:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Rovin » January 31st, 2023, 11:47 am

so i dont think i ever heard of this brand, i did a search here & didnt see it mentioned

saw it yesterday at boodoos electrical chase village

their fb page says
Boodoo's Electrical is now officially a distributor of Prescott Tools!
so wondering if bringing it down or somebody locally supplying them

Prescott Tools https://www.prescottools.com/ like this company have plenty of tools

looks exactly like total\ingco but is yellow & black like stanley\dewalt , prices look real good like 20-25% even cheaper than d others, ex : d SDM rotary drill in total is $900 ingco is a lil more like closer to 1000 but precott is $695 :shock:

1 mth warranty but still has to be d cheapest chinese tools i seen yet ... so far d variety less than 1\4 of d others like they now introducing it here or cud be i only now seeing it

Postby Chimera » January 31st, 2023, 1:06 pm

Lol imagine u in the middle of a job on a Sunday and your brand new prescott burn out after 5 mins

Postby Rovin » January 31st, 2023, 2:31 pm

well then u cyar pres no further ... :lol:

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 7th, 2023, 9:09 am

Looking for some proper stainless steel drill bits to buy.. what have you guys found to be the best?

Don’t need step bits. I tried Stanley, bosch and Dewalt and they just not holding up like it use to.. I am using cutting oil and still.

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2023, 9:10 am

Go on amazon and buy a big kit

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2023, 10:26 am

get brands like morse and make sure they specify for stainless

Postby adnj » February 7th, 2023, 10:59 am

nick639v2 wrote:Looking for some proper stainless steel drill bits to buy.. what have you guys found to be the best?

Don’t need step bits. I tried Stanley, bosch and Dewalt and they just not holding up like it use to.. I am using cutting oil and still.

You need a cobalt alloy to drill stainless.

Use a sharp bit, drill slowly, lubricate. Buy a bit sharpener if you can't sharpen your bit free hand on a bench grinder.

---------------------------------------

TECHNIQUES TO SHARPEN COBALT DRILL BITS
May 24, 2021

Cobalt drill bits are the best option for the most robust materials for a custom steel project. They are made with a small percentage of cobalt fused with hot-work steel; these bits are naturally more robust and more heat-resistant than typical drill bits due to the cobalt's infusion. Some cobalt drill bits can even withstand temperatures up to 1,100 degrees Fahrenheit.

It would be best if you had a pointy Cobalt drilling bit to form the cutting easier and, therefore, the holes are perfect. Counting on the task and whether you're drilling through wood, steel, iron, or titanium, the drill bits are available in a spread of sizes and angle points. Cobalt drill bits have a high resistance to heat, making them perfect for repeated use. But after a short time, the leading edge becomes dull and needs to sharpen. If you've got a bench grinder, you'll sharpen the bits on your own.

https://benchmarkabrasives.com/blogs/ne ... drill-bits

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 7th, 2023, 11:04 am

bai it doh matter what drill bit u using

just RAMMIT EEN , PUSH HARDER

IF IT BREAK, IT GET SHARPER

(no homo)

Postby Rovin » February 7th, 2023, 11:21 am

i dont really have need to drill stainless but what about dem stainless steel carbide tip metal drill bit hole saw ?, it looks like it might do d job ...

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 7th, 2023, 2:09 pm

I usually buy the titanium from the brands I stated but is real problems or shitty quality last 6months or so, and I using same type 6years now.. I will look for the cobalt I trying to get it local just to finish up a job before carnival

Postby adnj » February 7th, 2023, 3:45 pm

If you are buying TiN (titanium nitride) bits, that is a coating on the high speed steel of the bit. Cobalt high speed steel is a slightly different steel. They can come TiN coated, too. You can buy cobalt HSS bits at SSL in San Fernando. There are probably other places - the bits aren't very expensive or uncommon. The most important thing is to sharpen the bit often.

Here's a link. https://shopssltt.com/powertools/access ... its/cobalt

Postby *KRONIK* » February 7th, 2023, 3:48 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:bai it doh matter what drill bit u using

just RAMMIT EEN , PUSH HARDER

IF IT BREAK, IT GET SHARPER

(no homo)
#technique

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2023, 6:47 am

Does anywhere sell this locally or does it have to be fabricated by a welder
Screenshot_20230209-064531_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20230209-064513_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20230209-064508_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20230209-064503_Chrome.jpg

Postby Dave » February 10th, 2023, 7:13 am

I have a few rivets popping out on windows at home so I figure I should invest in a rivet gun for that purpose.
Amazon has some nice kits with a variety of different sized rivets.
Do we have similar kits locally?
Brands? Prices?

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2023, 8:17 am

Bhagwahsingh had those kits at one time. Just about any brand will do. What you will want in a hand riveter is an extended nose piece (for tight spots) and three or four interchangeable tips with the tip-wrench stowed in the handle (to accommodate multiple rivet mandrel sizes).

