:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » January 10th, 2023, 8:19 pm

Rovin wrote:finally got my amazon ordered pressure washer turbo nozzle looks like this https://www.lowes.com/pd/SurfaceMaxx-36 ... le/3117679

i tested it sunday for about ah hr

at 1st i wondered if a fell for some marketing gimmick as it was kinda choppy leaving a bunch of circular skip out makes , then realise when i held it up higher like about a foot above ground it worked much better , then i cranked up d machine & it really lived up to d hype ... water hits harder & much wider than normal yellow 15 degree tip, its like a downward strong whipping tornado, cleans about 2-3 times as fast now ... cost iirc was about us35 with 6 normal color tips included compared to tt500 locally by itself

only time & how much work hrs it gets will tell how durable this tip is but at this time i give it a thumbs up ....
The karcher electric comes with a "turbo nozzle" that does the same

It cleans much better than the fan nozzle
But splatters too much for my liking

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2023, 8:26 pm

it will splatter since the stream is direct stream spinning full 360 as opposed to a flat stream spattering in 180 sides

i had 2 of the stock karcher turbo nozzles crap out on me, i ordered an aftermarket one but never used it for over a year and tried using it this weekend but it spinning real slow and seems to not have the power.
I end up going on youtube and fellas show you how to repair the karcher nozzle

My sister also had 2 crap out on her, I feel they must sell a lot of them. hadden does tell you it spoils when you use the nozzle too close to the ground and debris splash up into the nozzle which is totally false.

I also used the surface cleaner whole afternoon and its better than trying to wave and aim a nozzle.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 10th, 2023, 10:52 pm

So i see they have a small surface cleaner for the electric units

Them thing does work good?
Or leave that for them bigger, wheeled, 3000+psi models?

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2023, 11:45 pm

It better than using nozzle for large areas, more relaxing to just slowly pull it in a line
Like cutting lawn with a wacker vs mower

It is less power since it is split into a few streams, like 85-90%

*KRONIK* wrote:So i see they have a small surface cleaner for the electric units

Postby Dave » January 11th, 2023, 6:29 am

*KRONIK* wrote:So i see they have a small surface cleaner for the electric units

I bought the Greenworks unit which is rated to 2200psi.
That's my new favorite tool.
Everyone home was amazed as they never saw a surface cleaner before.
Best part about these cleaners is .....no mess.
I used it with a Sunjoe 2030psi so I was on the higher end of electric washers.
I also have a Ryobi 1700psi which doesn't seem any less potent but have to try it out and see on something rated less powerful.

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2023, 6:46 am

yeah, it doesnt splatter at all since covered
with lower power washers the trick is to not let water pool under as the stream will get softened hitting a layer of water
dont hold too long or jiggle to to sweep out any water pooled if you find water pooling under

Dave wrote:

I bought the Greenworks unit which is rated to 2200psi.
That's my new favorite tool.
Everyone home was amazed as they never saw a surface cleaner before.
Best part about these cleaners is .....no mess.
I used it with a Sunjoe 2030psi so I was on the higher end of electric washers.
I also have a Ryobi 1700psi which doesn't seem any less potent but have to try it out and see on something rated less powerful.

Postby Chimera » January 11th, 2023, 7:25 am

I have a 15" Karcher surface cleaner rated up to 3200psi to sell. $900
Brand new

Postby Dave » January 11th, 2023, 9:13 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I have a 15" Karcher surface cleaner rated up to 3200psi to sell. $900
Brand new
There's a guy looking for one in the classifieds.

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2023, 9:21 am

i have a wand where the nozzle connects with a quick connect fitting but the fitting not coming out as it appears the slide back part jammed
any suggestions?
guessing the little balls stuck in a position

Postby Chimera » January 11th, 2023, 9:31 am

pugboy wrote:i have a wand where the nozzle connects with a quick connect fitting but the fitting not coming out as it appears the slide back part jammed
any suggestions?
guessing the little balls stuck in a position

hit him some WD 40 and work it in and out as well as flush it with water
it would come loose eventually

Postby Rovin » January 11th, 2023, 11:12 am

yes wd40 self , had that problem with mine both sides wouldnt want to come off for hell sake , tried wringing it ope with slip joint pliers & lightly tapping emc with a piece of iron , spanner & hammer , didnt budge at all - like it locked up

soak e tail with wd40 & a few wks after 1 day i noticed it had loosen by itself & was able to press it to come out like normal , i feel hadda wd40 it now\then to prevent this from happening again ... maybe some sort of thin light body oil on it too

Postby Dave » January 11th, 2023, 11:22 am

Belray water proof grease for those wet metal parts.

Postby maj. tom » January 11th, 2023, 11:39 am

When pressure washing particles of blowback dirt get stuck in the fine threading and between ball bearings sometimes and the nozzle gets stuck because you can't retract the ring. It's not rust, so WD-40 wouldn't really work, but try anyway you never know. Tap it shake it....

But if it really stuck that bad the only way to lose it is to take it apart and clean the bearings. I not sure that can be done since it sealed. You can replace this little piece here in the wand though, because it's supposed to screw out.

Postby Chimera » January 11th, 2023, 11:44 am

wd40 would lubricate it enough to work it loose

matix

Postby matix » January 11th, 2023, 11:54 am

Penetrating liquid works much better. Similar spray can as WD40

Postby Rovin » January 11th, 2023, 12:18 pm

most guys would have a can of wd40 or CRC so its a use what u have laying around thing ...

