:: The official TOOLS thread ::

NR8

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby NR8 » April 13th, 2022, 12:55 pm

hindian wrote:I learnt about the zip tie/ cutlass wire trick years ago. So it narrow down to the Total 2200psi and the Karcher k2 1600psi. I would like to go with the Total but I worried about the off brand offerings. Thoughts?
A relative of mine has had the Total 2200psi for over two years now. Taking licks every weekend and going strong.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 13th, 2022, 1:03 pm

NR8 wrote:
hindian wrote:I learnt about the zip tie/ cutlass wire trick years ago. So it narrow down to the Total 2200psi and the Karcher k2 1600psi. I would like to go with the Total but I worried about the off brand offerings. Thoughts?
A relative of mine has had the Total 2200psi for over two years now. Taking licks every weekend and going strong.
I personally had a Karcher K2 I bought on eBay some years ago for small money. I found it to be underpowered and ended up selling it to upgrade to a K5 premium which was pretty awesome.

I was back and forth between places at the time and the K5 was pretty heavy to lug around. I put it up for sale on tuner and bought this. Really light and even more powerful than the K5. I don't expect it to last as long but for the price I got it I could buy 2 (which I did).
e6052d09-1a6e-4405-9aed-93c3c362883a.f0beceb629b27d6fa0439ae074d8b2fe.jpg

Postby MG Man » April 13th, 2022, 3:44 pm

yeah that K5 is def on the heavy side

hindian

Postby hindian » April 21st, 2022, 7:23 pm

Fellas where can I get the solvent or glue that the tyre men use to patch yuh tube/ tyre with

Postby timelapse » April 21st, 2022, 7:50 pm

hindian wrote:Fellas where can I get the solvent or glue that the tyre men use to patch yuh tube/ tyre with
Bike shop
You asking for rubber cement

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2022, 8:56 pm

vulcanizing is what they call it

hindian

Postby hindian » April 21st, 2022, 9:33 pm

Nice thanks fellas

Postby De Dragon » April 21st, 2022, 9:36 pm

pugboy wrote:vulcanizing is what they call it

It doesn't strictly have to say "vulcanizing", any rubber cement will do for joining rubber

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2022, 9:42 pm

it’s technically a chemical reaction which occurs and “joins” the rubber and patch
not just gluing/cementing adhesion

Postby maj. tom » April 21st, 2022, 9:46 pm

Vulcanizing Fluid

@0:34s

Vulcanizing fluid reacts and melts with the existing rubber, regular rubber cement just forms a chemical bond between the two layers of itself when the solvent evaporates. For a tire that's going to take extreme wear and tear, the bond between the rubber cement and the tire rubber will break apart. You need vulcanizing fluid.

Postby De Dragon » April 21st, 2022, 9:57 pm

hindian wrote:Fellas where can I get the solvent or glue that the tyre men use to patch yuh tube/ tyre with

He wants rubber cement to glue two rubber surfaces together, hence vulcanizing fluid isn't needed.

Postby maj. tom » April 21st, 2022, 10:02 pm

Oh ok. Well I can't ever recall seeing the vulcanizing fluid being sold locally. Tire shops will have it who do vulcanizing repairs, and there are a few tools and a technique needed to do it the correct way. So if it's more than a bicycle tire OP you should carry it into a tire shop to do a proper repair. For safety.

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2022, 5:22 am

evostik then

He wants rubber cement to glue two rubber surfaces together, hence vulcanizing fluid isn't needed.

Postby De Dragon » April 22nd, 2022, 6:24 am

pugboy wrote:evostik then

"Proper" vulcanization to join rubber is a long process requiring chemicals and heat to do. I highly doubt this is what hindian is attempting, so thus he shouldn't insist on the rubber cement having the word "vulcanizing" on it, lest he buy the wrong thing.

Postby timelapse » April 22nd, 2022, 6:36 am

Make sure to rough sand whatever surface it is

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2022, 7:06 am

like allyuh fellas didnt benefit from common entrance/sea reading and comprehension section or wha ?

the man ask for what the tyre shops use,
afaik tyre shops ONLY use vulcanizing fluid....

