:: The official TOOLS thread ::

hindian

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby hindian » December 10th, 2021, 7:40 pm

Fellas I'm looking for something to clean tarnished brass aside from from Autosol or Brasso. Any suggestions? The items to clean are very intricate so I looking for something that I might be able to soak them in thanks.

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2021, 8:25 pm

start with an ultrasonic cleaner
if you can find somebody with one

Postby rollingstock » December 10th, 2021, 10:40 pm

Lime or lemon juice mixed with baking soda to make a paste. Apply and leave for a few hours. It should clean it.

Postby rollingstock » December 10th, 2021, 10:40 pm

Some people used diluted white vinegar, but that can be caustic.

hindian

Postby hindian » December 11th, 2021, 8:02 pm

This was recommended to me and I found it in priceclub today for $35 and I have to say, this is awesome! I would recommend. Going and try to remove the water stains from the car windows in the morning and report back.
20211211_192729.jpg

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2021, 8:14 pm

hindian wrote:Fellas I'm looking for something to clean tarnished brass aside from from Autosol or Brasso. Any suggestions? The items to clean are very intricate so I looking for something that I might be able to soak them in thanks.

what kind of items?

i bought a ultrasonic cleaner on amazon years ago and i use it dawn to clean jewelry

hindian

Postby hindian » December 11th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Specifically brass the in laws have prayers coming up and I always get tasked with cleaning the brassware. Cleaning the murtis was way easier with this. A soft bristle brush to get into the lil corners made it a breeze. The tarnish comes off very easy with this.

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2021, 10:49 am

looking for a plumber with approriate size snake cleaner, around 4-6"

house has gully type drain to sewer and draining kinda slow with kitchen oil/fat etc blocking it up.
Simple job actually, just to pull out grate and run snake.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 12th, 2021, 12:27 pm

pugboy wrote:looking for a plumber with approriate size snake cleaner, around 4-6"

house has gully type drain to sewer and draining kinda slow with kitchen oil/fat etc blocking it up.
Simple job actually, just to pull out grate and run snake.

I see this fella on FB.

121228314_989486644901696_4206380286202070312_n.jpg

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2021, 12:33 pm

thanks

Postby supercharged turbo » December 26th, 2021, 11:48 am

I'm looking to buy a chop saw and I can't settle between either of these two.Which one allyuh recommend?I know the Makita is only $200 more and comes with a grinder but the chop saw is my main concern.
FB_IMG_1640533497857.jpg
FB_IMG_1640533430169.jpg

Postby Rovin » December 26th, 2021, 12:35 pm

2 great options there, cant go wrong with either, for 200 more with a grinder included [prolly worth 400-500ish] i wud go makita

since is same place u buying either from go look at them in real & get a feel for it, they might let u power it to see which u find runs better\smoother ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 26th, 2021, 6:59 pm

I can tell you the Milwaukee takes an absolute beating and still runs. I see some of them fabricators abuse them to no end and them Milwaukee still happily running.

Postby pugboy » December 26th, 2021, 7:20 pm

I have a milwaukee and it is very strong
if I had to again, I would but a lighter version, my own the base is quite heavy.

Postby supercharged turbo » December 26th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:I can tell you the Milwaukee takes an absolute beating and still runs. I see some of them fabricators abuse them to no end and them Milwaukee still happily running.
Same thing I seeing that's why I'm in this dilemma.I was going for the Milwaukee but then I saw the Makita deal and price and was like Makita is a good brand too

Postby pugboy » December 26th, 2021, 8:28 pm

either will work
most times fellas don’t know how to use the chopsaw, you gotta have even pressure and know not to force it, also sometime the blade will get glazed and not cut.

hindian

Postby hindian » December 27th, 2021, 6:59 am

pugboy wrote:either will work
most times fellas don’t know how to use the chopsaw, you gotta have even pressure and know not to force it, also sometime the blade will get glazed and not cut.
I have the Milwaukee and it gets a fair amount of work. Blade choice for me is the De Walt 14" cuz I find it cuts way better with less downward pressure. If a blade does get glazed with me I have a method to fix that. A chopsaw is probably the most abused tool in a fabrication shop lol
Last edited by hindian on December 27th, 2021, 6:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » December 27th, 2021, 12:03 pm

When blade glazed I let it run free for a few seconds then plunge it hard on the steel
And sparks start to fly again.

