:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2022, 1:26 pm

https://www.ebay.com/itm/263773842173

this is the part you need to replace, along with a thinner oring for the fitting which goes into it.

pugboy wrote:what happened to the follow me?
started to leak?

yup
bu wanted something with more power as well

Postby MG Man » April 8th, 2022, 1:31 pm

sweet, thanks :)

Postby *KRONIK* » April 8th, 2022, 2:53 pm

Rovin wrote:thing about power washers as any technician will tell u is avoid quick stop n go usage meaning when u press trigger use it for more than a few seconds longer d better so d pump wont have to stop\go or d motor stop\start often

i put a zip tie on d trigger of my gas machine that never comes off ...
Correct

I learnt this from my padna who owns a tool rental store
All his gas units the handles are zip-tied so they either running full or switch off the machine

Postby *KRONIK* » April 8th, 2022, 2:56 pm

pugboy wrote:^yeah the unloader valve supposed to help that but there is still a fraction of a second where those start stops put the pump under real strain.

hadden very expensive imo, the first manifold that went bad they changed under warranty but forgot to put some oring seal on the shaft so it leaked oil, when I took it back they said it had just past warranty period and charged me $250 for a little oring.
the manifold went a second time and I bought a new one online, used a slightly smaller oring on the piece that fits into it and it worked well for a long time until I lent it to somebody who ran it with out water and locked up the motor.
the karcher motors are very good and can take licks once you dont do stupid things like run without water.

I eventually bought the high model K5(amazon) which is pretty decent and guts seem to be all metal and heavy.

Whey boi

It had a few times i run mine with the hose off
I always wondered when it go come back to bite me.

All the k5 older and current run aluminum pumps
When my k4 dies someday, that what i'm getting to replace it

Postby Chimera » April 8th, 2022, 3:01 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Rovin wrote:thing about power washers as any technician will tell u is avoid quick stop n go usage meaning when u press trigger use it for more than a few seconds longer d better so d pump wont have to stop\go or d motor stop\start often

i put a zip tie on d trigger of my gas machine that never comes off ...
Correct

I learnt this from my padna who owns a tool rental store
All his gas units the handles are zip-tied so they either running full or switch off the machine

first time i hearing this

hindian

Postby hindian » April 8th, 2022, 3:56 pm

I learnt about the zip tie/ cutlass wire trick years ago. So it narrow down to the Total 2200psi and the Karcher k2 1600psi. I would like to go with the Total but I worried about the off brand offerings. Thoughts?
Last edited by hindian on April 8th, 2022, 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 8th, 2022, 5:02 pm

hindian wrote:I learnt about the zip tie/ cutlass wire trick years ago. So it narrow down to the Total 2200psi and the Karcher k2 1600psi. I would like to go with the Total but I worried about purchasing offerings. Thoughts?
I personally would choose the karcher as its repairable in the long run and you can get the parts online if you dont wanna buy from hadden.
Total may up like a BIC razor, when it done; throw it out

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2022, 6:03 pm

i learnt about d zip tie on trigger yrssss ago when my bro sent d power washer for a service, it makes alot of logical sense when u think of it

*KRONIK* wrote:
hindian wrote:I learnt about the zip tie/ cutlass wire trick years ago. So it narrow down to the Total 2200psi and the Karcher k2 1600psi. I would like to go with the Total but I worried about purchasing offerings. Thoughts?

I personally would choose the karcher as its repairable in the long run and you can get the parts online if you dont wanna buy from hadden.

i havent used total but i will have to agree with going with d more reputable brand, allyuh know i like my well known brand name tools

kinda like choosing a power acoustik amp 1000w vs a rockford 700w, guess which 1 will actually perform & sound better even though it has lower numbers ...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 9th, 2022, 8:23 am

*KRONIK* wrote:

BIC razor blades are the sharpest available out of the box though.

Postby timelapse » April 9th, 2022, 8:39 am

kamakazi wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

So are UWI students, but go figure.lol

blacklight

Postby blacklight » April 9th, 2022, 8:59 am

need to start pruning the trees in my yard....looking at these two options:

https://amosestt.com/product/20v-dewalt-20v-cordless-pole-saw-pole-hedge-trimmer-combo-kit/

or

https://bax.tools/en/total-%CE%B2%CE%B5%CE%BD%CE%B6%CE%B9%CE%BD%CE%BF%CE%BA%CE%B9%CE%BD%CE%B7%CF%84%CE%BF-%CF%80%CE%BF%CE%BB%CF%85%CE%BC%CE%B7%CF%87%CE%B1%CE%BD%CE%B7%CE%BC%CE%B1-combi-4-%CF%83%CE%B5-1-52cc-(tmt55211)

Will prob be using it every two or three months to cut my ixora hedge, palms, bougainvillea trees and trim a bay leaf tree.

not sure about the serviceability of the TOTAL but i think it will be way more powerful......dunno if i need all that power.

What you guys think.....they both coming in around the same price.

Postby adnj » April 9th, 2022, 9:38 am

blacklight wrote:need to start pruning the trees in my yard....looking at these two options:

https://amosestt.com/product/20v-dewalt-20v-cordless-pole-saw-pole-hedge-trimmer-combo-kit/

or

https://bax.tools/en/total-%CE%B2%CE%B5%CE%BD%CE%B6%CE%B9%CE%BD%CE%BF%CE%BA%CE%B9%CE%BD%CE%B7%CF%84%CE%BF-%CF%80%CE%BF%CE%BB%CF%85%CE%BC%CE%B7%CF%87%CE%B1%CE%BD%CE%B7%CE%BC%CE%B1-combi-4-%CF%83%CE%B5-1-52cc-(tmt55211)

Will prob be using it every two or three months to cut my ixora hedge, palms, bougainvillea trees and trim a bay leaf tree.

not sure about the serviceability of the TOTAL but i think it will be way more powerful......dunno if i need all that power.

