:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » July 10th, 2022, 4:11 pm

yuh have to remember that in all likelihood, a battery gun will be at a disadvantage against a nut put on by a tire shop air gun.
all them tire shops have gun set to max. I always tell them I want mines hand tightened.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 10th, 2022, 4:56 pm

pugboy wrote:yuh have to remember that in all likelihood, a battery gun will be at a disadvantage against a nut put on by a tire shop air gun.
all them tire shops have gun set to max. I always tell them I want mines hand tightened.
Lol

Thats why i specified "not tireshop spec tighten"

Boi
Even at a certian big name tire shop in the west, they does hand tighten so tight, impacts does see pain to buss them nuts

Postby adnj » July 10th, 2022, 7:05 pm

Most wheels are torque spec'd at 80 to 120 ft-lbs (960 - 1440 in-lbs). Some 1/4" hex impact drivers can handle that. Once you get a square drive, it's almost certainly going to produce more than 200 ft-lbs of torque and it's now called an impact wrench.

Heavy truck lug nut torque might be 3× or 4× higher.

Tire shops always seem to overtighten. I use a torque wrench on lug nuts.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 11th, 2022, 10:35 am

adnj wrote: I use a torque wrench on lug nuts.

What’s a decent brand Torque wrench that reasonably priced? Wanna get one to put together an engine and transmission.

Postby adnj » July 11th, 2022, 11:07 am

Parvin wrote:

What’s a decent brand Torque wrench that reasonably priced? Wanna get one to put together an engine and transmission.

For reasonably priced, I would say Tekton.

hindian

Postby hindian » July 11th, 2022, 11:18 am

Parvin wrote:

I bought a PT tools one the other day for $350 but I also have a Britool 1/2” drive. Only reason I bought the PT is because the Britool cannot tighten below 50ft/ lbs. so far. The calibration between the two are more r less the same

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 11th, 2022, 11:30 am

adnj wrote:
Parvin wrote:

I bought this Tekton on Amazon six years ago for $39USD. It has worked well, granted I only use it to torque wheel nuts. If you can find Performance Tool locally for a similar price, go for it.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C5 ... =UTF8&th=1

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2022, 11:36 am

if you feeling fancy there are digital ones now too
just
buy the correct range one

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 11th, 2022, 4:32 pm

Parvin wrote:

If you looking to really save some $$, you could even buy a total brand one. The differences between cheap and expensive torque wrenches is very minor in terms of calibration, like within 5% of spec

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 11th, 2022, 4:56 pm

Kool. Came across a Tolsen 1/2” so far for around $350

hindian

Postby hindian » July 11th, 2022, 5:24 pm

NR8 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Parvin wrote:

I bought this Tekton on Amazon six years ago for $39USD. It has worked well, granted I only use it to torque wheel nuts. If you can find Performance Tool locally for a similar price, go for it.

I got mine at A1 tools on saddle road, Performance tool brand

Postby Chimera » July 11th, 2022, 7:05 pm

pugboy wrote:yuh have to remember that in all likelihood, a battery gun will be at a disadvantage against a nut put on by a tire shop air gun.
How much ugga duggas you does hand tighten It too?

Postby maj. tom » July 11th, 2022, 7:30 pm

Cars lug nuts to tighten, follow a star pattern. Silicone grease, then finger tight all the way in plus another 1/4 or 1/2 turn with the wheel spanner using hand. Should be about 80 to 90 ft-lbs. I do this and then check it with a torque wrench and it was a good average. Using a 1-foot L wheel spanner it should be like the force to move 90 lbs so you can use that to average. Never use your foot on the wheel spanner to tighten for a car. Only to loosen.

Pickups supposed to be like 140 ft-lbs and higher which would mean tighten with foot using a wheel jack, but have no personal experience with that.

Postby adnj » July 11th, 2022, 9:09 pm

maj. tom wrote:Cars lug nuts to tighten, follow a star pattern. Silicone grease, then finger tight all the way in plus another 1/4 or 1/2 turn with the wheel spanner using hand. Should be about 80 to 90 ft-lbs. I do this and then check it with a torque wrench and it was a good average. Using a 1-foot L wheel spanner it should be like the force to move 90 lbs so you can use that to average. Never use your foot on the wheel spanner to tighten for a car. Only to loosen.

Pickups supposed to be like 140 ft-lbs and higher which would mean tighten with foot using a wheel jack, but have no personal experience with that.

No lubricants should be used on wheel lugs.
The required torque typically corresponds to the lug bolt diameter and thread pitch - the bigger the bolt, the higher the torque.
Aluminum wheels typically require more torque than steel.

