:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 19th, 2010, 6:24 pm

Looking to get some power tools over the coming months, specifically Circular Saw, Belt Sander, Planer, Router, Drill, Grinder, Small compressor and Nail gun.

I know a lot of tuners use these for box building, body work or whatever.

Any reviews and recommendations or warnings from certain brands would be appreciated to get an idea of whats acceptable for personal use (ie. not contractor grade use).

Not lookin to buss my pocket but at the same time, i don't want something that's gonna fail halfway through my cabinets or burglarproofing.

Re: Power Tools

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 19th, 2010, 7:02 pm

dewalt is good - not cheaply built & wont kill ur pockets...

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 19th, 2010, 7:24 pm

Seeing Milwaukee tools generally cheaper than the DeWalt.

Got a DeWalt 1/4 sheet sander on sale for $400

When i worked at SIS, they used Milwaukee almost exclusively and they took heavy abuse.

Anytime i think Bosch i think SDS hammers. Them thing deadly but sadly i can't justify getting one.

Allyuh fellas talkin High End though :)

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 19th, 2010, 7:35 pm

u really find M cost cheaper than D ? - take a pass in bhags & come back & tell we ... personally i rate milwaukee as a little better built tougher tools but generally it cost a lil more

but for just a home fix up u dont really need milwaukee : dewalt will do - if u dont mind paying d extra for d better M \ bosch \ makita \ porter cable etc by all means go right ahead , those r very good brands too ....

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 19th, 2010, 7:43 pm

pioneer wrote:a tip though try ordering your stuff online...like amazon has many authorised stores for those tools

many people dunno that power tools carry no duty only VAT

yet stores still charge people duty...

The trouble is that most power tools tend to be on the heavy side so it'll be a trade off with freight charges if using a skybox.

Can't beat the options available online though.

Anyone ever see a circular saw with the blade on the left locally? As a right hander its a pain to use one with the blade on the right.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 19th, 2010, 7:50 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:u really find M cost cheaper than D ? - take a pass in bhags & come back & tell we ... personally i rate milwaukee as a little better built tougher tools but generally it cost a lil more

but for just a home fix up u dont really need milwaukee : dewalt will do - if u dont mind paying d extra for d better M \ bosch \ makita \ porter cable etc by all means go right ahead , those r very good brands too ....

The idea is to not buss the pocket :)

At L&DG, a Milwaukee 4 1/2 grinder was 895 vs the Dewalt for 1000+
15A Circular saw Milwaukee 1600 vs Dewalt 2100

There are some Dewalt items that are cheaper though so i suppose its a give and take.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2010, 8:03 pm

they usually give away the milwaukee grinder as part of a combo deal with a metal cut off saw
whscott was running some good deals also

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 19th, 2010, 8:06 pm

Didnt think of WHScott :| already have a Milwaukee cutoff saw...no bundle deal..dammit.

Postby brams112 » June 19th, 2010, 8:50 pm

advise,,, buy a 4x24 belt sander,the belts are easier to get anywhere,,

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2010, 9:16 pm

if you looking for a regular size drill
there is a makita hammer drill hp1500 model i think
cheap and powerful, I am on my second one
but recently got the brushes in the first one replaced

Firewall

Postby Firewall » June 19th, 2010, 9:37 pm

personally i think that you should get a decent air compressor and get pneumatic tools, but that's just my opinion.

makita, mikwaukee, bosch, porter cable, dewalt are all all decent brands

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 20th, 2010, 11:58 am

Firewall wrote:personally i think that you should get a decent air compressor and get pneumatic tools, but that's just my opinion.

makita, mikwaukee, bosch, porter cable, dewalt are all all decent brands

Portability will be a problem with pneumatic tools.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 20th, 2010, 1:02 pm

i dont like d annoying loud noise of a air compressor - i have 1 that is even portable & i rather use my normal power tools instead ....

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » June 20th, 2010, 6:25 pm

Southern Wholesale Stores in Union Rd, Marabella.......good prices on Makita (which is a damn good brand)

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 21st, 2010, 9:04 am

mitsuboi wrote:Southern Wholesale Stores in Union Rd, Marabella.......good prices on Makita (which is a damn good brand)

*ahem* and where is Union Rd again? I know the main road but not the side roads too much... :oops:

TechArt

Postby TechArt » June 21st, 2010, 9:23 am

If you are looking at buying a few tools at the same time, then you should try and get it at one place and seek a discount. Another option is to ask a relative/friend to purchase these items abroad and ship them down in a barrel or crate. Milwaukee tools are my first choice for power tools, while welding IMHO stick to Lincoln (could only afford the Lincolns) or Miller units. Good luck tool hunting chief, btw if you care for them and don't lend them to any Patrick or Panday they will last.

