Does your shoulder click when rotating your arm?

b18b_turbo

Does your shoulder click when rotating your arm?

Postby b18b_turbo » June 10th, 2010, 6:45 pm

I had the clicking in my right arm for many years. I suppose it started from playing tabletennis for long hours every single day, tabletennis being very quick movements and instantaneous change of direction of the swing of the arm.

The click never hurt up to recently when I started back lifting heavy at the gym. My left shoulder also clicks but no pain whatsoever. Unfortunately, my right shoulder hurts alot (yes I am a right hander playing alot of tabletennis with my right hand).

Have any of you had similar problems? Did you find a solution? If so, please share!

I'll be seeing a sport physician soon, but I thought I would ask you all and see how popular a problem it is. I will be sure to share what he said.....

Thanks

Firewall

Re: Does your shoulder click when rotating your arm?

Postby Firewall » June 10th, 2010, 6:50 pm

not the shoulder, but my right ankle clicks every time i rotate it, even while walking, but it doesn't pain.

was thinking about starting to take something for strengthening the joints

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 10th, 2010, 6:50 pm

My left knee make this cracking sound whenever I do squats..

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » June 10th, 2010, 6:51 pm

i don't think its about joint strength, i think its a tendon problem, or torn cartilage or something to that effect.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 10th, 2010, 7:01 pm

sounds like shoulder bursitis to me, the pain would only get worse if not treated. What it is really is inflammation within the shoulder. I got it while I was at University and training heavily, had to go to the doctor who then prescribed Naproxen and physical therapy which i had to adhere too for a few weeks.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 10th, 2010, 7:21 pm

I have the clicking sound in my left shoulder...sometimes I get pain, especially if I'm sleeping on my left side.

at times after the gym it hurts and it hurts if i do side or front raises....just kinah loved with it for years...

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 10th, 2010, 7:22 pm

my ankle does the clicking thingy ..

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » June 10th, 2010, 7:52 pm

i got d same ting in my rite shoulder i also train heavey

Postby tr1ad » June 10th, 2010, 7:53 pm

my shoulder does it....

dam you masturbation

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » June 10th, 2010, 7:54 pm

my both elbows does dat....

Postby buzz » June 10th, 2010, 8:09 pm

my shoulders as well :|

Postby Trini Hookah » June 10th, 2010, 8:19 pm

i does get it on meh wrist..doh ask :|

Postby sharkman121 » June 10th, 2010, 8:23 pm

Meh 3rd leg doe...

never mind.. :|

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 10th, 2010, 9:45 pm

tr1ad wrote:my shoulder does it....

dam you masturbation

i click everywhere,damn you alltrac :evil:

zcarz

Postby zcarz » June 10th, 2010, 9:56 pm

my wrist clicks, i hear it's bubbles

Postby Cjruckus » June 10th, 2010, 10:34 pm

my right knee used to do it when I did squats or leg curls. I guess it was from my knee injury a few years back. It was really bad when i started back training, now it doesn't happen at all.

Postby DFC » June 10th, 2010, 10:35 pm

lol..i hear clicking inside my head...is that bad?

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2010, 11:48 pm

your cartilage no longer smooth
ie bushings have worn/rough spots

you can try rotator cuff rehab exercises

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 11th, 2010, 12:03 am

Cjruckus wrote:my right knee used to do it when I did squats or leg curls. I guess it was from my knee injury a few years back. It was really bad when i started back training, now it doesn't happen at all.

I never injured my knee rly but I can date my clicking in my knee back to 03 or so when I used to do kung fu. I pushed hard a few days to get past my green sash. Strange thing is my buddy when the same place and gets the same sound in the same knee.

Olivia425

Postby Olivia425 » June 11th, 2010, 12:34 am

An explaination here:
http://www.coolquiz.com/trivia/explain/docs/joints.asp

"Why do body joints make popping sounds?"

Do a deep knee bend, and it's very likely you'll hear popping sounds coming from your knee joints. There are also popping sounds when you "crack your knuckles."
What causes the popping sounds? Actually, two separate and distinct sources are responsible for the familiar popping sounds our joints emit.
The sound heard when our knuckles crack, results when a finger joint is extended almost to the end of its range. The joint, surrounded by a lubricating fluid, is encased in a capsule. At times, we intentionally, or unintentionally, extend the joint so far that the gas dissolved in the fluid spontaneously separates from the solution, forming a small bubble, and making a cracking sound. Not until the fluid reabsorbs the gas can the sound be reproduced. Whether or not there is truth to the old wives tale, that cracking ones knuckles enlarges them, remains open to debate.
On the other hand, the sound produced when we do deep-knee bends, is a snapping sound, produced when our tendons, which are merely the fibers that connect muscles and bones, elastically snap into new positions as our joints move under stress. Because the tendons shift back and forth with the movement of the joint, there is no waiting time before this snapping sound can be reproduced.

Postby Rooki3 » June 11th, 2010, 1:03 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:My left knee make this cracking sound whenever I do squats..

i have the same problem, but with my 2 knees

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 11th, 2010, 1:25 am

A Few years ago Men Health magazine did a study on "Clicking" joints and it seemed more common in homosexual males. I'll try to scan a copy of the magazine for allyuh to read

Postby Trini Hookah » June 11th, 2010, 1:31 am

^ you sure it was a "Health" magazine? :shock:

Postby rollingstock » June 11th, 2010, 8:38 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:A Few years ago Men Health magazine did a study on "Clicking" joints and it seemed more common in homosexual males. I'll try to scan a copy of the magazine for allyuh to read

What he said..

vrampersad14 wrote:^ you sure it was a "Health" magazine? :shock:

Postby Rooki3 » June 11th, 2010, 8:42 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:A Few years ago Men Health magazine did a study on "Clicking" joints and it seemed more common in homosexual males. I'll try to scan a copy of the magazine for allyuh to read

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 11th, 2010, 10:06 am

Not rly a click like pressing the overdrive knob, more like a snap, pop, crack kinda sound like when you downshift from 3-1..

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 11th, 2010, 11:50 am

next ting some tuner gonna come in here and say that them piggly wiggly does HUMM when they having sExxx!

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » June 11th, 2010, 12:04 pm

b18b_turbo...which club (table tennis) u does play for?

biggreen

Postby biggreen » June 11th, 2010, 12:19 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:next ting some tuner gonna come in here and say that them piggly wiggly does HUMM when they having sExxx!

so wait na!!! that not normal :roll:

Postby cinco » June 11th, 2010, 12:31 pm

my mouse clicks when i press on it is something wrong?