My opinion from use:

Cordless - best for using very frequently with light cutting over a large area. Low maintenance.

Gasoline - best for use over large areas with heavy cutting.
High maintenance.

Corded - best for using infrequently and for medium to heavy cutting over a small area. Near zero maintenance and will last decades.

Most consumers are very happy with cordless tools because of the low maintenance and convenience.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » April 9th, 2022, 10:04 am

adnj wrote:
blacklight wrote:need to start pruning the trees in my yard....looking at these two options:

or

My opinion from use:

Cordless - best for using very frequently with light cutting over a large area. Low maintenance.

Gasoline - best for use over large areas with heavy cutting.
High maintenance.

Corded - best for using infrequently and for medium to heavy cutting over a small area. Near zero maintenance and will last decades.

Most consumers are very happy with cordless tools because of the low maintenance and convenience.

Thanks.....i'll go cordless and prob pick up two aftermarket batteries based on runtime of the single battery

Postby adnj » April 9th, 2022, 11:09 am

Good luck.

If you do get the chain saw, when it's time to sharpen it, I find a Dremel tool and the correct stone works better than anything else.

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2022, 11:25 am

there is a stihl handheld cordless chainsaw type cutter which works really good

also a circular saw blade with chainsaw type teeth to fit on a wacker

Postby Chimera » April 9th, 2022, 1:13 pm

total has a chainsaw for $1600 i think

i have a small electric corded pole saw i using 4 years now
paid $75 for it on amazon
Worx brand

does most work without issue

in the rare rare event i had to do heavy tree cutting in the last 4 years....i rent a stihl chainsaw for $400 and deal with everything in one day

hindian

Postby hindian » April 9th, 2022, 4:59 pm

So i pulled the trigger on the combo in the pic. Got everything there for $1450 which I didn't find was bad. 2L simple green car wash, 2L tyre shine concentrate, 20 microfiber towels and the foam gun. The guy even threw in a microfiber wash mit free too.
20220409_165447.jpg

Postby Rovin » April 9th, 2022, 6:37 pm

nice, u get it by hadden or somewhere else ? ...

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2022, 7:15 pm

kamakazi wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

timelapse wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

So are UWI students, but go figure.lol
Why allyuh sooooooooo?

ROFL

hindian

Postby hindian » April 10th, 2022, 5:48 am

Rovin wrote:nice, u get it by hadden or somewhere else ? ...
I got it from Capital Equipment on FB. Real cool dude. They have other cool stuff as well

Postby X_Factor » April 10th, 2022, 3:58 pm

Anyone knows where i can get the epoxy that binds the steel in holes drilled in concrete?
Need to anchor 4 pieces of 5/8 steel

Postby X_Factor » April 10th, 2022, 4:01 pm

Something like this

Screenshot_2022-04-10-15-59-55-792_com.amazon.mShop.android.shopping.jpg

Postby Dave » April 10th, 2022, 5:12 pm

Check Bhagwansingh. They had an array of epoxies

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2022, 8:19 pm

X_Factor wrote:Anyone knows where i can get the epoxy that binds the steel in holes drilled in concrete?
Need to anchor 4 pieces of 5/8 steel
Since you are only working with 4 bored holes, you can use most epoxies to fix rebar into concrete. Epoxies with a higher strength rating should be used. High strength epoxies also have a longer set time.

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2022, 10:47 pm

All bigger hardwares does have it.
Bhags allied etc

I buy one named anchorset in El socorro by apzhal hardware

Postby MG Man » April 11th, 2022, 8:25 am

hindian wrote:
Rovin wrote:nice, u get it by hadden or somewhere else ? ...
I got it from Capital Equipment on FB. Real cool dude. They have other cool stuff as well

yeah realy decent fella

cainhurstcastletuner

Postby cainhurstcastletuner » April 11th, 2022, 1:41 pm

afternoon ppl

question about the karcher pressure washer that pricesmart has. Does it require a special fitting to connect the typical screw type hose to it or do i have to buy an adapter?

i was going to buy
the pressure washer
https://www.pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/397568

and this hose
https://www.pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/606861

but realized the internet shows snap connectors instead of the screw type. Not sure if i need an adapter and where would sell them.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 11th, 2022, 3:10 pm

cainhurstcastletuner wrote:afternoon ppl

question about the karcher pressure washer that pricesmart has. Does it require a special fitting to connect the typical screw type hose to it or do i have to buy an adapter?

i was going to buy
the pressure washer

and this hose

but realized the internet shows snap connectors instead of the screw type. Not sure if i need an adapter and where would sell them.
I got a karcher one with my k4,
Its a standard hose quick connect
But i use a regular quick connect with ¼turn valve to make handling the hose easier

Postby MG Man » April 11th, 2022, 3:43 pm

cainhurstcastletuner wrote:afternoon ppl

i was going to buy
the pressure washer

and this hose

the snap connector pops on to the male connector on the power washer itself. The other side of it will be threaded to accept the hose
It's price smart, so I'd suggest opening the box when they go to stamp your bill for the warranty, so you can be sure all the parts are there

cainhurstcastletuner

Postby cainhurstcastletuner » April 11th, 2022, 3:48 pm

many thanks