alloywheel

Postby alloywheel » June 21st, 2010, 1:34 pm

Please note, when purchasing tools and any piece of equipment for that matter, it is of utmost importance that you understand your warranty, if it exists. After spending a couple thousand of dollars' on your tools, you need to know where you can go to for service, if parts are available, and if possible, the estimated repair time. I rate Dewalt, Porter Cable, Millwaukee, Bosch, Makita, and Metabo as being more or less equal in terms of price and performance.
So, the deciding factor, for me would be the Warranty issue.
DW 384 8 1/4" CIRC. SAW DEWALT
DW 433 3X21 BELT SANDER DEWALT
DW 680 3 1/4" PLANER DEWALT
DW 625 3HP ROUTER DEWALT
DW 520 1/2" HAMMR DRILL DEWALT
D28114 13AMP 4 1/2" GRINDER
PORTER CABLE COMPRESSOR WITH NAILER COMBO

Statements are made on the fact that i repair Dewalt tools. We can be contacted at 627-8593.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 21st, 2010, 2:46 pm

A1 tools.
foreign used, warranty, all repair parts, at a fraction of the cost of brand new and works just as well IMO.

Saddle Road, San Juan. (North of croisee heading into santa cruz)

It in the book under "A"

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » June 21st, 2010, 5:17 pm

i hav a rigid chop saw and a gas welding set if u interested new in box

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 21st, 2010, 5:39 pm

sti7 wrote:i hav a rigid chop saw and a gas welding set if u interested new in box

Already have a Milwaukee chop saw and looking for tools for more woodworking and small household welding so gas welding's out for the moment. Thanks though.

Called around today for Circular Saws (next tool on the list) $1200 upwards for the good stuff with 15A motors. :|

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » June 21st, 2010, 6:49 pm

pioneer wrote:a tip though try ordering your stuff online...like amazon has many authorised stores for those tools

many people dunno that power tools carry no duty only VAT

yet stores still charge people duty...

this statement is true, i ordered a dremel tool from amazon for someone an i only paid shipping+vat which in total was $835tt

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001FO ... ss_product

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 23rd, 2010, 8:15 pm

Saw (no pun intended) these at Home Store

Makita 5277NB Hypoid Circular Saw @ $900

Makita 5007FK "regular" Circular Saw @ $990

Both are 15A and closely priced.
I know because of the gearing on the Hypoid, it's more powerful overall but its also quite heavy to hold single handedly due to the length....that said, the blade is on the correct side for a right hander.

The regular one comes with a case, the Hypoid does not.

Both are highly rated on Amazon and are my finalists due to price and quality for money... Opinions anyone?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 23rd, 2010, 8:43 pm

hmm, maybe you should go with the one that ur more comfortable working with, I'd stick with the regular for keeping home projects simple and painless.

aidan

Postby aidan » August 7th, 2010, 12:02 am

Guys, where are some good places to check for jigsaws? I already checked Bhagwansinghs and William H Scott. Where else can you all recommend that has good stuff? Looking for something for some small projects around the house.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 7th, 2010, 12:14 am

check southern wholesale stores on union road marabella or lauglin & degannes (hope i spell it correct) in sando ...

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 7th, 2010, 12:32 am

This is what works for me... Best money I ever spent

Dewalt 4pc 18V combo kit, but the whole cordless thing might be a problem for big jobs unless yuh have a few spare batteries. However, the XRP drill FTW
7.25" Skil corded circle saw with laser.... Takes a real beating
Porter Cable FR350 Framing nailer... This sheit is awesome. Best money I ever spent
Bosch belt sander.. Worked well with collection bag but didn't last long. But dey always say piper thing doh last :-(

That's what I use and they work great for me..

Postby sMASH » August 7th, 2010, 12:40 am

those guys have u covered there. i went cheap, 11 years ago i bought a $200 b&d jig saw, which gave up only about 3 years ago. my father has b&d circular saw, years now. i bought another jig saw, named proline, some sort of chinese knock off; wuking good so far.
but i dont run our tools hard cause i know they are the cheap ones. my father does not know about limits though, but he only uses the grinder(no name chinese knock off), circular saw, and lincoln mig.

i thinking about getting the table top saw from pricemart... any body care to comment about those? my uncle has the mc cullough drill and i have the ryobi pressure washer, both wuking hard and great.

aidan

Postby aidan » August 7th, 2010, 1:16 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:check southern wholesale stores on union road marabella or lauglin & degannes (hope i spell it correct) in sando ...

Where Laughlin & De Gannes Ltd is?

Postby X_Factor » August 7th, 2010, 9:10 am

wrt to ordering tools online, i was gonna order a drill recently DW505 amazon didnt have it so i decided to go with the dw511 i believe, almost hit order but something tell me to take a drive up bags
gone there, they hav the dw505 for approx 600.00 and the other one for about 1100
it woulda cost more to order online!!

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2010, 10:00 am

the Makita 5/8 hammer is also a very good drill and cheaper,
I am on my second one and had a guy fix the brushes in the first one.