:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 6th, 2015, 12:29 pm

DeWalt is owned by B&D hence there is some shared tech.

Certain tools, especially drills and grinders, have the same replacement part numbers.

This is why sometimes B&D tools are great and some DeWalt are rubbish.

Its a matter of perspective. Half assed performance stands out much more if you pay DeWalt prices.

Postby X_Factor » September 6th, 2015, 4:42 pm

Mind u ....locally purchased b&d and dewalt as well as the other brands seem to be of a lesser quality than those bought from the us....

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » September 6th, 2015, 6:59 pm

^^ Where do you buy your tools locally? I have dewalt drills bought locally and from miami...as in same models and they are if equal quality. Same replacement parts and everything. Never heard of thus before.
Any pics of the different quality?

Also you should remember manufacturers out source on certain products so if comparing it should be same model numbers and series

Postby X_Factor » September 6th, 2015, 8:02 pm

I dont buy tools locally but i have seen same models made in different parts of the world

locally, they most likely have to come from the major latin america distributor and since the countries they supply are mostly 3rd world....i dont think we get the good stuff
especially for stanley and maybe black and decker
I bought the black and decker RTX rotary tool from home depot a few yrs now
and i saw the same tool in bhags with spanish writing and a totally different packaging

While i am sure there are quality control standards across the board, i think the best or A grade will make it to the US and the other 1st world countries where warranties are honoured and returns is a norm, without hassle
ever try to return something locally?

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2015, 10:07 pm

Sometimes for the big stores like home depot, the big manufacturers make models of slighty lessor quality which are only available there.

Best check reviews.

In US, dewalt has traditionally been a very popular contractor pro brand,
Milwaukee pretty much catchup
Locally, lot of worthwhile contractors use milwaukee as well but not dewalt so much.

hindian

Postby hindian » September 6th, 2015, 10:52 pm

Can anyone recommend somewhere where i can buy a half inch drive breaker bar locally? Not the regular Stanley ones eh, they not too strong i broke my last one trying to remove my axle nut today...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » September 6th, 2015, 11:02 pm

X_Factor wrote:I bought the black and decker RTX rotary tool from home depot a few yrs now
and i saw the same tool in bhags with spanish writing and a totally different packaging

Packaging has no relation to the quality of the actual tool.

Clearly they are getting a better deal from a supplier in Latin america and chose to buy their supplies their rather than going through the us or even local distributors.

Many local companies have started honouring their policy on warranty and returns take Allied or SSl or Khanico or bhags or even Pricemart. I've returned things to them and even claimed warranty on televisions from pricemart with luxam and it was honoured just as promised.

Something's are worth purchasing online and foreign but there are some great deals locally.

Postby X_Factor » September 6th, 2015, 11:05 pm

hoss, i've seen the mango tree mech use a welded up 1/2" ratchet with a piece of pipe for extra leverage.....so u could look into that...cause most places will only have stanley

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 6th, 2015, 11:06 pm

hindian wrote:Can anyone recommend somewhere where i can buy a half inch drive breaker bar locally? Not the regular Stanley ones eh, they not too strong i broke my last one trying to remove my axle nut today...

Impact wrench may be your best bet.

Postby cinco » September 6th, 2015, 11:30 pm

hindian wrote:Can anyone recommend somewhere where i can buy a half inch drive breaker bar locally? Not the regular Stanley ones eh, they not too strong i broke my last one trying to remove my axle nut today...

Bhags has ace brand seems ok I've used a 6ft scaffold pipe over it to break my axle.nut and it is fine

Postby Chimera » September 7th, 2015, 4:10 am

Milwaukee expensive yes. I now watching their prices..
$118 usd for a basic cordless drill? Guess the price worth it if you using them very heavily. Ive been happy with me $40 usd cordless black and decker drill for years.....

Postby Ted_v2 » September 7th, 2015, 7:43 am

A cordless drill is the best tool for a diy. You can use that anywhere.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » September 7th, 2015, 8:33 am

The M12 drill I bought at laughlin & de gannes for $1100 if I am remembering correctly, came with the drill (hammer) 2 batteries (one standard and one extended) quick charger (bout 30mins to charge the standard 45 for the extended) Also came with a 2 year warranty and you get 4 free maintenance check up things (doubt I'll ever need it though) judging on the M18 durability, both do share similar builds, metal chuck etc.