If you have to use your foot to loosen a lug, you really need two or three feet of pipe to use as a wrench extension.

https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech ... techid=107

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2022, 4:37 pm

Had this one chick get a flat and was trying to take out the wheel nuts. One was on so tight the wheel spanner bent. It still didn't come out.

Postby sMASH » July 13th, 2022, 3:38 pm

yo yo, anybody come across push button start generators locally?

dredman1

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby dredman1 » July 14th, 2022, 11:32 pm

NR8 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Parvin wrote:

Could vouch for this as well. Bought that same Tekton about 8 or 9 years ago from Amazon and still going well to this day. Use it for my wheel lugs mostly, but it has seen other use on the car.

zorced

Postby zorced » July 18th, 2022, 9:51 am

I know this is a long shot but by chance anyone knows any place selling 5/8-11unc rotary hook and loop backing pads but in 5". I know 6-7" is the usual size so just checking.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 18th, 2022, 12:18 pm

Streetwise auto center or Rustic Autocolor

Postby De Dragon » July 18th, 2022, 10:17 pm

Where sells bungee type cords used for tying down loads in pickup trays?

carluva

Postby carluva » July 18th, 2022, 10:28 pm

Bhagwansinghs has a wide assortment.

I bought a pack a few weeks ago for under $100. Had about 12 in total of varying sizes from 10" to 36".

zorced

Postby zorced » July 19th, 2022, 9:52 am

Anybody know where sells thread adapters? 5/8-11 female to M14 male.
Edit: Tried Screw-tek, centaur, ssl so far. Seems like downsizing adapters also not commonplace.

Strugglerzinc wrote:Streetwise auto center or Rustic Autocolor

Thanks bud. Rustic restocking 6" soon. Can't get onto streewtwise yet but will check later. It seems like I might not be able to find 5" in that thread size down here though.

Postby X_Factor » July 24th, 2022, 8:48 am

zorced wrote:I know this is a long shot but by chance anyone knows any place selling 5/8-11unc rotary hook and loop backing pads but in 5". I know 6-7" is the usual size so just checking.

you can try tiny's auto if you are from curepe and environs

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 29th, 2022, 3:08 pm

1659119555386.jpg
Last edited by NR8 on November 22nd, 2022, 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 29th, 2022, 4:34 pm

NR8 wrote:Considering selling and upgrading from my Craftsman C3 19.2V cordless power tool bundle. It includes 1no. 1/2" impact wrench, 1no. hammer drill/driver, 1no. 4.5" angle grinder, 1no. multi-chemistry (Li-Ion and Ni-Cd) battery charger an 2no. 4Ah batteries (1 Craftsman XCP & 1 aftermarket).

They've all served me well for DIY use with good power and great battery life. The impact wrench can break axel nuts with ease and I've done my entire car suspension front and rear on 1 battery with charge remaining. The drill was used around the house and the grinder used less than 10 times. It's a great combo for a DIYer and original/aftermarket batteries and other Craftsman C3 tools are easily found online.

Considering letting it go for $2000. What yall think?

See model numbers below.
Impact wrench - 315.ID2030
Hammer drill - 315.HD2000
Angle Grinder - 315.FS2601B
Batter charger - 315.CH2030
XCP battery - 315.PP2030

1659119555386.jpg
I can vouch for milwaukee m18 tools. Those milwaukee batteries seems to defy the laws of physics by getting so much energy out of them to power these tools.

hindian

Postby hindian » August 2nd, 2022, 9:04 pm

Fellas where can i find a good quality mechanics pick set locally? Visited a couple places and didnt see any

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2022, 9:15 pm

Check Southern Supplies, Southern Wholesale or Allied Home Center.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 5th, 2022, 2:49 pm

hindian wrote:Fellas where can i find a good quality mechanics pick set locally? Visited a couple places and didnt see any

Capital Equipment on FB is advertising this today, $190

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2022, 11:46 am

Name of Product:

DeWALT 12-inch Sliding Compound Miter Saws

Hazard:

The miter saw’s rear safety guard can break or detach, posing an injury hazard due to projectiles that can strike the user and bystanders and a laceration hazard to the user who could come into direct contact with the saw blade.  

Remedy:

Repair

Recall Date:

August 04, 2022

Units:

About 1,364,000 (In addition, about 118,600 were sold in Canada)

https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2022/DeWAL ... on-Hazards

computercentral

Postby computercentral » August 6th, 2022, 1:20 pm

The batch numbers that came to Trinidad safe no recall here