:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby MG Man » January 22nd, 2022, 7:13 pm

Rovin wrote:fancy ting

i have d lil portable 1 some yrs going, hardly ever use it but it come in handy for a few situations

i simply use a straight edge or 4ft level & 2 spring clamps ...

I've been using the level and clamps too, but when you need to to multiple cuts, it gets tedious. Also no matter how you guide the circular saw along the straight edge, there's always a chance of it wandering just a wee bit...and then I want to peltway everything and kick the neighbour chile

Postby Rovin » January 22nd, 2022, 7:27 pm

i know d feels, even d thickness of a pencil point u get a mm or 2 or 1\16" deviation which may not seem like much but when u assembling something that tiny bit throws off d whole thing

for yrsss i rocked d clamp & level method until yrsss ago when i bought a table saw which makes life farrrrrrr more easier especially for precision & repeated cuts

i see youtubers teaching newbs when using a straight edge to use d side of d saw base opposite of d blade as d guide but i am not a fan of that, saw & blade tend to drift & 4kup ur cuts so i use d saw base on d blade side as d guide & it doesnt drift unless ur blade rel dull which is a hazard by itself so avoid using a dull blade ...

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2022, 8:39 pm

use a good quality blade like freud
and make sure blade aligned with fence
a misaligned saw very likely to wander even when using a clamped fence

Postby MG Man » January 22nd, 2022, 11:01 pm

Rovin wrote:lol

i know d feels, even d thickness of a pencil point u get a mm or 2 or 1\16" deviation which may not seem like much but when u assembling something that tiny bit throws off d whole thing

for yrsss i rocked d clamp & level method until yrsss ago when i bought a table saw which makes life farrrrrrr more easier especially for precision & repeated cuts

i see youtubers teaching newbs when using a straight edge to use d side of d saw base opposite of d blade as d guide but i am not a fan of that, saw & blade tend to drift & 4kup ur cuts so i use d saw base on d blade side as d guide & it doesnt drift unless ur blade rel dull which is a hazard by itself so avoid using a dull blade ...

my table saw is a lil Skil with no wing extensions, so it limits what i can rip, hence buying the track saw

Postby adnj » January 23rd, 2022, 8:25 am

my table saw is a lil Skil with no wing extensions, so it limits what i can rip, hence buying the track saw

I have done something like this before.

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » January 23rd, 2022, 9:35 am

any reviews on the "Total" brand especially the power tools for commercial use

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2022, 9:51 am

total/ingco/emtop/tolsen all made in same factories in shenzhen they say

seem to be taking licks as many tradesmen using them.

rexsmith wrote:any reviews on the "Total" brand especially the power tools for commercial use

jackal

Postby jackal » January 23rd, 2022, 2:01 pm

MG Man wrote:B066EC9D-F8B2-46EC-A4A5-02C856F2EEE5.jpg

New toys

I have the Kerg 520, I prefer that because of the portability and ease of use, picked it up last month by Kelvin Ghanny. I have that rip cut as well, find it easer to clamp on a straight edge and then cut. It does "bite and bind" on he edge of the ply you cutting.

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2022, 8:22 am

adnj wrote:

I have done something like this before.

I built a pair of saw horses for this purpose, but I still like the idea of a track saw, the way it hugs the edge of the sheet. I've had my circular saw wander off a couple mm against a straight edge, and really don't want to deal with that again

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2022, 8:32 am

that rip cut guide is good for cutting stuff shoulder width, any wider it is difficult to hold the saw and the guide

it can still wander off though, remember you have to keep pressure on the guide which runs against the side of ply
if your saw has a blade which is misaligned to the base plate it will always want to wander off and the moment you release pressure on the guide it will.

check the distance between the front edge of the base plate and the blade and likewise for the rear
should be the same

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2022, 8:49 am

yup, the one I bought will rip max 24", so yeah there are limits
But I find it easuer to use that to guide the saw than using the saw alone against a straight edge

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2022, 8:56 am

I prefer to stand on the ply,
put some 2x2 below the ply and clamp fence and walk on the ply as pushing the saw forward with slight pressure against the fence

MG Man wrote:yup, the one I bought will rip max 24", so yeah there are limits
But I find it easuer to use that to guide the saw than using the saw alone against a straight edge

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2022, 9:00 am

My post wasn't about the utility of a ripping guide. My post was about how you can extend your table saw.

I use both.

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2022, 9:17 am

adnj wrote:My post wasn't about the utility of a ripping guide. My post was about how you can extend your table saw.

I use both.

cool
I've done the 2x2 on the ground thing as well, to cut a sheet of ply into two 2x8, but still ended going slightly off course on one of them...inexperience and some impatience were contributing factors tho

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2022, 7:26 am

Looking for 7/16 sds plus drill bit

Postby adnj » January 27th, 2022, 10:11 am

pugboy wrote:Looking for 7/16 sds plus drill bit
Sds Plus Bit 7/16 Inch X 6 1/4 Inch-Makita

$13.50 TTD

Model No: D-00941

https://amosestt.com/product/sds-plus-b ... ch-makita/

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2022, 10:28 am

thanks, and that real cheap

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:Looking for 7/16 sds plus drill bit
Sds Plus Bit 7/16 Inch X 6 1/4 Inch-Makita

$13.50 TTD

Model No: D-00941

https://amosestt.com/product/sds-plus-b ... ch-makita/

Postby Rovin » January 27th, 2022, 10:32 am

wow dat is piper price cheap ....

Postby MG Man » January 27th, 2022, 10:33 am

yeah, A Moses is like a friggin candy store. I can never go in there and not walk out poorer

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2022, 3:01 pm

I got the bit there, really dont know how it so cheap, if you work backwards, the profit, vat etc
does it cost them $1 or less usd ?

Postby MG Man » January 28th, 2022, 8:09 pm

Got a few pieces for ripping plywood sheets
Anybody want a couple? About 4” thick. Not perfectly smooth but decent enough

hindian

Postby hindian » January 29th, 2022, 5:41 pm

Guys anywhere allyuh could recommend to rewind a coil for a welding machine? I have a Miller 225 stick welder that was given to me not working. Apparently the machine was used In an industrial application where it was wired for 575 volts and somewhere along the line someone tried to use it with 220 volts and firetruck it up. Miller has a part number but it's no longer available so my option is to possibly to rewind a coil. Pics below for reference. Circled area is the coil in question.
IMG-20220128-WA0005.jpg
IMG-20220128-WA0009.jpg

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2022, 7:16 pm

any competent motor rewinder should be able to do that
those probably don’t have much windings so easy to count

hindian

Postby hindian » January 29th, 2022, 11:02 pm

pugboy wrote:any competent motor rewinder should be able to do that
those probably don’t have much windings so easy to count
Anywhere you can recommend? And an average cost to do a job like that

Postby Dave » January 30th, 2022, 9:21 am

Robins electrical. Obliquely opposite KFC by Monroe Road.

hindian

Postby hindian » January 30th, 2022, 10:28 am

Dave wrote:Robins electrical. Obliquely opposite KFC by Monroe Road.
I checked them and spoke to the boss man himself but he said he tied up for a few weeks and he can't even look at it *shrugs* so I'm looking for somewhere else

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » January 31st, 2022, 9:37 am

Where can I get a speed square to purchase locally?

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2022, 9:39 am

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/it ... 585085703/

G-DUB wrote:Where can I get a speed square to purchase locally?

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » January 31st, 2022, 9:51 am

Thank you pugboy.

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2022, 9:56 am

unbelievable how fb pops up these things

G-DUB wrote:Thank you pugboy.