months on

Postby Rovin » January 15th, 2023, 11:48 pm

well thats interesting with d warranty

depending on d items pricing seems similar though 1 may have somethings a few $ cheaper

seeing how they so closely located to each other must be rel fight up for sales between them ... :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 16th, 2023, 4:57 am

People could say what they want....nobody could beat courts with that extended warranty thing nah

Postby Chimera » January 16th, 2023, 5:26 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:People could say what they want....nobody could beat courts with that extended warranty thing nah
Best of the best

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2023, 5:44 am

which is the one inside the big compound next to highway?

Turbo Turtle wrote:Same sentiments I have with the branding, look for home expo on fb, they deal with total, think they supposed to have a branch close d triangle.