Yeah the Dewalt blades are the best, very stiff

Other blades flex and give skewed cuts when cutting Rhs at an angle

Postby Rovin » December 27th, 2021, 12:09 pm

i been using chopsaws since d early 90s, they used be in d 3k price range back then, imo i dont see a big difference in blade brands, used all d known names & not so known names, they all do d job, blades real cheap now like around $30-40

simple cure for a glazed blade edge is to take pliers & break of a lil chip like 1\8 spaced evenly every few inches, this also helps to cut thicker & harder metal like pipes ...

Postby De Dragon » December 27th, 2021, 12:51 pm

I know it's not of the choices you have listed, but if you get a Dewalt chop saw, you will like yourself.

Postby supercharged turbo » December 28th, 2021, 3:08 pm

I bought the Milwaukee chopsaw.I checked both items in the store and the Makita was feeling ah lil on the cheaper side compared to the Milwaukee.Also,the sales rep recommended the Milwaukee as it has a 5 year warranty and is more for heavy duty jobs.

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2021, 4:14 pm

good
get the dewalt blades, or use the supplied crap blade for only small items straight cut.
also weld up a little wheeled stand so you can push it around the floor.
mine is a real heavy model so that helps a lot.

supercharged turbo wrote:I bought the Milwaukee chopsaw.I checked both items in the store and the Makita was feeling ah lil on the cheaper side compared to the Milwaukee.Also,the sales rep recommended the Milwaukee as it has a 5 year warranty and is more for heavy duty jobs.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » December 29th, 2021, 9:38 am

Anybody have a fuel pressure tester to lend?
:)

Postby Dave » December 29th, 2021, 9:41 am

To splice inline or with fittings?
If splice, I suggest making one. Will always come in handy and not very expensive to make.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » December 29th, 2021, 11:06 am

Wouldve just used fittings

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2021, 11:50 am

if its really 5yr warranty locally then thats exceptional especially with d way some ppl abuse tools , iirc i got a 2yr warranty from L&G for my 7" mil grinder

u cant go wrong with mil, i would choose their products any day over dewalt & even makita over dewalt

sometimes we dont get usa models here but international oversees models which still work good

i myself have d cast iron base mil bought prolly 10-12yrs ago - they didnt have d pressed steel base model at d time - its steady but heavy to lift & move around , had a dewalt b4 which rel old & still works, i let a relative who kept borrowing keep it it so i buy d mil which i find performed better

a pain in d butt to be working on d ground so i suggest building a 4x8 rhs table on casters ...

pugboy wrote:good
get the dewalt blades, or use the supplied crap blade for only small items straight cut.
also weld up a little wheeled stand so you can push it around the floor.
mine is a real heavy model so that helps a lot.

supercharged turbo wrote:I bought the Milwaukee chopsaw.I checked both items in the store and the Makita was feeling ah lil on the cheaper side compared to the Milwaukee.Also,the sales rep recommended the Milwaukee as it has a 5 year warranty and is more for heavy duty jobs.

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2021, 1:41 pm

yeah I have that same cast base milwaukee, heavy no tail.

I also have an evolution metal cutting circular saw 7 1/4"
it cuts real nice, but need to have proper jigs for it cut and not bind blade
the chips are also very hot and sharp, cant walk barefoot over them.

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2021, 2:29 pm

yrs ago since i see d ad & looked at a bunch of YT vids for that evolution saw i intended to by 1 & i dunno how i jes never got around to getting it mainly for rhs miters ... had a time i was looking at benchtop metal cutting bandsaw, then again its now\then i will have d need to some metal fabrication stuff

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2021, 4:40 pm

I have a lil harbor freight portaband saw which I built a lil table for.
very convenient to use for small items and no set of noise and mess

high end fabricators tend to use the carbide metal cutting saws
abrasive chopsaws are often viewed as caveman

hindian

Postby hindian » December 29th, 2021, 5:53 pm

As we on the talk of fabrication tools, I have an early Dewalt 7" grinder that missing the switch and shield anybody old direct me to where I might find stuff like that? Last time I checked I was told that it was outdated so I hoping for someone who has one for scrap. Will post a pic of what I'm looking for