:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2022, 5:11 pm

if you ever use old pvc that have an oxidized layer on it you will notice the solvent dont soften quick on contact esp if the solvent is not newly opened.
the primer removes the off white oxidized layer immediately

fokhan_96 wrote:
pugboy wrote:you dont really need that if you make sure that the sponge rubs the glue in and you can see the pvc outer layer affected by the glue but it takes more time and glue to make sure

if you doing critical stuff like a swimming pool or pipes inside walls then better to be safe and use primer
Hmmm never used primer. Used the good ole "christle" solvent and bonds good.

matix

Postby matix » July 4th, 2022, 10:01 pm

Sandpaper then glue

Postby adnj » July 4th, 2022, 10:48 pm

matix wrote:Sandpaper then glue
Sandpaper is for chamfering the rough edges of the pipe end. You can also use a utility knife to do the same thing.

Cut, chamfer, prime, cement.

Postby pugboy » July 5th, 2022, 5:20 am

the edge of the noncutting side of a hacksaw blade works well to chamfer and remove the fuzz

Postby maj. tom » July 5th, 2022, 5:28 am

hacksaw? need to upgrade. No burs, slice clean professional cuts exactly on the mark. Takes 5 seconds. $50. Haven't used a hacksaw on PVC pipe for a long time.

matix

Postby matix » July 5th, 2022, 5:49 am

maj. tom wrote:hacksaw? need to upgrade. No burs, slice clean professional cuts exactly on the mark. Takes 5 seconds. $50. Haven't used a hacksaw on PVC pipe for a long time.

That works fine for 1/2” & 3/4” and for thin pipe. When using SCH40 and up plus bigger pipe sizes it’s Chop saw, reciprocating saw, hacksaw.

Postby maj. tom » July 5th, 2022, 5:52 am

well yeah I meant typical home use.

matix

Postby matix » July 5th, 2022, 6:02 am

maj. tom wrote:well yeah I meant typical home use.

I have a Klein pipe cutter going on 9 years, same blade on it since I bought it, and that gets almost daily use.

Postby pugboy » July 5th, 2022, 6:06 am

i have one long time too, bought it in home depot must be 10yrs ago
but it always being misplaced
i find that with some brands of pvc pipe the edge has a burr and requires extra effort to smooth out or it doesnt go into fittings easily

matix

Postby matix » July 5th, 2022, 6:11 am

pugboy wrote:i have one long time too, bought it in home depot must be 10yrs ago
i find that with some brands of pvc pipe the edge has a burr and requires extra effort to smooth out or it doesnt go into fittings easily

Indeed, you will find that with different brands of fittings & pipe for plumbing.

Postby timelapse » July 5th, 2022, 6:52 am

matix wrote:
maj. tom wrote:hacksaw? need to upgrade. No burs, slice clean professional cuts exactly on the mark. Takes 5 seconds. $50. Haven't used a hacksaw on PVC pipe for a long time.

That works fine for 1/2” & 3/4” and for thin pipe. When using SCH40 and up plus bigger pipe sizes it’s Chop saw, reciprocating saw, hacksaw.
I use mine to cut small tree branches sometimes

carluva

Postby carluva » July 5th, 2022, 7:28 am

Which is why one should stick to more reputable brands such as the Century Eslon fittings and pipe. There are a couple of other fitting brands whose name slips me ATM, but which work well.

I have found that the pipe is where there is a great gap in quality control. From my experience, the best pipes are Century Eslon and NWM. The Shazam pipe is utter crap.
matix wrote:
pugboy wrote:i have one long time too, bought it in home depot must be 10yrs ago

Indeed, you will find that with different brands of fittings & pipe for plumbing.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 6th, 2022, 6:26 pm

matix wrote:

There are bigger ones, one that I saw cuts up to 2" sch40 easy, long handle for plenty leverage.

There is also a tool that you can use to bevel the inside of outside of a pipe, you skip it on the edge and rotate it like how you chalk a pool cue tip

matix

Postby matix » July 6th, 2022, 6:42 pm

Kronik wrote:
matix wrote:

There are bigger ones, one that I saw cuts up to 2" sch40 easy, long handle for plenty leverage.