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2023, 3:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:Morning guys , does anyone know where I can get a Weller soldering iron 60 watt.

Brands like Weller, Hakko and JBC are well and impressive when you Google about soldering, but they're expensive and professional level tools.

Get this. I'm sure it'll be suitable for your applications. Collect some solder wire 63/37 one time and some rosin flux. Not plumber flux eh, that has zinc chloride acid and will damage anything electronics. Rosin Flux. It will say rosin or PCB flux on the package.

Here are some of my experience and textbook tips:

I usually set the iron at + 50°C above the melting point of the solder for a good melted connection on the two surfaces, i.e. no cold joints. And then +100°C as a heat reserve for thermal recovery since heat is largely lost by immediate contact through the zeroth law. So typical leaded solder I set at around 330°C, for unleaded silver alloy applications like what robots use on OEM boards it's set to 375°C.
Of course things burn rather quickly at higher temps, so it just takes a bit of practice to develop a skill to get efficient with your movements.

Always use flux to protect your joints from oxidation and to allow the hot solder to flow on the copper pads with less surface tension. Clean up after with 90% or higher iso-propyl alcohol and some q-tips.

Use a chisel tip at least 1.0mm because efficiency is all about thermal contact area, so tip size would depend on your application.

Do use a mask and a fan in your work area because you don't want to breathe in soldering fumes. Wash your hands well with Squeezy after, or use gloves because it's all poison heavy metals that you won't want contact with too long.
I have been soldering over 20 plus years , I just need one for when I'm going offshore or on a call out Incase I have to solder something. We use Weller soldering stations in the lab . Love using them. I will check peakes and see if they have any Weller brand.

Postby maj. tom » January 11th, 2023, 4:03 pm

oh sorry man didn't mean to be so presumptuous. You may have to go on Amazon to get that for real. The Weller tips some place in South used to have last year I remember seeing them. Maybe they would have.... i'll get back to you if I recall where.
Last edited by maj. tom on January 11th, 2023, 4:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2023, 4:04 pm

adnj wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
pugboy wrote:not very common but you can get good 100w ones
what type of work?

trinibajan34 wrote:Morning guys , does anyone know where I can get a Weller soldering iron 60 watt.
Oil field, 100w will be an overkill, 60 will be good to melt high temp solder without burning off the insulation on the wire.
30 to 60 watt is common for electronics assembly. Cables, lugs, and others use 100 to 250 watt.

I can only remember seeing Weller irons at Peakes and SSL.

If you're sitting at a bench doing your work, consider ordering a Weller digital soldering station (US$100 to US$125). Many are 70 watts and will heat up quickly to the exact temp that you want. I also use a Weller butane soldering iron for the odd wire splice that comes up once every two or three years.
Which peakes branch?

Postby adnj » January 11th, 2023, 4:24 pm

maj. tom wrote:oh sorry man didn't mean to be so presumptuous. You may have to go on Amazon to get that for real. The Weller tips some place in South used to have last year I remember seeing them. Maybe they would have.... i'll get back to you if I recall where.
This is a classy response. *tips hat*

Postby adnj » January 11th, 2023, 4:26 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
pugboy wrote:not very common but you can get good 100w ones
what type of work?

Oil field, 100w will be an overkill, 60 will be good to melt high temp solder without burning off the insulation on the wire.
30 to 60 watt is common for electronics assembly. Cables, lugs, and others use 100 to 250 watt.

I can only remember seeing Weller irons at Peakes and SSL.

If you're sitting at a bench doing your work, consider ordering a Weller digital soldering station (US$100 to US$125). Many are 70 watts and will heat up quickly to the exact temp that you want. I also use a Weller butane soldering iron for the odd wire splice that comes up once every two or three years.
Which peakes branch?
POS in the Home Store tool section.

Postby Rovin » January 11th, 2023, 6:27 pm

milwaukee has their cordless 12v battery powered soldering tool , from what i see online ppl say it works good ... :|

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2023, 7:58 pm

Rovin wrote:milwaukee has their cordless 12v battery powered soldering tool , from what i see online ppl say it works good ... :|
Forgot about that , I have a friend I'm Barbados who has one, he uses it for soldering wires for music.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2023, 8:01 pm

maj. tom wrote:oh sorry man didn't mean to be so presumptuous. You may have to go on Amazon to get that for real. The Weller tips some place in South used to have last year I remember seeing them. Maybe they would have.... i'll get back to you if I recall where.
No worries man, it's all good.

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2023, 9:01 pm

i sprayed the pressure washer quick connect with penetrating oil
will if it works

Postby supercharged turbo » January 11th, 2023, 10:33 pm

I see Allied selling Weller Soldering irons almost everytime I go..not sure of the wattage tho but its worth a check

Postby maj. tom » January 11th, 2023, 11:35 pm

^ It's probably Allied I remember seeing Weller yuh know. Either there or Southern Supplies by Sutton St.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 12th, 2023, 9:14 pm

I saw this by them , too expensive .
IMG_20230112_121247.jpg

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 9:36 pm

The Weller butane irons (if you were in the market for one) are US$50 to $100, so that's a very fair price, IMO.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 12th, 2023, 9:59 pm

adnj wrote:The Weller butane irons (if you were in the market for one) are US$50 to $100, so that's a very fair price, IMO.
I think my supervisor would watch me and ask if I'm crazy.