Postby timelapse » April 22nd, 2022, 7:28 am

pugboy wrote:like allyuh fellas didnt benefit from common entrance/sea reading and comprehension section or wha ?

the man ask for what the tyre shops use,
afaik tyre shops ONLY use vulcanizing fluid....
Like you don't take your own advice?You say as far as YOU know.He also mentioned tubes.Tire shops patch tubes with rubber cement.
I see that reading has failed you.
Because YOU don't know something, doesn't mean that it's wrong, it just means that you not as bright as you think.

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2022, 7:37 am

yes you are correct,

can you provide us with name of said non vulcanizing aka rubber cement which tire shops use? and where to get
i wanna get some to stick tubing for a slingshot

Postby timelapse » April 22nd, 2022, 7:53 am

pugboy wrote:yes you are correct,

can you provide us with name of said non vulcanizing aka rubber cement which tire shops use? and where to get
Most of the guys I know use Elmer's or a brand called Slime.What do you need to stick in a slingshot?If its sticking the tube to itself use Dunlop brand contact cement.Evo stik doesn't hold as well IMO.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 22nd, 2022, 9:42 am

timelapse wrote:

Most of the guys I know use Elmer's or a brand called Slime.What do you need to stick in a slingshot?If its sticking the tube to itself use Dunlop brand contact cement.Evo stik doesn't hold as well IMO.
Fellas I didn't mean for no argument. The purpose of the glue/ vulcanizing liquid etc is that I usually plug my own vehicle tyres so I have all the the tools to do so but I have run out of the aforementioned liquid so I was looking for a place that sells tyre repair supplies/ tools for that purpose. Apologies for the mix up

Postby Rovin » April 22nd, 2022, 10:50 am

bigger companies who bring in their own tires &\or wholesale to other tire shops shud have that like mileage mack, tire clinic , mag rim center , racetrac, automotive components etc ...

Postby rollingstock » April 22nd, 2022, 11:17 am

What you want is rubber cement. Any rubber cement will work. Some are branded 'vulcanizing', it's not true vulcanizing but a chemical process. Those should give a better bond. You can check those tyre shops to see if they have or the small tubes bicycle shops have will work.

Postby rollingstock » April 22nd, 2022, 11:17 am

Not contact cement eh :lol:

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2022, 2:49 pm

hindian wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Fellas I didn't mean for no argument. The purpose of the glue/ vulcanizing liquid etc is that I usually plug my own vehicle tyres so I have all the the tools to do so but I have run out of the aforementioned liquid so I was looking for a place that sells tyre repair supplies/ tools for that purpose. Apologies for the mix up
You don't need vulcanizing rubber cement for plugging a radial tire. You do need it if you are patching a large hole or patching a tube. Some tube patches are available that do not require cement either. The package will tell you what is required.

Vulcanizing cement on a (may still be some out there that do) radial plug only acts as a lubricant. The plug itself provides the required seal.

https://slime.com/pages/vulcanizing-patches-plugs

Here is the vulcanizing cement that I use.

Postby Rovin » April 27th, 2022, 11:29 am

so i see on fb inshan started selling tools ...

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2022, 11:38 am

yea but u not allowed to use the tools in any structure that deals in the selling/killing/cooking of Pork items

Postby Dave » April 27th, 2022, 11:59 am

Tech Trinidad brings in those tyre repair stuff.
Harry Laughlin is the mans name.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 27th, 2022, 7:33 pm

Dave wrote:Tech Trinidad brings in those tyre repair stuff.
Harry Laughlin is the mans name.
Got a number? I'm searching and getting an electronics store unless it the same business

Edit: got the numbers but none of them in service

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2022, 7:41 am

Looking for stainless cutlass, dont have to be long ones

Postby X_Factor » May 16th, 2022, 9:00 am

Macoya market
I know i saw it there but cant remember the length