There is also a tool that you can use to bevel the inside of outside of a pipe, you skip it on the edge and rotate it like how you chalk a pool cue tip

You have any links for them?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 9th, 2022, 12:22 pm

Anyone knows the average cost of a battery powered cordless impact driver drill?

Postby Chimera » July 9th, 2022, 12:27 pm

DMan7 wrote:Anyone knows the average cost of a battery powered cordless impact driver drill?

600 to 2000
total to ronix to ingco to makita to dewalt to milwaukee

depend on what yuh using it for and if yuh want 12 v or 18v or 20v and what size shaft/drive yuh want

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 9th, 2022, 12:34 pm

^ I might get it cheaper if I buy it online if the minimum price is $600 down here. I just wanted something cheap, lightweight and portable and well from I've seen online the typical voltage is 20v and 2800 - 3000 RPM with 1/4 inch shaft.

matix

Postby matix » July 9th, 2022, 12:38 pm

DMan7 wrote:Anyone knows the average cost of a battery powered cordless impact driver drill?

What will you be using it for?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 9th, 2022, 12:43 pm

matix wrote:

Mostly as a replacement for a screwdriver so it will be quicker to unscrew / screw stuff. I also see it can be used to disassemble lug nuts on the car tires as well another possible future use for it.

Postby adnj » July 9th, 2022, 12:56 pm

DMan7 wrote:
matix wrote:

Mostly as a replacement for a screwdriver so it will be quicker to unscrew / screw stuff. I also see it can be used to disassemble lug nuts on the car tires as well another possible future use for it.

In my opinion, decide if you want other cordless tools and then buy a kit with two or more tools. You won't spend much more but you'll get a lot more.

An impact driver will replace a ratchet but you'll want to use a drill with torque control to replace a screwdriver.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 9th, 2022, 1:00 pm

Nah I already have a hammer drill, just looking for something lightweight to replace a screwdriver and cordless.

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2022, 1:17 pm

well buy one of the chinese

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 9th, 2022, 1:54 pm

^Yea they cheap as hell.

Postby Rovin » July 9th, 2022, 2:10 pm

Deburring Reamer Tubing Chamfer Tool for PVC

https://www.amazon.com/Pieces-Inner-Out ... 610&sr=8-9

i myself use metal or wood chop saw to cut pvc pipes at home ...

Postby nervewrecker » July 9th, 2022, 4:30 pm

matix wrote:
Kronik wrote:
matix wrote:

You have any links for them?

Save yourself the trouble and get a tubing cutter

I had a yellow jacket tubing cutter and it walk away. Used it to cut pipe and terminate armored cables.

Postby nervewrecker » July 9th, 2022, 4:32 pm

DMan7 wrote:
matix wrote:

None of them micky mouse impact drivers taking out lug nuts. Unless you mean unscrew them after you break them.

I have both the Milwaukee 12V and Dewalt 20V, the Dewalt is real tempo.

hindian

Postby hindian » July 9th, 2022, 8:48 pm

IMG_0537.JPG

My first chook in Total tools. Wifey see the scissors and grab it one time. I really went for the inflator cuz I have my own compressor and ended up with the welding magnets. About $250 total

Postby Chimera » July 9th, 2022, 10:49 pm

DMan7 wrote:
matix wrote:

None of them micky mouse impact drivers taking out lug nuts. Unless you mean unscrew them after you break them.

The milwaukee m12 fuel line easily removes lugnuts. I have these two

Screenshot_20220709-224902_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg
Screenshot_20220709-224850_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 10th, 2022, 12:22 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
matix wrote:

Not mine nah, my m18 mid impact takes some doing to remove lug nuts

Postby *KRONIK* » July 10th, 2022, 3:08 pm

Kronik wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
matix wrote:

Not mine nah, my m18 mid impact takes some doing to remove lug nuts
Nah man
Doh say that

My lil dewalt impact ¼" hex driver (@152ft/lbs max, *which i question) can take off some wheel nuts easily, especially those lower torqued ones or ones that i tightened myself
(Not tire shop spec tighten)

My dewalt ½" impact hasnt met a bolt yet it couldnt take off (@ 350 ft/lbs & 700 ft/lb breakaway)
And this is the mid spec one, there are 2 sizes up iirc
Although i hardly use it, i dont regret the purchase