:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2021, 7:40 pm

ent it have a 1 or 2 certified dewalt repair centers in trinidad ? , u cud check there or ppl who repairs tools ...

Postby X_Factor » December 30th, 2021, 5:19 pm

Pro tools did repairs on a chop saw and drill...i guess they did a good job since after a few yrs both still work

As for the inline fuel pressure gauge i have one, pm for further info

mantis

Postby mantis » January 3rd, 2022, 4:11 am

Good day anyone knows where sells grinder dust attachment
71J2VywPC%2BL._AC_SX522_.jpg

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2022, 10:18 am

never seen that before. What's its purpose?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 4th, 2022, 10:53 am

MG Man wrote:never seen that before. What's its purpose?
Its a shield to put over the grinder to attach a vacuum for dust collection

Postby adnj » January 4th, 2022, 11:02 am

mantis wrote:Good day anyone knows where sells grinder dust attachment
71J2VywPC%2BL._AC_SX522_.jpg
For cutting:

https://amosestt.com/product/bosch-dust ... -grinders/

For surface sanding:

https://shopssltt.com/dust-cover-set-4-1-2-5

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2022, 12:08 pm

Prices are reasonable compared to Amazon etc.
But why are dust collection attachments so expensive?

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2022, 10:04 am

*KRONIK* wrote:

ah ok
I thought it was the entire assembly with some kinda fancy disc
I'm always looking for better ways to strip rust and paint of my burglar proofing, which is an almost annual chore
I don't use chemical paint stripper because that's a horribly nasty affair, especially for Jotun coating, so it's down to flap-wheels and wire brushes

Postby *KRONIK* » January 5th, 2022, 10:30 am

*KRONIK* wrote:

ah ok
I thought it was the entire assembly with some kinda fancy disc
I'm always looking for better ways to strip rust and paint of my burglar proofing, which is an almost annual chore
I don't use chemical paint stripper because that's a horribly nasty affair, especially for Jotun coating, so it's down to flap-wheels and wire brushes
This may be a good solutution

But isnt jotun supposed to be good weather proof stuff?

Why u need to strip it?

Postby MG Man » January 6th, 2022, 9:24 am

Jotun is good, but no matter what, rust always finds a way
I've stripped those bars to shiny metal, and used everything from red oxide to zinc chromate to coroseal rust converter as a primer, but within two years, I'm back with the grinder

Postby Dave » January 6th, 2022, 10:07 am

Jotun is good stuff. I recently tried out Berger marine coatings for already painted metal. It leaves a smooth finish so the water literally slides off. Looks good so far. Will see in a few years.

Postby Rovin » January 6th, 2022, 1:03 pm

if u get d steel back down to bare metal, chemical treated & proper primed\painted it really shouldnt rust so fast ..... stop peeing on ur metal work

Postby supercharged turbo » January 11th, 2022, 3:36 pm

Anybody know where I can get a blue kerosene container locally?

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » January 11th, 2022, 6:57 pm

The red Gasoline container is acceptable.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 11th, 2022, 10:25 pm

I know and so is the yellow but I want the blue just for convenience.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 15th, 2022, 7:39 pm

Also,where can I get a good heat gun?

carluva

Postby carluva » January 15th, 2022, 8:23 pm

Bought a DEWALT at Ft Farfan in Dec 2020.

Excellent.

Two different heat settings with adjustable temperature on each.

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2022, 1:13 pm

Looking for sds plus bit to drill for 8mm concrete anchor bolts

I bought a 5/16 makita drill bit in those plastic hanging bag pkg and it drilling too exact, like 7.9mm
damn bolt cant go in

I know when bits get dull and bent they tend to drill larger holes

Postby Kenjo » January 16th, 2022, 2:14 pm

pugboy wrote:Looking for sds plus bit to drill for 8mm concrete anchor bolts

I bought a 5/16 makita drill bit in those plastic hanging bag pkg and it drilling too exact, like 7.9mm
damn bolt cant go in

Is that the Green wall plug size ? I recently bought a hammer drill and all the bits were larger . I got a single bit at a hardware on king street in st joseph. I’ll see if I get the name later for you.

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2022, 2:27 pm

it’s for those gold colour rawl bolts

Kenjo wrote:
pugboy wrote:Looking for sds plus bit to drill for 8mm concrete anchor bolts

damn bolt cant go in

Is that the Green wall plug size ? I recently bought a hammer drill and all the bits were larger . I got a single bit at a hardware on king street in st joseph. I’ll see if I get the name later for you.

Postby Chimera » January 16th, 2022, 3:07 pm

You mean for m8 bolts? Just jiggle the bit a little lol

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 16th, 2022, 5:21 pm

pugboy wrote:it’s for those gold colour rawl bolts

Try Bhagwansingh’s. I got a drill bit at the Piarco branch to install that size eyelet anchor bolts last year December.

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2022, 6:51 pm

sds plus ?
and do you remember the brand?

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
pugboy wrote:it’s for those gold colour rawl bolts

Try Bhagwansingh’s. I got a drill bit at the Piarco branch to install that size eyelet anchor bolts last year December.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2022, 9:16 pm

MG Man wrote:Jotun is good, but no matter what, rust always finds a way
I've stripped those bars to shiny metal, and used everything from red oxide to zinc chromate to coroseal rust converter as a primer, but within two years, I'm back with the grinder

I’ve had good results with Rustoleum paint on wrought iron. Lasts for years with no rust. Even better on galvanized steel section.

Postby timelapse » January 16th, 2022, 9:40 pm

Anybody tried those Total generators for welding as yet?Might buy one soon

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2022, 8:03 am

you need a min 7-8k to run a welder, preferable 8k+

timelapse wrote:Anybody tried those Total generators for welding as yet?Might buy one soon

jackal

Postby jackal » January 18th, 2022, 5:52 am

Generator.jpg
Generator.jpg (10.55 KiB) Viewed 2302 times
pugboy wrote:you need a min 7-8k to run a welder, preferable 8k+

timelapse wrote:Anybody tried those Total generators for welding as yet?Might buy one soon

Boy, last month, I got a 11.5KW duramax generator by Pricemart for just under 4K, I considered it a steal of a deal. The 12KW was just under 9K. Last week, I went to PM and the same 12KW generator was just under 6K.

Need it to run a Lincoln stick welder.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 8:32 am

you dont need much bigger than the 11.5kw to run a welder
i am not sure but have heard inverter welders use less current.

and you can use it to run multiple things, 2 or 3 fridges simultaneously.

Postby MG Man » January 22nd, 2022, 4:37 pm

B066EC9D-F8B2-46EC-A4A5-02C856F2EEE5.jpg

New toys

Postby Rovin » January 22nd, 2022, 7:11 pm

fancy ting

i have d lil portable 1 some yrs going, hardly ever use it but it come in handy for a few situations

i simply use a straight edge or 4ft level & 2 spring clamps ...