Next on my list would be the M12 impact driver and ratchet.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 8th, 2015, 11:17 am

Anyone know where I can get a sanding drum to attach to a drill? I'm not looking for a whole set just one.
Like this:

I was actually thinking to make one with regular sandpaper stuck to some cylindrical object since I just need it for one project I'm working on... But haven't figured it out yet..

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » September 8th, 2015, 11:24 am

Check Allied home store if you in south.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 8th, 2015, 11:50 am

Preferably North or West..

In the mean time I'll try something diy

Postby *KRONIK* » September 8th, 2015, 1:06 pm

searchingone wrote:Anyone know where I can get a sanding drum to attach to a drill? I'm not looking for a whole set just one.
Like this:

I was actually thinking to make one with regular sandpaper stuck to some cylindrical object since I just need it for one project I'm working on... But haven't figured it out yet..

Dremel has these mandrels with 2 types of sanding cylinders.
About 60 for 1 at bhagwansingh

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 8th, 2015, 1:56 pm

thanks man

Postby *KRONIK* » September 8th, 2015, 1:59 pm

Where u located?
If u close enough i can lend u mine!

Postby 3stagevtec » September 8th, 2015, 3:00 pm

Anywhere locally sells Rotary Hammers (SDS Plus) at reaonable prices? I am mainly looking at Bosch or Makita and looking for a 1" to 1 1/8" rating.. I checked a few places around south today but was not pleased with the prices I saw. Amazon prices are far superior and would work out less even with air freight added in..

I would prefer to buy locally since I would like the tool asap. But if prices are not competitive, amazon will get my money yet again...

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2015, 3:08 pm

You check prices in ssl?

Postby 3stagevtec » September 8th, 2015, 5:06 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:You check prices in ssl?

SSL had a 7/8" Milwaukee at a great price! They even have the trade in promotion running now, where you bring in an old or not working tool and get a bigger discount on the new tool.

I am considering the Milwaukee BUT I want one with better vibration resistance. I did some house work recently with a regular hammer drill and it affected my hand. The constant vibration had my hand feeling numb for a few days and I didn't like that. I don't mind spending a little extra for a Makita, which has excellent reviews on vibration resistance

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2015, 6:22 pm

searchingone wrote:Anyone know where I can get a sanding drum to attach to a drill? I'm not looking for a whole set just one.
Like this:

if u find a set, lemme know plz, amazon has them really cheap but wont reach before i need them
the dremel style will be too small, i need one that is atleast 2" long

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2015, 7:16 pm

When you need it for xfactor

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2015, 9:32 pm

this weekend...or early next week, i can use regular sand paper and elbow grease but this will get the job done pretty quick

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2015, 4:21 am

I in miami and comimng back to trinidad saturday night. Send me the link to exactly what u want and ill bring it for u (obv no charge except for what it cost). You could.collect it sunday from me in aranguez or at my office in st marys. Lemme know asap. I could get it from amazon or homedepot

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 11th, 2015, 9:09 am

X_Factor wrote:
Like this:

if u find a set, lemme know plz, amazon has them really cheap but wont reach before i need them
the dremel style will be too small, i need one that is atleast 2" long

I didn't bother with this. I got tired of sanding off the old varnish and opted for some paint stripper. Best decision ever :lol:

(just MAKE SURE you're in a well ventilated area)

Postby X_Factor » September 16th, 2015, 2:11 pm

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VJLY00/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

anyone wanna take a chook with me to probably save on shipping?
im estimating that one will cost approx 340.00 give or take a 20.00

I'll be ordering mine by 10pm tonight
reviews are decent and will be used for light to medium work....wont be pounding on it etc...just clamping/holding

its here cost 345.00....would hav been cheaper if I ordered more

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2015, 2:22 pm

You know i bring back one of that in my suitcase on saturday as well lol

legoRB

Postby legoRB » September 17th, 2015, 9:55 pm

Whats the best OCTANE/RON gas to run in a new week wacker folks?