If you have steel windows, buy steel rivets. If you have PVC or aluminum windows, buy aluminum rivets. Most of the riveter kits include aluminum rivets. Most of the rivets used for windows and doors will be 1/8", 5/32", or 3/16" and around 1/2" long. Most hardware stores carry rivets available singly, also.

https://amosestt.com/product/stanley-90 ... ty-4-tips/

Postby timelapse » February 10th, 2023, 8:25 am

Dave wrote:I have a few rivets popping out on windows at home so I figure I should invest in a rivet gun for that purpose.
Amazon has some nice kits with a variety of different sized rivets.
Do we have similar kits locally?
Brands? Prices?
I bought a total rivet gun recently.Works great for light to medium work.If you not using it regularly, I wouldn't suggest buying an overly expensive one.

Postby Dave » February 10th, 2023, 8:29 am

Thanks guys.
Appreciate the information.

Yes to both of you and good idea on the type of rivet as I didn't know.

It's a steel window but when I removed the old rivet for sizing, it's an aluminium rivet that was used.

Only use would be for repairs when they occur.

Thanks for the information.

Postby Chimera » February 10th, 2023, 8:36 am

if its just one or two time project u hadda do i could lend u a bess rivet gun dave. i have a nice stanley rivet gun where the head swivels

because you might buy a gun for 400-500 and never use it again

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2023, 8:50 am

Aluminum in a steel structure degrades over time due to a process called galvanic corrosion where the aluminum just turns into a powder (aluminum oxide). You can use a steel rivet in an aluminum structure, however.

The reason for using aluminum rivets in PVC or aluminum windows is primarily corrosion resistance.

matix

Postby matix » February 10th, 2023, 8:55 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Does anywhere sell this locally or does it have to be fabricated by a welder
Screenshot_20230209-064503_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20230209-064508_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20230209-064513_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20230209-064531_Chrome.jpg

Could make that

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » February 11th, 2023, 7:12 pm

I've been trying to find this tool all over the place, I'm trying not to have to amazon it if I can find it locally.
It's a FOAM CUTTER, I NEED it for a project. Does anyone know where i can get this, or at least something similar?
Thanks.
foam cutter.jpg

Postby adnj » February 11th, 2023, 8:27 pm

I once cut seat foam with a soldering gun (not an iron) and a long loop that I made from household electrical copper wire. Most soldering guns use 12g/4mm^2 wire tips. If all else fails, you can try that.

Postby Chimera » February 13th, 2023, 6:38 am

ordered a 2 pack of these the other day,

deerdance LED Barn Light, 80W Dusk to Dawn Outdoor Lighting with Photocell 10000LM 5000K Daylight, IP65 Waterproof Area Street Light for Farmhouse Yard Warehouse Outdoor Security Lighting, (2-Pack)

$68 us online
$240 to clear TT

cost $340 each

for 80 W led barn lights

a very nice slimline design . only bad thing is its some sort of built in photocell....that doesnt look like it can be changed

a 50 watt by boodoos is $450

715NcP6bkrL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

71xTuwooCCL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Postby Dave » February 13th, 2023, 6:47 am

Thank you very much for the offer.
Stanley would be the top dog here.
It would be few and far apart and wouldn't want to inconvenience anyone so will just get one.
Thank you very much!
Phone Surgeon wrote:if its just one or two time project u hadda do i could lend u a bess rivet gun dave. i have a nice stanley rivet gun where the head swivels

because you might buy a gun for 400-500 and never use it again

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2023, 5:58 pm

https://instagram.com/deandohertygrease ... MyMTA2M2Y=

guy does reviews and tear down repairs
doesn’t seem to have done any of the jiangsu tools yet

Postby *KRONIK* » February 22nd, 2023, 3:46 pm

Anybody have a parts washer?

What cleaner allyuh running?

nick639v2

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nick639v2 » February 22nd, 2023, 7:48 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Anybody have a parts washer?

Big ones?? We service massy parts washer (Cuda). Previously used the detergent powder APP-1000 or 100z but the price has literally doubled pre Covid. But it does last substantially longer than anything else if you have a oil skimmer equipped washer.

Edit: a cost effiective option is to dial up the heat and use purple blaster with a defoamer. Would take a bit longer but it works about 75% as good as the powder detergent

Postby *KRONIK* » February 22nd, 2023, 8:21 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Anybody have a parts washer?

Big ones?? We service massy parts washer (Cuda). Previously used the detergent powder APP-1000 or 100z but the price has literally doubled pre Covid. But it does last substantially longer than anything else if you have a oil skimmer equipped washer.

Edit: a cost effiective option is to dial up the heat and use purple blaster with a defoamer. Would take a bit longer but it works about 75% as good as the powder detergent

Nah

A rel small one
The "jegs" benchtop unit
Takes 3.5 gallons

I was thinking bout simple green crystal
But i seeing mixed reviews on that online

I saw ppl using mineral spirits also, but i dont know where has that selling

Postby adnj » February 22nd, 2023, 10:15 pm

I thought that mineral spirits are the same as what is sold as turpentine or turpentine substitute, etc. I don't believe that you can buy genuine turpentine at a reasonable price any longer.

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2023, 10:49 pm

Peaked have mineral spirits